The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21526    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (9:26 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Age: 20
Posts: 5,235
I'm afraid not. Not easily, at least - no-one has done it before and it would probably involve rewriting the parts of the ROM that deal with the space maps are allocated.
  #21527    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (10:36 AM).
Wendle's Avatar
Wendle Wendle is offline
Not So Standard Trainer
     
    Join Date: Sep 2009
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 16
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
    "SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION". Did you really? :P

    Anyway:

    1) This patch will enable the Physical/Special split.
    thought that thread was discussion, i didn't know it had a patch

    2)this will allow you to.
    Sweet.........
    3) For map limitations, Advance Map will only allow you a certain size ratio. For the amount of maps, normally it's safe to stay within the several maps that are already in the ROM, but here's a tutorial on how to add new maps.[/url]
    So i can't keep adding new routes to my hearts content?

    4) If you insert the tiles properly, there should be no problems. There's a guide by Cello in the Tutorials subforum if you dont know how to insert tiles.
    thanks

    5) Try this.lol, the reason for asking to see if anyone had an opinion on which one to use lol
    Most of the things I've linked apply to FireRed (some may apply to Ruby/Emerald), but I'm pretty sure none will apply to LeafGreen, so if you're hacking LeafGreen I think it'd be wise to switch to FireRed - there is a wider support from tools, tutorials and patches for FireRed over LeafGreen.
    Why is fire red more popular then leaf green? I did search honestly i'm not used to this forum yet so its a little awkward. damned URL rule
    __________________
    "Disaster isn't coming, its already arrived
    I am so lucky i think that i survived"

    Manic Street Preachers
      #21528    
    Old June 22nd, 2012 (11:19 AM).
    JBawls JBawls is offline
       
      Join Date: Jun 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 21
      Please help...

      Ok I have basically created and inserted 7 new maps into the game, the maps works fine as do the warps and etc. My problem is that if I have two of the same items placed on the map, not hidden, the ones where you can see the pokeball sprite, I will pick up the first one and then the other will disappear.

      To be more clear and simple if I pick up a max revive then the other(s) on the map vanish. Any item that is not max revive still remains but the other max revive is gone. Is there something I have done wrong? They do not vanish from my bag but from the map itself.

      I made the scripts for the item events with pokescript.
        #21529    
      Old June 22nd, 2012 (2:20 PM).
      tajaros's Avatar
      tajaros tajaros is offline
      Hi I'm dawg
         
        Join Date: Apr 2012
        Location: Philippines
        Age: 19
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 857
        Hey guys I started trying ASM and followed the tutorials here but I don't know what I keep doing wrong....:(

        Here's the ASM routine I used....



        In cmd it says it has assembled succesfully but maybe I did something wrong.....



        but the files there so idk whats the problem so here's the file in hex workshop....



        I copied it down on offset 0x800000 in a clean FireRed ROM



        After that the ROM opens properly....
        But when I tried it on NO$GBA the ROM crashes...



        Same goes to VBA but this time it freezes



        Could anyone help me with this please?

        Sorry it this was a long post... :(
        __________________
          #21530    
        Old June 22nd, 2012 (2:55 PM).
        Jambo51's Avatar
        Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
        Glory To Arstotzka
           
          Join Date: Jun 2009
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 732
          Did you copy-overwrite or copy-insert? That, to me, looks like you've misaligned something which the game is trying to read.
          __________________
          Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
            #21531    
          Old June 22nd, 2012 (3:46 PM).
          tajaros's Avatar
          tajaros tajaros is offline
          Hi I'm dawg
             
            Join Date: Apr 2012
            Location: Philippines
            Age: 19
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Timid
            Posts: 857
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
            Did you copy-overwrite or copy-insert? That, to me, looks like you've misaligned something which the game is trying to read.
            I copy inserted it and what do you mean about misaligning something?

            So will this work If I type it one by one?
            __________________
              #21532    
            Old June 22nd, 2012 (4:20 PM).
            Robert Conley's Avatar
            Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
            GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Docile
              Posts: 330
              Does anyone know if there is a way to stop evolution stones from disappearing on use? I tried making them key items but when I do that they don't appear in YAPE for evolution options.
              __________________
                #21533    
              Old June 22nd, 2012 (5:07 PM).
              Renegade's Avatar
              Renegade Renegade is offline
              Time for real life...
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2011
                Location: United States
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Careful
                Posts: 998
                Hello, I was wondering something. How do you change the start map of Pokemon Fire Red?
                Is there a tool that can do that? Thanks.
                  #21534    
                Old June 22nd, 2012 (5:37 PM).
                tajaros's Avatar
                tajaros tajaros is offline
                Hi I'm dawg
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2012
                  Location: Philippines
                  Age: 19
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 857
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                  Hello, I was wondering something. How do you change the start map of Pokemon Fire Red?
                  Is there a tool that can do that? Thanks.
                  Yes there is StartMapChooserEditor or simply SMEA here's the link for hackmew's toolbox you can download it there.... :)

                  http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=85025
                  __________________
                    #21535    
                  Old June 22nd, 2012 (7:16 PM).
                  Sagiri's Avatar
                  Sagiri Sagiri is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2007
                    Posts: 752
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
                    Did you copy-overwrite or copy-insert? That, to me, looks like you've misaligned something which the game is trying to read.
                    First, when you're working with ASM, always make backups. Obsessively make backups.

                    What Jambo is saying is that, what has likely happened is that you "added" to the ROM. When pasting a line of code into a ROM, always make sure you do what is known as a "Paste Write", and not a "Paste Insert". The difference is that Paste Write overwrites what's there (and, if you are pasting in, it should be free space, so it doesn't matter if it is overwritten). Paste Insert, on the other hand, keeps what is there, but shifts it down, creating alignment issues (and, I believe emulators and GBAs can't read ROMs that are lengthened in this way).

                    I would say, check how long your assembled code is, and go in and delete that many bytes of free space after your code. That should fix it. And I do really mean "delete" - your hex editor will likely alert you that you're changing the size of the ROM, but your Paste Write already made the ROM larger, so you're just putting it back to its regular size.
                      #21536    
                    Old June 22nd, 2012 (7:46 PM).
                    tajaros's Avatar
                    tajaros tajaros is offline
                    Hi I'm dawg
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2012
                      Location: Philippines
                      Age: 19
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Timid
                      Posts: 857
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Midnight Bear View Post
                      First, when you're working with ASM, always make backups. Obsessively make backups.

                      What Jambo is saying is that, what has likely happened is that you "added" to the ROM. When pasting a line of code into a ROM, always make sure you do what is known as a "Paste Write", and not a "Paste Insert". The difference is that Paste Write overwrites what's there (and, if you are pasting in, it should be free space, so it doesn't matter if it is overwritten). Paste Insert, on the other hand, keeps what is there, but shifts it down, creating alignment issues (and, I believe emulators and GBAs can't read ROMs that are lengthened in this way).

                      I would say, check how long your assembled code is, and go in and delete that many bytes of free space after your code. That should fix it. And I do really mean "delete" - your hex editor will likely alert you that you're changing the size of the ROM, but your Paste Write already made the ROM larger, so you're just putting it back to its regular size.
                      So in short your telling me that just don't use "Paste Insert" and do "Paste Write" and sorry I'm not quite familiar in using Hex Workshop so that might be my problem I'll try this and see if it works.... :)
                      __________________
                        #21537    
                      Old June 22nd, 2012 (8:53 PM).
                      destinedjagold's Avatar
                      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                      Oh Hai Thar~
                       
                      Join Date: May 2007
                      Location: Philippines
                      Age: 28
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 8,589
                      Hello pipz.
                      I wish to ask a question.
                      Hope someone can answer.

                      Anyway, in a Ruby ROM, is there a reason why the setwildbattle command for legendaries , no matter what level I put, they're only limited to level 10?
                      Wildbattle works fine, setwildbattle is the only issue.
                      __________________

                        #21538    
                      Old June 22nd, 2012 (11:45 PM).
                      Spherical Ice's Avatar
                      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2007
                      Location: Bristol, UK
                      Age: 20
                      Posts: 5,235
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by JBawls View Post
                      Please help...

                      Ok I have basically created and inserted 7 new maps into the game, the maps works fine as do the warps and etc. My problem is that if I have two of the same items placed on the map, not hidden, the ones where you can see the pokeball sprite, I will pick up the first one and then the other will disappear.

                      To be more clear and simple if I pick up a max revive then the other(s) on the map vanish. Any item that is not max revive still remains but the other max revive is gone. Is there something I have done wrong? They do not vanish from my bag but from the map itself.

                      I made the scripts for the item events with pokescript.
                      The Poké Ball events need to have different Person IDs.
                        #21539    
                      Old June 23rd, 2012 (1:39 AM).
                      Darthatron's Avatar
                      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                      巨大なトロール。
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2006
                      Location: Melbourne, Australia
                      Age: 27
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 1,152
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
                      Hello pipz.
                      I wish to ask a question.
                      Hope someone can answer.

                      Anyway, in a Ruby ROM, is there a reason why the setwildbattle command for legendaries , no matter what level I put, they're only limited to level 10?
                      Wildbattle works fine, setwildbattle is the only issue.
                      I had a quick look in a FireRed ROM and couldn't find anything that would change the level. Which Pokemon does it effect, specifically?
                      __________________
                      あなた は しきしゃ です
                      わたし は ばか です
                        #21540    
                      Old June 23rd, 2012 (11:57 AM).
                      Prof. Q Prof. Q is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 4
                        1. Is there a way to make it so that a Pokemon the player receives from a givepokemon script has a custom moveset instead of the defaults?
                        2. What about an egg that will have custom moves when it hatches?
                        3. What about a wild battle with a Pokemon that has a custom moveset?
                          #21541    
                        Old June 23rd, 2012 (6:28 PM).
                        redriders180's Avatar
                        redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                        Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2010
                          Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Quirky
                          Posts: 540
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Prof. Q View Post
                          1. Is there a way to make it so that a Pokemon the player receives from a givepokemon script has a custom moveset instead of the defaults?
                          2. What about an egg that will have custom moves when it hatches?
                          3. What about a wild battle with a Pokemon that has a custom moveset?
                          They are only possible through ASM, or JPANs hack engine for the first two. The moves a Pokemon have are encrypted, and depend on values such as Trainer ID and personality value. They can be unencrypted through ASM, though. Consult this for info on what you want :)
                          __________________


                          I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                            #21542    
                          Old June 23rd, 2012 (8:41 PM).
                          JBawls JBawls is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 21
                            Thank you, it was the person id, now I simply have the problem where when I leave the map and return the pokeballs are back, is that one of the unknowns?
                              #21543    
                            Old June 23rd, 2012 (9:11 PM).
                            Prof. Q Prof. Q is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 4
                              Is it possible to write a script that checks the level of a Pokemon? I'd like to be able to create areas that can only be accessed if the player's Pokemon are below a certain level.
                                #21544    
                              Old June 23rd, 2012 (9:32 PM).
                              tajaros's Avatar
                              tajaros tajaros is offline
                              Hi I'm dawg
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2012
                                Location: Philippines
                                Age: 19
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Timid
                                Posts: 857
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Prof. Q View Post
                                Is it possible to write a script that checks the level of a Pokemon? I'd like to be able to create areas that can only be accessed if the player's Pokemon are below a certain level.
                                That also uses ASM my friend... :)
                                __________________
                                  #21545    
                                Old June 24th, 2012 (2:31 AM).
                                destinedjagold's Avatar
                                destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                Oh Hai Thar~
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2007
                                Location: Philippines
                                Age: 28
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Careful
                                Posts: 8,589
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                                I had a quick look in a FireRed ROM and couldn't find anything that would change the level. Which Pokemon does it effect, specifically?
                                The legendary trio...
                                Legendary Birds, Beasts, even Groudon/Kyogre/Rayquaza...
                                Mew and Mewtwo were fine, Ho-oh, etc...

                                Also, may I add that now the error/bug has worked its way to trainerbattles as well.
                                Specifically, trainerbattle 1...
                                THe trouble is one of the trainer's PKMN is level 10... =/

                                I have never encountered such problems before, so I am clueless as to why this is happening... -__-
                                __________________

                                  #21546    
                                Old June 24th, 2012 (4:44 AM).
                                miksy91's Avatar
                                miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                                Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                   
                                  Join Date: Oct 2008
                                  Location: Finland
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 1,453
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post

                                  The legendary trio...
                                  Legendary Birds, Beasts, even Groudon/Kyogre/Rayquaza...
                                  Mew and Mewtwo were fine, Ho-oh, etc...

                                  Also, may I add that now the error/bug has worked its way to trainerbattles as well.
                                  Specifically, trainerbattle 1...
                                  THe trouble is one of the trainer's PKMN is level 10... =/

                                  I have never encountered such problems before, so I am clueless as to why this is happening... -__-
                                  In case you write most/all of the added data to the blank part of the rom (in the end of it), you should be able to find where the code for doing this is by creating an ips-patch to a file that doesn't have it and open it with a hex editor.

                                  Format:
                                  50 41 54 43 48 (PATCH in ASCII) [Offset to write to (3-byte value)] [Number of bytes to write (2-byte value)] [Bytes to write]

                                  Very likely, that assembly code will be straight in the beginning after "PATCH" because Lunar IPS creates ips-patches so that it goes through the datas of edited and unedited rom file from beginning (0x0) to end (0xFFFFFF). So check if some data is written before the blank part of the rom file and try changing it back to normal (see how it's written in a rom file that doesn't have the bug in it).

                                  Then again, if you've used programs that for example overwrite original battle sprites (change all their bytes to 00/FF), it will be more difficult to find the code for it but it wouldn't hurt looking.
                                  __________________
                                  Pokémon Dark Energy
                                  Some ROM hacking related stuff
                                    #21547    
                                  Old June 24th, 2012 (8:12 AM).
                                  TheOrangePichu's Avatar
                                  TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
                                  Currently working on new hack
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2011
                                    Location: Earth
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 49
                                    Hi there, I have a complex, yet simple question. I'm trying to revamp the entire tileset of pokemon fire red. How would i go about replacing the entire tileset and not just a tile with different palletes?
                                    __________________
                                    Credit to UmbraDragonX on deviantart for the icon!

                                      #21548    
                                    Old June 24th, 2012 (12:49 PM).
                                    JBawls JBawls is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 21
                                      Hello, not sure if anyone read past the thank you on my last post so I'm just gonna explain my new problem here haha...

                                      When I leave a map via a warp or etc, and then return to said map the items all 'respawn' if you will. How do I stop this? Is it one of the unknowns on A M or a scripting problem?
                                        #21549    
                                      Old June 24th, 2012 (1:32 PM).
                                      Renegade's Avatar
                                      Renegade Renegade is offline
                                      Time for real life...
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2011
                                        Location: United States
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Careful
                                        Posts: 998
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by JBawls View Post
                                        Hello, not sure if anyone read past the thank you on my last post so I'm just gonna explain my new problem here haha...

                                        When I leave a map via a warp or etc, and then return to said map the items all 'respawn' if you will. How do I stop this? Is it one of the unknowns on A M or a scripting problem?
                                        Did you use flags in your item scripts?
                                          #21550    
                                        Old June 24th, 2012 (1:53 PM).
                                        JBawls JBawls is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 21
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                                          Did you use flags in your item scripts?
                                          Here is the exact script generated by pokescript...

                                          #org 0x874015A
                                          '-----------------------------------
                                          copyvarifnotzero 0x8000 TM03
                                          copyvarifnotzero 0x8001 0x1
                                          callstd MSG_FIND ' PLAYER found one XXXXXX!
                                          end
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:02 PM.