The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
Help Thread Patching & Emulation

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1076    
Old June 14th, 2015 (7:18 AM).
Kaasbaas's Avatar
Kaasbaas Kaasbaas is offline
     
    Join Date: Mar 2015
    Location: Netherlands
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 12
    I have a question!
    Im playing pokemon omega fire red. It works fine on the VBA. But when I play the game on the real GBA with an super SD card some pokemon battles (e.g. Brocks gym battle) turn black and then the game freezes. I dont know why that happens on the GBA and not on the VBA. And i dont know how to solve it.
    Can anyone help?
    __________________
    Currently:
    - Playing Light Platinum
    - Playing Ash Gray;
    - Making my first hack of Fire Red. (Only Advance map stuff)
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #1077    
    Old June 20th, 2015 (7:30 PM).
    DragonSpawn1000 DragonSpawn1000 is offline
       
      Join Date: Jun 2015
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 3
      How do I play GBA games on DeSmuMe instead of no$gba ?
      Reply With Quote
        #1078    
      Old June 24th, 2015 (6:31 AM).
      SAULG56 SAULG56 is offline
         
        Join Date: Jun 2015
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 2
        Hi guys im trying to find a current method to transfer rom .sav files to an actual GBA Cart. I've seen older threads but i'm trying see if there is a current easier way and what supplies i would need. I have a DS Lite and all GBA carts and .savs to go with them.
        Reply With Quote
          #1079    
        Old June 24th, 2015 (2:11 PM). Edited June 25th, 2015 by Spherical Ice.
        kodes8 kodes8 is offline
           
          Join Date: Jun 2015
          Posts: 1
          I got some Roms but now how do i get an emulator or how do i play the roms i am on a windows pc
          :(
          Reply With Quote
            #1080    
          Old June 25th, 2015 (4:24 PM).
          owllie's Avatar
          owllie owllie is offline
             
            Join Date: Jun 2015
            Location: NJ, USA
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Sassy
            Posts: 2
            If someone could help me with this I would really appreciate it.

            I downloaded a Fire Red ROM and patched it with Pokemon Adventure - Red Chapter to make the game. I played the game for an hour, beat the first gym, and saved. I saved in-game and on VBA. I went back now to continue playing it, and my save isn't there. The game also won't open. I can open Fire Red separately, but if I try to open the patched version, VBA shows me the GBA Nintendo opening screen thing when you turn on your GBA and freezes.

            How can I fix this? And did I save wrong or patch the game wrong?

            Thanks!
            Reply With Quote
              #1081    
            Old June 29th, 2015 (10:09 AM).
            outchea oliver's Avatar
            outchea oliver outchea oliver is offline
               
              Join Date: Nov 2014
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 21
              I need help playing this rom hack. When i try to open it using Visualboyadvance emulator. It says error. I'm on a mac too. Please someone help.
              Reply With Quote
                #1082    
              Old June 29th, 2015 (6:09 PM).
              InfamousX InfamousX is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2015
                Posts: 34
                My tiles look good on advance map but in the game it looks all glitchy (waterfall and sea animations) I made sure that the behaviour bytes at 00 00 for them too. What's the deal?
                Reply With Quote
                  #1083    
                Old June 30th, 2015 (1:25 PM).
                Konekodemon's Avatar
                Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2007
                Location: NC
                Age: 33
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Gentle
                Posts: 1,999
                How do I get GBColorizer to work? I keep getting the message that MSCOMCTL.OCX is missing even though it isn't. I put it in the right folder.
                __________________

                Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                Reply With Quote
                  #1084    
                Old July 4th, 2015 (3:14 AM).
                inglavatin inglavatin is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2015
                  Posts: 1
                  Hiya,
                  So my question is that recently I was playing the Fire Red 'hack', Pokemon Dark Rising 2, and in it, to make the game more enjoyable for myself, I want to use hacks to get the team that I desire before I start (I don't really fancy waiting to catch all the Pokemon I want)
                  Anyways, since DR2 is a FR hack, all the gameshark codes that work on FR, by extension work on DR2 as well. So I stumbled upon the wild Pokemon modifier gameshark code
                  83007CEE 0XXX. Where X is any given Pokemon's secret ID.

                  Usually, for a regular FR copy of the game, the IDs of the given pokemon are given on this site;
                  blah blah (Apparently I can't post the link with the 3 digit code b/c I don't have 5 posts lol, but you should be able to find it easily online)
                  I.e. some examples being that 002 is Ivysaur, 05A is Shelder, etc.

                  The problem comes in since DR2 is modified to have pokemon from all 6 gen, and since FR only has pokemon from Gens 1-3 anyways, the IDs given on that site don't match with the DR2. For example, the site staes that 0FA is the code for Ho-Oh, but in DR2, it is instead the code for Arceus, and as another example 196 codes for Rayquaza in the original FR2 rom, but in DR2 it gives you like Yveltal (I'm not 100% sure if it's Yveltal, but you get the point).

                  So my question boils down to, how do I find these 3 digit codes for the Pokemons that I want. I know there has to be a way, but I don't know it, and I was hoping someone else here would know how to do it. If anyone could help me I would be really thankful! Thanks in advance.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #1085    
                  Old July 4th, 2015 (9:26 AM).
                  Leggystone Leggystone is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2015
                    Posts: 1
                    Hi! I'm new to this, I only created an account because I'm in love the Dark Diamond game and was wondering if any of you would be able to help me out? I downloaded ND4IOS (on my Iphone5) and Pokemon dark diamond was the first rom I played. I was a little ways into the game when it started crashing. Right after obtaining my first gym leader badge I went to Jubilee town. The 2 Grunts captured Rowan and his assistant and I challenged them to a tag team battle. Whenever I clicked "fight" the game would crash. I don't want to give up on the game, but I fear I might have to if it keeps crashing. I've tried resetting my
                    Phone and everything, I hope one of you have the answer to help me 😊😊☺️
                    Reply With Quote
                      #1086    
                    Old July 18th, 2015 (12:46 AM).
                    LuxrayHacker's Avatar
                    LuxrayHacker LuxrayHacker is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2013
                      Location: Olympia
                      Age: 21
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Mild
                      Posts: 184
                      What the heck is going on with my ROM? When I try and open the palette editor in A-Map it gives me this "Palette editor is deactivated because of all color are changed by DAN preview. Change DAN-Preview to Time Period without color change" and if I open it in Overworld Editor it says "Error 63 (bad record number) in procedure LoadSpriteStructure of frmOverworld editor. Please help me I don't want to restart my game :(
                      __________________
                      Reply With Quote
                        #1087    
                      Old July 22nd, 2015 (7:37 PM).
                      eXeL eXeL is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2015
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 1
                        Can anyone help me in fixing the broken video in pokemon order destroyed? i patched the hack on a clean firr red rom using unipatcher but when i load the game in myboy i end up just reading the text and images is too pixelated that i cant even see the image. please help anyone?
                        Reply With Quote
                          #1088    
                        Old July 24th, 2015 (8:03 AM).
                        DJTiki's Avatar
                        DJTiki DJTiki is offline
                        Moon River
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2014
                        Location: Florida, USA
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 1,243
                        Is this is an emulation question? In the future, you might want to ask at that thread, which can be provided here:
                        http://www.pokecommunity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=284.

                        To answer your question, I have emulators on my Android device too. However, DON'T use Unipatcher. It's not reliable and I had a couple freezes from it. Plus, you need to pay that $$$ for support on other ROM and Patch types. Use ROM Patcher. It's free, efficent, and is widely supprotive of many ROMs and patches.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #1089    
                        Old August 2nd, 2015 (10:06 AM).
                        pallando's Avatar
                        pallando pallando is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2013
                          Location: Germany
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 19
                          Hey there,


                          I've posted the same thread on skeetendo but I think it might also make sense here.. So I am currently working on a rather simple hack for pokemon Crystal and I was wondering if it was possible to transfer this hack to a cartridge somehow. I found a thread on the net somewhere but that was about GBA games, so I am not sure. Furthermore, if that is indeed possible, are there any downsides? Would that transferred hack work for Pokemon Stadium? I'm changing nothing about the pokemon except for minor changes in moves they learn, all other changes are about the trainers and the maps.



                          If you could answer any of these questions, that'd be very helpful.



                          Thanks in advance,


                          pallando
                          __________________
                          Reply With Quote
                            #1090    
                          Old August 2nd, 2015 (1:30 PM).
                          AkameTheBulbasaur's Avatar
                          AkameTheBulbasaur AkameTheBulbasaur is offline
                          Akame Marukawa of Iyotono
                             
                            Join Date: May 2013
                            Location: A place :D
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 347
                            I'm having an odd problem with my EZ Flash IV playing my hack. I can get it to run when I copy it to NOR memory, and everything appears to run correctly, until I run into a Pokemon battle.

                            When I go into a battle, I don't get very far until something goes wrong. Usually, I can attack, but when my opponent does a damaging attack, the game freezes. The music keeps going, but I can't press any buttons and nothing happens so I essentially crash.

                            Does anyone have any idea how to fix this? I've put so much time and effort into this and I'd hate to have it all go to waste.
                            __________________
                            "The human sacrificed himself, to save the Pokemon. I pitted them against each other, but not until they set aside their differences did I see the true power they all share deep inside. I see now that the circumstances of one's birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are." -Mewtwo
                            Reply With Quote
                              #1091    
                            Old August 2nd, 2015 (2:59 PM).
                            Zehn's Avatar
                            Zehn Zehn is offline
                            Sacred Fire
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2014
                            Location: England
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 988
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by AkameTheBulbasaur View Post
                            I'm having an odd problem with my EZ Flash IV playing my hack. I can get it to run when I copy it to NOR memory, and everything appears to run correctly, until I run into a Pokemon battle.

                            When I go into a battle, I don't get very far until something goes wrong. Usually, I can attack, but when my opponent does a damaging attack, the game freezes. The music keeps going, but I can't press any buttons and nothing happens so I essentially crash.

                            Does anyone have any idea how to fix this? I've put so much time and effort into this and I'd hate to have it all go to waste.
                            Assuming you haven't increased the size of the ROM as in the case of some hacks (like Glazed) there shouldn't be any problems with the ez flash running it with any sort of errors or lag. As it is the problem may be in the hack, such as a overridden value by yourself or the ez flash 4 client or a problem or corruption with the nor, indicating why it was a soft lock and not a crash. With the limited amount of information you have given me this is all I can give, but if possible you could quote me here telling me with version of the ez flash you have, which kernel update, what kind of mini SD/capacity and the version of the client, I would be more that glad to try and give you a more comprehensive answer
                            __________________
                            I'm not spying I was here first
                            Reply With Quote
                              #1092    
                            Old August 2nd, 2015 (3:29 PM). Edited August 2nd, 2015 by AkameTheBulbasaur.
                            AkameTheBulbasaur's Avatar
                            AkameTheBulbasaur AkameTheBulbasaur is offline
                            Akame Marukawa of Iyotono
                               
                              Join Date: May 2013
                              Location: A place :D
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Gentle
                              Posts: 347
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Delta View Post
                              Assuming you haven't increased the size of the ROM as in the case of some hacks (like Glazed) there shouldn't be any problems with the ez flash running it with any sort of errors or lag. As it is the problem may be in the hack, such as a overridden value by yourself or the ez flash 4 client or a problem or corruption with the nor, indicating why it was a soft lock and not a crash. With the limited amount of information you have given me this is all I can give, but if possible you could quote me here telling me with version of the ez flash you have, which kernel update, what kind of mini SD/capacity and the version of the client, I would be more that glad to try and give you a more comprehensive answer

                              I have the version of EZ Flash IV that uses a micro SD instead of a mini SD. In this case I have a 2 gigabyte micro SD. I'm not entirely sure which version of the client/kernel I have yet. will update this when I get home and look up everything for sure. I was also going to test on the computer and with a plain Fire Red ROM to see if it's a problem with the ROM or the hardware.

                              EDIT: The client is in a folder called EZ4_20061010 and the Kernel is version 1.76. I'm going to try again with the 2014 EZ4 Client, as its the newest. I tried testing the ROM on the card (sent through the client) on the PC and the emulator says "Undefined opcode - with no debug vector defined" I tried the regular ROM on the computer and it crashes when the opponent attacks.

                              There must be something wrong with the ROM itself. I tried a slightly earlier version and it had the same problem.

                              This links to the most recent patch, which hopefully will work.

                              I will attempt to find a version which doesn't have the problem and compare them, but I really don't want to have to go back on all the progress I made. Hopefully this is somewhat helpful.
                              __________________
                              "The human sacrificed himself, to save the Pokemon. I pitted them against each other, but not until they set aside their differences did I see the true power they all share deep inside. I see now that the circumstances of one's birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are." -Mewtwo
                              Reply With Quote
                                #1093    
                              Old August 3rd, 2015 (12:39 AM). Edited August 3rd, 2015 by Zehn.
                              Zehn's Avatar
                              Zehn Zehn is offline
                              Sacred Fire
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2014
                              Location: England
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 988
                              This definitely sound to me like a problem with the patching. It sounds to me that during patching, a variable is overrriden causing this. Have you had trouble with other games? One more thing, what are you using the ez flash on? Because different versions of the kernel are for the different handhelds. In the meantime I will run some tests with my ez flash and try to help with the problem
                              __________________
                              I'm not spying I was here first
                              Reply With Quote
                                #1094    
                              Old August 3rd, 2015 (9:17 AM).
                              AkameTheBulbasaur's Avatar
                              AkameTheBulbasaur AkameTheBulbasaur is offline
                              Akame Marukawa of Iyotono
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2013
                                Location: A place :D
                                Age: 21
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Gentle
                                Posts: 347
                                I fixed the battle problem. I just replaced some bytes with the ones from a clean fire red and it was gone. However I still have a problem that is only occurring on the flash cart to my knowledge. On one particular map, I can walk up to a specific point where the map just crashes the game, where it makes the weird static sound effects.

                                I was going to try replacing the map and see if that changed anything.

                                I'm using it on both a gba and the gba slot of the ds. It had the same problem there. I'm not sure why it crashes there. There aren't any script tiles or anything.
                                __________________
                                "The human sacrificed himself, to save the Pokemon. I pitted them against each other, but not until they set aside their differences did I see the true power they all share deep inside. I see now that the circumstances of one's birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are." -Mewtwo
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #1095    
                                Old August 6th, 2015 (11:37 AM).
                                TrueMedakaFAN's Avatar
                                TrueMedakaFAN TrueMedakaFAN is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2015
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 4
                                  my pokemon Sacred gold was working for while then this happened can someone help.Pokemon Sacred Gold__31035.pngPokemon Sacred Gold__31100.pngPokemon Sacred Gold__31188.png
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #1096    
                                  Old August 10th, 2015 (1:19 AM). Edited August 10th, 2015 by Orin Zone.
                                  Orin Zone's Avatar
                                  Orin Zone Orin Zone is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2015
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 2
                                    I play Pokemon AdventuresRed chapter(Fire red Hack) but the screen there is red like the image attached please if you get any solution of this problem please reply me......
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #1097    
                                    Old August 10th, 2015 (12:24 PM).
                                    roberttrevean97 roberttrevean97 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2015
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 2
                                      Is there anyway to keep pokemon in specific routes? Like say I'm randomizing Fire Red, is there a way on the first route I can get every pokemon on the first route from the first 2 generations? Like the route where you get pidgey in fire red is there a setting i can get a hoothoot / sentret (2nd gen) and poocheyena & zigzagoon (3rd gen)
                                      If theres any hack too, let me know please!

                                      i got the pokemon universal randomizer
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #1098    
                                      Old August 11th, 2015 (12:56 PM).
                                      Zehn's Avatar
                                      Zehn Zehn is offline
                                      Sacred Fire
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2014
                                      Location: England
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 988
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by TrueMedakaFAN View Post
                                      my pokemon Sacred gold was working for while then this happened can someone help.Attachment 76213Attachment 76214Attachment 76215
                                      Which emulator did you use? try patching again to a clean ROM and reload your save file with that or ask the creator if this is a know bug
                                      __________________
                                      I'm not spying I was here first
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #1099    
                                      Old August 11th, 2015 (5:14 PM).
                                      Trainer Death's Avatar
                                      Trainer Death Trainer Death is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2015
                                        Location: Florida, United States
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 3
                                        Hey everybody! I want to start creating a rom hack. But the thing is, I have absolutely no experience at all with creating rom hacks or even games from scratch for that matter. Where should I start? Some advice would be greatly appreciated! :)
                                        __________________
                                        "The important thing is not how long you live. It's what you accomplish with your life. While I live, I want to shine. I want to prove that i exist. If I could do something really important that could definitely carry on into the future."
                                        -Grovyle
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #1100    
                                        Old August 15th, 2015 (3:37 PM).
                                        Grifstar's Avatar
                                        Grifstar Grifstar is offline
                                        Certified Shark Bait
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2005
                                          Age: 29
                                          Gender: Female
                                          Nature: Quirky
                                          Posts: 69
                                          I hope this is the right place to ask. Kind of want to get back into the swing of playing Rom hacks-- specifically ones right now for gen VI, but I was wondering if it's possible to trade with myself afterwards to put the team I used on my legit copy (Either for safe keeping or to use for something else later on). Or is the only way to transfer from a Rom still require an flashcard or cheating it with a Pokegen/AR code?

                                          Basically, are there any 3DS emulators out there that can trade pokemon to a retail cart, or am I sore out of luck? D: Or is it even possible with some of the older generations instead?
                                          Reply With Quote
                                          Reply

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:40 PM.