The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10701    
Old July 30th, 2009 (9:36 AM).
MC Blaze's Avatar
MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
The Breeder
     
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 35
    I've a liittle problem:

    I'm trying to change the player's OW in my hack, I've already the sprites and I just imported them to the game with OW Editor, but whenever I try to color them to fit the actual colors, a window pops up saying something about Error 55 and SaveSprite, please help, I need to get this done!
    __________________
      #10702    
    Old July 30th, 2009 (12:21 PM).
    Pokepal17's Avatar
    Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
    More cowbell~
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Steeltown
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,517
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
    I've a liittle problem:

    I'm trying to change the player's OW in my hack, I've already the sprites and I just imported them to the game with OW Editor, but whenever I try to color them to fit the actual colors, a window pops up saying something about Error 55 and SaveSprite, please help, I need to get this done!
    Import the sprite and then close OW Editor, Then reopen it and colour in. :P
    __________________
    Pokémon Stardrop
      #10703    
    Old July 30th, 2009 (12:48 PM).
    MC Blaze's Avatar
    MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
    The Breeder
       
      Join Date: Jun 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 35
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
      Import the sprite and then close OW Editor, Then reopen it and colour in. :P
      May god bless you, Pokepal17, may god bless you
      __________________
        #10704    
      Old July 30th, 2009 (1:49 PM).
      Pokepal17's Avatar
      Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
      More cowbell~
       
      Join Date: Oct 2008
      Location: Steeltown
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 1,517
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
      May god bless you, Pokepal17, may god bless you
      Zel's the one who deserves the blessing. His hack inspired me to hack. :P
      __________________
      Pokémon Stardrop
        #10705    
      Old July 30th, 2009 (5:01 PM).
      Samike360's Avatar
      Samike360 Samike360 is offline
      Lover of May
         
        Join Date: Mar 2009
        Location: ATL
        Gender:
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 397
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
        1. Waht yu have to do is search the multichoice options in one long hex string. You can't make the multichoice text beigger than the original label.

        2. The command getplayerpos is what you're thinking of and yeah you can make a level script like that.
        Thanks for the help, but could you elaborate about the hex? If I want to make the multichoice boxes say cyndaquil, charmander, and torchic would I have to find a box to replace it with more characters than them? Could I put it in an unused offset space? Could I use a 6-choice command and make it 3 choices so I wouldn't overwrite?
        __________________





        Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

        From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
          #10706    
        Old July 30th, 2009 (6:06 PM).
        Larvitar170's Avatar
        Larvitar170 Larvitar170 is offline
        Noobie hacker
           
          Join Date: Jul 2009
          Location: Kentucky.
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 66
          Ok guys, quick question. I have been working on my hack, using fire red, and Advanced Map. I made a new connection, and since then, every time I try to leave a building, the game resets to the title screen. When I try to start the game over, it leads to a black screen, but has my music playing. What am I to do, has anyone else had this issue? If yes, how did you fix it?
          __________________
          Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
          No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
          Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

            #10707    
          Old July 30th, 2009 (6:18 PM).
          Pokepal17's Avatar
          Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
          More cowbell~
           
          Join Date: Oct 2008
          Location: Steeltown
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 1,517
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Samike360 View Post
          Thanks for the help, but could you elaborate about the hex? If I want to make the multichoice boxes say cyndaquil, charmander, and torchic would I have to find a box to replace it with more characters than them? Could I put it in an unused offset space? Could I use a 6-choice command and make it 3 choices so I wouldn't overwrite?
          Well shorten the names to make them the same size as the old one e.g. Charmander - Char. I don't think it's possible to add or take away choice on a multichoice but there is a scripting command which lets you choose how many options to put on one line.
          __________________
          Pokémon Stardrop
            #10708    
          Old July 30th, 2009 (6:20 PM).
          0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
          0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
          Im comin' home...
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Superjail Penitentiary
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Gentle
          Posts: 1,816
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
          Well shorten the names to make them the same size as the old one e.g. Charmander - Char. I don't think it's possible to add or take away choice on a multichoice but there is a scripting command which lets you choose how many options to put on one line.
          No, you can completely make new multichoices.
          You need to repoint the table data, but it is there.
          There is a tutorial in the Docs. and Tuts. section.
          __________________
          >Boot Jailbot
          >Pass *****
          .
          .
          Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
          Greetings Warden
          of Superjail Penitentiary
          Awaiting user input...

          >Display User_Info
          ╠══User Info══╣
          Username:
          0m3GA ARS3NAL
          Age: 18
          Sex: Male ♂
          Race: Caucasian
          Quote:
          "What is this
          I don't even..."

          M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
          ╠══End of File══╣
          Awaiting user input...

          >
            #10709    
          Old July 30th, 2009 (7:32 PM).
          rednano12's Avatar
          rednano12 rednano12 is offline
             
            Join Date: Mar 2008
            Gender:
            Posts: 64
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by rednano12 View Post
            Does anyone know what the number for the title in Pokemon emerald is in Unlz.gba? The one that says Pokemon emerald. Any, and all help will be appreciated. Thank you.

            Any help guys? I just ran through almost all of the numbers in the old UNLZ.gba (and translated a good bit of the dutch) but still no dice. I just need the big yellow and blue pokemon logo and the text under it that says Pokemon Emerald. Thank you!
              #10710    
            Old July 30th, 2009 (9:31 PM).
            onyx79's Avatar
            onyx79 onyx79 is offline
            Red Dead Revolver
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Location: Orange Islands (=
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 503
              hmmm someone has the berry tree OW sprite from r\s\e or d\p?
              __________________
              my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                #10711    
              Old July 30th, 2009 (9:40 PM).
              3dd13's Avatar
              3dd13 3dd13 is offline
              Leader of the Fallen
                 
                Join Date: Oct 2008
                Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
                Age: 26
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lonely
                Posts: 96
                after searching this fo hours, i must ask a few things. first of all, im using firered.
                now, how do i use pokecry? does repointing the crys prevent messing up others?
                can someone give me a table of the pokemon cry offsets and numbers in a txt file?
                and last of all, thanks in advance! this will progress my hack 25%

                Please reply asap!!!
                __________________
                  #10712    
                Old July 30th, 2009 (10:31 PM).
                0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                Im comin' home...
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2008
                Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                Age: 26
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Gentle
                Posts: 1,816
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
                hmmm someone has the berry tree OW sprite from r\s\e or d\p?
                If you can't find it, rip it from the game.
                __________________
                >Boot Jailbot
                >Pass *****
                .
                .
                Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                Greetings Warden
                of Superjail Penitentiary
                Awaiting user input...

                >Display User_Info
                ╠══User Info══╣
                Username:
                0m3GA ARS3NAL
                Age: 18
                Sex: Male ♂
                Race: Caucasian
                Quote:
                "What is this
                I don't even..."

                M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                ╠══End of File══╣
                Awaiting user input...

                >
                  #10713    
                Old July 31st, 2009 (7:47 AM).
                MC Blaze's Avatar
                MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                The Breeder
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 35
                  Yo Yo Yo! MC Blaze on the mic.

                  Question of the day: How do I import a trainer sprite to the game? I'm hacking Fire Red, by the way. If you have a heart, you'll forgive my noobness and help me.
                  __________________
                    #10714    
                  Old July 31st, 2009 (8:19 AM).
                  ~Frozen Darkness~'s Avatar
                  ~Frozen Darkness~ ~Frozen Darkness~ is offline
                  It's watching you...
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2008
                    Location: Staten Island, NY
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Docile
                    Posts: 502
                    Open UNLZ.GBA, search for a trainer sprite, then import a new one and Select Write To ROM. The trainers are around 1700-1900 I think.
                    __________________
                    Signature is blank right now :/
                      #10715    
                    Old July 31st, 2009 (9:49 AM).
                    MC Blaze's Avatar
                    MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                    The Breeder
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 35
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ~Frozen Darkness~ View Post
                      Open UNLZ.GBA, search for a trainer sprite, then import a new one and Select Write To ROM. The trainers are around 1700-1900 I think.
                      I did that, acording to destinedjagold's tutorial, but when I engage a battle with that trainer, I get a blackscreen, what does this mean?
                      __________________
                        #10716    
                      Old July 31st, 2009 (9:54 AM).
                      Pokepal17's Avatar
                      Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                      More cowbell~
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2008
                      Location: Steeltown
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 1,517
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
                      I did that, acording to destinedjagold's tutorial, but when I engage a battle with that trainer, I get a blackscreen, what does this mean?
                      You didn't insert the trainer at an offset ending with 0,4,8 or C. Any offset that doesn't end in any of those will mess up the ROM when the picture should be displayed. So always insert an image at an offset ending with 0,4,8 or C.

                      E.g. 0x720120 - yes. 0x98DF6F - no.
                      __________________
                      Pokémon Stardrop
                        #10717    
                      Old July 31st, 2009 (10:10 AM).
                      MC Blaze's Avatar
                      MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                      The Breeder
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 35
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
                        You didn't insert the trainer at an offset ending with 0,4,8 or C. Any offset that doesn't end in any of those will mess up the ROM when the picture should be displayed. So always insert an image at an offset ending with 0,4,8 or C.

                        E.g. 0x720120 - yes. 0x98DF6F - no.
                        It worked!... but the sprite colors are messed up, how do I fix that?
                        __________________
                          #10718    
                        Old July 31st, 2009 (10:33 AM).
                        Pokepal17's Avatar
                        Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                        More cowbell~
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Location: Steeltown
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 1,517
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
                        It worked!... but the sprite colors are messed up, how do I fix that?
                        After you insert the picture, export the palette. :P
                        __________________
                        Pokémon Stardrop
                          #10719    
                        Old July 31st, 2009 (10:42 AM).
                        Buck's Avatar
                        Buck Buck is offline
                        Just some guy from Minnesota.
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2009
                          Location: Minnesota
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 7
                          Is anyone aware/in possession of a program that can add move/pokemon types to a game? I played this one hack, pokemon prism I believe, in which there were a few new types like abnormal and gas. I've been hacking a ruby ROM and would like to add some types to my game. Anyone know how to do this?
                            #10720    
                          Old July 31st, 2009 (11:04 AM).
                          Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                          Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                          hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                             
                            Join Date: May 2008
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bashful
                            Posts: 3,487
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Buck View Post
                            Is anyone aware/in possession of a program that can add move/pokemon types to a game? I played this one hack, pokemon prism I believe, in which there were a few new types like abnormal and gas. I've been hacking a ruby ROM and would like to add some types to my game. Anyone know how to do this?
                            There isn't a tool, as far as I am aware. You need to use Hex Editing (I think) to add more types.
                            __________________


                            Temmie vibrates intensely.

                            awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                            OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                            can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                            RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                              #10721    
                            Old July 31st, 2009 (12:16 PM).
                            MC Blaze's Avatar
                            MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                            The Breeder
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 35
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
                              After you insert the picture, export the palette. :P
                              ... I love you, dude. As simple as that
                              __________________
                                #10722    
                              Old July 31st, 2009 (2:44 PM).
                              Larvitar170's Avatar
                              Larvitar170 Larvitar170 is offline
                              Noobie hacker
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2009
                                Location: Kentucky.
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Modest
                                Posts: 66
                                I have been searching, but I know I can't search all of these pages for an answer. I went through about 200, plus googled and all that good stuff, but I didn't see an answer to this. The only time I even saw the question again, it was unanswered in a locked board.

                                I moved a warp point in Advanced Map. It worked on there, where I could use the goto back and forth. When I load the rom and play, the same warp only leads to a black screen. Any idea what I did?
                                __________________
                                Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
                                No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
                                Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

                                  #10723    
                                Old July 31st, 2009 (5:05 PM).
                                MC Blaze's Avatar
                                MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                                The Breeder
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 35
                                  Hey there, dudes.

                                  This is my last question of the day, I promise, I think you guys had enough of my noobness. How do I create a new person on A-Map? I've looked everywhere and I don't find the option to do it (or maybe I found it but I don't get it) I'm sorry, I need help.
                                  __________________
                                    #10724    
                                  Old July 31st, 2009 (5:21 PM).
                                  0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                                  0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                                  Im comin' home...
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                                  Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Gentle
                                  Posts: 1,816
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
                                  Hey there, dudes.

                                  This is my last question of the day, I promise, I think you guys had enough of my noobness. How do I create a new person on A-Map? I've looked everywhere and I don't find the option to do it (or maybe I found it but I don't get it) I'm sorry, I need help.
                                  Easy, in A-Map, when you are in the map you want to add a sprite to, click on the events tab, and scroll to the bottom of the preferences panel.
                                  At the bottom, you should see 4 drop down boxes. Just increase the number of whatever you need, and then click the 'Change Events' button, and a new Sprite will appear in the top left corner of the map.
                                  __________________
                                  >Boot Jailbot
                                  >Pass *****
                                  .
                                  .
                                  Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                                  Greetings Warden
                                  of Superjail Penitentiary
                                  Awaiting user input...

                                  >Display User_Info
                                  ╠══User Info══╣
                                  Username:
                                  0m3GA ARS3NAL
                                  Age: 18
                                  Sex: Male ♂
                                  Race: Caucasian
                                  Quote:
                                  "What is this
                                  I don't even..."

                                  M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                                  ╠══End of File══╣
                                  Awaiting user input...

                                  >
                                    #10725    
                                  Old July 31st, 2009 (5:23 PM).
                                  ruby's Avatar
                                  ruby ruby is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2004
                                  Gender: Other
                                  Posts: 1,356
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
                                  How do I create a new person on A-Map?
                                  If you go to the events tab and scroll down in the panel on the right hand side you can set the amount of each event (person, sign, warp, script).

                                  Edit: Beaten
                                  Closed Thread

                                  Quick Reply

                                  Join the conversation!

                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:53 AM.