The PokéCommunity Forums General Pokémon Discussions Pokémon Trading Card Game
Cinccino: Amazing Plea - Card Clarification

Pokémon Trading Card Game The forum for the Pokémon TCG and Pokemon TCG Online. Post your deck to get rated, rate other decks, ask questions, talk about strategy, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 19th, 2018 (8:39 AM).
RegiRoss2000 RegiRoss2000 is offline
    TCGO:
     
    Join Date: Feb 2018
    Posts: 3

    Great card but...does anyone know how the effect for Amazing Plea works IF there are NO cards in the discard?
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old February 19th, 2018 (7:30 PM).
    donavannj's Avatar
    donavannj donavannj is offline
    TCGO: donavannj
     
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
    Age: 27
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 21,727
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by RegiRoss2000 View Post
    Great card but...does anyone know how the effect for Amazing Plea works IF there are NO cards in the discard?
    Trying to find a ruling that confirms what I think is the case, but I'm pretty sure since the discard pile's contents are known to both players, I think the answer is that you can't use the attack.
    __________________
    on vacation in LA and Chicago
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old February 20th, 2018 (6:32 AM).
    RegiRoss2000 RegiRoss2000 is offline
      TCGO:
       
      Join Date: Feb 2018
      Posts: 3
      This is helpful, thanks. If you find a ruling, I would still be curious. I think you're right, though. The attack of 80 is very strong for needing just one energy and not having the ability to take the "plea" seemed unfair. Appreciate the response!
      Reply With Quote
        #4    
      Old February 20th, 2018 (5:46 PM).
      Spirit Shackle's Avatar
      Spirit Shackle Spirit Shackle is offline
      Harbinger of Calamity
      TCGO: asdfghjkl1234
       
      Join Date: Nov 2015
      Location: Northeast US
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 1,375
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by RegiRoss2000 View Post
      This is helpful, thanks. If you find a ruling, I would still be curious. I think you're right, though. The attack of 80 is very strong for needing just one energy and not having the ability to take the "plea" seemed unfair. Appreciate the response!
      To expand to the best of my understanding: If the initial effect of a card or attack cannot be resolved (i.e. is certainly going to fail based on information known to both players), the card cannot be played or the attack not used. As an example, a card that says "put this Pokemon onto your Bench" cannot be played if you have a full bench, however you can use the effect of Brooklet Hill if you have no basic Water or Fighting Pokemon remaining in your deck, provided you have a bench slot available, as the contents of your deck remain a mystery because they are face down. I'll often use this in the late game to just look at my deck and remind myself what's in there, despite knowing I'm out of Basics.

      When a card or attack has multiple effects, joined by the conjunction "Then" or "If you do", the effects must be resolved in the specified order. If the first portion of such a card fails, the whole card cannot be played. Guzma is the common example here, as you cannot use it to switch your active and benched Pokemon if the opponent has no Benched Pokemon.

      The Primary effect of Amazing Plea is "Choose two cards from your Discard Pile". Because there are not two cards in your Discard Pile, this portion of the attack cannot be used, rendering the whole attack unusable. This doesn't mean "has no effect". You cannot use the attack within the bounds of the rules in that case. Even if you could, you would still have to plead with your opponent, to which they could just say "Sure, feel free to take no cards out of your Discard" and not take damage.

      As an added bonus, due to the fact that it specifically mentions two cards (as opposed to "up to two"), Amazing Plea also should fail if there is only one card in your Discard Pile, though I'm not as confident on that one.
      __________________
      Long ago, superstitions were spread about it,
      saying it brought disaster. This fed a hatred of it,
      and it was driven deep into the mountains.
      It protects fields and warns people of disaster,
      so one ought to be grateful for it.


      Challenges - TCG - Trade Corner - Daily
      Avatar credit to Sylphiel!
      Reply With Quote
        #5    
      Old February 20th, 2018 (8:51 PM).
      donavannj's Avatar
      donavannj donavannj is offline
      TCGO: donavannj
       
      Join Date: Mar 2005
      Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
      Age: 27
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 21,727
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Ultra Decidueye View Post
      To expand to the best of my understanding: If the initial effect of a card or attack cannot be resolved (i.e. is certainly going to fail based on information known to both players), the card cannot be played or the attack not used. As an example, a card that says "put this Pokemon onto your Bench" cannot be played if you have a full bench, however you can use the effect of Brooklet Hill if you have no basic Water or Fighting Pokemon remaining in your deck, provided you have a bench slot available, as the contents of your deck remain a mystery because they are face down. I'll often use this in the late game to just look at my deck and remind myself what's in there, despite knowing I'm out of Basics.

      When a card or attack has multiple effects, joined by the conjunction "Then" or "If you do", the effects must be resolved in the specified order. If the first portion of such a card fails, the whole card cannot be played. Guzma is the common example here, as you cannot use it to switch your active and benched Pokemon if the opponent has no Benched Pokemon.

      The Primary effect of Amazing Plea is "Choose two cards from your Discard Pile". Because there are not two cards in your Discard Pile, this portion of the attack cannot be used, rendering the whole attack unusable. This doesn't mean "has no effect". You cannot use the attack within the bounds of the rules in that case. Even if you could, you would still have to plead with your opponent, to which they could just say "Sure, feel free to take no cards out of your Discard" and not take damage.

      As an added bonus, due to the fact that it specifically mentions two cards (as opposed to "up to two"), Amazing Plea also should fail if there is only one card in your Discard Pile, though I'm not as confident on that one.
      Basically what I was thinking was the case.
      __________________
      on vacation in LA and Chicago
      Reply With Quote
        #6    
      Old February 21st, 2018 (6:55 PM).
      cprmauldin's Avatar
      cprmauldin cprmauldin is offline
        TCGO:
         
        Join Date: Nov 2017
        Posts: 127
        LOL! Don't you wish some cards provided better clarification?

        I usually only play with friends and family, so we just make our own ruling while we are playing. I doubt I'll ever get into tournament play so I don't think this will ever be an issue.
        Reply With Quote
          #7    
        Old February 21st, 2018 (6:56 PM).
        RegiRoss2000 RegiRoss2000 is offline
          TCGO:
           
          Join Date: Feb 2018
          Posts: 3
          Wow. Thanks for these great responses. Very, very helpful. I really appreciate you both taking the time to field my question. Indeed, you both make perfect sense, especially about not being able to use the card at all unless there are clearly 2+ cards in the discard.
          Reply With Quote
          Reply

          Quick Reply

          Join the conversation!

          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

          Create a PokéCommunity Account

          Sponsored Links
          Thread Tools

          Posting Rules
          You may not post new threads
          You may not post replies
          You may not post attachments
          You may not edit your posts

          BB code is On
          Smilies are On
          [IMG] code is On
          HTML code is Off

          Forum Jump


          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:53 PM.