ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #27176    
Old November 9th, 2013 (2:04 PM).
surfer treecko surfer treecko is offline
help, how do I...?
     
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Posts: 21
    Spoiler:



    I've tried that, and it still doesn't work (it gives me Runtime Error 481"). The images did however seem to work when I tested them with Advanced Sprite Editor, so maybe it's Overworld Editor that's the problem?
      #27177    
    Old November 9th, 2013 (2:19 PM).
    ep!c ep!c is offline
    Banned
       
      Join Date: Mar 2013
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 124
      Use NamelessSpriteEditor in order to insert Overworlds bug-free.
        #27178    
      Old November 9th, 2013 (2:39 PM).
      Superjub's Avatar
      Superjub Superjub is offline
      Pokémon Aureolin
       
      Join Date: Sep 2007
      Location: Hoenn
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 2,288
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Retribution View Post
      Well, here are some screenshots that might help. I'm still having a bit of trouble seeing where I'm going wrong.

      http://imgur.com/a/mTk9l

      Also, my offsets:

      New OW Table Offset - 900000 (screenshot 1)
      New OW Offset - 910000 (screenshot 2)
      Frame Data Pointer Offset - 920000 (screenshot 3)
      Frame Data Offset - 930000 (screenshot 4)
      Uh, I'm still having some trouble with this. :s

      Some more screenshots to highlight the problem:
      Spoiler:


      * When I interact with the sprite from below (frame 0), the bottom majority of the sprite is invisible.
      * When I interact with the sprite from above (frame 1), the sprite appears on top of the player and the top is cut off instead.

      The only thing I can think of is it's a problem to do with Free Space, more-so with the latter off-sets? Having said that,despite the ROM not being initially un-used (I did a good bit of scripting etc.), I don't think I got to the 900000s. Idk. :s

      I've tried some things so far but nothing seems to have solved it (changing some of the bytes which i felt might be inaccurate. You can see this above or by clicking here.

      Thank you. :) Sorry it's not the typical problems but it's been driving me a bit insane. xD
      __________________
        #27179    
      Old November 9th, 2013 (3:26 PM).
      ep!c ep!c is offline
      Banned
         
        Join Date: Mar 2013
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 124
        Well, on the first view it looks like a Tile-error.
        Try to set that block to "Hiro hides block" or how it is called in english (0x20 byte)
          #27180    
        Old November 9th, 2013 (3:29 PM).
        Superjub's Avatar
        Superjub Superjub is offline
        Pokémon Aureolin
         
        Join Date: Sep 2007
        Location: Hoenn
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 2,288
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by ep!c View Post
        Well, on the first view it looks like a Tile-error.
        Try to set that block to "Hiro hides block" or how it is called in english (0x20 byte)
        I don't think it;s a tile error since I can put one of the original sprites there and it works correctly. :s I think something's gone wrong when I added new sprites but I can't seem to figure out where I went wrong. xD
        __________________
          #27181    
        Old November 10th, 2013 (12:04 AM).
        Aethestode's Avatar
        Aethestode Aethestode is offline
        Hacker
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Australia
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Serious
          Posts: 1,690
          For the DNS Program (put day, night, etc) into the game. Is it possible to control the day or night system with a script? For example, for one event, I want it to be night time, so is there a way to control the time?
          __________________

          Name: Sinep
          Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
            #27182    
          Old November 10th, 2013 (12:08 AM).
          Sniper's Avatar
          Sniper Sniper is offline
          ふゆかい
             
            Join Date: Nov 2013
            Location: Philippines
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 1,448
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
            For the DNS Program (put day, night, etc) into the game. Is it possible to control the day or night system with a script? For example, for one event, I want it to be night time, so is there a way to control the time?
            Yes, I think you should take the tutorial "based time events" on the tut section.
            But I'm not that sure, you can ask gogojtech himself to answer your questions.
            __________________


              #27183    
            Old November 10th, 2013 (1:22 AM).
            ep!c ep!c is offline
            Banned
               
              Join Date: Mar 2013
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 124
              Hey rockman.
              There is a statusbyte in the RAM, which tells you what part of the DNS is used.
              At 0x203C000 there is located a byte which can have values from 0 to 6.
              0 is night, 1 is morning, 2&3 are day palettes, 4 is afternoon, 5 is evening and 6 is night too.
              You can do that with writebytetooffset, but it would be more safe to use ASM tho..
                #27184    
              Old November 10th, 2013 (2:11 AM).
              Jambo51's Avatar
              Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
              Glory To Arstotzka
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 732
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by ep!c View Post
                Hey rockman.
                There is a statusbyte in the RAM, which tells you what part of the DNS is used.
                At 0x203C000 there is located a byte which can have values from 0 to 6.
                0 is night, 1 is morning, 2&3 are day palettes, 4 is afternoon, 5 is evening and 6 is night too.
                You can do that with writebytetooffset, but it would be more safe to use ASM tho..
                This won't work because the RTC is attached to the main loop, and it would just reset next frame.

                Consequently, there's no way to force a time of day on the ROM as it's determined by system time. Best thing you can do, rockman, is simply hide the triggering sprite or have a level script which clears a var if it's too early or late if it's a tile script.

                Not even (simple) ASM can get around this. To force time, you'd need to directly modify the RTC code, and trust me, that's not easy!
                __________________
                Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                  #27185    
                Old November 10th, 2013 (5:18 AM).
                Aethestode's Avatar
                Aethestode Aethestode is offline
                Hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Location: Australia
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Serious
                  Posts: 1,690
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
                  This won't work because the RTC is attached to the main loop, and it would just reset next frame.

                  Consequently, there's no way to force a time of day on the ROM as it's determined by system time. Best thing you can do, rockman, is simply hide the triggering sprite or have a level script which clears a var if it's too early or late if it's a tile script.

                  Not even (simple) ASM can get around this. To force time, you'd need to directly modify the RTC code, and trust me, that's not easy!
                  Lol, okay then. Oh well :/ .
                  __________________

                  Name: Sinep
                  Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
                    #27186    
                  Old November 10th, 2013 (5:39 AM). Edited November 10th, 2013 by Neti.
                  Neti's Avatar
                  Neti Neti is offline
                  Follow @PokeNeti on Twitter
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                    Location: Cologne, Germany
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 1,515
                    Edit: Question just got answered here: http://www.romhack.me/questions/view/id_105

                    if you wanna read it anyway:

                    Spoiler:
                    I asked this before and got no answer, but since I got more information I'm just gonna give it a try.
                    The problem is I get a glitch after inserting my region map.
                    Screenshot:
                    Spoiler:

                    Dont worry about the colors, im gonna change them later. also i blurred the image cause the map is yet secret.

                    Why does this blue stuff appear? (The tile right of it is no longer gray, i fixed that. So just focus on the blue rectangle.)
                    It's exactly 6 Tiles that appear wrong (but it would be 8, it's just that the last two are transparent anyway so they're correct even if they're wrong...)

                    I looked my tilemap up in a hex editor and after messing around with the bytes a bit, I found that my tilemap ends with the following 8 bytes:
                    1C 01 00 1D 01 00 00 00
                    I already found out that 1C and 1D refer to tiles and 01 and 01 are palette numbers. But I do not know what the zeros are. After those bytes a lot of FFs follow.
                    When changing the tiles there, I see a change to the last two tiles that appear to be correct on my region map. Editing the last two zeros and/or even some of the following FFs has no visible effect to the region map ingame.

                    So I let the logger run and get the following (0x0871a23c is the offset of my region map)
                    LZ77UnCompWram: 0x0871a23c,0x02002d86 (VCOUNT=201)
                    Looked 0x02002d86 up in the vram and found all the bytes i also see in the hex editor, looks like my region map tilemap, changes there are not visible ingame, so I checked the Map viewer and found the ram address of the last correct tile: 0x0600F4E8
                    Looking that up in the ram shows me another copy of my tilemap. But now theres a difference: If I edit the next bytes, I am able to change the region map ingame. I changed the following zeros to:
                    1E 01 1F 01 20 01 21 01 22 01 DF 00
                    And look: I finally get the result i want! The region map looks alright.

                    But well, as you can guess nobody wants to change the ram everytime he looks on the region map, espacially when its a pretty unimportant area of it.

                    So, does anybody know why this is happening and what I can do to prevent it?

                    Additonal info: I tried making my tilemap with NTME Alpha AND NTME 1.1. Both gave me the same result.


                    If somebody who is able to insert region maps wants to give it a try, I could provide my tileset and tilemap. If that person manages to do it, that just means I'm doing something wrong.
                    __________________
                      #27187    
                    Old November 10th, 2013 (1:19 PM).
                    Renegade's Avatar
                    Renegade Renegade is offline
                    Time for real life...
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2011
                      Location: United States
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 998
                      Hello~
                      How can I make a showpokepic script show an image like this:



                      I know it isn't too complex because I've seen an explanation somewhere before but I can't remember where.
                      __________________
                        #27188    
                      Old November 10th, 2013 (1:54 PM).
                      Frosty~'s Avatar
                      Frosty~ Frosty~ is offline
                      Pancakes are a girl's BFF
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2009
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Hasty
                        Posts: 44
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                        Hello~
                        How can I make a showpokepic script show an image like this:



                        I know it isn't too complex because I've seen an explanation somewhere before but I can't remember where.
                        This tutorial? http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=300007
                        __________________
                        "The world's changing at lightning speed,
                        but the faster you move the narrower your vision becomes.
                        That's why you've got to stop and look around you.
                        Other wise you'll lose yourself."
                        - Megaman

                        My deviantArt
                          #27189    
                        Old November 10th, 2013 (2:14 PM).
                        karatekid552's Avatar
                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                        What happens if I push it?....
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 1,766
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                          Hello~
                          How can I make a showpokepic script show an image like this:



                          I know it isn't too complex because I've seen an explanation somewhere before but I can't remember where.
                          Using the Fossil Picture special. JPAN included a very nice hack of it in his engine that can easily be ported to other games.
                          __________________

                          Paired with Simba
                            #27190    
                          Old November 10th, 2013 (7:17 PM).
                          Rycanthropy's Avatar
                          Rycanthropy Rycanthropy is offline
                          Professional Lurker
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2009
                            Location: India
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Sassy
                            Posts: 116
                            Does anyone know the unLZ offset for the HP and EXP bar? I found the ones for the box, but just replacing the box doesn't change the bars :/ Is it even possible to replace them
                            __________________
                              #27191    
                            Old November 10th, 2013 (10:14 PM).
                            awipe1's Avatar
                            awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 215
                              I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


                              setvar 0x405A 0x405
                              setvar 0x405B 0x7
                              setvar 0x405C 0x4


                              However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
                              __________________
                              Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                                #27192    
                              Old November 10th, 2013 (11:23 PM).
                              ep!c ep!c is offline
                              Banned
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2013
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 124
                                Well, first of all, research the Joy-script.
                                Shouldn't be hard, just let me know if you need help.
                                Then write a checkflag or something and if this flag is true, then returns to end ;)
                                After that, repoint the script and you're done.
                                  #27193    
                                Old November 11th, 2013 (2:07 AM).
                                Sniper's Avatar
                                Sniper Sniper is offline
                                ふゆかい
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2013
                                  Location: Philippines
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quiet
                                  Posts: 1,448
                                  How can I change the trainer card's color?
                                  __________________


                                    #27194    
                                  Old November 11th, 2013 (4:16 AM).
                                  ep!c ep!c is offline
                                  Banned
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2013
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 124
                                    Research the palette in Visual Boy Advance and change it via APE.
                                      #27195    
                                    Old November 11th, 2013 (4:25 AM).
                                    karatekid552's Avatar
                                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                    What happens if I push it?....
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 1,766
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                                      I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


                                      setvar 0x405A 0x405
                                      setvar 0x405B 0x7
                                      setvar 0x405C 0x4


                                      However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                                      Nope sorry man. Type one of your own genius XD



                                      Nope no way. It will go and read the location, but the script will happen. So you will need a Joy and a PC tv there somewhere to pull it off
                                      I answered this.......... Go read JPAN's documentation. It explains this.
                                      __________________

                                      Paired with Simba
                                        #27196    
                                      Old November 11th, 2013 (7:49 AM).
                                      Rezordaxx's Avatar
                                      Rezordaxx Rezordaxx is offline
                                      Asks many questions!
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2013
                                        Location: The Netherlands
                                        Age: 19
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Relaxed
                                        Posts: 290
                                        how do you make it that a sprite follows where you walk for a short amount of time?
                                        __________________

                                        My hack
                                          #27197    
                                        Old November 11th, 2013 (8:14 AM).
                                        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Location: Earth
                                        Age: 20
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 2,475
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Rezordaxx View Post
                                        how do you make it that a sprite follows where you walk for a short amount of time?
                                        Use ASM to make sprites follow each other. Other than that use applymovement in an event, but the player can't control the other.
                                        __________________
                                        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                        Support me at my site!
                                        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                          #27198    
                                        Old November 11th, 2013 (8:31 AM).
                                        Rezordaxx's Avatar
                                        Rezordaxx Rezordaxx is offline
                                        Asks many questions!
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2013
                                          Location: The Netherlands
                                          Age: 19
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 290
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                                          Use ASM to make sprites follow each other. Other than that use applymovement in an event, but the player can't control the other.
                                          how to do that in asm is there tutorial can you explain it to me? 'use ASM' isnt going to help me any further.
                                          __________________

                                          My hack
                                            #27199    
                                          Old November 11th, 2013 (9:03 AM).
                                          XandYPeekaMon's Avatar
                                          XandYPeekaMon XandYPeekaMon is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Feb 2013
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Jolly
                                            Posts: 6
                                            Hey guys I have been playing Pokemon hacks lately on VBA-M, but I have been wanting to play the hacks on my Android. Does anyone know a good emulator for an Android that also has filters such as HQx or SuperEagle?
                                            __________________
                                            My favorite Pokémon Rom Hacks:




                                              #27200    
                                            Old November 11th, 2013 (9:06 AM).
                                            Rezordaxx's Avatar
                                            Rezordaxx Rezordaxx is offline
                                            Asks many questions!
                                               
                                              Join Date: Aug 2013
                                              Location: The Netherlands
                                              Age: 19
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Relaxed
                                              Posts: 290
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by XandYPeekaMon View Post
                                              Hey guys I have been playing Pokemon hacks lately on VBA-M, but I have been wanting to play the hacks on my Android. Does anyone know a good emulator for an Android that also has filters such as HQx or SuperEagle?
                                              Me-boy is a good one dont know about the filters..
                                              but you should try me-boy
                                              __________________

                                              My hack
                                              Closed Thread

                                              Quick Reply

                                              Join the conversation!

                                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                              Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:02 AM.