ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12076    
Old October 25th, 2009 (4:08 AM). Edited October 27th, 2009 by Spherical Ice.
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Age: 19
Posts: 5,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziglef View Post
Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
Uh, even though this was aaaaaaaaaaages ago, there's been no proper answer and I have the same problem. Help, anyone?
I have added 03 as the unknown for the warp event and in Advance Map everyhting warps fine, just so you know. Finally, the map I' warping to was one I had inserted. I guess it has something to do with the Map Footer, but I'm unsure.
__________________

A Pokemon that is discriminated!
Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.

Relevant Advertising!

  #12077    
Old October 25th, 2009 (7:23 AM).
giradialkia's Avatar
giradialkia giradialkia is offline
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 1,566
I've got a question- well, request- can anyone link me to the old version of Overworld Editor? I want to use the +40 sprite patch, but can't edit them to the full if i've only got Overworld Editor RE. So, yeah, can anyone link me to the old one, please?
__________________

I'm working on an album of Pokémon-inspired music. Check out the Soundcloud link if you're interested!


This is my Soundcloud | | This is my bandcamp
  #12078    
Old October 25th, 2009 (8:03 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Caterpie View Post
3. You can go from 0x01 to 0xFFFF. Most of the ones before 0x1000 are used, though.
Not quite. Flags are "only" 0x1 - 0x3FFF. But yeah, anything that's 0x1000 or higher is not used by the game at 99.9%.
__________________
  #12079    
Old October 25th, 2009 (8:06 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
     
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Location: Slovenia
    Age: 21
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 3,578
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
    Not quite. Flags are "only" 0x1 - 0x3FFF. But yeah, anything that's 0x1000 or higher is not used by the game at 99.9%.
    Above 0x3FFF are variables, right?
    __________________
      #12080    
    Old October 25th, 2009 (8:15 AM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
    Above 0x3FFF are variables, right?
    Yeah, that's right. Variables are 0x4000-0xFFFF plus a bunch of temp ones.
    __________________
      #12081    
    Old October 25th, 2009 (1:17 PM).
    Mister Flogers's Avatar
    Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 19
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
      Yeah, that's right. Variables are 0x4000-0xFFFF plus a bunch of temp ones.
      Oh okay thanks that would explain why 0xF000 didnt work as a flag thanks,

      So I was looking into it and asked foullump if he knew anything about removing pokemon, and he said that there might be a removepokemon code but he doesnt know how it works(wether you just put pokemon number and level)

      1.Does removepokemon work?
      2.If so ,what are the parameters supposed to be?

      Oh and

      Quote:
      Yeah ya can include 2 regions in one hack.
      And remove pokemon... there's a way but... how to say it... it's way too complicated.
      Try to pm/vm metapod23. He knows how to do it.
      is there enough for 3?
        #12082    
      Old October 25th, 2009 (3:41 PM).
      midnight ride midnight ride is offline
      none
         
        Join Date: Jun 2009
        Age: 25
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 7
        Hello everyone.

        This is a Fire Red ROM.

        I was wondering if it was possible to make more room on a ROM for maps, like having the name on the list instead of choosing to re-name an already named map and thus change all of the original map to what I re-named that one to. Because my system of saving the names over old maps isn't the best.
          #12083    
        Old October 26th, 2009 (6:24 AM).
        Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
        Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
        Memento Mori
        • Gold Tier
         
        Join Date: Jul 2008
        Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
        Age: 25
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 14,508
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
        is there enough for 3?
        Well... maybe small (like 4 gyms max one...) but I don't think there's a space to include 3 full 8 gyms regions.
        __________________
        ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

        Anime List | PSN Trophy List
          #12084    
        Old October 26th, 2009 (8:46 AM).
        HackMew's Avatar
        HackMew HackMew is offline
        Mewtwo Strikes Back
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Jun 2006
        Posts: 1,314
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Mister Flogers View Post
        So I was looking into it and asked foullump if he knew anything about removing pokemon, and he said that there might be a removepokemon code but he doesnt know how it works(wether you just put pokemon number and level)

        1.Does removepokemon work?
        2.If so ,what are the parameters supposed to be?
        There's no such "removepokemon" command, nor special. You have to use plain ASM.
        __________________
          #12085    
        Old October 26th, 2009 (9:01 AM).
        Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
        Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
        The Faltine
           
          Join Date: Mar 2008
          Location: Slovenia
          Age: 21
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 3,578
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
          There's no such "removepokemon" command, nor special. You have to use plain ASM.
          I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
          __________________
            #12086    
          Old October 26th, 2009 (9:04 AM).
          HackMew's Avatar
          HackMew HackMew is offline
          Mewtwo Strikes Back
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2006
          Posts: 1,314
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
          I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
          A bug is not useful though :P
          Anyway, thethethethe made a tutorial once, but the routine was buggy and never fixed, so not really usable. But yeah, I might be making something by myself someday.
          __________________
            #12087    
          Old October 26th, 2009 (9:10 AM).
          Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
          Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
          Memento Mori
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 14,508
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by H2O Turquoise View Post
          I think there was a special, a bug in Pokemon Crono beta 1 that caused all of the player's Pokemon to disappear. But that was for Ruby.
          Ash's Gray has script where one of your pokemon is removed...
          And I don't think there's ASM used.
          __________________
          ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

          Anime List | PSN Trophy List
            #12088    
          Old October 26th, 2009 (9:25 AM).
          HackMew's Avatar
          HackMew HackMew is offline
          Mewtwo Strikes Back
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2006
          Posts: 1,314
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
          Ash's Gray has script where one of your pokemon is removed...
          And I don't think there's ASM used.
          I don't know exactly, but if you say no ASM is involved, then it must be the Pokémon Day Care special. Which is not the same, obviously.
          __________________
            #12089    
          Old October 26th, 2009 (11:21 AM).
          Mister Flogers's Avatar
          Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lax
            Posts: 19
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
            I don't know exactly, but if you say no ASM is involved, then it must be the Pokémon Day Care special. Which is not the same, obviously.
            Well isnt there a code that removed the 1st pokemon from your party?
              #12090    
            Old October 26th, 2009 (1:48 PM). Edited October 26th, 2009 by Chaos Rush.
            Chaos Rush's Avatar
            Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1,303
              Is there any way to change the battle music of a certain trainer? (And no, Advance-Trainer CAN NOT do that)

              Also if that's impossible, is there any way to change the music of a trainer class?
                #12091    
              Old October 26th, 2009 (4:30 PM).
              destinedjagold's Avatar
              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
              Oh Hai Thar~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Location: Philippines
              Age: 27
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 8,574
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by AztecFire View Post
              Is there any way to change the battle music of a certain trainer? (And no, Advance-Trainer CAN NOT do that)

              Also if that's impossible, is there any way to change the music of a trainer class?
              well, yeah, it's possible.
              I think HackMew knows how to do that, though it requires an ASM touch to accomplish that. =3
              __________________


              FC: 0061-1111-6462
              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                #12092    
              Old October 26th, 2009 (5:47 PM).
              Mister Flogers's Avatar
              Mister Flogers Mister Flogers is offline
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lax
                Posts: 19
                Okay so to extend upon my questions

                1.Isn't there a code to remove the first pokemon in your party? if so what is it?
                2.If there is a code, is there one to that moves any pokemon to the first slot?
                3.How do i make it so a sprite appears after an event has happened, because I have this code set up:

                Spoiler:
                #org $script
                checkflag 0x1203
                if B_TRUE goto $QUESTS
                removesprite 1
                release
                end

                #org $QUESTS
                showsprite 1
                lock
                faceplayer
                checkflag 0x827
                if 0x01 goto $quest3
                checkflag 0x825
                if 0x01 goto $quest2
                checkflag 0x820
                if 0x01 goto $quest1
                checkflag 0x1204
                if 0x00 goto $greet
                message $thanks
                $thanks 1 = \c\h01\h06Harold: Thank you again\nfor getting my shell back.
                boxset 6
                release
                end


                but what happens is the sprite is still in the place i put in in advanced map and if i talk to it, it disappears and if i dont talk to the npc and do the event before that sets the flag, the sprite doesnt show up after the event that. how do I set it up so the sprite is not there before the event and is there after.
                __________________

                  #12093    
                Old October 27th, 2009 (12:04 AM).
                Spherical Ice's Avatar
                Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2007
                Location: Bristol, UK
                Age: 19
                Posts: 5,235
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by ziglef View Post
                Ok so this is what happens, i'm working on my own rom, and i got the starting map to work and i got the 2 map to work also, but now i changed some warps and stuff and when i go to the warp that goes from the first map to the second the games just stays black...

                Anyone got an ideia how to fix this ?
                Uh, even though this was aaaaaaaaaaages ago, there's been no proper answer and I have the same problem. Help, anyone?
                I have added 03 as the unknown for the warp event and in Advance Map everyhting warps fine, just so you know. Finally, the map I'm warping to was one I had inserted. I guess it has something to do with the Map Footer, but I'm unsure.
                H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
                __________________

                A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                  #12094    
                Old October 27th, 2009 (12:35 AM).
                Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                The Faltine
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                  Location: Slovenia
                  Age: 21
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 3,578
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                  H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
                  This? Oh.
                  That's because you resized the map (if you didn't then idk).
                  Just change the size back to their normal FR size and the map is active again!
                  If not, try fixing some of the movement permissions or OWs.
                  __________________
                    #12095    
                  Old October 27th, 2009 (3:38 AM).
                  Pokepal17's Avatar
                  Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                  More cowbell~
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2008
                  Location: Steeltown
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 1,517
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                  H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
                  The map resized probably shared a map footer with other maps. So To fix the map footer, copy the original map footer data from a clean ROM into your ROM.
                  __________________
                  Pokémon Stardrop
                    #12096    
                  Old October 27th, 2009 (7:10 AM).
                  Bozster's Avatar
                  Bozster Bozster is offline
                  Chief Lunatic
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 103
                    Does anyone know the link to a tutorial for Pokecry, because I can't make any sense of it?
                      #12097    
                    Old October 27th, 2009 (12:22 PM).
                    NarutoActor's Avatar
                    NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                    The rocks cry out to me
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2009
                    Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Bashful
                    Posts: 1,979
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                    H'okay, repostin' this lil' question. Answered much appreciated. ^.^
                    what? I answered this question manny times.
                    hear is the easy fix go to the map that is giving you problems and click th insert button on advance map and insert the same map in the same spot. Advance map will give the map a new offset and this will fix the problem.

                    Example if you warp to map 3.1 and it gose black go to map 3.1 in advance map and insert 3.1.

                    uhh Dosent anyone Read Befor asking, no lie I ansered this question at least 5 times in this thread its getting old a mod should ask this to the fequently ask questions thread.
                    __________________
                    ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                      #12098    
                    Old October 27th, 2009 (8:17 PM).
                    Larvitar170's Avatar
                    Larvitar170 Larvitar170 is offline
                    Noobie hacker
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2009
                      Location: Kentucky.
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 66
                      This is an issue that deals with scripting. I am trying to figure out how to make it to where when the player loses, he goes to the pokemon center. I am using the patch that deleted all the events to try to fix my own game with my own scripting, but I can't figure out how to actually script it. Any ideas?
                      __________________
                      Current project: Pokemon Mud Brown (Working Title, will be changed.)
                      No link because I haven't made a page for it yet.
                      Team: Myself as mapper, scripter, and spriter.Brandinokthx as spriter.

                        #12099    
                      Old October 27th, 2009 (10:01 PM).
                      destinedjagold's Avatar
                      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                      Oh Hai Thar~
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: May 2007
                      Location: Philippines
                      Age: 27
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 8,574
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Bozster View Post
                      Does anyone know the link to a tutorial for Pokecry, because I can't make any sense of it?
                      I am trying to do some research on it but I know little about ROM modifying, so...
                      To answer your question, there's no tutorial for it yet.
                      Though I am thinking of opening one, but I dunno... :\
                      __________________


                      FC: 0061-1111-6462
                      TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                        #12100    
                      Old October 27th, 2009 (11:59 PM).
                      B_Kennedy B_Kennedy is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 2
                        I have three questions:
                        1. Is it possible, by modifying the overworld sprite of the player, to have a pokemon follow you?

                        2. If the above is possible, can a script be made to change the sprite when the pokemon evolves?

                        3. Is it possible to make it so that a certain pokemon can not be removed from the active party?
                        Closed Thread

                        Quick Reply

                        Join the conversation!

                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                        Sponsored Links
                        Thread Tools

                        Posting Rules
                        You may not post new threads
                        You may not post replies
                        You may not post attachments
                        You may not edit your posts

                        BB code is On
                        Smilies are On
                        [IMG] code is On
                        HTML code is Off

                        Forum Jump


                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:19 PM.