ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #13426    
Old February 10th, 2010 (11:57 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deviation View Post

Why ask? Maybe he is inserting a Pokemon into the 25 Unknown slots? Anyway, his motives shouldn't be questioned.
Consider it was a revamped Charmander, I assumed he was replacing the original Charmander sprite. Anyway, Maco, could you post the sprite you're trying to insert?
__________________
  #13427    
Old February 10th, 2010 (1:34 PM).
mgarciai mgarciai is offline
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Posts: 6
    Heres a picture to show my problem.
    I'm not allowed to post urls yet. >_> But I thought this would be the easiest way to describe my problem.

    Why did Red get discolored like that when I switch him and Blue?
    Same thing happened in Emerald when I switched Brendan and Wally.

    img189.imageshack.us/img189/6789/27347386.jpg
      #13428    
    Old February 10th, 2010 (2:41 PM).
    Maco's Avatar
    Maco Maco is offline
    learning the ropes...
       
      Join Date: Feb 2010
      Location: Sydney, Australia
      Age: 28
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Careful
      Posts: 72
      You mean the indexed sprite right?
      im away from my computer now, ill upload it when i get home.
      @deviation i was going to replace the original charmander sprite with my revamp
        #13429    
      Old February 10th, 2010 (3:14 PM).
      HackMew's Avatar
      HackMew HackMew is offline
      Mewtwo Strikes Back
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Posts: 1,314
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by mgarciai View Post
      Heres a picture to show my problem.
      I'm not allowed to post urls yet. >_> But I thought this would be the easiest way to describe my problem.

      Why did Red get discolored like that when I switch him and Blue?
      Same thing happened in Emerald when I switched Brendan and Wally.

      img189.imageshack.us/img189/6789/27347386.jpg
      The problem is the pallete. Red and Green (yeah, Green actually) use different palettes, and therefore it doesn't look good.
      __________________
        #13430    
      Old February 10th, 2010 (4:14 PM). Edited February 10th, 2010 by mgarciai.
      mgarciai mgarciai is offline
         
        Join Date: Feb 2010
        Posts: 6
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
        The problem is the pallete. Red and Green (yeah, Green actually) use different palettes, and therefore it doesn't look good.
        Should've been clearer.
        What would the best way be to fix that?
        I changed the palette applied at the bottom to the one normally used by red then it would have worked. However, I guess even if I reassign it in OWE that the palette will go back to the one originally used by Green/Blue/Gary/Rival/ Oaks' Grandson/ W/e (lol) had?

        What I want to avoid is changing a palette that will then affect every other trainer on the overworld.

        Eh... I changed it from the one it was using to 16 and now it seems to work.

        Now the only other small thing that is bothering me is that arrows when leaving a building or the exclamation mark on top of the player character are green. Normally, they are white. How is the color of these items affected? Are they part of the main character ow sprite?
          #13431    
        Old February 10th, 2010 (5:14 PM).
        mattattack's Avatar
        mattattack mattattack is offline
        Huh, Son?
           
          Join Date: Apr 2008
          Location: Why would you care?
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 184
          I asked the same question in diego's tut but i think it should go here: How to do you trigger those green script squares in A-map. (IE you land on it and a person comes toward you) and what is a variable? like LASTRESULT?
          __________________
          Sometimes...it's hell before you get to heaven...

          My Trainer Card


          Help me raise my pokemon!

          Cre....Creselia!!?!?!?!?!?!
            #13432    
          Old February 10th, 2010 (6:19 PM).
          Neutral12's Avatar
          Neutral12 Neutral12 is offline
          The EV Trainer
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: Under your bed
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 34
            How do I edit default trainer sprites to make them custom trainers? I have no idea what i'm doing and I have been trying to figure it out all day.
              #13433    
            Old February 10th, 2010 (6:26 PM).
            mgarciai mgarciai is offline
               
              Join Date: Feb 2010
              Posts: 6
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by neutral12 View Post
              How do I edit default trainer sprites to make them custom trainers? I have no idea what i'm doing and I have been trying to figure it out all day.
              Well, for the overworld sprite just use the overworld editor.
              For the trainer icon on the trainer card you can use unLZ.gba and look for the section with the trainer sprites and eventually find it there and change it however you want. Just have to make sure the icon is compatible (indexed)

              Before you write in it using unLZ.gba youre gonna want to find free space, so look for fsf and tutorials on how to use that.

              As for the trainer backsprite, well that one gets harder. I used tma, tile molester alternate, but Im sure theres an easier way to do that... right?
                #13434    
              Old February 10th, 2010 (6:46 PM).
              Neutral12's Avatar
              Neutral12 Neutral12 is offline
              The EV Trainer
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2008
                Location: Under your bed
                Age: 25
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 34
                I'm so lost, I tried looking in the tutorials section and it doesn't help me because I have no idea on what i'm exactly looking for. I'm trying to edit the trainer battle sprite. I'm trying to replace Brandons sprite with a different sprite that I made myself, but i'm so confused and lost I don't know what i'm doing. As far as I know I know unLZ is involved, but whenever I try to import the one I made it gives me an error message saying that it's not indexed... So yea over all i'm confused and lost big time.
                  #13435    
                Old February 10th, 2010 (9:55 PM). Edited February 11th, 2010 by Maco.
                Maco's Avatar
                Maco Maco is offline
                learning the ropes...
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                  Location: Sydney, Australia
                  Age: 28
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Careful
                  Posts: 72
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by neutral12 View Post
                  I'm so lost, I tried looking in the tutorials section and it doesn't help me because I have no idea on what i'm exactly looking for. I'm trying to edit the trainer battle sprite. I'm trying to replace Brandons sprite with a different sprite that I made myself, but i'm so confused and lost I don't know what i'm doing. As far as I know I know unLZ is involved, but whenever I try to import the one I made it gives me an error message saying that it's not indexed... So yea over all i'm confused and lost big time.
                  To index the sprite you made, you have to download and install a program called IrfanView. Then follow these instructions.



                  @hackmew: Here's my indexed sprite, which I inserted into Fire Red:
                  Spoiler:

                  I still get the background showing instead of being transparent, and the 5 random white dots.

                  Thanks HackMew and Deviation for the help so far
                    #13436    
                  Old February 10th, 2010 (11:16 PM).
                  chazolave chazolave is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 1
                    I have a question. I'm trying to make a Pokemon game myself and I need to know one thing. Is there a way to add genders to genderless Pokemon. I know you can do it with R/S/E but I have no idea how to with Platinum.

                    If you can, how do you do it or would another tool have to be made to allow it to play right in game and if not, is there something out that allows you to make or remake a Pokemon.
                      #13437    
                    Old February 11th, 2010 (2:15 AM).
                    HackMew's Avatar
                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                    Posts: 1,314
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Maco View Post
                    Here's my indexed sprite, which I inserted into Fire Red:
                    Spoiler:

                    I still get the background showing instead of being transparent, and the 5 random white dots.

                    Thanks HackMew and Deviation for the help so far
                    Exactly like I guessed. It's not indexed properly. The background color must be always the first one in the palette to be transparent. Here's the fixed sprite:

                    __________________
                      #13438    
                    Old February 11th, 2010 (3:22 AM). Edited February 11th, 2010 by Maco.
                    Maco's Avatar
                    Maco Maco is offline
                    learning the ropes...
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2010
                      Location: Sydney, Australia
                      Age: 28
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 72
                      Yep, it worked.
                      Thanks so much for all the help. (I fixed up the capital 'm' in my previous post too :cool:)

                      May I ask which tool you used to index it properly?
                      For anyone who is interested - I used this method (Photoshop):
                      1. Image, Mode, Indexed Colour
                      2. In the 'Forced:' drop-down menu, choose custom.
                      3. Make the first square in the palette the colour of your background.
                      4. Save the file.
                        #13439    
                      Old February 11th, 2010 (5:53 AM).
                      fiox fiox is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2010
                        Posts: 17
                        im having some issues with warping :(

                        plz check the video


                        EDIT: in case if the video doesnt show up in the post link is here
                        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2H_eAcAiBc
                          #13440    
                        Old February 11th, 2010 (11:37 AM).
                        HackMew's Avatar
                        HackMew HackMew is offline
                        Mewtwo Strikes Back
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2006
                        Posts: 1,314
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Maco View Post
                        Yep, it worked.
                        Thanks so much for all the help. (I fixed up the capital 'm' in my previous post too :cool:)

                        May I ask which tool you used to index it properly?
                        For anyone who is interested - I used this method (Photoshop):
                        1. Image, Mode, Indexed Colour
                        2. In the 'Forced:' drop-down menu, choose custom.
                        3. Make the first square in the palette the colour of your background.
                        4. Save the file.
                        Well, usually that would work. I guess the palette got messed up somehow. Anyway, when indexing, make sure the Palette is set to Exact, and that Transparency is not enabled. As Forced, choose Custom, and set the first color as the background one. When you're done indexing, make sure the sprite has exactly 16 colors (Image > Mode > Color Table), and that the first one is the background one. If everything is fine, save and you're done.
                        __________________
                          #13441    
                        Old February 11th, 2010 (12:30 PM). Edited February 11th, 2010 by blizzwiz.
                        blizzwiz's Avatar
                        blizzwiz blizzwiz is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2009
                          Location: Sweden
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 6
                          Hey Guyz! :)

                          I am just wondering if i could get some help with a few qeustions ? :) Simple and goes fast.

                          I have been looking for the Back trainer sprites and "front during the intro " sprites for Pokemon Emerald in Unlz-GBA and i am just wondering which GO-To and Pal i should choose to find them becuase i cant find them or its just me missing them.

                          And Also could you please name some programs to use for Emerald i am currently using AdvanceMap , Overworld , PKSV and such programs.


                          Edit : What is the script to get an pikachu in Emerald i am currently using this !

                          addpokemon PIKACHU 244 POTION 0x0 0x0 0x0

                          I receive the message like "Player Recived Pikachu" but i dont have any Pikachu on me.

                          Whats the problem? :)

                          Many thanks if you can help me! :)
                            #13442    
                          Old February 11th, 2010 (2:12 PM).
                          Neutral12's Avatar
                          Neutral12 Neutral12 is offline
                          The EV Trainer
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: Under your bed
                            Age: 25
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 34
                            Ok I now indexed my custom trainer. But now when I tested him all the colors are messed up and the background of his sprite is not transparent. I'm guessing this has something to do with the pallete set but... What exactly is the problem now?
                              #13443    
                            Old February 11th, 2010 (3:10 PM).
                            Samike360's Avatar
                            Samike360 Samike360 is offline
                            Lover of May
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2009
                              Location: ATL
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 397
                              On my map, I activated the running shoes script in firered (setflag 0x82F). However, the running shoes completely don't work on this map, but they work fine on other maps. I've played around with settings in the header and made them the exact same as the other map, but it still won't work. Can anyone please tell me what the issue is?
                              __________________





                              Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

                              From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
                                #13444    
                              Old February 11th, 2010 (3:23 PM).
                              fiox fiox is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2010
                                Posts: 17
                                some one help? >>>>> my problem here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2H_eAcAiBc
                                  #13445    
                                Old February 11th, 2010 (4:06 PM).
                                Muffin™'s Avatar
                                Muffin™ Muffin™ is offline
                                Knows your age
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2009
                                  Location: sucking balls
                                  Age: 8
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 429
                                  I have a question. I want all some of the people to disappear in my game. So I set all of their people ID to 1. But all of the people are gone before I do the hidesprite command except 1. Any help?
                                  __________________
                                  >>>/v/
                                    #13446    
                                  Old February 11th, 2010 (10:52 PM). Edited February 11th, 2010 by Maco.
                                  Maco's Avatar
                                  Maco Maco is offline
                                  learning the ropes...
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                                    Location: Sydney, Australia
                                    Age: 28
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 72
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by neutral12 View Post
                                    Ok I now indexed my custom trainer. But now when I tested him all the colors are messed up and the background of his sprite is not transparent. I'm guessing this has something to do with the pallete set but... What exactly is the problem now?
                                    I had the exact same problem as you just several posts up, read HackMew's post for some info. Basically you need the background colour of your sprite in the first spot of the colour table. If you specify what program you were using to index the pic I might be able to help some more. Also if you could upload a picture to show us the messed colours, that could help too :P
                                      #13447    
                                    Old February 12th, 2010 (1:00 AM).
                                    HackMew's Avatar
                                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                                    Posts: 1,314
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Septile View Post
                                    I have a question. I want all some of the people to disappear in my game. So I set all of their people ID to 1. But all of the people are gone before I do the hidesprite command except 1. Any help?
                                    Do not use such low flags. The game will clear them automatically.
                                    __________________
                                      #13448    
                                    Old February 12th, 2010 (3:46 AM).
                                    Maco's Avatar
                                    Maco Maco is offline
                                    learning the ropes...
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2010
                                      Location: Sydney, Australia
                                      Age: 28
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Careful
                                      Posts: 72
                                      With my new inserted sprites, what would happen if the pokemon was shiny? Would the palettes have to be changed using APE for the shiny pokemon to show correctly?
                                        #13449    
                                      Old February 12th, 2010 (4:11 AM).
                                      HackMew's Avatar
                                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                                      Posts: 1,314
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Maco View Post
                                      With my new inserted sprites, what would happen if the pokemon was shiny? Would the palettes have to be changed using APE for the shiny pokemon to show correctly?
                                      If you didn't change the shiny palette, then it would use the old one. FYI, you can change it even by using unLZ; once you located the sprite, press Next Pal and import the same sprite with the shiny palette, but checking only the "Import Palette" option and nothing else.
                                      __________________
                                        #13450    
                                      Old February 12th, 2010 (4:23 AM).
                                      Muffin™'s Avatar
                                      Muffin™ Muffin™ is offline
                                      Knows your age
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2009
                                        Location: sucking balls
                                        Age: 8
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Calm
                                        Posts: 429
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                                        Do not use such low flags. The game will clear them automatically.

                                        I think I worded that wrong. I ment the number under the event ID. I forget its name.
                                        __________________
                                        >>>/v/
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:21 AM.