The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Help
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25651    
Old July 8th, 2013 (10:07 PM).
Sky93's Avatar
Sky93 Sky93 is offline
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: GA, USA
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 72
    So im fairly sure this is a simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a script dependent on a person, and everything looks fine in Amap:
    Spoiler:


    but when I go into the game, he is in the wrong place before the script is even triggered:

    Spoiler:

    any tips?
    __________________



    ROMs I Support:
      #25652    
    Old July 9th, 2013 (12:24 AM).
    destinedjagold's Avatar
    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
    Oh Hai Thar~
     
    Join Date: May 2007
    Location: Philippines
    Age: 28
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Careful
    Posts: 8,591
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sky93 View Post
    So im fairly sure this is a simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a script dependent on a person, and everything looks fine in Amap:


    but when I go into the game, he is in the wrong place before the script is even triggered:


    any tips?
    It's probably caused by a level script on the map.
    On Advance Map, simply go to the ‘Header’ tab of the map, then check out the ‘Map Script/s’ and see if one of those scripts are the cause of moving your NPC to another spot.
    Or, if you're being lazy, then just simply change the NPC's ‘Person Event Number’.

    :3
    __________________

      #25653    
    Old July 9th, 2013 (1:36 AM). Edited July 9th, 2013 by MasterWarlord.
    MasterWarlord's Avatar
    MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
       
      Join Date: May 2010
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 17
      Alright, so I've been going around my Fire Red rom replacing various Pokemon with 4th/5th gen pokemon. Totaled up to around 100. Got in all their sprites and icons fine. I've been making use of the 25 Unown slots between Celebi and Treecko as various extra mons.

      Most of the Unown slots are evolutions of existing gen 1 and 2 mons in the rom. I can add in some of the evolutions fine, but adding in others somehow causes YAPE to crash. I have multiple Unown slots functioning 100% fine, but others are weird.



      I have not tampered with the rom whatsoever outside of editing Pokemon and attacks, so I very much doubt I've overwritten something.

      These "bugged" Unown slots are functional to some awkward degrees. . .I can go in and edit them if I go to them directly without going to an evolution. The current evolution table where I previously was stays, though, and I can't go to any other Pokemon after going to this Pokemon, having to close and reopen it. I also cannot make these bugged slots evolve themselves, even into "normal" slots.

      Weirder still, I overwrote Celebi, a normal Pokemon, with a new Pokemon. Sure, it's right next to the Unown slots, but it should be normal, right? Nope, Celebi's slot is one of the "broken" ones. The regular Pokemon in the rom are fine, but yes.

      One of the Unown slots even somehow has had random evolutions assigned to it, evolving into Entei and Beedrill somehow. They can be removed and this particular slot functions fine but it's weird enough that it's making me panic something was overwritten.

      My best guess is something along the lines of there only being so many evolutions being allowed in the game and I broke the table by adding too many and/or the Unown slots just being really trippy. Looking for an explanation as to why this happened more than anything, pretty much assumed the rom is screwed.
        #25654    
      Old July 9th, 2013 (2:45 AM).
      akihiko123's Avatar
      akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2013
        Location: Philippines
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 57
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        What is the entire script? Both of them, for both events? and no, I didn't forget you:P
        the script of the TRAINERFLAG is 803647
        __________________
        Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
        I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
        I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
        So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

        So, give me what you got!

        Like my page on Facebook : LINK
          #25655    
        Old July 9th, 2013 (3:15 AM).
        karatekid552's Avatar
        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
        What happens if I push it?....
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 1,766
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by akihiko123 View Post
          the script of the TRAINERFLAG is 803647
          No, can you post both scripts. The whole things. Open up both of them in XSE and copy and paste them here. The offset tells me absolutely nothing.
          __________________

          Paired with Simba
            #25656    
          Old July 9th, 2013 (7:28 AM).
          Glitch Kitty Glitch Kitty is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2011
            Gender: Female
            Posts: 121
            I used a tool to randomise Roms of Pokemon Gold and Silver but the tool doesn't make a log file of its randomisation...is there a tool I could use to open my roms and see how/when my pokemon evolve now ?
            __________________
              #25657    
            Old July 9th, 2013 (3:24 PM).
            SevilitheArcanine's Avatar
            SevilitheArcanine SevilitheArcanine is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2012
              Location: 'Murica
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 10
              How would I go about making a new script for the Elite 4 (solely so I could give them different text)? I was thinking I would somehow edit a gym leader script so that they could be re-matched (after beating the league and returning they could be battled again, but with higher level Pokemon). I'd also like to do the same with the champion, but I don't see how I'd be able to re-create every step he takes and how he enters you into the Hall of Fame. This is for Ruby, by the way.
              __________________
                #25658    
              Old July 9th, 2013 (4:01 PM).
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by SevilitheArcanine View Post
                How would I go about making a new script for the Elite 4 (solely so I could give them different text)? I was thinking I would somehow edit a gym leader script so that they could be re-matched (after beating the league and returning they could be battled again, but with higher level Pokemon). I'd also like to do the same with the champion, but I don't see how I'd be able to re-create every step he takes and how he enters you into the Hall of Fame. This is for Ruby, by the way.
                They are all map scripts, found in the header, except for the battles themselves, which are attached to the people. To create a rematch script, just use the checkflag command and then set a flag after the first battle, so it is skipped the second time and a different battle is loaded.
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #25659    
                Old July 9th, 2013 (7:17 PM). Edited July 9th, 2013 by FlamingMelon.
                FlamingMelon FlamingMelon is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2013
                  Posts: 2
                  EDIT: I actually found one in the deep recesses of the archives, disregard this!
                  Does ANYONE out there have a Leaf Green .ini for the Advance Series tools? Can't find one anywhere on the FACE of the EARTH, and the closest I've gotten is using a slightly-reconfigured Fire Red (which only got as far as opening the rom).
                    #25660    
                  Old July 9th, 2013 (8:02 PM).
                  GengarSlayer's Avatar
                  GengarSlayer GengarSlayer is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 5
                    So i'm creating a pokemon fire red hack and i want the first pokemon that the player recieves to be an egg. any ideas how i can get an egg at the beginning??
                      #25661    
                    Old July 9th, 2013 (9:21 PM).
                    SevilitheArcanine's Avatar
                    SevilitheArcanine SevilitheArcanine is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2012
                      Location: 'Murica
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 10
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                      They are all map scripts, found in the header, except for the battles themselves, which are attached to the people. To create a rematch script, just use the checkflag command and then set a flag after the first battle, so it is skipped the second time and a different battle is loaded.
                      I see what you mean, and I edited the gym battle script, except for one problem: how do I know what flag to use?
                      __________________
                        #25662    
                      Old July 9th, 2013 (9:47 PM). Edited July 9th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by SevilitheArcanine View Post
                        I see what you mean, and I edited the gym battle script, except for one problem: how do I know what flag to use?
                        For Ruby? That is a good question. Unlike FR, we don't have a list. I would instead use a var for this. Probably 0x40F8. That is usually pretty safe. If you need help with how to use vars, consult diegoisawsome's xse tutorial.

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by GengarSlayer View Post
                        So i'm creating a pokemon fire red hack and i want the first pokemon that the player recieves to be an egg. any ideas how i can get an egg at the beginning??
                        A script that gives an egg. See diegoisawesome's XSE tutorial.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #25663    
                        Old July 10th, 2013 (3:39 AM).
                        coolking49's Avatar
                        coolking49 coolking49 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2009
                          Location: Northfield, MN
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 36
                          I have a map with 26 person events, all of which are condensed in a small area, to act as a crowd/mob of people. When I actually enter the map, only the first few are seen, the rest don't seem to exist. Is there a limit to the number of sprites you can see at once?
                          Spoiler:

                          Map on AM:

                          Map once I go into the game:
                          __________________
                          I'm a student at Carleton College, send me a message if you live around Northfield.
                            #25664    
                          Old July 10th, 2013 (5:38 AM).
                          karatekid552's Avatar
                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                          What happens if I push it?....
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 1,766
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by coolking49 View Post
                            I have a map with 26 person events, all of which are condensed in a small area, to act as a crowd/mob of people. When I actually enter the map, only the first few are seen, the rest don't seem to exist. Is there a limit to the number of sprites you can see at once?
                            Spoiler:

                            Map on AM:

                            Map once I go into the game:
                            The game only allows for 15 on screen NPCs. It can only physically store that much data. Using the createsprite scripting command, you can add more, however the player will be able to walk through said sprites, and the only things you can do with them is make them face a different direction and walk/run/sprint in place. Do with that as you wish.
                            __________________

                            Paired with Simba
                              #25665    
                            Old July 10th, 2013 (5:06 PM).
                            Sky93's Avatar
                            Sky93 Sky93 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2007
                              Location: GA, USA
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 72
                              Hey, I have a tile related question. I have a set of stairs that I inserted and I made sure all of the blocks were set to the right thing (i.e. covered by player, use door/warp etc) and I also have a mat the warps on left arrow press in front of the stairs. When I go into the game in vba, I cannot get the warp to work, and I'm just wondering what I'm doing wrong.
                              __________________



                              ROMs I Support:
                                #25666    
                              Old July 10th, 2013 (5:15 PM).
                              GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                              GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                              (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                              Location: Earth
                              Age: 19
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Jolly
                              Posts: 2,475
                              Use door/warp only works for moving up or down I think. I'm probably wrong.
                              Set it to just use warp [61]
                              __________________
                              I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                              The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                              Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                              Support me at my site!
                              Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                #25667    
                              Old July 10th, 2013 (5:20 PM).
                              Sky93's Avatar
                              Sky93 Sky93 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2007
                                Location: GA, USA
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 72
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                                Use door/warp only works for moving up or down I think. I'm probably wrong.
                                Set it to just use warp [61]
                                Just tried that and it still didn't work.
                                __________________



                                ROMs I Support:
                                  #25668    
                                Old July 10th, 2013 (5:22 PM).
                                magistovolt magistovolt is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 6
                                  Does someone know how in pokemon Ash Grey, all charmeleon and charizard individuals were made to disobey the player? I'm trying to do something similar in my hack. Thanks
                                    #25669    
                                  Old July 10th, 2013 (5:52 PM).
                                  GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                  GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                  (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Earth
                                  Age: 19
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 2,475
                                  There's a thread on the emulation forum page title making mew obey in fire red. There's some post that helps you make a list of disobeying pokemon.
                                  __________________
                                  I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                  The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                  Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                  Support me at my site!
                                  Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                    #25670    
                                  Old July 10th, 2013 (6:04 PM).
                                  karatekid552's Avatar
                                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                  What happens if I push it?....
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bold
                                    Posts: 1,766
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Sky93 View Post
                                    Just tried that and it still didn't work.
                                    Can you post an image of the event section of your map?
                                    __________________

                                    Paired with Simba
                                      #25671    
                                    Old July 10th, 2013 (6:27 PM).
                                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                    Oh Hai Thar~
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2007
                                    Location: Philippines
                                    Age: 28
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 8,591
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Sky93 View Post
                                    Just tried that and it still didn't work.
                                    Go out from the map, and get back inside again and see if it works.
                                    __________________

                                      #25672    
                                    Old July 10th, 2013 (8:49 PM).
                                    MasterWarlord's Avatar
                                    MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 17
                                      Because I'm not going to get an answer to my previous question, let me ask a simpler related one. I've read some vague information about there being an evolution table and adding too many evolutions breaking it. So, my question is if that's true or if there's danger in adding too many evolutions in general. If so, how many can be added safely without having to rewrite/repoint the table?

                                      I used Pokemon Evolution editor to add evolutions that YAPE refused to, described in my post on the last page.
                                        #25673    
                                      Old July 11th, 2013 (9:00 AM).
                                      karatekid552's Avatar
                                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                      What happens if I push it?....
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 1,766
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by MasterWarlord View Post
                                        Because I'm not going to get an answer to my previous question, let me ask a simpler related one. I've read some vague information about there being an evolution table and adding too many evolutions breaking it. So, my question is if that's true or if there's danger in adding too many evolutions in general. If so, how many can be added safely without having to rewrite/repoint the table?

                                        I used Pokemon Evolution editor to add evolutions that YAPE refused to, described in my post on the last page.
                                        Every pokemon has 5 slots in the table for evolution. (Not sure about the 25 extras, though I know you can evolve to them no problem, I don't know if they can evolve) The only way to change this is to repoint and rework the table, and also change the routine that checks a pokemons potential evoltutions at level up to check for a different number of evolutions.
                                        __________________

                                        Paired with Simba
                                          #25674    
                                        Old July 11th, 2013 (11:01 AM).
                                        SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                                        SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 154
                                          Is there a patch that exists for Ruby like the FR JPAN hack engine? Or would I have to go through and delete all the scripts myself?
                                          __________________
                                            #25675    
                                          Old July 11th, 2013 (11:04 AM).
                                          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                                          Location: Earth
                                          Age: 19
                                          Gender: Female
                                          Nature: Jolly
                                          Posts: 2,475
                                          There is none, but you could make one and share it on the rom hacking resources so other people could use it.
                                          __________________
                                          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                          Support me at my site!
                                          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:01 PM.