ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23826    
Old February 27th, 2013 (2:21 PM).
FBI's Avatar
FBI FBI is offline
Free supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuartierGenerale View Post
but according to this i need to known the [number], while that number is my variable.
I'll give you an example:

checkitemspaceinbag POTION 0x5
That basically checks if you have room in your bag for 5 potions.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LocksmithArmy View Post
how do I enable running on my maps? it seems every map i make I cant run in...

I assumed its a simple thing like change the header from "indoors" to "route" but that does not do anything...
labeling my routes route and my towns town... does nothing to enable running... grrr
Make sure the map isn't being treated as an indoor map. If it's not, then I had this problem too. I just applied HackMew's running shoes in buildings tutorial and it worked after that.
__________________
...
  #23827    
Old February 27th, 2013 (3:53 PM).
HyperXhydra's Avatar
HyperXhydra HyperXhydra is offline
     
    Join Date: Oct 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 331
    You know the vs banner before the elite four battle in RSE, is there a way to make it appear
    for another trainer class? for the Gym leaders for example.
      #23828    
    Old February 27th, 2013 (4:11 PM).
    LocksmithArmy's Avatar
    LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
    Mew!
       
      Join Date: Feb 2013
      Age: 29
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 415
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
      I'll give you an example:

      checkitemspaceinbag POTION 0x5
      That basically checks if you have room in your bag for 5 potions.




      Make sure the map isn't being treated as an indoor map. If it's not, then I had this problem too. I just applied HackMew's running shoes in buildings tutorial and it worked after that.
      I did just make running everywhere possible... but I was hoping to fix it right :(

      oh well...
      __________________
        #23829    
      Old February 27th, 2013 (4:52 PM).
      iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2013
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 34
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        This is all we know for now. http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=291605 Try finding some on your own by taking a completed save file and checking flags.



        It is in one of the top menus.



        No way in YAPE, but it can be done in PGE. I answered this question in far more detail just a week or two ago, most likely for someone else. Look back through the last ten or so pages or use the handy-dandy search bar.:D
        Yeah i figured out later on, thanks anyways tho.
        BTW if you have ever played maplestory, im making a pokemon (MAPLéMON) hack, where pokemons are colored maplestory characters and maplestory mobs, if you know what maplestory is; What do you think of the hack, do you think it is a good idea?
          #23830    
        Old February 27th, 2013 (5:10 PM).
        karatekid552's Avatar
        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
        What happens if I push it?....
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 1,766
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by HyperXhydra View Post
          You know the vs banner before the elite four battle in RSE, is there a way to make it appear
          for another trainer class? for the Gym leaders for example.
          Well.... Yeah... But it is specific to each elite four. Meaning that the banner displayed will contain the sprite for the elite four member you stole it from. It is cinnected to trainer class I believe. You can do it in firered though. Search for pre-battle mug shots by Jambo51.
          __________________

          Paired with Simba
            #23831    
          Old February 27th, 2013 (11:46 PM).
          ISNorden's Avatar
          ISNorden ISNorden is offline
          Teddiursa
             
            Join Date: Feb 2013
            Location: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 160
            This question may sound strange, but...How do you re-hack ingame text that someone else has already changed? I found a great hack of HeartGold online recently, and love the game-play changes--but hate the off-color dialogue the hacker added. Is there a Gen IV editor available that would let me clean up the language, please? I'd appreciate any help you could give.
            __________________
            ========================

            Ingeborg S. Nordén

            " Coming this fall to Jubilife TV: Lost Beyond Space!" :P
              #23832    
            Old March 1st, 2013 (11:50 AM).
            FBI's Avatar
            FBI FBI is offline
            Free supporter
             
            Join Date: Jan 2013
            Location: Unknown Island
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1,867
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by ISNorden View Post
            This question may sound strange, but...How do you re-hack ingame text that someone else has already changed? I found a great hack of HeartGold online recently, and love the game-play changes--but hate the off-color dialogue the hacker added. Is there a Gen IV editor available that would let me clean up the language, please? I'd appreciate any help you could give.
            I don't know if there is a tool to do if faster (likely there is), but otherwise you can just open it up in a hex editor and edit the strings. Though it's tedious and annoying, it's a solid way to go :P
            __________________
            ...
              #23833    
            Old March 1st, 2013 (5:48 PM).
            ShyRayq's Avatar
            ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
            Unprofessional Unprofessional
               
              Join Date: Aug 2007
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 1,617
              Okay, I'm not sure if this is a simple question but..
              I've looked at the TM data, and I cannot for the life of me understand what the hell it is about. If someone could please tell me, it would be gatly appreciated.
              __________________
              3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
              IGN: Peter; (X, Y, OR, AS, S, M)
              Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
              Living Pokedex Complete: Y, C, LG, E, Pl, HG, B, B2, X, Y, OR, AS, M, UM
              Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

              PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
                #23834    
              Old March 1st, 2013 (6:04 PM).
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Dragoon View Post
                Okay, I'm not sure if this is a simple question but..
                I've looked at the TM data, and I cannot for the life of me understand what the hell it is about. If someone could please tell me, it would be gatly appreciated.
                Can you be a little more specific? Are you looking into how they are are stored in the bag? Or the routine they run? Or which move they teach?

                For the last, there are several tools to do it with, so the hex data isn't needed as much.
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #23835    
                Old March 1st, 2013 (7:46 PM). Edited March 1st, 2013 by ShyRayq.
                ShyRayq's Avatar
                ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
                Unprofessional Unprofessional
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 1,617
                  EDIT EDIT:
                  Don't worry I figured it out
                  __________________
                  3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
                  IGN: Peter; (X, Y, OR, AS, S, M)
                  Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
                  Living Pokedex Complete: Y, C, LG, E, Pl, HG, B, B2, X, Y, OR, AS, M, UM
                  Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

                  PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
                    #23836    
                  Old March 2nd, 2013 (7:49 AM).
                  rudi_skacel rudi_skacel is offline
                     
                    Join Date: May 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 11
                    Hey. I've been away for some time and i'm a bit rusty. I like to tweek the game for personal enjoyment and i was trying to change ghost moves to make them special type (on fr) and dark moves to make them physical. I tried using the attack editor that comes with the GBA pokemon game editor set and for some reason it says all the moves a physical type which seems strange. Thanks for any help you can give me.
                      #23837    
                    Old March 2nd, 2013 (9:12 AM).
                    .parado✗'s Avatar
                    .parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
                    paranormal user
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                      Location: Ha✗land
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 38
                      As far as I know, there wasn't a real differece between physical moves and special moves but I heard of a patch, that includes a ASM routine, which differs the attacks..

                      Still have fun at romhacking, dude ;)
                      __________________
                      If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

                      www.board.romresources.net

                      ;) I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
                        #23838    
                      Old March 2nd, 2013 (9:15 AM).
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by .parado✗ View Post
                        As far as I know, there wasn't a real differece between physical moves and special moves but I heard of a patch, that includes a ASM routine, which differs the attacks..

                        Still have fun at romhacking, dude ;)
                        The main difference that I know of between them is when it comes to abilities such as Static which, when a physical move is used on that pokemon, can cause the other pokemon to be paralyzed. Not completely sure, but I'm pretty sure that abilities like those are the main reason for physical/special moves.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #23839    
                        Old March 2nd, 2013 (10:16 AM).
                        rudi_skacel rudi_skacel is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2010
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 11
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                          The main difference that I know of between them is when it comes to abilities such as Static which, when a physical move is used on that pokemon, can cause the other pokemon to be paralyzed. Not completely sure, but I'm pretty sure that abilities like those are the main reason for physical/special moves.
                          the main reason why i wanted to adjust them was because then dark would be even more effective against psychic (most psychic types have poor physical defense) and because i gengar (who i love) more effective by transferring its attack evs to its special attack evs.
                            #23840    
                          Old March 2nd, 2013 (10:46 AM).
                          karatekid552's Avatar
                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                          What happens if I push it?....
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 1,766
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by rudi_skacel View Post
                            the main reason why i wanted to adjust them was because then dark would be even more effective against psychic (most psychic types have poor physical defense) and because i gengar (who i love) more effective by transferring its attack evs to its special attack evs.
                            Then yes, you should probably do as .paradox stated and find the physical/special split patch and then apply it. From there you should be able to edit the effects as you please. I know in the origional Advance gen games, the physical/special attacks were actually based on type. So like all fighting moves physical and such. This may be what you are encountering.
                            __________________

                            Paired with Simba
                              #23841    
                            Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:00 PM).
                            kj3400's Avatar
                            kj3400 kj3400 is offline
                            Wants a Magneton for a Charger
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Lax
                              Posts: 53
                              Ok. I'm wondering is it possible to have like some sort of train line running through my region like in G/S/C/HG/SS? But with more than two stations?
                                #23842    
                              Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:22 PM).
                              karatekid552's Avatar
                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                              What happens if I push it?....
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 1,766
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
                                Ok. I'm wondering is it possible to have like some sort of train line running through my region like in G/S/C/HG/SS? But with more than two stations?
                                Anything is possible, it is just a question of how. The easiest way I could see is creating a train ow and when you board the train in the building, warping outside (keeping your player hidden) and moving the train and the player exactly the same. Then fade out, warp to the next train station, fade in and have the train come to a stop, then warp to inside the train station and show the player getting off.
                                __________________

                                Paired with Simba
                                  #23843    
                                Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:31 PM). Edited March 2nd, 2013 by kj3400.
                                kj3400's Avatar
                                kj3400 kj3400 is offline
                                Wants a Magneton for a Charger
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Lax
                                  Posts: 53
                                  Fascinating. And if I wanted to have a map of the inside of the train I'd just warp to that map? Is there a limit on how big the train OW can be?
                                    #23844    
                                  Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:33 PM).
                                  FBI's Avatar
                                  FBI FBI is offline
                                  Free supporter
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2013
                                  Location: Unknown Island
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 1,867
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
                                  Fascinating. And if I wanted to have a map of the inside of the train I'd just warp to that map? Is there a limit on how big the train OW can be?
                                  You can replace the SS. Anne if you really wanted to.
                                  __________________
                                  ...
                                    #23845    
                                  Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:37 PM).
                                  karatekid552's Avatar
                                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                  What happens if I push it?....
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bold
                                    Posts: 1,766
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
                                    Fascinating. And if I wanted to have a map of the inside of the train I'd just warp to that map? Is there a limit on how big the train OW can be?
                                    1) Yes, you could just warp in. It would be just like the ship in RSE.

                                    2) I have no clue. The biggest OW I have seen is the S.S. Anne. You won't be able to make an OW that big in NSE. It will require hex editing to make the dimensions that size, but I feel like if the S.S. Anne could be that big, why couldn't you go bigger?
                                    __________________

                                    Paired with Simba
                                      #23846    
                                    Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:41 PM).
                                    Mr. Whiscash's Avatar
                                    Mr. Whiscash Mr. Whiscash is offline
                                    Unegged Hatch
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2008
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Sassy
                                      Posts: 89
                                      So, as a very new newbie to GSC Hacking, I'm trying to find a good tool to expand my Crystal rom to allow for Gym Leaders to have more Pokemon than initially allowed. Pardon me if I'm being vague but I'm very rusty on my terminology as well.
                                      __________________
                                        #23847    
                                      Old March 2nd, 2013 (1:42 PM).
                                      kj3400's Avatar
                                      kj3400 kj3400 is offline
                                      Wants a Magneton for a Charger
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lax
                                        Posts: 53
                                        Hmmm. Much insight on the topic. Thanks!
                                          #23848    
                                        Old March 2nd, 2013 (4:41 PM). Edited March 2nd, 2013 by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D.
                                        The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
                                        The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2010
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 361
                                          Advanced text all the sudden stopped working

                                          ill either get blank texts in the introduction of the game
                                          or straight up giberish and if i try to save i get

                                          The Text you entered is longer than the old on.
                                          When you Continue, the Text needs to be Re-pointed to another location.

                                          Due the fact fo that, the INI file will be changed and you cant edit the text of a clean ROM with that INI file again, until you restore it back to the original one.

                                          Do you want to Re-Point?



                                          Whether i repoint or not, itll say saved, but wont change a thing, whether its blank or giberish it plays the regular text. And if redownloaded Advance Text, changed ini files(redownloaded), redownloaded FireRed, even used a Previous version of my game that worked before hand. and nothing .-.

                                          And now some maps wont switch another map, and it goes to black screen and freezes, which it did not do this before, its happening to 2 out 4 maps that have been opened and inserted to replace a previous map. and one copied from the game and edited. .-.
                                          __________________
                                          Hey guys. lol i didnt think my username through. Wish i could change it.
                                          Hey guys, I think you would enjoy a Pokemon RPG: Pokemon Eclipse!


                                            #23849    
                                          Old March 2nd, 2013 (8:21 PM).
                                          karatekid552's Avatar
                                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                          What happens if I push it?....
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Bold
                                            Posts: 1,766
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D View Post
                                            Advanced text all the sudden stopped working

                                            ill either get blank texts in the introduction of the game
                                            or straight up giberish and if i try to save i get

                                            The Text you entered is longer than the old on.
                                            When you Continue, the Text needs to be Re-pointed to another location.

                                            Due the fact fo that, the INI file will be changed and you cant edit the text of a clean ROM with that INI file again, until you restore it back to the original one.

                                            Do you want to Re-Point?



                                            Whether i repoint or not, itll say saved, but wont change a thing, whether its blank or giberish it plays the regular text. And if redownloaded Advance Text, changed ini files(redownloaded), redownloaded FireRed, even used a Previous version of my game that worked before hand. and nothing .-.

                                            And now some maps wont switch another map, and it goes to black screen and freezes, which it did not do this before, its happening to 2 out 4 maps that have been opened and inserted to replace a previous map. and one copied from the game and edited. .-.
                                            I have this feeling you corrupted your rom and should try and move all of your data to a new rom. In the meantime, we need to troubleshoot A-text.

                                            -if you can, put the A-text program on a flash drive and try to run it on another computer. It may be your computer preventing A-text from running properly.
                                            -if it is indeed your computer, try creating a new account and working on that one. If that doesn't work, give CCleaner a try and clean everything.
                                            -if A-text still proves to be the problem, find a different download link. There has to be a cause somewhere.
                                            __________________

                                            Paired with Simba
                                              #23850    
                                            Old March 2nd, 2013 (9:00 PM).
                                            Noossab Blue's Avatar
                                            Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Dec 2012
                                              Location: USA
                                              Gender: Female
                                              Nature: Quirky
                                              Posts: 240
                                              So...I haven't touched the Sevii Island event scripts, but all of a sudden the event order is messed up. When you go to One Island for the first time and go into the PC and step on the script, the script runs and sends me home like I've already completed the quest...

                                              I can't think of anything I've done, and it used to work...
                                              __________________
                                              IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
                                              3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

                                              Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
                                              Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

                                              Closed Thread

                                              Quick Reply

                                              Join the conversation!

                                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                              Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:23 AM.