The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23201    
Old December 20th, 2012 (11:04 AM).
Terrac's Avatar
Terrac Terrac is offline
Scrambled Egg
     
    Join Date: Dec 2009
    Location: SoCal
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 3
    Hi! Me and a friend (fireguy135) are working on a new rom hack (our first official one, but we've had a bit of experience poking around with tools and stuff), and we were wondering, is there any way to delete a map in advancemap without it adding new blank banks and just moving it around? everytime we try to delete a map we end up with extra banks and we don't know what went wrong... any help would be appreciated, thanks! and we're hacking emerald and using advancemap 1.90.
      #23202    
    Old December 20th, 2012 (12:38 PM).
    Pedroizt Pedroizt is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2009
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 6
      How to expand Fire Red Pokedex to 209 Pokemons?
        #23203    
      Old December 20th, 2012 (4:59 PM).
      Joexv's Avatar
      Joexv Joexv is offline
      joexv.github.io
       
      Join Date: Oct 2012
      Location: Oregon
      Age: 21
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Sassy
      Posts: 1,031
      Ok I'd didn't have time to go through 900 pages of this so I don't know if my question has been answered.
      When I edit most maps with advanced map in pokemon ruby it will mess up my game by making it start up with a white screen. I've tried thee hole 128k save file thing and it didn't work. I won't even edit the script and it gets screwed up. All I will do is change the size (sometimes), or add people or just change the ground. On routes an that kind of thing I have no problem with but if I change let's say little root town it screws up. I usually try to put in my own maps and just use that but I can't add the chose pokemon script or the poked script or any other specials without it getting messed up. I would love some help on figuring out why.
      Thx in advance!!!!
      __________________
      I died and am dead
        #23204    
      Old December 22nd, 2012 (3:50 AM).
      TaichiWind's Avatar
      TaichiWind TaichiWind is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2012
        Location: in my house
        Gender: Other
        Nature: Lax
        Posts: 175
        What is the offset for the "come out of truck and your mom greets you" script in Pokemon Ruby?
        __________________

        In your own Steven-y way.
          #23205    
        Old December 22nd, 2012 (8:31 AM).
        karatekid552's Avatar
        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
        What happens if I push it?....
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 1,766
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by TaichiWind View Post
          What is the offset for the "come out of truck and your mom greets you" script in Pokemon Ruby?
          The offset is at $14D5EF.
            #23206    
          Old December 23rd, 2012 (2:03 PM).
          DarkFire7777 DarkFire7777 is offline
             
            Join Date: Dec 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 5
            Anyone know how to add a complete new tileset in Advance Map? I'm hacking Emerald and I want to add DP and Platinum tiles into it, but I don't want to damage or change any of the prexisting Emerald tiles. I've seen some people with whole new customs tilesets (with insanely large tileset numbers), but aren't that many tutorials out there. I did see LU-HO's tutorial, but it is closed and most of the links and pictures are broken. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :3
              #23207    
            Old December 23rd, 2012 (3:42 PM).
            PincherD's Avatar
            PincherD PincherD is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 4
              Yeah..., it's been a while ever since I posted last...
              >Though... Question...

              How does one edit Abilities, (their effect in battle/name/description/etc.)?
                #23208    
              Old December 23rd, 2012 (8:42 PM).
              Teh Blazer's Avatar
              Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
              Divider of Zero
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2009
                Location: 'MERICA
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 777
                Can somebody please explain to me the basics of tables and how to create them?
                __________________
                Being a hero is overrated anyways
                  #23209    
                Old December 23rd, 2012 (9:18 PM).
                itman itman is offline
                Back to ROM hacking. :D
                   
                  Join Date: May 2007
                  Age: 24
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 100
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
                  Can somebody please explain to me the basics of tables and how to create them?
                  Locate the table, write down everything...
                    #23210    
                  Old December 23rd, 2012 (9:22 PM).
                  Teh Blazer's Avatar
                  Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                  Divider of Zero
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                    Location: 'MERICA
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 777
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by itman View Post
                    Locate the table, write down everything...
                    I mean, what's the basic structure and how would I make one?
                    __________________
                    Being a hero is overrated anyways
                      #23211    
                    Old December 23rd, 2012 (9:25 PM).
                    Nara567's Avatar
                    Nara567 Nara567 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 34
                      I've got a few questions. Fire Red.

                      Eevee. YAPE and Pokemon Editor included in the Pokemon Game Editor only allow for five evolutions max. Is there any way I can expand that to include Glaceon and Leafeon?
                      Is there also any way for me to alter or add evolution methods? I don't mind hex editing, but I'd prefer not to.

                      Is there a max number of trainer sprites I can have? I'm using the JPAN's Hacked Engine, if it makes a difference. I know there's a bunch of overworlds possible, but I don't recall reading anything about sprites.

                      Is it possible to have tiles from a bunch of different tilesets in one map? Like the Celadon Department Story and Pewter's museum in one map?
                        #23212    
                      Old December 24th, 2012 (4:51 AM).
                      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                         
                        Join Date: May 2008
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bashful
                        Posts: 3,487
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Nara567 View Post
                        I've got a few questions. Fire Red.

                        Eevee. YAPE and Pokemon Editor included in the Pokemon Game Editor only allow for five evolutions max. Is there any way I can expand that to include Glaceon and Leafeon?
                        Is there also any way for me to alter or add evolution methods? I don't mind hex editing, but I'd prefer not to.

                        Is there a max number of trainer sprites I can have? I'm using the JPAN's Hacked Engine, if it makes a difference. I know there's a bunch of overworlds possible, but I don't recall reading anything about sprites.

                        Is it possible to have tiles from a bunch of different tilesets in one map? Like the Celadon Department Story and Pewter's museum in one map?
                        I think most of your questions require either ASM or editing the game engine, especially the restriction removal of number of evolutions. Max number of trainer sprites I think can be increased if you repoint the sprite the trainer data uses for each trainer (not sure on that though)

                        As for your tileset data, unless you can fit all of those tiles into the same tileset, no unless you, again, edit the game engine or use ASM. My advice - get your favourite tiles from these and put them in as one tileset (but do not forget the pallette limitations that the GBA has as well in the games)
                        __________________


                        Temmie vibrates intensely.

                        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                          #23213    
                        Old December 24th, 2012 (1:31 PM).
                        Nara567's Avatar
                        Nara567 Nara567 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2010
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Careful
                          Posts: 34
                          Ah, that's what I thought. Unfortunately, I have no experience with ASM. =/

                          I have some more questions, though. Fire Red, with JPAN's hacked engine.

                          Is there a way to store the player's party somewhere, temporarily change the OW and give a new party, and then when the OW is changed back, return the original party? As if you're "switching" players temporarily.

                          Is there a way to have a partner battle, like Steven's in Emerald, in Fire Red? I don't recall there being any partner battles last time I played through, but I figure if FRLG were just deposits of RSE, it's probably in there somewhere.
                            #23214    
                          Old December 24th, 2012 (2:46 PM).
                          PokemonMasters's Avatar
                          PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                          Always Remember Forever&After
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2012
                            Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 403
                            Can anyone please help me on inserting Battle Backgrounds?
                            __________________

                            +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                              #23215    
                            Old December 24th, 2012 (5:46 PM).
                            monster6286 monster6286 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 1
                              How do you change where the player starts?
                                #23216    
                              Old December 25th, 2012 (10:31 AM).
                              karatekid552's Avatar
                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                              What happens if I push it?....
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 1,766
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by monster6286 View Post
                                How do you change where the player starts?
                                There are two programs I've come across, probably more I just haven't seen them, but there is Intro Editor by MewThree and Start Map Chooser Advance (SMCA) by HackMew. SMCA is far more in depth that Into Editor and is a much better option. Both are simple and easy to use.
                                  #23217    
                                Old December 25th, 2012 (1:51 PM).
                                FireFox's Avatar
                                FireFox FireFox is offline
                                Dialga Fangirl
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2004
                                  Location: UK
                                  Age: 32
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Timid
                                  Posts: 58
                                  Hi folks, quick Q:

                                  How do I go about changing the music that's played when you fight a Gym Leader/Elite 4? I want the normal Trainer Battle theme to play instead.
                                  __________________
                                  Some signature, or something!
                                    #23218    
                                  Old December 25th, 2012 (6:45 PM).
                                  karatekid552's Avatar
                                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                  What happens if I push it?....
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bold
                                    Posts: 1,766
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by FireFox View Post
                                    Hi folks, quick Q:

                                    How do I go about changing the music that's played when you fight a Gym Leader/Elite 4? I want the normal Trainer Battle theme to play instead.
                                    Intro Music (I believe that is what you mean by battle theme) can be changed right in Advance Trainer. Just search for their names and change their theme number to whatever a regular trainer has. If I remember correctly, the Intro Music option is directly next to the sprite, or at least in that general area.
                                      #23219    
                                    Old December 25th, 2012 (7:39 PM).
                                    SchokoInc SchokoInc is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Posts: 20
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                      Intro Music (I believe that is what you mean by battle theme) can be changed right in Advance Trainer. Just search for their names and change their theme number to whatever a regular trainer has. If I remember correctly, the Intro Music option is directly next to the sprite, or at least in that general area.
                                      I think the question wasn't how to change the intro music (which is quite clear) but how to change the music that plays during the battle :] This question was asked rather often but never actually answered :o And actually this is my question too and i searched the entire thread for an answer :< It was said once (about 100 pages before) that it is possible to change the music that is linked to a certain trainer class e.g. that the gym leader (battle) theme is played when you challenge a trainer of the class boss but i didn't find an answer to this :(

                                      So here's my question: How can i change the music playing against a special class of trainers.

                                      @FireFox: In the script helping thread and here:
                                      sfc [dot] pokefans [dot] net / lesson [dot] php?id=13&lang=en (damn spam-filter i'm too new to post URLs or hyperlinks :< )
                                      you can find a tutorial how to change the music that plays for a single battle :) As I'm planning to have a different battle music playing against the opposing team this would be too much :< but for your needs it seems to be enough :) Hope it helped :)
                                        #23220    
                                      Old December 26th, 2012 (7:08 AM).
                                      FireFox's Avatar
                                      FireFox FireFox is offline
                                      Dialga Fangirl
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2004
                                        Location: UK
                                        Age: 32
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Timid
                                        Posts: 58
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
                                        I think the question wasn't how to change the intro music (which is quite clear) but how to change the music that plays during the battle :] This question was asked rather often but never actually answered :o And actually this is my question too and i searched the entire thread for an answer :< It was said once (about 100 pages before) that it is possible to change the music that is linked to a certain trainer class e.g. that the gym leader (battle) theme is played when you challenge a trainer of the class boss but i didn't find an answer to this :(

                                        So here's my question: How can i change the music playing against a special class of trainers.

                                        @FireFox: In the script helping thread and here:
                                        sfc [dot] pokefans [dot] net / lesson [dot] php?id=13&lang=en (damn spam-filter i'm too new to post URLs or hyperlinks :< )
                                        you can find a tutorial how to change the music that plays for a single battle :) As I'm planning to have a different battle music playing against the opposing team this would be too much :< but for your needs it seems to be enough :) Hope it helped :)
                                        Thanks for the assist but unfortunately it didn't help. Following that guide, the music was still as it was. I completely forgot that this ROM I'm trying to edit has already been hacked. All of the music has been replaced (well, new tracks have been added, the original music is still there). Anyways, somewhere in the hex there's got to be something that says: "If tclass = Leader then playsong LEADER_THEME". If I can find this hex value, switch it to the Trainer song, then I'll be happy! Just wish I knew where it was.
                                        __________________
                                        Some signature, or something!
                                          #23221    
                                        Old December 26th, 2012 (7:41 AM).
                                        Jambo51's Avatar
                                        Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                                        Glory To Arstotzka
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2009
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quiet
                                          Posts: 732
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
                                          I think the question wasn't how to change the intro music (which is quite clear) but how to change the music that plays during the battle :] This question was asked rather often but never actually answered :o And actually this is my question too and i searched the entire thread for an answer :< It was said once (about 100 pages before) that it is possible to change the music that is linked to a certain trainer class e.g. that the gym leader (battle) theme is played when you challenge a trainer of the class boss but i didn't find an answer to this :(
                                          Simple answer? There's no easy way to do it. It's all determined by ASM with no "hex table".
                                          I've created ASM which lets you create such a table, as well as define regional music, but both "full" answers require ASM.
                                          __________________
                                          Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                                            #23222    
                                          Old December 26th, 2012 (8:29 AM).
                                          SchokoInc SchokoInc is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                                            Posts: 20
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
                                            Simple answer? There's no easy way to do it. It's all determined by ASM with no "hex table".
                                            I've created ASM which lets you create such a table, as well as define regional music, but both "full" answers require ASM.
                                            So it is possible? :) I think a tool which lets you do this would be awesome *-* but otherwise creating tools is anything but light and easy work i guess :< Anyways could you please give some sort of light tutorial? :) (this would also end many questions ^-^) I have to admit I'm quite new to ASM myself and more in the
                                            "glad I actually understand what it is doing... somehow" phase than in the actual phase where i can crease ASM code myself :<

                                            And is there a way how i could change the personality value of a given pokemon? :) (for example i want eevee to evolve either to espeon or to umbreon depending on the personality value and the eevee you get in fire red should always evolve into espeon :) )

                                            Thats almost it my last question is if it would be possible (which i highly belive) to expand the kanto-dex in fire-red to 251 pokemon and how to do it (I only have to change some hex variables don't I? :) ) :)
                                              #23223    
                                            Old December 26th, 2012 (3:02 PM).
                                            vitamurmillo's Avatar
                                            vitamurmillo vitamurmillo is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Mar 2012
                                              Posts: 10
                                              Is there a tool anywhere specifically for changing the titlescreen in FR/LG? I could only find one tutorial, and that was incomplete.
                                                #23224    
                                              Old December 26th, 2012 (3:02 PM).
                                              miksy91's Avatar
                                              miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                                              Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Oct 2008
                                                Location: Finland
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 1,453
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
                                                So it is possible? :) I think a tool which lets you do this would be awesome *-* but otherwise creating tools is anything but light and easy work i guess :< Anyways could you please give some sort of light tutorial? :) (this would also end many questions ^-^) I have to admit I'm quite new to ASM myself and more in the
                                                "glad I actually understand what it is doing... somehow" phase than in the actual phase where i can crease ASM code myself :<
                                                http://static.patater.com/gbaguy/gba/ch1.htm
                                                __________________
                                                Pokémon Dark Energy
                                                Some ROM hacking related stuff
                                                  #23225    
                                                Old December 26th, 2012 (4:51 PM).
                                                Jcool's Avatar
                                                Jcool Jcool is offline
                                                Stellar
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                                                  Location: United States
                                                  Age: 22
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Nature: Serious
                                                  Posts: 52
                                                  1. Does anyone know how to change the text that is displayed once you've captured a pokemon and if it's going to be sent to a PC? I don't know the exact text it says, but can you change the text that says something like "Your party is full! Pokemon was sent to Box number here in your PC instead."

                                                  2. Does anyone know how to change the events that happen if you black out?

                                                  3. Does anyone know how to stop the PC from healing your Pokemon when you deposit them?

                                                  Thanks to anyone who can answer these.
                                                  Closed Thread

                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Join the conversation!

                                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:10 PM.