• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Base set first edition/ shadlowess blisters query

Years
  • Age 29
  • Seen Sep 5, 2019
Hi all,

I'm new to this but thought it would be a good place the ask my question.

I have some pretty rare base set blister packs (1st edition and shadowless ones)

I am mainly holding on to them as a long term investment I have already had them for years and they've dramatically increased in value already.

I live in the UK and there's a company called UKG graders who grade sealed Pokemon blister packs. It's a relatively inexpensive to get them graded.

I can't figure out wether or not this is a good move to make and want some advice from other collectors out there.

In my head there's pros and cons of both;

Pros:
Authenticates the product and that it is genuine and sealed.

In a sealed casing so it can't be tampered with or is unlikely to get damaged.

Cons:
Am I shutting myself off to buyers in the future that would want to buy the packs to open?

Is UKG really recognised as a grading company in the Pokemon world?

Ultimately I'm wandering if it will increase the value or If it will infact decrease it? And what are collectors looking for out there with the base set blister packs are they opening them or are they keeping them sealed?

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated
Thanks
John

Attachments

• 0C95EB44-0FCB-497B-98F6-D247B1F448B3.jpeg
    0C95EB44-0FCB-497B-98F6-D247B1F448B3.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 5
  • 28D65738-5F00-4E39-A018-41A91ECA0D2E.jpeg
    28D65738-5F00-4E39-A018-41A91ECA0D2E.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 5
Years