The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Help
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23976    
Old March 13th, 2013 (1:20 PM).
Magnificent Magilou's Avatar
Magnificent Magilou Magnificent Magilou is online now
Perfalmost Victory!
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Age: 32
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 689
I've been fishing around for a while, and thought I would finally come here to ask this. I've been looking for someway to edit the order of the regional dex in Emerald for my hack... Is there someway to do this? Would anyone be willing to teach me how?
  #23977    
Old March 13th, 2013 (1:23 PM).
Mizumi's Avatar
Mizumi Mizumi is offline
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Posts: 7
    Is there a way to add more than 5 evolutions to Eevee?
      #23978    
    Old March 13th, 2013 (1:24 PM).
    TweenyTodd TweenyTodd is offline
    Quitting cuz i got a job
       
      Join Date: Feb 2013
      Location: NOYB
      Nature: Sassy
      Posts: 95
      Is there a list of XSE commands? Cuz i want to know the point of this special command:
      special 0x16D
        #23979    
      Old March 13th, 2013 (1:25 PM). Edited March 13th, 2013 by karatekid552.
      karatekid552's Avatar
      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
      What happens if I push it?....
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 1,766
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Alby4t5 View Post
        I've been fishing around for a while, and thought I would finally come here to ask this. I've been looking for someway to edit the order of the regional dex in Emerald for my hack... Is there someway to do this? Would anyone be willing to teach me how?
        Go download PGE (Pokémon Game Editor). It has the only Pokédex order editor that supports more games than just FR. I believe it supports Emerald.

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
        Is there a list of XSE commands? Cuz i want to know the point of this special command:
        special 0x16D
        Google "JPAN's Study on the Special and Special2 Commands". For real XSE commands, and not their parameters, strike F1 while in XSE.
        __________________

        Paired with Simba
          #23980    
        Old March 13th, 2013 (1:31 PM).
        TweenyTodd TweenyTodd is offline
        Quitting cuz i got a job
           
          Join Date: Feb 2013
          Location: NOYB
          Nature: Sassy
          Posts: 95
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Mizumi View Post
          Is there a way to add more than 5 evolutions to Eevee?
          Yes, try YAPE if you are using a clean ROM. There's obviously other ways, but that's the easiest.
            #23981    
          Old March 13th, 2013 (1:33 PM). Edited March 13th, 2013 by karatekid552.
          karatekid552's Avatar
          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
          What happens if I push it?....
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Bold
            Posts: 1,766
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Mizumi View Post
            Is there a way to add more than 5 evolutions to Eevee?
            It can be done, but you have to edit the routine which loads and carries out evolutions. I have looked at evolution data structure before and it basically is just is a list of every evolution in the game, which can be broken down into groups of five, one group per pokemon. There is no end or starter bytes for each group and therefore the game just counts in order to know which evolutions belong to each pokemon. So, you would have to edit the routine to make it count more evolutions per pokemon, or make a special case scenario for Eevee.

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
            Yes, try YAPE if you are using a clean ROM. There's obviously other ways, but that's the easiest.
            No, that won't work since YAPE has precautions against going against the game's limits. See my above post for a little bit more in depth on what need to be done.
            __________________

            Paired with Simba
              #23982    
            Old March 13th, 2013 (1:34 PM).
            TweenyTodd TweenyTodd is offline
            Quitting cuz i got a job
               
              Join Date: Feb 2013
              Location: NOYB
              Nature: Sassy
              Posts: 95
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
              Google "JPAN's Study on the Special and Special2 Commands". For real XSE commands, and not their parameters, strike F1 while in XSE.
              Thank you, turns out it was linking for the Union Room, which I should have guessed given that I took it from the map script of the Union Room.
                #23983    
              Old March 13th, 2013 (1:37 PM).
              exedissolve's Avatar
              exedissolve exedissolve is offline
              Straight-edge
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2007
                Gender:
                Nature: Lax
                Posts: 40
                I'm hacking FireRed, how hard is it to add Pokemon to the extra ?????????? Slots in YAPE?
                __________________

                Dissolve's PokePet

                Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
                  #23984    
                Old March 13th, 2013 (1:43 PM).
                karatekid552's Avatar
                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                What happens if I push it?....
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 1,766
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
                  I'm hacking FireRed, how hard is it to add Pokemon to the extra ?????????? Slots in YAPE?
                  Easy, but difficult. Haha, they won't have dex entries, (unless you hack the pokedex, there is a thread in R&D for that), which will cause the game to crash when caught. So, they have to be evolved or given to the character. I use them for some of the extra evolutions added in Gen IV.

                  However, everything else works fine. Except icons.... Those have to be properly and completely repointed or else it reverses all sprite changes you made. So, just repoint every thing you can that deals with them and you should be fine.
                  __________________

                  Paired with Simba
                    #23985    
                  Old March 13th, 2013 (2:00 PM).
                  exedissolve's Avatar
                  exedissolve exedissolve is offline
                  Straight-edge
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2007
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 40
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                    Easy, but difficult. Haha, they won't have dex entries, (unless you hack the pokedex, there is a thread in R&D for that), which will cause the game to crash when caught. So, they have to be evolved or given to the character. I use them for some of the extra evolutions added in Gen IV.

                    However, everything else works fine. Except icons.... Those have to be properly and completely repointed or else it reverses all sprite changes you made. So, just repoint every thing you can that deals with them and you should be fine.
                    So there's a tutorial for that maybe?
                    __________________

                    Dissolve's PokePet

                    Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
                      #23986    
                    Old March 13th, 2013 (2:17 PM).
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
                      So there's a tutorial for that maybe?
                      For expanding the pokedex?

                      You can add them just like you normally would in YAPE, but when you put in sprites, makes sure to repoint all of them.
                      __________________

                      Paired with Simba
                        #23987    
                      Old March 13th, 2013 (2:49 PM).
                      bwrobin's Avatar
                      bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2012
                        Age: 20
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 544
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                        That script seems really, really complicated for what you are trying to do, and once again we have a problem with flags: NO FLAGS OVER 900. And why are you setting so many of them? Also, the free ram space in Ruby is completely different from FR. I believe the location of the rtc is different, which would cause your problem.
                        Thanks again dude, I just woke up so I just had the time to answer. But do you know how to fix it? I just copied that script from Liquid Crystal by LinkandZelda and Zeikku. I really don't know of a Ruby hack that checks the time and date. And also, I don't know how to fix it.
                          #23988    
                        Old March 13th, 2013 (2:51 PM).
                        karatekid552's Avatar
                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                        What happens if I push it?....
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 1,766
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                          Thanks again dude, I just woke up so I just had the time to answer. But do you know how to fix it? I just copied that script from Liquid Crystal by LinkandZelda and Zeikku. I really don't know of a Ruby hack that checks the time and date. And also, I don't know how to fix it.
                          Well, if the script came straight out of LC... Wait. Jambo hacked LC's save routine and storage to allow more vars and flags. You can't use this script as it is. We have to rewrite it as it isn't safe.
                          __________________

                          Paired with Simba
                            #23989    
                          Old March 13th, 2013 (2:59 PM).
                          bwrobin's Avatar
                          bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2012
                            Age: 20
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 544
                            But why does it work on a clean Fire Red Rom, but the one with RTC installed through DNS?

                            Also If I rewrite the script for Ruby, is it also that long?
                              #23990    
                            Old March 13th, 2013 (3:18 PM).
                            karatekid552's Avatar
                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                            What happens if I push it?....
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 1,766
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                              But why does it work on a clean Fire Red Rom, but the one with RTC installed through DNS?

                              Also If I rewrite the script for Ruby, is it also that long?
                              There are different ways to go about it. Maybe.

                              Did you mean to say not work in a clean rom?
                              __________________

                              Paired with Simba
                                #23991    
                              Old March 13th, 2013 (3:36 PM).
                              bwrobin's Avatar
                              bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                Age: 20
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 544
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                There are different ways to go about it. Maybe.

                                Did you mean to say not work in a clean rom?
                                Umm... No. I meant a clean Fire Red Rom with DNS.
                                  #23992    
                                Old March 13th, 2013 (3:44 PM).
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                                  Umm... No. I meant a clean Fire Red Rom with DNS.
                                  Well that's not a clean rom:p. haha, it runs on that because all of those flags do exist, they just overwrite other important stuff like vars and pc boxes. Not good. It doesn't run on Ruby, because the rtc clock is put in a different place (most likely).
                                  __________________

                                  Paired with Simba
                                    #23993    
                                  Old March 13th, 2013 (3:51 PM).
                                  bwrobin's Avatar
                                  bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                                    Age: 20
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quirky
                                    Posts: 544
                                    Do you know how I'll repoint the script to the pointer of the rtc?
                                      #23994    
                                    Old March 13th, 2013 (3:57 PM).
                                    karatekid552's Avatar
                                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                    What happens if I push it?....
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 1,766
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                                      Do you know how I'll repoint the script to the pointer of the rtc?
                                      Actually, I am looking at it now, and the rtc is in the same place and so isn't the free space which the script copies the date and time to.

                                      I am going to try and insert this myself and see how it goes.
                                      __________________

                                      Paired with Simba
                                        #23995    
                                      Old March 13th, 2013 (3:59 PM).
                                      Magnificent Magilou's Avatar
                                      Magnificent Magilou Magnificent Magilou is online now
                                      Perfalmost Victory!
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2010
                                      Age: 32
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Nature: Naughty
                                      Posts: 689
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                      Go download PGE (Pokémon Game Editor). It has the only Pokédex order editor that supports more games than just FR. I believe it supports Emerald.
                                      It does seem to support Emerald, but when I loaded up my game to test it, the game left the spaces blank in the dex when they were encountered and/or caught...
                                        #23996    
                                      Old March 13th, 2013 (4:18 PM). Edited March 13th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                                      karatekid552's Avatar
                                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                      What happens if I push it?....
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 1,766
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Alby4t5 View Post
                                        It does seem to support Emerald, but when I loaded up my game to test it, the game left the spaces blank in the dex when they were encountered and/or caught...
                                        I works fine for me. Wait, I know why. You have to save before you move on to the next pokemon. Say I am switching Treeko and Grovyle. I change Treeko's number to 02. If I move onto Grovyle before I save, my changes to Treeko will be reversed. So now if I change Grovyle to 01, both Treeko and Grovyle occupy the same spot, leaving slot #02 blank.

                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                        Actually, I am looking at it now, and the rtc is in the same place and so isn't the free space which the script copies the date and time to.

                                        I am going to try and insert this myself and see how it goes.
                                        I did, and I am dumbfounded. The script compiled flawlessly. Then I was able to replicate what happened. So, I opened the memory viewer, took a look at the rtc clock and it was running fine. Then I watched the ram change as the script ran and I noticed it wasn't copying anything but the year and the month over to be used later. Everything else stayed the same.

                                        So, I watched the script happen on FR and I was surprised to learn that all of the date and time were copied over. I don't know where the miscommunication is on Ruby, but it isn't accomplishing the very first step.
                                        __________________

                                        Paired with Simba
                                          #23997    
                                        Old March 13th, 2013 (4:36 PM).
                                        bwrobin's Avatar
                                        bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2012
                                          Age: 20
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quirky
                                          Posts: 544
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                          I works fine for me. Wait, I know why. You have to save before you move on to the next pokemon. Say I am switching Treeko and Grovyle. I change Treeko's number to 02. If I move onto Grovyle before I save, my changes to Treeko will be reversed. So now if I change Grovyle to 01, both Treeko and Grovyle occupy the same spot, leaving slot #02 blank.



                                          I did, and I am dumbfounded. The script compiled flawlessly. Then I was able to replicate what happened. So, I opened the memory viewer, took a look at the rtc clock and it was running fine. Then I watched the ram change as the script ran and I noticed it wasn't copying anything but the year and the month over to be used later. Everything else stayed the same.

                                          So, I watched the script happen on FR and I was surprised to learn that all of the date and time were copied over. I don't know where the miscommunication is on Ruby, but it isn't accomplishing the very first step.
                                          So it is impossible right now? We will not be able to accomplish this yet on Ruby in our current state?
                                            #23998    
                                          Old March 13th, 2013 (4:46 PM).
                                          karatekid552's Avatar
                                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                          What happens if I push it?....
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Bold
                                            Posts: 1,766
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                                            So it is impossible right now? We will not be able to accomplish this yet on Ruby in our current state?
                                            Not with this script. I'm sure there is another way to handle this, especially if you only need the day and time.
                                            __________________

                                            Paired with Simba
                                              #23999    
                                            Old March 13th, 2013 (4:58 PM).
                                            Mizumi's Avatar
                                            Mizumi Mizumi is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Mar 2013
                                              Posts: 7
                                              [QUOTE=karatekid552;7579209]It can be done, but you have to edit the routine which loads and carries out evolutions. I have looked at evolution data structure before and it basically is just is a list of every evolution in the game, which can be broken down into groups of five, one group per pokemon. There is no end or starter bytes for each group and therefore the game just counts in order to know which evolutions belong to each pokemon. So, you would have to edit the routine to make it count more evolutions per pokemon, or make a special case scenario


                                              How do I do this? What is the limit on new evolutions? Can I add the new evolutions with YAPE? Or is YAPE programmed for 5?
                                                #24000    
                                              Old March 13th, 2013 (5:00 PM).
                                              bwrobin's Avatar
                                              bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                                Age: 20
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Quirky
                                                Posts: 544
                                                Yes I only need day and time, but would the commands be the same? I'm having a hard time with the buffer thing.
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:09 PM.