ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23701    
Old February 4th, 2013 (4:48 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 1,766
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
    alright. I'm getting in issue whenever I try to open up the new XSE, it closes as soon as it's opened. I know I saw somewhere how to fix it but I don't remember which thread (I've read like 20 of them in the past 3 days).
    Go into settings.ini and change autoupdate to 0.
    __________________

    Paired with Simba

    Relevant Advertising!

      #23702    
    Old February 4th, 2013 (4:58 PM). Edited February 4th, 2013 by Zanny77.
    Zanny77's Avatar
    Zanny77 Zanny77 is offline
    I'm back, baby!
       
      Join Date: Mar 2009
      Location: Maine
      Age: 27
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 259
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
      Woah, that's ancient lol. Download the new XSE and just use #dynamic 0x800000 instead of doing steps 1-7. You should get something like this:



      Take note of the highlighted @start offset. Insert it into advance map (with the "$" before it). If you still can't get it to work, I'm sure there are videos of the same process on youtube or something.
      Alright! Just downloaded 1.1.1, put in a simple script and got it the simple script to work! Thanks a lot! I'll try again using the other simplish script, then go for the one I put here. Thanks for all your help!


      EDIT: Just got the givepokemon script to work also! Thanks for all your help!
      __________________

      I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
        #23703    
      Old February 5th, 2013 (2:32 PM).
      Vicktor Black's Avatar
      Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
      Blaziken
         
        Join Date: Mar 2012
        Location: Someplace
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 48
        Does anyone know where I can share my ideas for Rom Hacking.
        __________________

        Always keep an open mind!
          #23704    
        Old February 5th, 2013 (2:35 PM).
        FBI's Avatar
        FBI FBI is offline
        Free supporter
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2013
        Location: Unknown Island
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 1,820
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Vicktor Black View Post
        Does anyone know where I can share my ideas for Rom Hacking.
        Hack stories:
        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=295483

        Hack ideas in general can be brought up in the ROM hacking discussions (I think :P). Research and research questions can be brought up in the R&D section.
        __________________
        ...
          #23705    
        Old February 5th, 2013 (2:39 PM).
        Vicktor Black's Avatar
        Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
        Blaziken
           
          Join Date: Mar 2012
          Location: Someplace
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 48
          Thank You I have been searching for a thread like this.
          __________________

          Always keep an open mind!
            #23706    
          Old February 5th, 2013 (8:58 PM). Edited February 5th, 2013 by SchokoInc.
          SchokoInc SchokoInc is offline
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Posts: 20
            Very quick question :)
            Is there any way to edit the attacks a pokémon learns through move tutor? E.g. I replace the move-tutor-move for the softboiled-tutor with fire punch (with Hack Mew's Move Tutor Editor)
            How can I change which pokémon can learn these attacks?
            Thanks in advance :)

            (Some other small questions:
            What bytes do i have to change if I want the regional pokédex in fire red contain pokémon 1-252?
            Nothing more at the moment :) )
              #23707    
            Old February 6th, 2013 (1:49 AM).
            FBI's Avatar
            FBI FBI is offline
            Free supporter
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2013
            Location: Unknown Island
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1,820
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
            Very quick question :)
            Is there any way to edit the attacks a pokémon learns through move tutor? E.g. I replace the move-tutor-move for the softboiled-tutor with fire punch (with Hack Mew's Move Tutor Editor)
            How can I change which pokémon can learn these attacks?
            Thanks in advance :)

            (Some other small questions:
            What bytes do i have to change if I want the regional pokédex in fire red contain pokémon 1-252?
            Nothing more at the moment :) )
            For the move tutor thing, you can change a Pokemon's move pool through YAPE (also in the toolbox).
            For the National dex problem, I have no idea how you would limit it to being only the first 1-252 :D
            What's wrong with just enabling the whole thing?
            __________________
            ...
              #23708    
            Old February 6th, 2013 (3:51 AM).
            SchokoInc SchokoInc is offline
               
              Join Date: Nov 2012
              Posts: 20
              Well YAPE only lets me edit level-moves, TM-compatibility and HM-compatibility. How do I edit move-tutor-compatibility? :(

              And having the regional pokédex going up to 251 is quite important for my hack :) I've also read about it being only a few byte changes several times :)
                #23709    
              Old February 6th, 2013 (1:32 PM).
              FBI's Avatar
              FBI FBI is offline
              Free supporter
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2013
              Location: Unknown Island
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1,820
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
              Well YAPE only lets me edit level-moves, TM-compatibility and HM-compatibility. How do I edit move-tutor-compatibility? :(

              And having the regional pokédex going up to 251 is quite important for my hack :) I've also read about it being only a few byte changes several times :)
              Doesn't tutor compatibility depend on learn-able moves? I don't know for sure, but that sounds like a logical way to program it.
              __________________
              ...
                #23710    
              Old February 6th, 2013 (1:54 PM).
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
                Doesn't tutor compatibility depend on learn-able moves? I don't know for sure, but that sounds like a logical way to program it.
                Not if he means the single-move tutors. The ones that teach one specific move. I'm pretty sure that with these, if the Pokemon knows the move in it's move set at some point, the move tutor will be able to teach it. Other than that, I think that compatibility for those moves must be based in type.

                Why don't you give it a try? Set the move tutor to teach a move that is not in a pokemon's move pool but is the same type as the Pokemon and try to make him learn it.


                For the move tutor's that help you remember old moves, it is just going to read the moves you find in YAPE that could have been learned up to your pokemon's level.
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #23711    
                Old February 6th, 2013 (2:46 PM).
                SchokoInc SchokoInc is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Posts: 20
                  Ooooohhhhhhhhhhhh no :D

                  I meant move tutors not the move relearner :D

                  Move tutors are for example the two guys after Mt. Moon who teach Mega Punch and Mega Kick to your Pokémon or the guy who teaches Softboiled :D

                  And I'm pretty sure it isn't type based as not all normal typed pokémon can learn softboiled :(

                  Especially as I want that for example fire punch can be learned by every pokémon who has the physical ability to use it :) (Machamp or Electabuzz for example)
                    #23712    
                  Old February 6th, 2013 (5:42 PM). Edited February 6th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                  karatekid552's Avatar
                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                  What happens if I push it?....
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bold
                    Posts: 1,766
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
                    Ooooohhhhhhhhhhhh no :D

                    I meant move tutors not the move relearner :D

                    Move tutors are for example the two guys after Mt. Moon who teach Mega Punch and Mega Kick to your Pokémon or the guy who teaches Softboiled :D

                    And I'm pretty sure it isn't type based as not all normal typed pokémon can learn softboiled

                    Especially as I want that for example fire punch can be learned by every pokémon who has the physical ability to use it (Machamp or Electabuzz for example)
                    Just looking at it, it isn't based in egg moves, move pools, or tm/hm learnability. I'm going to look at the scripts, I wonder if there is more to this....

                    Edit: Nevermind, I'm stupid:p. All move tutor moves are TM's, so just change the move that the move tutor gives and the TM which contains it.
                    __________________

                    Paired with Simba
                      #23713    
                    Old February 6th, 2013 (7:56 PM).
                    makayta makayta is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2013
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 5
                      I've noticed that when I try and use some moves, the rom glitches and either freezes, or acts as if it was an item and doesn't let the other pokemon attack (like earthquake, rest, giga drain, recover, and moves with equivalent effects). Is there a way to fix the effects of these attacks to not glitch out? I want them to have the same effects that they normally do.
                        #23714    
                      Old February 7th, 2013 (3:39 AM).
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by makayta View Post
                        I've noticed that when I try and use some moves, the rom glitches and either freezes, or acts as if it was an item and doesn't let the other pokemon attack (like earthquake, rest, giga drain, recover, and moves with equivalent effects). Is there a way to fix the effects of these attacks to not glitch out? I want them to have the same effects that they normally do.
                        This means you corrupted the images that are used for the attacks. I have fixed it, but just doing two moves took almost 7 hours. I had to go through the entire data un-Lz and compare it to a clean rom and find the attack animation that was wrong. Then, you have to open up the offset it should be at and repair the hex coding to its original state.

                        It is a long and tedious process, so if you aren't too far into a hack, I would just start over. To prevent this from happening again, compile dynamically whenever possible.

                        I can show you how to recover it, if you feel that you can't start over.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #23715    
                        Old February 7th, 2013 (3:47 AM).
                        Flame999's Avatar
                        Flame999 Flame999 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2008
                          Location: Lavaridge Town
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 103
                          Help i don't what to do I'm trying to put Water Pulse as a move tutor

                          this is my script
                          '-----------------------
                          #org 0x740034
                          lock
                          faceplayer
                          setvar 0x8005 0x160
                          special 0x18D
                          waitstate
                          lock
                          faceplayer
                          release
                          end

                          what did i do wrong i have no clue
                            #23716    
                          Old February 7th, 2013 (3:54 AM). Edited February 7th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                          karatekid552's Avatar
                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                          What happens if I push it?....
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 1,766
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Flame999 View Post
                            Help i don't what to do I'm trying to put Water Pulse as a move tutor

                            this is my script
                            '-----------------------
                            #org 0x740034
                            lock
                            faceplayer
                            setvar 0x8005 0x160
                            special 0x18D
                            waitstate
                            lock
                            faceplayer
                            release
                            end

                            what did i do wrong i have no clue
                            I'll assume you used the move tutor edited to add that move to your move tutor.

                            The value of 0x8005 should contain the hex number for the move tutor.

                            Also, why do you have lock & faceplayer in there twice? Once activated, they don't need to be used again until after you release.


                            Edit: And water pulse needs to be a TM, that is how they do compatibility.
                            __________________

                            Paired with Simba
                              #23717    
                            Old February 7th, 2013 (4:05 AM).
                            Flame999's Avatar
                            Flame999 Flame999 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2008
                              Location: Lavaridge Town
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Calm
                              Posts: 103
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                              I'll assume you used the move tutor edited to add that move to your move tutor.

                              The value of 0x8005 should contain the hex number for the move tutor.

                              Also, why do you have lock & faceplayer in there twice? Once activated, they don't need to be used again until after you release.
                              that my be cause I'm using Pksv for my scripts and No i didn't edited any I add and when go to the guy the screen goes red
                                #23718    
                              Old February 7th, 2013 (4:08 AM).
                              karatekid552's Avatar
                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                              What happens if I push it?....
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 1,766
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Flame999 View Post
                                that my be cause I'm using Pksv for my scripts and No i didn't edited any I add and when go to the guy the screen goes red
                                Okay, the verify that there is a move tutor 0x160.
                                __________________

                                Paired with Simba
                                  #23719    
                                Old February 7th, 2013 (4:53 AM).
                                Flame999's Avatar
                                Flame999 Flame999 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2008
                                  Location: Lavaridge Town
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 103
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                  Okay, the verify that there is a move tutor 0x160.
                                  I don't know what move tutor that is but I took out the extra Lock and faceplayer and it's still red and freezing
                                    #23720    
                                  Old February 7th, 2013 (1:06 PM).
                                  karatekid552's Avatar
                                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                  What happens if I push it?....
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bold
                                    Posts: 1,766
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Flame999 View Post
                                    I don't know what move tutor that is but I took out the extra Lock and faceplayer and it's still red and freezing
                                    If memory serves, there is a limited amount of Move Tutors. Which means to make one, you must replace one. So, find a move tutor and steal his/her ID. Then modify the data in a TM editor and Move Tutor editer.
                                    __________________

                                    Paired with Simba
                                      #23721    
                                    Old February 7th, 2013 (2:19 PM).
                                    Blue's Avatar
                                    Blue Blue is offline
                                    problematic
                                    • Moderator
                                    • Platinum Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2008
                                    Location: United Kingdom
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Relaxed
                                    Posts: 20,309
                                    I'm pretty sure I've done this before but it's slipped my mind and I can't seem to work it.

                                    How do you get two sprites to move at the same time once activating a script? i.e The Team Rocket Script in Pokemon Yellow.
                                    __________________
                                      #23722    
                                    Old February 7th, 2013 (2:26 PM).
                                    karatekid552's Avatar
                                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                    What happens if I push it?....
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 1,766
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Suicune™ View Post
                                      I'm pretty sure I've done this before but it's slipped my mind and I can't seem to work it.

                                      How do you get two sprites to move at the same time once activating a script? i.e The Team Rocket Script in Pokemon Yellow.
                                      If you are using applymovement and not a follow me type thing:

                                      applymovement 0x(NPC1) @move1
                                      applymovement 0x(NPC2) @move2(or move1 if you want them to have the same movements)
                                      waitmovement 0x0


                                      Just set them both to move and put the waitmovement after. This will wait for both of them to move at the same time.
                                      __________________

                                      Paired with Simba
                                        #23723    
                                      Old February 7th, 2013 (2:45 PM).
                                      Blue's Avatar
                                      Blue Blue is offline
                                      problematic
                                      • Moderator
                                      • Platinum Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                                      Location: United Kingdom
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 20,309
                                      It's fine now, I've got it working thanks.
                                      __________________
                                        #23724    
                                      Old February 7th, 2013 (3:10 PM).
                                      Flame999's Avatar
                                      Flame999 Flame999 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                                        Location: Lavaridge Town
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Calm
                                        Posts: 103
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                        If memory serves, there is a limited amount of Move Tutors. Which means to make one, you must replace one. So, find a move tutor and steal his/her ID. Then modify the data in a TM editor and Move Tutor editer.
                                        Crap oh well I guess I'll do that
                                          #23725    
                                        Old February 7th, 2013 (3:25 PM).
                                        makayta makayta is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2013
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 5
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                          This means you corrupted the images that are used for the attacks. I have fixed it, but just doing two moves took almost 7 hours. I had to go through the entire data un-Lz and compare it to a clean rom and find the attack animation that was wrong. Then, you have to open up the offset it should be at and repair the hex coding to its original state.

                                          It is a long and tedious process, so if you aren't too far into a hack, I would just start over. To prevent this from happening again, compile dynamically whenever possible.

                                          I can show you how to recover it, if you feel that you can't start over.
                                          Thank you for the response. However, I don't think the animations are the problem, since when I change what the effect of the attack does the animation works fine and doesn't crash. The actual effects of the attack editor i use (absorbs half of inflicted damage; double damage on pokemon using Dig; user faints; recover half of maximum hp) are the ones that seem to not be working. I can switch the effect of an attack to a similar working one. like replacing the effect of Recover with the effect of Moonlight, but not every move has an alternative.
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:30 AM.