The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11426    
Old September 1st, 2009 (7:53 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,979
you need to take those platelets and put them in the right blocks and sometimes x-flip and y-filp to get the correct outcome
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11427    
Old September 1st, 2009 (7:56 AM).
RainbowNebula's Avatar
RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is online now
Colour
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 694
I'm A NOOB At A-Map So I Don't Know What U Mean >.>
  #11428    
Old September 1st, 2009 (7:57 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
     
    Join Date: May 2008
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bashful
    Posts: 3,487
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Get Out Of My Bath,Poliwag View Post
    I'm A NOOB At A-Map So I Don't Know What U Mean >.>


    Ignore narutoactor, he is answering someone else (Quote please!)

    Go into the Map Connections (The icon in Advance map is the 4 Arrows), You should see that the map has Connections. Select the one in the dropdown that highlights the arrow going down, and then go to Delete Connection. It is because it is linked to a map.
    __________________


    Temmie vibrates intensely.

    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

      #11429    
    Old September 1st, 2009 (8:06 AM).
    NarutoActor's Avatar
    NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
    The rocks cry out to me
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
    Age: 24
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Bashful
    Posts: 1,979
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post

    Ignore narutoactor, he is answering someone else (Quote please!)

    Go into the Map Connections (The icon in Advance map is the 4 Arrows), You should see that the map has Connections. Select the one in the dropdown that highlights the arrow going down, and then go to Delete Connection. It is because it is linked to a map.
    when I entered the thread her post wasent there so it would be use les to quote the the post right in front of you also he is right you need to edit the map connections ether replace the map connections for remove the connection
    __________________
    ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
      #11430    
    Old September 1st, 2009 (8:16 AM).
    RainbowNebula's Avatar
    RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is online now
    Colour
     
    Join Date: Apr 2009
    Location: UK
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 694
    Thank You Two!
    It Worked!!!!!
      #11431    
    Old September 1st, 2009 (8:27 AM).
    yusufs1's Avatar
    yusufs1 yusufs1 is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2008
      Posts: 32
      Quote:
      you need to take those platelets and put them in the right blocks and sometimes x-flip and y-filp to get the correct outcome
      hey narutoactor what do you mean by platelets
        #11432    
      Old September 1st, 2009 (8:33 AM).
      NarutoActor's Avatar
      NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
      The rocks cry out to me
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
      Age: 24
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 1,979
      oh i ment to say tiles
      in the tile set each tile is 8x8 it takes for tiles to make a block cometimes you need to click on the check boc x-flip or y-flip or both if you are still having problems pm me your hack and I will do it for you :D
      __________________
      ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
        #11433    
      Old September 1st, 2009 (9:10 AM).
      徐死 徐死 is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 9
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
        There is no "Remove Pokemon" Command in XSE, or any other script language for that matter, because it is not part of the game.
        There IS an ASM routine that lets you remove pokemon, or if you don't plan on giving the pokemon back to the player, you can just use the removing part of a daycare script... (If you don't have a daycare in your hack...)
        hey 0m3GA ARS3NAL, I looked up the tuturial you made for the day care script and it was really good. It really helped a lot. I ended up just basically taking the end part and after the menu do a compare to see if you picked the right Pokemon. So yeah, thanks for your help.
          #11434    
        Old September 1st, 2009 (11:59 AM).
        The Gambling Gallade's Avatar
        The Gambling Gallade The Gambling Gallade is offline
        Bored.
           
          Join Date: Jul 2009
          Location: USA
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 74
          Is it possible to turn HMs into Key Items? I've been thinking about that. It seems that I don't want people to use HM slaves, because a lot of bosses in my hack will be hard, and I would like to add the HMs as a sort of Key Item. Like, the actual feature of it, not the HM.

          For example: A raft for Surf.
          __________________
          I wish that I had something cool to put into my signature.
            #11435    
          Old September 1st, 2009 (3:53 PM).
          Cello's Avatar
          Cello Cello is offline
          Tonight!
           
          Join Date: Aug 2009
          Location: get the mascot involved
          Age: 28
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 1,498
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by The Gambling Gallade View Post
          Is it possible to turn HMs into Key Items? I've been thinking about that. It seems that I don't want people to use HM slaves, because a lot of bosses in my hack will be hard, and I would like to add the HMs as a sort of Key Item. Like, the actual feature of it, not the HM.

          For example: A raft for Surf.
          Get ready, 'cause this is a tl;dr situation:

          It's far from possible doing it the way you're asking (it would take something much bigger than just some scripting and sprite editing), yet at the same time you could get really creative with it, and I'm throwing this out off of the top of my head. This would require item hacking, surfing sprite replacement, AND extensive scripting/script placement which could possibly take up some space. Writing the script shouldn't be too hard, though.

          For example: Say you edit a key item in the game with the raft that you're talking about. Playing through the game if you go up and examine the water with the action button it tells you that the raft could let your surf over the water, but without it you cannot pass or go over the water, just run smack into it like a wall. However, when you get the raft, when you go and examine the water again it will check to see if you have the raft in your key items bag. Since you have the raft it will left you cross over the oceans freely. You would also have to include in the code the change between character overworld sprite to your replaced surfing sprite, and anything else such as the surfing music.

          Things you would need to do:
          -Hack a key item into a raft.
          -Replace the surfing sprite
          -Script to where that you cannot pass the water unless you have the raft into your key items bag, switch sprites, and etc.
          -Place the script over any waters edge that can lead to big bodies of water that can be surfed on.

          I would think that past the waters edge where the script is, all other water can be set to where it's just completely passable. The waters edge needs to be solid in some way.

          This is the only way I could think of doing it. Sure, you could go in the map editor and set it so that the water is only passable by surfing, but that would still require a pokemon with surf, yeah?
          __________________
          Yeah Football Fan!
            #11436    
          Old September 1st, 2009 (6:36 PM).
          CrashmanX's Avatar
          CrashmanX CrashmanX is offline
          Mechamon
             
            Join Date: Jun 2008
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 116
            I know Im being a bother with this but this is on purpose, Does anyone know where I can get a version or File for PokePic that will allow me to import/export pokemon sprites? Because so far RomHacker XP isnt working and AVG sees it as a virus and my current PokePic doesnt do anything with fire red, no really it does nothing. Please could someone respond because I tried making a thread once before and It said it needed to be approved and I got no where with that.
            __________________

            Credit to DragonSoul for the signature
              #11437    
            Old September 1st, 2009 (6:44 PM).
            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
            Im comin' home...
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
            Age: 26
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 1,816
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by CrashmanX View Post
            I know Im being a bother with this but this is on purpose, Does anyone know where I can get a version or File for PokePic that will allow me to import/export pokemon sprites? Because so far RomHacker XP isnt working and AVG sees it as a virus and my current PokePic doesnt do anything with fire red, no really it does nothing. Please could someone respond because I tried making a thread once before and It said it needed to be approved and I got no where with that.
            You could just use unLZgba like so many people already do...
            __________________
            >Boot Jailbot
            >Pass *****
            .
            .
            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
            Greetings Warden
            of Superjail Penitentiary
            Awaiting user input...

            >Display User_Info
            ╠══User Info══╣
            Username:
            0m3GA ARS3NAL
            Age: 18
            Sex: Male ♂
            Race: Caucasian
            Quote:
            "What is this
            I don't even..."

            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
            ╠══End of File══╣
            Awaiting user input...

            >
              #11438    
            Old September 2nd, 2009 (3:40 AM).
            chaitan94's Avatar
            chaitan94 chaitan94 is offline
            BKC
               
              Join Date: Aug 2009
              Location: Hyderabad, India
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 2
              Can new types be created ?
              (in pokemon ruby)
                #11439    
              Old September 2nd, 2009 (3:51 AM).
              0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
              0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
              Im comin' home...
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: Superjail Penitentiary
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Gentle
              Posts: 1,816
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by chaitan94 View Post
              Can new types be created ?
              (in pokemon ruby)
              Not without ASM... (For making totally new types)
              The only thing you can do without ASM is replace the ??? Type...
              __________________
              >Boot Jailbot
              >Pass *****
              .
              .
              Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
              Greetings Warden
              of Superjail Penitentiary
              Awaiting user input...

              >Display User_Info
              ╠══User Info══╣
              Username:
              0m3GA ARS3NAL
              Age: 18
              Sex: Male ♂
              Race: Caucasian
              Quote:
              "What is this
              I don't even..."

              M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
              ╠══End of File══╣
              Awaiting user input...

              >
                #11440    
              Old September 2nd, 2009 (4:23 AM).
              ~Red's Avatar
              ~Red ~Red is offline
              Meh. Hate me if you will.
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2005
                Location: Pallet Town
                Age: 24
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 558
                Does anyone know how to successfully import a bitmap into Tile Layer Pro without it messing up?
                __________________
                Support my music: https://soundcloud.com/itssnyd/

                "We're not here for a long time, we're here for a good time!"
                  #11441    
                Old September 2nd, 2009 (4:54 AM).
                CrashmanX's Avatar
                CrashmanX CrashmanX is offline
                Mechamon
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2008
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Relaxed
                  Posts: 116
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                  You could just use unLZgba like so many people already do...
                  Well the thing is, I want to change A TON of sprites and I dont want to have to go through every single one with UNLZ. Does anyone have any expericence with RSBall? It seems to work it just wont IMPORT any of my sprites.
                  __________________

                  Credit to DragonSoul for the signature
                    #11442    
                  Old September 2nd, 2009 (4:55 AM).
                  0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                  0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                  Im comin' home...
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Gentle
                  Posts: 1,816
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by CrashmanX View Post
                  Well the thing is, I want to change A TON of sprites and I dont want to have to go through every single one with UNLZ. Does anyone have any expericence with RSBall? It seems to work it just wont IMPORT any of my sprites.
                  Are the sprites indexed?
                  There is a tutorial here for RSball... it is fairly new... go look in docs/tuts
                  __________________
                  >Boot Jailbot
                  >Pass *****
                  .
                  .
                  Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                  Greetings Warden
                  of Superjail Penitentiary
                  Awaiting user input...

                  >Display User_Info
                  ╠══User Info══╣
                  Username:
                  0m3GA ARS3NAL
                  Age: 18
                  Sex: Male ♂
                  Race: Caucasian
                  Quote:
                  "What is this
                  I don't even..."

                  M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                  ╠══End of File══╣
                  Awaiting user input...

                  >
                    #11443    
                  Old September 2nd, 2009 (6:41 AM).
                  Pokepal17's Avatar
                  Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                  More cowbell~
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2008
                  Location: Steeltown
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 1,517
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by ~Red View Post
                  Does anyone know how to successfully import a bitmap into Tile Layer Pro without it messing up?
                  Well, if it doesn't work, use Tile Molester Alternate.. That can import bitmaps I think and I find it easier to use than Tile Layer Pro.The only thing you need to get it to work properly is Java Runtime Environment to be installed omn your computer and and the offset of the images in Tile Molester Alternate.
                  __________________
                  Pokémon Stardrop
                    #11444    
                  Old September 2nd, 2009 (7:20 AM).
                  NarutoActor's Avatar
                  NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                  The rocks cry out to me
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                  Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Bashful
                  Posts: 1,979
                  how do you find the platelet offsets for the overworlds in overworldeditor it dosent tel you :l
                  __________________
                  ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                    #11445    
                  Old September 2nd, 2009 (8:33 AM).
                  Bayonetta's Avatar
                  Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2009
                    Posts: 34
                    Is it possible to create new types? and add them instead of replacing existing ones.
                      #11446    
                    Old September 2nd, 2009 (8:36 AM).
                    Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                    Musician and Pixel Artist
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                      Location: United Kingdom
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 243
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Drakuaza View Post
                      Is it possible to create new types? and add them instead of replacing existing ones.
                      In 3rd Generation Games, no, not in my knowledge. There is a way to do it on 2nd Generation Games though.
                      __________________
                      Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                        #11447    
                      Old September 2nd, 2009 (8:36 AM).
                      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                         
                        Join Date: May 2008
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bashful
                        Posts: 3,487
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Drakuaza View Post
                        Is it possible to create new types? and add them instead of replacing existing ones.
                        Read above you, it says here (if you were bothered to read this page!):

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
                        Not without ASM... (For making totally new types)
                        The only thing you can do without ASM is replace the ??? Type...
                        __________________


                        Temmie vibrates intensely.

                        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                          #11448    
                        Old September 2nd, 2009 (8:46 AM).
                        Bayonetta's Avatar
                        Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2009
                          Posts: 34
                          Then anyone got an idea of how to make a D/P attack system into Fr? like some dark attacks are either physical or special based. Theres a game that has that system, so i wonder if its a Hex function or a skill function. thats why i was thinking on making new types. example, making a copy of the "normal" type but label it dark with same strenghts and weakness as the original dark and change the physical dark type attacks to this.

                          @about the post, i didnt saw because its full of sprite/pallete and tile replacing questions so i scrolled down fast.
                            #11449    
                          Old September 2nd, 2009 (9:02 AM). Edited September 2nd, 2009 by ville!.
                          ville!'s Avatar
                          ville! ville! is offline
                          Abbysus, abbysus invocat!
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2009
                            Location: Perú
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Rash
                            Posts: 53
                            is possible to create new TMs? cuz' i wanna add 10 NEW tms
                              #11450    
                            Old September 2nd, 2009 (9:02 AM).
                            Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                            Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                            hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                               
                              Join Date: May 2008
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bashful
                              Posts: 3,487
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Drakuaza View Post
                              Then anyone got an idea of how to make a D/P attack system into Fr? like some dark attacks are either physical or special based. Theres a game that has that system, so i wonder if its a Hex function or a skill function. thats why i was thinking on making new types. example, making a copy of the "normal" type but label it dark with same strenghts and weakness as the original dark and change the physical dark type attacks to this.

                              @about the post, i didnt saw because its full of sprite/pallete and tile replacing questions so i scrolled down fast.
                              Again, ASM is needed, probably very complex. This is why it says "Search before Asking", so your question last time would have been answered before posting.
                              __________________


                              Temmie vibrates intensely.

                              awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                              OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                              can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                              RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                              Closed Thread

                              Quick Reply

                              Join the conversation!

                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                              Create a PokéCommunity Account
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:41 PM.