The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Help
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24101    
Old March 17th, 2013 (2:45 PM). Edited March 17th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 1,766
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Reygok View Post
    Google is my friend :D Like you said, in FR/LG, Pokémon after 151 don't evolve. The solution is quite obvious, now that I think of it...
    It's called National Dex! I simply put "special 0x16F" (which activates the national dex) in the script where Oak gives you the pokédex, so you receive the normal one and the national one at the same time, and boom, my Pokémon evolves :D

    Thanks for your help again, kid, I won't forget you :)
    You're welcome, haha, but there is a better way. That way works, but then you don't get a regional dex. It is possible to disable that evolution problem without giving the national dex, but do it whatever way you want, just as long as it works for you:D.

    Edit: I knew I saw it, who would have thought it would be in the thread labeled "FireRed Pokedex Hacking"?:p

    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=249530&highlight=Evolution

    It is the second spoiler on the first post by Jambo51.
    __________________

    Paired with Simba
      #24102    
    Old March 17th, 2013 (3:40 PM).
    bwrobin's Avatar
    bwrobin bwrobin is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2012
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 544
      Hey dudes, I've got a problem. I tried doing this,
      http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=290135
      but when I disable the limiter, it still says "BULBASAUR used a NORMAL move! Also, when I exit PGE, the attacks I made new effect e.g. KILLER, same as POUND, I save then exit. Open again with PGE and reverts to POUND imitation not KILLER.
        #24103    
      Old March 17th, 2013 (5:58 PM). Edited March 17th, 2013 by iDowngrade.
      iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2013
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 34
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        Not in Red:p. They only evolve normally after you beat the elite four. Try and find that post, I believe it is in R&D.



        Next time, just click File->Screen Capture:p, that image is quite big. Haha. i have seen this before, I believe it to be a bad pointer of some sort right now.

        And after looking at your script, definitely a bad pointer... Or missing pointer I might add. Msgbox2 has to have a message attached to it. Ex msgbox2 $msg.

        Give that a try.
        Ok, it worked and everything, but there are some errors, mainly in text, it seems like if i replaced something instead of creating something.

        Screenies(Sorry but you will get some big damn screenies D:)
        Spoiler:

        1.

        2.

        3.

        4.


        Notes:
        -It seems like if i replaced something instead of creating something.
        -As you can see it says TM13 4,000 coins, but it actually has to say "VAPOREON"
        -Like, TM13 = VAPOREON / TM23 = JOLTEON / TM24 = FLAREON, and so on...

        Ughh!, told you i cant do this...

        EDIT: Note
        -Ooops, noticed that not every TM is correct, they're all VAPOREON's, lol.
          #24104    
        Old March 17th, 2013 (6:21 PM).
        karatekid552's Avatar
        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
        What happens if I push it?....
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 1,766
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by iDowngrade View Post
          Ok, it worked and everything, but there are some errors, mainly in text, it seems like if i replaced something instead of creating something.

          Screenies(Sorry but you will get some big damn screenies D:)
          Spoiler:

          1.

          2.

          3.

          4.


          Notes:
          -It seems like if i replaced something instead of creating something.
          -As you can see it says TM13 4,000 coins, but it actually has to say "VAPOREON"
          -Like, TM13 = VAPOREON / TM23 = JOLTEON / TM24 = FLAREON, and so on...

          Ughh!, told you i cant do this...

          EDIT: Note
          -Ooops, noticed that not every TM is correct, they're all VAPOREON's, lol.
          Can you spoiler your huge screen shot in your last post, it makes my page go all funky:p

          Now, this will help you greatly: http://174.133.255.180/showthread.php?t=200882

          Once you create the multichoice, then we will fix the problem of them all giving the same thing.
          __________________

          Paired with Simba
            #24105    
          Old March 17th, 2013 (10:58 PM).
          ShyRayq's Avatar
          ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
          Unprofessional Unprofessional
             
            Join Date: Aug 2007
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 1,601
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
            Hey dudes, I've got a problem. I tried doing this,
            http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=290135
            but when I disable the limiter, it still says "BULBASAUR used a NORMAL move! Also, when I exit PGE, the attacks I made new effect e.g. KILLER, same as POUND, I save then exit. Open again with PGE and reverts to POUND imitation not KILLER.
            Okay
            1. Its supposed to be 6 00's, not 8. So change the last 00 00 to the original two bytes.
            2. If the new has a new effect, why would it have a new animation?
            __________________
            3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
            IGN: Peter; (X, Y, OR, AS, S, M)
            Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
            Living Pokedex Complete: Y, C, LG, E, Pl, HG, B, B2, X, Y, OR, AS, M, UM
            Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

            PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
              #24106    
            Old March 17th, 2013 (11:33 PM).
            kearnseyboy6's Avatar
            kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
            Aussie's Toughest Mudder
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Posts: 300
              Hi everyone, I was reading a few pages back and using flags over 0x900 causes bad eggs and other glitches? What flags haven't been used in the game that I can use? I have been using 0x1200 and above at the moment!
              __________________
              HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
                #24107    
              Old March 18th, 2013 (2:31 AM).
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
                Hi everyone, I was reading a few pages back and using flags over 0x900 causes bad eggs and other glitches? What flags haven't been used in the game that I can use? I have been using 0x1200 and above at the moment!
                http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=6829256#post6829256

                http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=6902344&postcount=183

                These will help you a lot. Read through them and then come back with any questions.
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #24108    
                Old March 18th, 2013 (2:44 AM).
                iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2013
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 34
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                  Can you spoiler your huge screen shot in your last post, it makes my page go all funky:p

                  Now, this will help you greatly: http://174.133.255.180/showthread.php?t=200882

                  Once you create the multichoice, then we will fix the problem of them all giving the same thing.
                  Welp, i'll try that, thank you.
                  I'll try it when i have time...
                    #24109    
                  Old March 18th, 2013 (3:50 AM).
                  exedissolve's Avatar
                  exedissolve exedissolve is offline
                  Straight-edge
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2007
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 40
                    Do I have to index Icons for Gen IV and V pokemon that I put into my FireRed hack?
                    __________________

                    Dissolve's PokePet

                    Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
                      #24110    
                    Old March 18th, 2013 (4:54 AM).
                    Aryan143's Avatar
                    Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
                    The Fennekin Fan!
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2012
                      Location: Delhi, India
                      Age: 18
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 756
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
                      Do I have to index Icons for Gen IV and V pokemon that I put into my FireRed hack?
                      If you are using Unlz-GBA, then yes. Wichu Sprite Editor automatially indexes the sprite.
                      __________________
                      Check out my gaming company:

                        #24111    
                      Old March 18th, 2013 (5:27 AM).
                      exedissolve's Avatar
                      exedissolve exedissolve is offline
                      Straight-edge
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2007
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Lax
                        Posts: 40
                        Is thereca place I can download indexed gen 4 & 5 sprites for firered?
                        __________________

                        Dissolve's PokePet

                        Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
                          #24112    
                        Old March 18th, 2013 (5:38 AM).
                        Aryan143's Avatar
                        Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
                        The Fennekin Fan!
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                          Location: Delhi, India
                          Age: 18
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 756
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
                          Is thereca place I can download indexed gen 4 & 5 sprites for firered?
                          You can index them yourself by using Irfanview and 4th and 5th gen sprites for FR can be found here:

                          http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267728
                          __________________
                          Check out my gaming company:

                            #24113    
                          Old March 18th, 2013 (6:22 AM).
                          Noossab Blue's Avatar
                          Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2012
                            Location: USA
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 240
                            Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
                            __________________
                            IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
                            3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

                            Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
                            Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

                              #24114    
                            Old March 18th, 2013 (6:41 AM).
                            Reygok's Avatar
                            Reygok Reygok is offline
                            Beginning Hacker
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 60
                              Hi again, I'd like to know how many full size maps fit in FireRed? I plan on creating 3 seperate Islands, with 5-6 Cities each and over 50 Routes. Is this possible? If not, is there a possibility to increase the size of the Rom?

                              Thanks for all answers :)
                                #24115    
                              Old March 18th, 2013 (6:52 AM).
                              Aryan143's Avatar
                              Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
                              The Fennekin Fan!
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2012
                                Location: Delhi, India
                                Age: 18
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Modest
                                Posts: 756
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
                                Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
                                You can use IntroEd I found on Whack a hack:

                                http://wahackpokemon.com/descarga/herras/IntroEd.zip
                                __________________
                                Check out my gaming company:

                                  #24116    
                                Old March 18th, 2013 (6:59 AM). Edited March 18th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
                                  Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
                                  Tool by MewThree Inc(?) called IntroEd.

                                  Edit: Whoops, already answered:)

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Reygok View Post
                                  Hi again, I'd like to know how many full size maps fit in FireRed? I plan on creating 3 seperate Islands, with 5-6 Cities each and over 50 Routes. Is this possible? If not, is there a possibility to increase the size of the Rom?

                                  Thanks for all answers :)
                                  Easily, the max, not counting Data size limits, is about 65,000. Granted, some maps will take up a lot of bytes, but you should be fine.
                                  __________________

                                  Paired with Simba
                                    #24117    
                                  Old March 18th, 2013 (8:21 AM).
                                  TweenyTodd TweenyTodd is offline
                                  Quitting cuz i got a job
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2013
                                    Location: NOYB
                                    Nature: Sassy
                                    Posts: 95
                                    Would it be possible to add a 4th world map to FR?
                                    It doesn't seem possible, or else someone would already have done it.
                                      #24118    
                                    Old March 18th, 2013 (8:47 AM).
                                    karatekid552's Avatar
                                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                    What happens if I push it?....
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 1,766
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
                                      Would it be possible to add a 4th world map to FR?
                                      It doesn't seem possible, or else someone would already have done it.
                                      Anything is possible, but that would be extremely difficult, I mean really, really difficult.
                                      __________________

                                      Paired with Simba
                                        #24119    
                                      Old March 18th, 2013 (3:27 PM).
                                      kj3400's Avatar
                                      kj3400 kj3400 is offline
                                      Wants a Magneton for a Charger
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lax
                                        Posts: 53
                                        I've been looking everywhere, but I don't see any specific guidance so I wanted to settle it once and for all. What exactly is the lowest flag number you can use assuming I'm using the Hacked engine by JPAN?
                                          #24120    
                                        Old March 18th, 2013 (3:55 PM).
                                        karatekid552's Avatar
                                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                        What happens if I push it?....
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Bold
                                          Posts: 1,766
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
                                          I've been looking everywhere, but I don't see any specific guidance so I wanted to settle it once and for all. What exactly is the lowest flag number you can use assuming I'm using the Hacked engine by JPAN?
                                          With the hacked engine: 28. On DavidJCobbs list, anything that says "Used for cut tree in ___" or "Used for rock smash bolder in ____" (or the like) is temporary, and can't be used, even if you have nothing there.

                                          Flags that pertain to story events are good though, those you can use.
                                          __________________

                                          Paired with Simba
                                            #24121    
                                          Old March 19th, 2013 (4:49 PM).
                                          shinyabsol1's Avatar
                                          shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
                                          Pokemon DarkJasper!?
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2010
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Calm
                                            Posts: 330
                                            I've run into a problem with Walking Scripts on JPAN's hacked engine. As long as a Walking Script is functioning, repel will never wear off. Presumably, this is because (according to JPAN's guide) the Walking Script code blocks low-leveled walking events from occurring. This problem also prevents wild encounters, but JPAN got around it by making a couple of specials that call the random water/grass battle generators from the Walking Script to make it work.

                                            So my question is, is there any way I can call the repel check (or whatever it is) from my walking script? It seems possible in some way or another, but does anybody have any idea about how to do it?
                                              #24122    
                                            Old March 19th, 2013 (4:59 PM).
                                            karatekid552's Avatar
                                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                            What happens if I push it?....
                                               
                                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Bold
                                              Posts: 1,766
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
                                              I've run into a problem with Walking Scripts on JPAN's hacked engine. As long as a Walking Script is functioning, repel will never wear off. Presumably, this is because (according to JPAN's guide) the Walking Script code blocks low-leveled walking events from occurring. This problem also prevents wild encounters, but JPAN got around it by making a couple of specials that call the random water/grass battle generators from the Walking Script to make it work.

                                              So my question is, is there any way I can call the repel check (or whatever it is) from my walking script? It seems possible in some way or another, but does anybody have any idea about how to do it?
                                              My thoughts are you could run the ASM routine which checks for repel steps left using the callasm command in the script. Though, you would need to have a little bit of ASM knowledge to find that routine and call it and make sure it returns to your script when it is done.

                                              Me and FBI branched this routine a while back to make Pokémon gain HP every step, though, for the life of me, I can't remember where it was, sorry.
                                              __________________

                                              Paired with Simba
                                                #24123    
                                              Old March 19th, 2013 (5:07 PM).
                                              bwrobin's Avatar
                                              bwrobin bwrobin is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                                Age: 20
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Quirky
                                                Posts: 544
                                                Does anybody know how to skip the credits in FR using ASM or Byte Editing? I want to skip it without a press of a button or anything, just skip it.
                                                  #24124    
                                                Old March 19th, 2013 (5:13 PM). Edited March 19th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                                What happens if I push it?....
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Nature: Bold
                                                  Posts: 1,766
                                                  Quote:
                                                  Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                                                  Does anybody know how to skip the credits in FR using ASM or Byte Editing? I want to skip it without a press of a button or anything, just skip it.
                                                  I believe it is built into special 0x110 which also does the hall of fame. Let me check.

                                                  Edit: Yes, it does do both, and special 0x1A5 just plays the credits. There is no "just hall of fame" special. So, you would have to do some ASM/byte editing to skip them.
                                                  __________________

                                                  Paired with Simba
                                                    #24125    
                                                  Old March 19th, 2013 (5:22 PM).
                                                  shinyabsol1's Avatar
                                                  shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
                                                  Pokemon DarkJasper!?
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Aug 2010
                                                    Gender: Male
                                                    Nature: Calm
                                                    Posts: 330
                                                    Quote:
                                                    Originally Posted by karatekid552
                                                    My thoughts are you could run the ASM routine which checks for repel steps left using the callasm command in the script. Though, you would need to have a little bit of ASM knowledge to find that routine and call it and make sure it returns to your script when it is done.

                                                    Me and FBI branched this routine a while back to make Pokémon gain HP every step, though, for the life of me, I can't remember where it was, sorry.
                                                    I hoped this might be possible, but unfortunately I don't have any knowledge of ASM. However, I did find this page by JPAN that has some information on repel...but I'm not really sure of what to make of the information. Might this be the routine I would be looking for?
                                                    Closed Thread

                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Join the conversation!

                                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:21 AM.