ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21251    
Old May 12th, 2012 (2:48 AM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 54
    Guys, I have a question:

    A lot of times I bumped here in people discouraging using A-Text. To my grief, they were right, that A-Text bastard screwed up my scripts, even though I said him to use space from A00000 to avoid part rewriting, however it didn't give a damn and still use the first free offset when repointing.

    Then goes my question: how to do it without A-Text using say, XSE for instance? It seems that people use that, but how? XSE is for scripts, not for text editing, isn't it? How would I change the start menu names, for instance?

    Thanks

    Relevant Advertising!

      #21252    
    Old May 12th, 2012 (2:52 AM).
    Spherical Ice's Avatar
    Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Nov 2007
    Location: Bristol, UK
    Age: 19
    Posts: 5,240
    You need to use Translhextion and a Table file. If you're using FireRed, then this is the table file you should use.

    Load your ROM in Translhextion, then in the Script menu select Open Thingy table and select the .tbl file you downloaded. A notice will pop up, press Ok and then in the new window that appears check the "Thingy View Active" bar.

    You can now search for text using Alt+F and replace it with Alt+H.
    __________________

    A Pokemon that is discriminated!
    Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
      #21253    
    Old May 12th, 2012 (7:10 AM).
    Mallowigi's Avatar
    Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2010
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 54
      Yeah but the text should have the same length isn't it? I've tried to edit it but it obviously torn up my rom.
        #21254    
      Old May 12th, 2012 (7:28 AM).
      Spherical Ice's Avatar
      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Nov 2007
      Location: Bristol, UK
      Age: 19
      Posts: 5,240
      Yes, it has to be the same length. If not, search the ROM for a pointer to the text and repoint it. This is quite hard to explain, but say the text you want to change is located at 0x145c00.

      Make a script in XSE with your new text, regardless of length, like this:

      Code:
      #dynamic 0x800000
      
      #org @1
      = Hello this is a string of text\nand it may or may not be longer\lthen the original part of text.
      Compile that to your ROM in XSE, save the offset in Notepad, and then load your ROM in Translhextion (or whatever hex editor you want).

      Now, remember the original offset was 0x145c00? Well, we need to turn that into an offset. We do this like so:

      [14] [5c] [00]

      Reversed:

      [00] [5c] [14]

      Add [08]:

      [00] [5c] [14] [08]

      So now we search the ROM for 005c1408. We then replace that with the pointer to our new script.

      Say we compiled that text to 0x800000, we then need to make that into a pointer:

      [80] [00] [00]

      Reversed:

      [00] [00] [80]

      Add [08]:

      [00] [00] [80] [08]

      So we replace 005c1408 with 00008008.

      That should work, though I'm not 100% sure. Back up your ROM and test it out, then get back to me if there are any problems.
      __________________

      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
        #21255    
      Old May 12th, 2012 (7:46 AM).
      Mallowigi's Avatar
      Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2010
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 54
        As I understand, it does the same as A-Text, except that I have more control over it. All I need to do is to create a big jumbo script for all the strings, then locate each one of them with A-Text.

        Goddamn it's a lot of work... Gotta delegate this to someone.

        Thanks though
          #21256    
        Old May 12th, 2012 (8:59 AM).
        CliveKoopa CliveKoopa is offline
           
          Join Date: Jan 2009
          Location: Coventry, United Kingdom
          Age: 33
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 597
          I know this has probably been asked many times before and I think I may have a long time ago but where can I find the inis for after Route 101 in A-Text?

          Also in Advance Map, the city/town names, etc under "From INI" are in German. Is there anyway I can turn this into English? The map headers, however are in English.
          __________________
            #21257    
          Old May 12th, 2012 (9:02 AM).
          TempixTL's Avatar
          TempixTL TempixTL is offline
             
            Join Date: Feb 2012
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 15
            My problem is that in my Pokemon Ruby hack, the name of the map doesn't show up when you enter it. For any map.

            Under the "Header" tab in AdvanceMap, I have Show Name On Entering set to Show Name [01], and the type is set to City [02] for one particular map. Any ideas?
            __________________
            Pokemon Jade. It's coming.
              #21258    
            Old May 12th, 2012 (9:06 AM).
            Mallowigi's Avatar
            Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 54
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by CliveKoopa View Post
              I know this has probably been asked many times before and I think I may have a long time ago but where can I find the inis for after Route 101 in A-Text?

              Also in Advance Map, the city/town names, etc under "From INI" are in German. Is there anyway I can turn this into English? The map headers, however are in English.
              You don't really need them, just use the Search function inside and search for the beginning of your text, then click Write To Ini to put in there.

              There's a lot of work, but I really suggest you to not change the dialogs from this tool but from XSE directly.
                #21259    
              Old May 12th, 2012 (9:35 AM).
              droomph's Avatar
              droomph droomph is offline
              weeb
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Sep 2011
              Location: nowhere spectacular
              Age: 20
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 4,291
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by TempixTL View Post
              My problem is that in my Pokemon Ruby hack, the name of the map doesn't show up when you enter it. For any map.

              Under the "Header" tab in AdvanceMap, I have Show Name On Entering set to Show Name [01], and the type is set to City [02] for one particular map. Any ideas?
              There is an array of names, and there can be only so much in one game. If you want you'll have to remove one of the preexisting cities and then make your new city/area on top. If you want new towns however may I recommend using Emerald instead?
              __________________
              did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
              o i forgot 5
              uraqt


                #21260    
              Old May 12th, 2012 (9:35 AM).
              CliveKoopa CliveKoopa is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Location: Coventry, United Kingdom
                Age: 33
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 597
                How do I find certain text in XSE? There's no text search button there.
                __________________
                  #21261    
                Old May 12th, 2012 (10:13 AM).
                droomph's Avatar
                droomph droomph is offline
                weeb
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2011
                Location: nowhere spectacular
                Age: 20
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Impish
                Posts: 4,291
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by CliveKoopa View Post
                How do I find certain text in XSE? There's no text search button there.
                It's indirect but simple. Instead of explaining it to you I'll just give you an example.

                Let's say you find a text at 0x800000. So now what you would do is look for the pointer to that offset, which would be 00 00 80 08. So using a hex editor, search for that string of four numbers. Usually there will be only one mention of that pointer in the entire ROM. Then record the offset, and then on XSE decompile one byte before that offset (eg if the pointer was at 0x700000 decompile at 0x6FFFFF). And through the Smart-Decompile it will decompile that string of text. Yaaay
                __________________
                did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                o i forgot 5
                uraqt


                  #21262    
                Old May 12th, 2012 (10:47 AM).
                Kaith's Avatar
                Kaith Kaith is offline
                Hacker of Fire
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2011
                  Location: North, it's cold.
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Relaxed
                  Posts: 49
                  So since my previous question got shot by, I'm just gonna repeat it.

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Kaith View Post
                  So I'm using Advance Map editing a FireRed rom. I'm currently creating a cave and was wondering how to get the black hole, the one that's sometimes on the floor and you can drop through, to connect with the floor underneath.
                  (For reference, I have the top floor as Map 3.20 and bottom Floor as Map 3.46)
                  __________________
                  Hackers, Hacker everywhere.

                  Hacks I support:
                  FloralSky





                    #21263    
                  Old May 12th, 2012 (12:34 PM).
                  droomph's Avatar
                  droomph droomph is offline
                  weeb
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2011
                  Location: nowhere spectacular
                  Age: 20
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Impish
                  Posts: 4,291
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Kaith View Post
                  So since my previous question got shot by, I'm just gonna repeat it.
                  Look for examples. It exists, and it shouldn't be anything with hidden ASM, just a couple specials on some OWs.
                  __________________
                  did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                  o i forgot 5
                  uraqt


                    #21264    
                  Old May 12th, 2012 (2:59 PM).
                  Mallowigi's Avatar
                  Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 54
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by CliveKoopa View Post
                    How do I find certain text in XSE? There's no text search button there.
                    Or you can read three posts up and use transhexlator to find a text in the Rom, get its offset, and decompile it in XSE
                      #21265    
                    Old May 13th, 2012 (4:19 AM).
                    Spherical Ice's Avatar
                    Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                    Location: Bristol, UK
                    Age: 19
                    Posts: 5,240
                    There's probably an obvious answer but I'm a bit dense atm: how do you (safely) add more frames to an overworld sprite?
                    __________________

                    A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                    Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                      #21266    
                    Old May 13th, 2012 (5:30 AM).
                    Mewtwo7's Avatar
                    Mewtwo7 Mewtwo7 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 13
                      How can I in Advance map change a trainer's pokemon?
                        #21267    
                      Old May 13th, 2012 (11:41 AM).
                      DaleH771's Avatar
                      DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
                      I know who you are.
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2011
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 126
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Mewtwo7 View Post
                        How can I in Advance map change a trainer's pokemon?
                        As far as I am aware this is not possible. You will need an external proigram such as PET or AdvancedTrainer.

                        Anyone, I am waiting to release the second Beta of my game however, I cannot find a script anywhere for a Pokeball (Item) that when you interact with in game dissapears PERMANENTLY and gives you an item. I need a script that'll work with PokeScript Thanks!
                          #21268    
                        Old May 13th, 2012 (11:51 AM).
                        Spherical Ice's Avatar
                        Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2007
                        Location: Bristol, UK
                        Age: 19
                        Posts: 5,240
                        I don't know about PokéScript, but I'm pretty sure it's similar.

                        The code for XSE at least is this:

                        Code:
                        #dynamic 0x800000
                        
                        #org @start
                        giveitem 0xD 0x1 0x1
                        end
                        For if you wanted to find one Potion. You'd then give the Pokéball a unique Person ID in Advance Map.

                        I recommend using XSE for your scripting instead of PokéScript, but if not then you'll have to find a way to translate that into PokéScript syntax.
                        __________________

                        A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                        Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                          #21269    
                        Old May 13th, 2012 (11:55 AM).
                        DaleH771's Avatar
                        DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
                        I know who you are.
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2011
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 126
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                          I don't know about PokéScript, but I'm pretty sure it's similar.

                          The code for XSE at least is this:

                          Code:
                          #dynamic 0x800000
                          
                          #org @start
                          giveitem 0xD 0x1 0x1
                          end
                          For if you wanted to find one Potion. You'd then give the Pokéball a unique Person ID in Advance Map.

                          I recommend using XSE for your scripting instead of PokéScript, but if not then you'll have to find a way to translate that into PokéScript syntax.
                          Cheers, I'll try it. Say I gave the Pokeball ID of AAAA, where in the script would I put that AAAA?
                            #21270    
                          Old May 13th, 2012 (12:02 PM).
                          Spherical Ice's Avatar
                          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Location: Bristol, UK
                          Age: 19
                          Posts: 5,240
                          Nowhere, it does it automatically. Though I'd use the Person IDs in the area of the 100s.
                          __________________

                          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                            #21271    
                          Old May 13th, 2012 (12:41 PM).
                          DaleH771's Avatar
                          DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
                          I know who you are.
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 126
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                            Nowhere, it does it automatically. Though I'd use the Person IDs in the area of the 100s.
                            Ther Pokeballs re-appear after I take one step... What da!?
                              #21272    
                            Old May 13th, 2012 (12:42 PM).
                            Spherical Ice's Avatar
                            Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2007
                            Location: Bristol, UK
                            Age: 19
                            Posts: 5,240
                            Have you tried compiling the script using XSE 1.1?
                            __________________

                            A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                            Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                              #21273    
                            Old May 13th, 2012 (12:45 PM).
                            DaleH771's Avatar
                            DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
                            I know who you are.
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 126
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                              Have you tried compiling the script using XSE 1.1?
                              It worked for the first Pokeball. After that I used FSF to find a free offset, put that into the script, and then changed the item characters to the Item I wanted. However on all the others, when I move it makes the ball re-appear.
                                #21274    
                              Old May 13th, 2012 (12:46 PM).
                              Spherical Ice's Avatar
                              Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2007
                              Location: Bristol, UK
                              Age: 19
                              Posts: 5,240
                              No, don't use FSF to find a free offset. Just use the script I used, then hit compile. XSE will give you the offset to use.
                              __________________

                              A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                              Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                                #21275    
                              Old May 13th, 2012 (12:51 PM).
                              DaleH771's Avatar
                              DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
                              I know who you are.
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2011
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 126
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                                No, don't use FSF to find a free offset. Just use the script I used, then hit compile. XSE will give you the offset to use.
                                Ok so I changed it back to 0x800000, however I am still faced with the same issue.

                                I am using this for a rare candy pick up.

                                #dynamic 0x800000

                                #org @start
                                giveitem 0x44 0x1 0x1
                                end

                                Sprite details
                                Person ID : 0000
                                No. 12
                                Person Event no. 13
                                Closed Thread

                                Quick Reply

                                Join the conversation!

                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:40 AM.