The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25176    
Old June 1st, 2013 (1:01 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
(☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,475
Just remove the level script since you won't need it. It shouldn't be used by the game because if it was you would be a boy in your house also. The fact that it's only on pallet town means it isn't used by the game engine.
Also, I have another question other than the ASM question from yesterday.
Everytime my pokédex fills up to complete I turn into a voltorb OW. The menus also are transparent, so any reason why?
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

Support me at my site!
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Relevant Advertising!

  #25177    
Old June 1st, 2013 (3:10 PM). Edited June 1st, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 1,766
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ArthurWaine View Post
    Hey Guys, Arthur here! I just came upon something curious the other day, and was hoping someone here could explain things to me. You see, I used variable 0x4200 through 0x4205 or so (assuming that it wasn't used for anything, as it's not listed in this list) with JPAN's Hacked Engine applied through the tool as the variable for the hero ow switch. However, upon exiting the player's house in Pallet Town, the Hero's OW changed to that of a small boy. I double checked, and I am pretty certain that the var is not set by anything in Pallet Town. Also, it doesn't happen as long as I stay in the Player's house.

    So, in short, should I not be using vars in that area, or is it something quirky about the hacked engine? Note that the latter is an issue I've encountered before on several of the other functions (mostly on my own hack, though: most of those I did not have with a clean FR), if that's of any help.

    Would be great if anyone could help me out, thanks guys!
    Did you even read anything besides the list? DavidJCobb and I clearly stated that only 4011-40FF was safe. It was also very clear that just because it isn't on the list doesn't mean it isn't safe. -_-

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
    Just remove the level script since you won't need it. It shouldn't be used by the game because if it was you would be a boy in your house also. The fact that it's only on pallet town means it isn't used by the game engine.
    Also, I have another question other than the ASM question from yesterday.
    Everytime my pokédex fills up to complete I turn into a voltorb OW. The menus also are transparent, so any reason why?
    Do not remove the level script. It is there for a reason.
    __________________

    Paired with Simba
      #25178    
    Old June 1st, 2013 (7:16 PM).
    kablam kablam is offline
       
      Join Date: May 2013
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 21
      My question is does there exist a type of script that would replace one map with another. For example, if a natural disaster were to happen to a certain town or an invasion or something else of that sort, would it be possible to have a flag or something control map replacement? Also if that were possible, does anyone know if there are any tutorials/guides that include that or if there are any existing scripts in games that do a similar thing that I could decompile to look at.
        #25179    
      Old June 1st, 2013 (7:25 PM).
      Renegade's Avatar
      Renegade Renegade is offline
      Time for real life...
         
        Join Date: Nov 2011
        Location: United States
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Careful
        Posts: 998
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by kablam View Post
        My question is does there exist a type of script that would replace one map with another. For example, if a natural disaster were to happen to a certain town or an invasion or something else of that sort, would it be possible to have a flag or something control map replacement? Also if that were possible, does anyone know if there are any tutorials/guides that include that or if there are any existing scripts in games that do a similar thing that I could decompile to look at.
        ...No. In order to change what a single map looks like in-game, you would have to use a "setmaptile" script. You would use the "setmaptile" command for every single tile on the map in order to change things up. It would be a long, tedious process, but it would definitely have some really cool outcomes.
          #25180    
        Old June 1st, 2013 (8:15 PM).
        SpadeEdge16's Avatar
        SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2012
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 154
          Hey guys, I've been having some problems with advance map for fire red. Lately when I click on maps it says report out of memory and freezes. What does that mean exactly? Does anyone know?
          __________________
            #25181    
          Old June 1st, 2013 (8:34 PM).
          Trev's Avatar
          Trev Trev is online now
           
          Join Date: May 2012
          Age: 21
          Nature: Sassy
          Posts: 1,315
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
          Hey guys, I've been having some problems with advance map for fire red. Lately when I click on maps it says report out of memory and freezes. What does that mean exactly? Does anyone know?
          What version of Advance Map are you using?
            #25182    
          Old June 1st, 2013 (8:52 PM).
          kearnseyboy6's Avatar
          kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
          Aussie's Toughest Mudder
             
            Join Date: Dec 2008
            Posts: 300
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by kablam View Post
            My question is does there exist a type of script that would replace one map with another. For example, if a natural disaster were to happen to a certain town or an invasion or something else of that sort, would it be possible to have a flag or something control map replacement? Also if that were possible, does anyone know if there are any tutorials/guides that include that or if there are any existing scripts in games that do a similar thing that I could decompile to look at.
            Yes... I think.

            Have the two maps made (separately and inserted somewhere) . Now go to the map you want to change after an event, navigate to the header tab, and press ctrl+H. Now you can see the map data.

            Look at the map offset. Mine is 71C04C. Now look at the map footer. There are all these bytes and in the middle of the string is your offset in reverse hex. 4C C0 71 08. That's the pointer for your map.... Now if you replaced this with your new maps pointer in reverse hex, ideally this should work.

            The command to set bytes in a script is 'writebytetooffset'. I haven't dealt with it yet but I assume it works. You will need to write 3 new bytes.

            Also if it isn't a town or something with connections, a script can warp to separate maps with variables and flags set.
              #25183    
            Old June 2nd, 2013 (1:23 AM).
            Jambo51's Avatar
            Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
            Glory To Arstotzka
               
              Join Date: Jun 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quiet
              Posts: 732
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
              New Questions!

              1) Is it possible to make a giveitem event but not have it show a message?
              Just use "additem". This is exactly what that scripting command is for!

              Code:
              additem ITEM_ID NUMBER_OF_ITEMS
              Simples! Also, FYI, giveitem is like msgbox in scripting. It's not actually a command, but a combination of commands which achieves the given effect.
              __________________
              Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                #25184    
              Old June 2nd, 2013 (4:59 AM).
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
                Yes... I think.

                Have the two maps made (separately and inserted somewhere) . Now go to the map you want to change after an event, navigate to the header tab, and press ctrl+H. Now you can see the map data.

                Look at the map offset. Mine is 71C04C. Now look at the map footer. There are all these bytes and in the middle of the string is your offset in reverse hex. 4C C0 71 08. That's the pointer for your map.... Now if you replaced this with your new maps pointer in reverse hex, ideally this should work.

                The command to set bytes in a script is 'writebytetooffset'. I haven't dealt with it yet but I assume it works. You will need to write 3 new bytes.

                Also if it isn't a town or something with connections, a script can warp to separate maps with variables and flags set.
                You can't do this because writebytetooffset only works on the RAM. What you are editing is the ROM (read only memeory- Read Only.) You can do this however with a massive setmaptile script if both of the sets of tiles are on the same map.
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #25185    
                Old June 2nd, 2013 (5:15 AM).
                kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Posts: 300
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                  You can't do this because writebytetooffset only works on the RAM. What you are editing is the ROM (read only memeory- Read Only.) You can do this however with a massive setmaptile script if both of the sets of tiles are on the same map.
                  Dam, I really thought I was on to something... So are there any way commands to touch Read Only Memory? If not I guess that's why its read only :( ...
                    #25186    
                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (8:38 AM). Edited June 2nd, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
                  GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                  GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                  (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Earth
                  Age: 19
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 2,475
                  No, the rom is only READ so you can't write to unless you are hacking, hello
                  ^^
                  __________________
                  I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                  The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                  Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                  Support me at my site!
                  Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                    #25187    
                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (8:43 AM).
                  kablam kablam is offline
                     
                    Join Date: May 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 21
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                    You can't do this because writebytetooffset only works on the RAM. What you are editing is the ROM (read only memeory- Read Only.) You can do this however with a massive setmaptile script if both of the sets of tiles are on the same map.
                    Set map tile script doesn't affect the people/events on the map, however, correct?
                      #25188    
                    Old June 2nd, 2013 (8:52 AM).
                    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                    Location: Earth
                    Age: 19
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 2,475
                    Correct, so you can use movesprite, hidesprite, showsprite, applymovement whatever.
                    __________________
                    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                    Support me at my site!
                    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                      #25189    
                    Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:02 AM).
                    pokehacker69 pokehacker69 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2013
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 1
                      I am making a hack, and when I try picking up item balls (any, like the ones in Viridian Forest) it makes the sound of picking up the item, but no message comes up and I do not recieve an item. The poke ball stays there as if nothing happened.
                        #25190    
                      Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:04 AM).
                      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Earth
                      Age: 19
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 2,475
                      You need to set a flag so the event doesn't happen twice. Then in advance map in person id put the flag number so the game hides the pokeball. And voila! The pokeball disappears.
                      __________________
                      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                      Support me at my site!
                      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                        #25191    
                      Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:13 AM).
                      SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                      SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: May 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 154
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by PJBottomz View Post
                        What version of Advance Map are you using?
                        I believe it's 1.95. Is there a newer one out that may be less buggy?
                          #25192    
                        Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:18 AM).
                        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Earth
                        Age: 19
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 2,475
                        No.1.95 is the newest. Check the version of your ROM. It only supports version 1.0 of FR and LG.
                        __________________
                        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                        Support me at my site!
                        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                          #25193    
                        Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:29 AM).
                        Vicktor Black's Avatar
                        Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
                        Blaziken
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2012
                          Location: Someplace
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 48
                          Does anyone know how to change the graphics of the weather in the Overworld, Like changing rain into hail?
                          __________________

                          Always keep an open mind!
                            #25194    
                          Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:35 AM).
                          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Earth
                          Age: 19
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Jolly
                          Posts: 2,475
                          Go into VBA and look for the image in the oam viewer tool.
                          It says an offset like 0x07000000
                          in the memory viewer go there. Search for those bytes in a hex editor and if theres a match, theres your image. Then in NSE go to the offset of it in your rom and you can bookmark it. If you dont find it in a hex editor, then its LZ-77 compressed, and you need unlz gba.
                          __________________
                          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                          Support me at my site!
                          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                            #25195    
                          Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:55 AM).
                          Vicktor Black's Avatar
                          Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
                          Blaziken
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2012
                            Location: Someplace
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 48
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                            you need unlz gba.
                            Where would I find the weather in unlz thats all I need And I will be set and thanks for the Info?
                            __________________

                            Always keep an open mind!
                              #25196    
                            Old June 2nd, 2013 (10:04 AM). Edited June 2nd, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
                            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Earth
                            Age: 19
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 2,475
                            Well it would be hard since its a small image so try searching withthe grayscale option so it's easier to find.

                            Ok, how would I make a song play from the songtable in ASM?

                            Are animated sprites like in BW possible? That could be the next community project.
                            __________________
                            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                            Support me at my site!
                            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                              #25197    
                            Old June 2nd, 2013 (12:07 PM).
                            SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                            SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: May 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 154
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                              No.1.95 is the newest. Check the version of your ROM. It only supports version 1.0 of FR and LG.
                              well i use the JPAN hack engine of FR, does that have any effect on the mapping process? because ive constantly had problems with advanced map while hacking which has made me have to start over. like this time around all ive done is block edit and map edit, and it still messes up somehow.
                                #25198    
                              Old June 2nd, 2013 (12:18 PM).
                              karatekid552's Avatar
                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                              What happens if I push it?....
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 1,766
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
                                well i use the JPAN hack engine of FR, does that have any effect on the mapping process? because ive constantly had problems with advanced map while hacking which has made me have to start over. like this time around all ive done is block edit and map edit, and it still messes up somehow.
                                That is because 1.95 is buggy as hell. It was a pre-release unfinished beta version.
                                __________________

                                Paired with Simba
                                  #25199    
                                Old June 2nd, 2013 (1:50 PM).
                                SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                                SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 154
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                  That is because 1.95 is buggy as hell. It was a pre-release unfinished beta version.
                                  is there anything less buggy? :/
                                    #25200    
                                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (1:58 PM).
                                  nekotina's Avatar
                                  nekotina nekotina is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Posts: 26
                                    Hello, I have a problem installing advance map/pokescript

                                    I didn't have any problem getting to compile scripts on my old laptop, but my new one (Windows 7) won't allow me to compile scripts, I know my main problem is that when I install Advance map, it won't allow me to chose a file save destination, it simply asks me which language I would like, and opens Advance map without letting me put it with pokewitch :/

                                    Would anyone be able to help with this?
                                    Thank you.
                                    Closed Thread

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:46 PM.