• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Showcase] Digital/Pixel portraits

Tox

fight me
Years
I'm starting to get back into Pokémon and digital drawing after a huge break. Critique would be really helpful. I'm not that good with shading and my Gen VII style sprite looks a bit strange I think. Tips/Advice would be great. I'll hopefully continue to add to this. I promise that if I add more, it won't be more portraits of me lol.

Random self portrait
Spoiler:

Gen V-ish style mugshot
andrewsprite3.png

Gen VII-ish style mugshots
gen_vii_style_trainer_sprite__andrew_by_arishoz-dboxiut.png
gen_vii_style_trainer_sprite__terri_by_arishoz-dbq5tvo.png
gen_vii_style_trainer_sprite__annie_by_arishoz-dbrkkff.png
gen_vii_style_trainer_sprite__pearse_by_arishoz-dchd6vr.png

Older versions:
Spoiler:

Last edited:
Years
Oh whoa, I love your portrait drawing! It's got a neat style that's clean cut for the shading. Your pixel work is also impressive! Sweet job!

For shading help, it helps to study the object you want to shade. Clothing and skin, for example, have different surfaces and material (mostly clothes on material) that reflect light different. I was looking for some tutorials that talk about that, and among these pixeljoint tutorials there's one on shading. There's the url to the one I'm talkng about!
Shading is definitely tough, it takes some studying and observing. If you need anymore help, please let me know! Or someone else can comment about it as well. C:

Portraits of yourself is great, you're practicing styles and doing a pretty great job at each style you've done! Can't wait to see more!​

Tox

fight me
Years