The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games Game Development Pokémon Essentials
Report bugs and errors in unmodified Essentials version 17.1

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #626    
Old June 15th, 2014 (9:27 AM).
Sam24's Avatar
Sam24 Sam24 is offline
Sam24
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Ireland
    Age: 19
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 96
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Florio View Post
    I'm having a problem compiling my game. Whenever I go to compress game data on the menu of RMXP, it works but whenever I try to extract that file there is an error. I think my files may be too big, because I noticed that it makes random files called test2 and test3 but when I reduced the MB in my game, only test2 was created. Also, my saved data got erased while I was trying to compile :( So yeah any help here would be appreciated especially on getting my data back.
    The best thing to do is to remove the audio folder from the game folder(Because the music/audio can be the biggest file) before you compress the game and then once you extracted the game re-insert the audio file. Remember the game normally gets corrupt if the game file is over 128MB in size.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #627    
    Old June 15th, 2014 (9:58 AM).
    Florio's Avatar
    Florio Florio is offline
    Pokemon Crimson Skies Owner
       
      Join Date: Nov 2008
      Location: Canada
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 392
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Sam24 View Post
      The best thing to do is to remove the audio folder from the game folder(Because the music/audio can be the biggest file) before you compress the game and then once you extracted the game re-insert the audio file. Remember the game normally gets corrupt if the game file is over 128MB in size.
      Thanks for the advice, I tried it and it worked perfectly.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #628    
      Old June 17th, 2014 (8:26 AM).
      FL's Avatar
      FL FL is offline
      Pokémon Island Creator
         
        Join Date: Sep 2010
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 1,750
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by V13 Changelog
        Fixed some screen transitions not appearing correctly if the screen zoom is greater than 1.
        I still have problems with some transitions. Your change at def zoom_x/zoom_y isn't enough.
        __________________
        Reply With Quote
          #629    
        Old June 17th, 2014 (8:39 AM).
        Maruno's Avatar
        Maruno Maruno is offline
        Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: England
          Posts: 5,181
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by FL View Post
          I still have problems with some transitions. Your change at def zoom_x/zoom_y isn't enough.
          Do you want to elaborate on that? Do bear in mind that I said only "some" of the transitions were fixed - I'm well aware that there are still some transitions that are limited to a 640x480 area even if the game window is larger than that. That's because they use the default RMXP transition stuff rather than something custom like the picture-based transitions do, and I don't feel like writing something for it.
          __________________
          Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

          | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
          | All Animations Project |

          Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


          Reply With Quote
            #630    
          Old June 17th, 2014 (8:50 AM).
          FL's Avatar
          FL FL is offline
          Pokémon Island Creator
             
            Join Date: Sep 2010
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1,750
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
            Do you want to elaborate on that? Do bear in mind that I said only "some" of the transitions were fixed - I'm well aware that there are still some transitions that are limited to a 640x480 area even if the game window is larger than that. That's because they use the default RMXP transition stuff rather than something custom like the picture-based transitions do, and I don't feel like writing something for it.
            Oh! I confused this. Totally understandable your decision about not rewriting the XP transitions for fixing this problem.
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #631    
            Old June 19th, 2014 (12:15 PM).
            Code 9 Code 9 is offline
               
              Join Date: Jun 2014
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 1
              Hello, everyone. I recently encountered what I believe to be an error with Pokèmon Essentials, so I signed up for PokèCommunity to see if it could be addressed.

              Normally in Essentials, various fonts are available for the player's selection. (Specifically, they are Em, R/S, Fr/Lg, and D/P.) However, one day when I attempted to play my Essentials game, the font became completely different (and larger) and I could no longer switch which font I wanted to use. I thought this issue would be a bug with my game itself, but I loaded up an unaltered copy of Essentials with the same results. Does anybody know the solution to this issue?

              I would post screenshots, but I'm not sure how at this point in time.
              Reply With Quote
                #632    
              Old June 19th, 2014 (7:56 PM).
              Florio's Avatar
              Florio Florio is offline
              Pokemon Crimson Skies Owner
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2008
                Location: Canada
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lax
                Posts: 392
                I get this error when I try to run my game in encrypted mode. I encrypted the game successfully and the title screen pops up, but when I go to the next page where it shows the continue and new game options I get this error.

                Spoiler:
                Script 'SpriteWindow' line 1998: NoMethodError occured.

                undefined method 'length' for nil:NilClass


                Anything I can do to fix this? It doesn't happen when its not encrypted but I don't want to send my game to anyone that way or my maps could be stolen.
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #633    
                Old June 19th, 2014 (8:49 PM).
                Radical Raptr's Avatar
                Radical Raptr Radical Raptr is offline
                #BAMFPokemonNerd
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2011
                  Location: everywhere
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Sassy
                  Posts: 1,120
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Florio View Post
                  I get this error when I try to run my game in encrypted mode. I encrypted the game successfully and the title screen pops up, but when I go to the next page where it shows the continue and new game options I get this error.

                  Spoiler:
                  Script 'SpriteWindow' line 1998: NoMethodError occured.

                  undefined method 'length' for nil:NilClass


                  Anything I can do to fix this? It doesn't happen when its not encrypted but I don't want to send my game to anyone that way or my maps could be stolen.
                  go here on your computer: C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games
                  whatever your username is put that inplace of "USERNAME", in that folder delete the folder that has your game's name
                  __________________

                  ~My Deviantart - Litharreon Wiki - Litharreon Game Download~

                  Reply With Quote
                    #634    
                  Old June 19th, 2014 (9:12 PM). Edited June 19th, 2014 by Florio.
                  Florio's Avatar
                  Florio Florio is offline
                  Pokemon Crimson Skies Owner
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2008
                    Location: Canada
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 392
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Saving Raven View Post
                    go here on your computer: C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games
                    whatever your username is put that inplace of "USERNAME", in that folder delete the folder that has your game's name
                    I don't really get what you are saying, I found the folder called at C:\Users\Default\Saved Games but the Saved Games folder is empty. There is no folder with my game name. So should I make a folder called Default in there? And does this mean anyone who plays my game has to do the same thing?

                    Well anyways I created a new folder called default and it didn't work.
                    __________________
                    Reply With Quote
                      #635    
                    Old June 20th, 2014 (3:59 AM).
                    WackyTurtle's Avatar
                    WackyTurtle WackyTurtle is offline
                    Developer
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2011
                      Location: England
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 125
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Florio View Post
                      I get this error when I try to run my game in encrypted mode. I encrypted the game successfully and the title screen pops up, but when I go to the next page where it shows the continue and new game options I get this error.

                      Spoiler:
                      Script 'SpriteWindow' line 1998: NoMethodError occured.

                      undefined method 'length' for nil:NilClass


                      Anything I can do to fix this? It doesn't happen when its not encrypted but I don't want to send my game to anyone that way or my maps could be stolen.
                      Yeah, I'm also having this problem.

                      Also, it seems that I can no longer give hidden abilities to trainer's Pokémon. Where I could previously go into the editor and change their ability number to "2" to give the hidden ability to the Pokémon, this appears to have been removed, along with the hidden ability line in the pokemon.txt PBS file. Where have these abilities gone?
                      __________________
                      Reply With Quote
                        #636    
                      Old June 20th, 2014 (10:41 AM).
                      Florio's Avatar
                      Florio Florio is offline
                      Pokemon Crimson Skies Owner
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                        Location: Canada
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lax
                        Posts: 392
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by WackyTurtle View Post
                        Yeah, I'm also having this problem.

                        Also, it seems that I can no longer give hidden abilities to trainer's Pokémon. Where I could previously go into the editor and change their ability number to "2" to give the hidden ability to the Pokémon, this appears to have been removed, along with the hidden ability line in the pokemon.txt PBS file. Where have these abilities gone?
                        I found the fix, it is here.
                        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=8003475&postcount=12
                        __________________
                        Reply With Quote
                          #637    
                        Old June 20th, 2014 (12:00 PM).
                        WackyTurtle's Avatar
                        WackyTurtle WackyTurtle is offline
                        Developer
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2011
                          Location: England
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 125
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Florio View Post
                          Hmm, now I'm getting the following error:

                          Spoiler:
                          Script 'SpriteWindow' line 2146: NoMethodError occurred.

                          undefined method 'neverload=' for Marshal:Module
                          __________________
                          Reply With Quote
                            #638    
                          Old June 24th, 2014 (6:04 AM).
                          Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
                          Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2007
                            Gender:
                            Posts: 312
                            I've just updated my game file to the latest version of Essentials, and I've correctly copied over everything that I needed to. Only problem is that when I try to move now, it immediately springs up this error:



                            Any idea what's causing it?
                            __________________
                            [CENTER]
                            Pokémon Acanthite: Coming Soon
                            Reply With Quote
                              #639    
                            Old June 24th, 2014 (7:25 AM).
                            Maruno's Avatar
                            Maruno Maruno is offline
                            Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2008
                              Location: England
                              Posts: 5,181
                              You haven't updated your game properly, then. What exactly did you do? You should have been using the latest Essentials as a base and applying your game's changes to it.
                              __________________
                              Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

                              | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
                              | All Animations Project |

                              Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


                              Reply With Quote
                                #640    
                              Old June 24th, 2014 (8:04 AM).
                              Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
                              Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2007
                                Gender:
                                Posts: 312
                                That is exactly what I did. I followed the instructions to the letter - PBS across, graphics etc across, map data across. I've not edited any scripts in either the old version of the game or the latest Essentials.

                                EDIT: Bizarrely, it appears to have fixed itself.
                                __________________
                                [CENTER]
                                Pokémon Acanthite: Coming Soon
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #641    
                                Old June 24th, 2014 (11:22 AM).
                                ~JV~'s Avatar
                                ~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
                                Dev of Pokémon Uranium
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                                  Location: Rio de Janeiro
                                  Age: 24
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 715
                                  If I'm not mistaken this happens when you first load a save file from an older version of Essentials into a updated one. I fixed that really long ago for my game since I didn't want the people who dowloaded my game to go through that, but I really can't remember what I did :/.
                                  __________________
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #642    
                                  Old June 24th, 2014 (4:13 PM).
                                  Maruno's Avatar
                                  Maruno Maruno is offline
                                  Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2008
                                    Location: England
                                    Posts: 5,181
                                    Yes, it was using old save data in a new version of Essentials. That's the first thing you should have tried.
                                    __________________
                                    Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

                                    | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
                                    | All Animations Project |

                                    Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #643    
                                    Old June 24th, 2014 (6:18 PM).
                                    Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
                                    Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2007
                                      Gender:
                                      Posts: 312
                                      And it was, otherwise I wouldn't have posted here. I'm not some greenhorn. As I've said, things appear to be fixed now.
                                      __________________
                                      [CENTER]
                                      Pokémon Acanthite: Coming Soon
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #644    
                                      Old June 27th, 2014 (5:21 AM).
                                      starmag99 starmag99 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Apr 2014
                                        Location: Klein, TX
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Adamant
                                        Posts: 5
                                        So I try to playtest the game, works fine all that no font jibber jabber, then when it gets to the menu screen, viola.

                                        Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2014-06-27 15.16.20.png
Views:	21
Size:	154.8 KB
ID:	72473
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #645    
                                        Old June 27th, 2014 (7:59 AM). Edited June 27th, 2014 by Lusus.
                                        Lusus's Avatar
                                        Lusus Lusus is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2013
                                          Location: Ljubljana
                                          Age: 18
                                          Gender: Other
                                          Nature: Lonely
                                          Posts: 1,409
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by starmag99 View Post
                                          So I try to playtest the game, works fine all that no font jibber jabber, then when it gets to the menu screen, viola.

                                          Attachment 72473

                                          make sure the intro event is set to autorun and that the debug event is neither set to autorun or parallel process

                                          EDIT: this is for fixing the intro lecture, i may have misread what you said, mb. My guess is that a trainer type that the player uses is not defined

                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Code 9 View Post
                                          Hello, everyone. I recently encountered what I believe to be an error with Pokèmon Essentials, so I signed up for PokèCommunity to see if it could be addressed.

                                          Normally in Essentials, various fonts are available for the player's selection. (Specifically, they are Em, R/S, Fr/Lg, and D/P.) However, one day when I attempted to play my Essentials game, the font became completely different (and larger) and I could no longer switch which font I wanted to use. I thought this issue would be a bug with my game itself, but I loaded up an unaltered copy of Essentials with the same results. Does anybody know the solution to this issue?

                                          I would post screenshots, but I'm not sure how at this point in time.
                                          that means you don't have installed fonts, either you deleted them or another program deleted them. Essentials usually installs the fonts on it's own if it finds that they are missing when starting the game (i think in RPG Maker XP)
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #646    
                                          Old June 27th, 2014 (10:52 AM).
                                          starmag99 starmag99 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Apr 2014
                                            Location: Klein, TX
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Adamant
                                            Posts: 5
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Roaming Murkrow View Post
                                            make sure the intro event is set to autorun and that the debug event is neither set to autorun or parallel process

                                            EDIT: this is for fixing the intro lecture, i may have misread what you said, mb. My guess is that a trainer type that the player uses is not defined

                                            Well my guess is if I want to open the playtest at all, I need to delete the save file, but 1) No idea how, and 2) not sure if its a 1 time fix or not
                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #647    
                                            Old June 27th, 2014 (11:19 AM).
                                            Lusus's Avatar
                                            Lusus Lusus is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jan 2013
                                              Location: Ljubljana
                                              Age: 18
                                              Gender: Other
                                              Nature: Lonely
                                              Posts: 1,409
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by starmag99 View Post
                                              Well my guess is if I want to open the playtest at all, I need to delete the save file, but 1) No idea how, and 2) not sure if its a 1 time fix or not
                                              C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\GAMENAME

                                              the save file should be named Game.rxdata
                                              Reply With Quote
                                                #648    
                                              Old June 28th, 2014 (11:18 AM).
                                              RiceGate's Avatar
                                              RiceGate RiceGate is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Jun 2014
                                                Location: Brazil
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 37
                                                I am having a issue with the last version of Essentials. The Game.Ini library keeps changing to Rgss103J.dll and every time it happens, the game crashes when I try to catch a new Pokémon. I keep renaming it to Rgss102E.dll, but after a short time, it changes back to Rgss103J.dll
                                                Reply With Quote
                                                  #649    
                                                Old June 29th, 2014 (12:37 AM).
                                                starmag99 starmag99 is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Apr 2014
                                                  Location: Klein, TX
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Nature: Adamant
                                                  Posts: 5
                                                  Quote:
                                                  Originally Posted by Roaming Murkrow View Post
                                                  C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\GAMENAME

                                                  the save file should be named Game.rxdata
                                                  Turns out it was a problem with the icon on the save thing, or rather lack of, I didn't patch it with the pokepack
                                                  Reply With Quote
                                                    #650    
                                                  Old June 29th, 2014 (8:00 AM).
                                                  FL's Avatar
                                                  FL FL is offline
                                                  Pokémon Island Creator
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Sep 2010
                                                    Gender: Male
                                                    Posts: 1,750
                                                    Quote:
                                                    Originally Posted by RiceGate View Post
                                                    I am having a issue with the last version of Essentials. The Game.Ini library keeps changing to Rgss103J.dll and every time it happens, the game crashes when I try to catch a new Pokémon. I keep renaming it to Rgss102E.dll, but after a short time, it changes back to Rgss103J.dll
                                                    As far as I know, this is a RPG Maker XP issue. Try this: Rename your Rgss102E.dll (at Essentials folder) to Rgss103J.dll.
                                                    __________________
                                                    Reply With Quote
                                                    Reply

                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Join the conversation!

                                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:32 AM.