Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old April 30th, 2015 (2:38 AM).
Splash's Avatar
Splash Splash is offline
But nothing happened.
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Just use an Old Rod
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 668
I managed to make it work after looking at all the posts xD Thanks to Doesnt, Mysteryman, leyn09 and kearnseyboy6!

Noob question here:
I already have something in the EV Value of 0 but what if i dont have anything set in 255 will something go wrong if I use that value? Or will it just ignore the EV Value? I dont have a clue how they work so I just wanna play it safe hehe
__________________
༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ PRAISE Splash ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
|VM|Flare Red Version|PM
|
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #77    
Old May 12th, 2015 (11:05 PM). Edited May 12th, 2015 by Criminon.
Criminon's Avatar
Criminon Criminon is offline
Pokemon: Aqua Blue
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 205
Hmmm, damnit. I just spent a good while looking into this and following what everyone is saying, and it looks like there might be incompatibility with the JPAN engine. I have also followed the steps, and it seems like its not working. The pokeballs aren't changing and that's really my only indication. I made sure custom item / moves were on. Made sure to copy all addresses to their proper places. There doesn't seem to be a crash. Nothing odd happens, it just acts like the code isn't there.
__________________
FC: 3582 - 9598 - 9978. Add me!
Reply With Quote
  #78    
Old May 13th, 2015 (5:43 AM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Criminon View Post
Hmmm, damnit. I just spent a good while looking into this and following what everyone is saying, and it looks like there might be incompatibility with the JPAN engine. I have also followed the steps, and it seems like its not working. The pokeballs aren't changing and that's really my only indication. I made sure custom item / moves were on. Made sure to copy all addresses to their proper places. There doesn't seem to be a crash. Nothing odd happens, it just acts like the code isn't there.
You could be 100% right, to be 100% sure test it on a clean fire red ROM and it should work. Then you will know that JPAN is to blame...
__________________
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
Reply With Quote
  #79    
Old May 13th, 2015 (6:45 AM).
leyn09's Avatar
leyn09 leyn09 is offline
Truant Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Criminon View Post
Hmmm, damnit. I just spent a good while looking into this and following what everyone is saying, and it looks like there might be incompatibility with the JPAN engine. I have also followed the steps, and it seems like its not working. The pokeballs aren't changing and that's really my only indication. I made sure custom item / moves were on. Made sure to copy all addresses to their proper places. There doesn't seem to be a crash. Nothing odd happens, it just acts like the code isn't there.
I think this would help you. I've had encountered that kind of frustration too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Man View Post
I went through a similar problem myself. My issue stemmed from the set trainer level specials JPAN made, so my solution was to revert the conflicting changes the trainer level specials made to what an unhacked Firered has. This is what resolved it for me:

Go to 0x11624. If you are using JPAN's hacked engine or the particular special I was talking about, the bytes there should be "00 48 00 47 ?? ?? ?? 08". Overwrite those bytes with what an unhacked Firered has, which is "20 1C 33 1C 2C F0 14 FA". That should stop the freezing.
Reply With Quote
  #80    
Old May 13th, 2015 (1:51 PM).
Criminon's Avatar
Criminon Criminon is offline
Pokemon: Aqua Blue
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
You could be 100% right, to be 100% sure test it on a clean fire red ROM and it should work. Then you will know that JPAN is to blame...
I wouldn't say JPAN is to blame, but I definitely will. I still have the bin, so it should be easy replacing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leyn09 View Post
I think this would help you. I've had encountered that kind of frustration too.
Thanks! I'll give it a shot! Was really looking forward to making all trainer battles in the game follow this type of color coded system. pokeball, greatball, ultraball, masterball indicating their level of power. Kind of like rares and elites in mmos etc. Was hella bummed when it didn't work, so I'm really hoping this does the trick.
__________________
FC: 3582 - 9598 - 9978. Add me!
Reply With Quote
  #81    
Old May 13th, 2015 (8:59 PM).
leyn09's Avatar
leyn09 leyn09 is offline
Truant Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Criminon View Post
I wouldn't say JPAN is to blame, but I definitely will. I still have the bin, so it should be easy replacing.



Thanks! I'll give it a shot! Was really looking forward to making all trainer battles in the game follow this type of color coded system. pokeball, greatball, ultraball, masterball indicating their level of power. Kind of like rares and elites in mmos etc. Was hella bummed when it didn't work, so I'm really hoping this does the trick.
No prob! Hope it works. Though, just keep in mind that it will disable JPAN's trainer level hack. You better use asm routines. )
Reply With Quote
  #82    
Old May 23rd, 2015 (10:20 PM).
mamamama mamamama is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoesntKnowHowToPlay View Post
I see a lot of talk about how to make hacks "difficult". The typical solutions are to:
Would it be possible to add another byte that determines the gender of the opposing Pokemon? Although a bit overkill, it would be neat with completely customisable IV's to let the AI use Hidden Power well.
Reply With Quote
  #83    
Old May 24th, 2015 (12:38 AM). Edited July 13th, 2015 by azurile13.
azurile13 azurile13 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamamama View Post
Would it be possible to add another byte that determines the gender of the opposing Pokemon? Although a bit overkill, it would be neat with completely customisable IV's to let the AI use Hidden Power well.
I don't believe the AI (as is) can even process hidden power accurately.
Reply With Quote
  #84    
Old May 24th, 2015 (3:15 AM).
mamamama mamamama is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by azurile13 View Post
I don't believe the AI (as is) can even process hidden power accurately.
It works decently, such as if you give an Electric Thunderbolt and HP:Ice, it will use HP against ground-types.
Reply With Quote
  #85    
Old May 24th, 2015 (10:52 AM). Edited July 13th, 2015 by azurile13.
azurile13 azurile13 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamamama View Post
It works decently, such as if you give an Electric Thunderbolt and HP:Ice, it will use HP against ground-types.
It isn't just the type, I think it's the variable power.
Reply With Quote
  #86    
Old May 24th, 2015 (4:38 PM).
mamamama mamamama is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by azurile13 View Post
It isn't just the type, I think it's the variable power.
The point still stands. Even though the AI can not calculate the damage I'm still able to make the AI use it when I want it to use through workarounds. That is enough for me

We're going pretty off topic now so let's just leave the discussion here. Agree to disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #87    
Old May 24th, 2015 (11:48 PM). Edited May 25th, 2015 by Splash.
Splash's Avatar
Splash Splash is offline
But nothing happened.
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Just use an Old Rod
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 668
Can someone provide the offsets for the Emerald Version of this routine? Im having trouble locating them in the hex editor..

Edit: nvm found them
__________________
༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ PRAISE Splash ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
|VM|Flare Red Version|PM
|
Reply With Quote
  #88    
Old June 8th, 2015 (5:24 AM).
Exodrake's Avatar
Exodrake Exodrake is offline
The Manliest Chick that Ever Manlied
 
Join Date: May 2013
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 165
This looks wonderful. It would be awesome if there was a way to choose the ability as well, it drives me up a wall having to always set the first ability to what I want trainers to have.

And yes being able to individualize pokemon genders independently from the trainer gender would also be rad~
__________________

I'M A WITCH THAT'S HOW
Reply With Quote
  #89    
Old June 8th, 2015 (5:47 AM).
KDS's Avatar
KDS KDS is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exodrake View Post
This looks wonderful. It would be awesome if there was a way to choose the ability as well, it drives me up a wall having to always set the first ability to what I want trainers to have.

And yes being able to individualize pokemon genders independently from the trainer gender would also be rad~
The way to set ability is already mentioned in the thread. It is in the 2nd or 3rd page.
Reply With Quote
  #90    
Old June 8th, 2015 (11:37 AM).
Exodrake's Avatar
Exodrake Exodrake is offline
The Manliest Chick that Ever Manlied
 
Join Date: May 2013
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 165
ooh thank you.
__________________

I'M A WITCH THAT'S HOW
Reply With Quote
  #91    
Old August 23rd, 2015 (11:00 AM).
HunterxPokemon's Avatar
HunterxPokemon HunterxPokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
I have a problem with this routine.
Where are the Ivs in the Ev Table?
Reply With Quote
  #92    
Old August 24th, 2015 (6:26 AM).
NewDenverCity's Avatar
NewDenverCity NewDenverCity is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antarctica
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterxPokemon View Post
I have a problem with this routine.
Where are the Ivs in the Ev Table?
The fourth byte is IVs.
Reply With Quote
  #93    
Old August 24th, 2015 (12:15 PM).
HunterxPokemon's Avatar
HunterxPokemon HunterxPokemon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Thank you for your answer
The Ev Table is so:
- Nature
- 2 unused bytes
- 1 Byte Ivs
- HP EV
- Attack EV
- Defense EV
- Speed EV
- Special Attack EV
- Special Defense EV
- What pokeball the mon comes out in
- 4 more unused bytes

Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #94    
Old September 4th, 2016 (4:56 AM).
astronautis28 astronautis28 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Just want to say a big THANK YOU!!
As the first asm I've had to work with it took me a while but it finally worked. Everyone's comments have been extremely useful as well. So again thanks OP and everyone in the comments :D
Reply With Quote
  #95    
Old September 5th, 2016 (11:09 AM).
Mr.Pkmn's Avatar
Mr.Pkmn Mr.Pkmn is offline
Ordinary ASM Magician
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoesntKnowHowToPlay View Post
To assign an EV spread to a trainer's pokemon, set the value that was formerly their IVs to which slot in the table you want that pokemon to use. If you are using A-Trainer, this value is erroneously marked as AI Value.
That's no error, that is indeed the AI bitfield for assigning AI scripts to the trainer.
How does this hack work with this AI value?
__________________
Someone making a pokemon hack

Reply With Quote
  #96    
Old September 5th, 2016 (3:29 PM).
FIQ FIQ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 165
No, the actual AI bitfield is marked "Unknown" in A-Trainer. "AI Value" is IVs (without this hack) set between 0-31 (all IVs will be the same).
Reply With Quote
  #97    
Old September 11th, 2016 (3:30 PM). Edited September 20th, 2016 by electicario.
electicario electicario is offline
Random Aura Sphere and Thunderpunch user
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brazil
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 11
Is it normal to get a 15MB .bin file after compiling the .asm? By the way, I only added the ability check.

EDIT: OK, not the smartest question, now I get it. However, I've applied the routine AND replaced the data at offsets 0x115F6, 0x1162C, 0x3DC70 with the data from the bin file. Made spread number 0, assigned it to a Pokémon, but the game freezes right before the battle. Anybody knows what am I doing wrong here?
__________________
Pokémon: Phi Red coming soon...
Reply With Quote
  #98    
Old 5 Days Ago (10:03 AM).
Versekr Dark's Avatar
Versekr Dark Versekr Dark is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 103
Disculpe se que soy muy tonto pero no entiendo como aplicar la rutina a mi rom, y el como usarla en los entrenadores, habría la manera de que alguien me explicara.

Excuse me, I am very stupid but I do not understand how to apply the routine to my rom, and how to use it in coaches, there would be a way for someone to explain.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:27 AM.