The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games Game Development Pokémon Essentials
[Archive] Pokemon Essentials: Starter Kit for RPG Maker XP

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #301    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (3:36 PM). Edited October 2nd, 2007 by Ryruyin.
Ryruyin's Avatar
Ryruyin Ryruyin is offline
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Gender:
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 18
    Thanks for that last post Poccil, I was wondering how to do that. By the way, 300th post =]

    Edit: Hey Poccil, is there a way I can make the grass animation happen on grass with terrain tag 2 without being in an encounter zone? Also, would it be safe for me to mess around with the Pokedex script so that there are no message windows, but the text is displayed over a picture?
    __________________
    Poccil is thy God
    RMXP Starter Kit

    Relevant Advertising!

      #302    
    Old October 2nd, 2007 (8:20 PM).
    poccil poccil is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2007
      Gender:
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 386
      For your first question, that's already possible. Just try it and see.

      For your second question, I don't know exactly what you mean and what you're trying to accomplish, so I can't really help you on that.
      __________________
      Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
        #303    
      Old October 2nd, 2007 (9:16 PM).
      Ryruyin's Avatar
      Ryruyin Ryruyin is offline
         
        Join Date: Jun 2007
        Gender:
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 18
        Yeah, I saw that thanks. What I mean is, you know how in the Pokedex now, you've got the text in message boxes. What I want is to get rid of those boxes and put my own picture behind the text, could you please write me a script for that?
        __________________
        Poccil is thy God
        RMXP Starter Kit
          #304    
        Old October 2nd, 2007 (9:50 PM).
        poccil poccil is offline
           
          Join Date: Jan 2007
          Gender:
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 386
          If I understand what you mean, that can be done with just a few lines of code. Go to the script section PokemonPokedex and add the following after line 262:

          Code:
           @sprites["background"]=Plane.new(@viewport)
           @sprites["background"].bitmap=BitmapCache.load_bitmap("Graphics/Pictures/pokeselbg.png")
           @sprites["pokedex"].windowskin=nil
           @sprites["icon"].windowskin=nil
           @sprites["infowindow"].windowskin=nil
          That removes the window frames and replaces it with a 480x320 background of your choice. In this example, the file "Graphics/Pictures/pokeselbg.png" is given, but it can be practically anything. I hope this helps.
          __________________
          Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
            #305    
          Old October 2nd, 2007 (10:03 PM).
          Ryruyin's Avatar
          Ryruyin Ryruyin is offline
             
            Join Date: Jun 2007
            Gender:
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 18
            Thanks Poccil! You're amazing!
            __________________
            Poccil is thy God
            RMXP Starter Kit
              #306    
            Old October 3rd, 2007 (1:15 AM).
            New2Ya's Avatar
            New2Ya New2Ya is offline
               
              Join Date: Oct 2005
              Gender:
              Posts: 92
              Thanks poccil! Hey I found something funny, the thing is...

              In the game, you cant use:
              - Screen tone
              - Fade Out/In

              But you can use:
              - Flash screen

              I understand why Screen Tone doesnt work, as it is in conflict with the Time System, but it's too bad the Fade Out/In doesnt work, cuz I have moments where I want the screen to darken for a few moments (so I can change sprites, remove sprities, etc) and then go back to normal color.

              I'm gonna use pictures for that now, but I thought you'd like to know about this.
              __________________


              CodeProject 001
                #307    
              Old October 3rd, 2007 (6:30 AM).
              poccil poccil is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2007
                Gender:
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 386
                Actually, there is no such event command called Fade Out/In.
                __________________
                Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                  #308    
                Old October 3rd, 2007 (6:40 AM).
                New2Ya's Avatar
                New2Ya New2Ya is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2005
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 92
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by poccil View Post
                  Actually, there is no such event command called Fade Out/In.
                  Oh, I thought you understood what I mean.t Sorry. In RMXP, its called Transitions.
                  __________________


                  CodeProject 001
                    #309    
                  Old October 3rd, 2007 (6:42 AM). Edited October 3rd, 2007 by Pokê Fan.
                  Pokê Fan Pokê Fan is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2007
                    Posts: 6
                    Why Can i in a new map and a new grass Field in the new map when i Step pokemons call and the Grass animation call???

                    here a screenshot: img341.imageshack.us/img341/8729/21410246ak5.png
                      #310    
                    Old October 3rd, 2007 (6:53 AM).
                    New2Ya's Avatar
                    New2Ya New2Ya is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2005
                      Gender:
                      Posts: 92
                      You want to get Pokémon encounters? Go to PBS map (inside the project) and open encounters.txt.

                      Then, either edit the ID of the map to the ID of the map you want, or add

                      Spoiler:
                      018 # ID of the map (check the middle of the status bar)
                      25,10,10 # Comma-separated line with Land, Cave, Water densities (25 is average)
                      Land # One of Land/Cave/Water/RockSmash/OldRod/GoodRod/SuperRod
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 5
                      SPEAROW, 6
                      SPEAROW, 7
                      Water
                      MAGIKARP,2
                      GOLDEEN,3
                      POLIWAG,3
                      FEEBAS,3
                      FEEBAS,3
                      HeadbuttHigh
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      SPEAROW,10
                      HeadbuttLow
                      PINECO,10
                      PINECO,10
                      PINECO,10
                      PINECO,10
                      AIPOM,10
                      AIPOM,10
                      AIPOM,10
                      AIPOM,10
                      OldRod
                      MAGIKARP,2
                      GOLDEEN,3
                      GoodRod
                      MAGIKARP,2
                      GOLDEEN,3
                      POLIWAG,3
                      SuperRod
                      MAGIKARP,2
                      GOLDEEN,3
                      POLIWAG,3
                      FEEBAS,3
                      FEEBAS,3

                      at the bottom, and edit the names of the desired Pokémon. Just make sure the amount of Pokémon for each category (land/water/etc) is the same. Dont delete names, just edit them.

                      As for the ID, at the top of the spoiler-tag, change it to the ID of your map. (Map Properties -> At top of the border you can find ID number)\

                      Hope that helps...
                      __________________


                      CodeProject 001
                        #311    
                      Old October 3rd, 2007 (8:32 AM).
                      Pokê Fan Pokê Fan is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2007
                        Posts: 6
                        New2Ya Mega Thanks it,s Work Thanks.
                          #312    
                        Old October 3rd, 2007 (12:45 PM).
                        Minorthreat0987 Minorthreat0987 is offline
                        Pokemon Tellurium
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2005
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 461
                          Poccil I just noticed when you are in the smaller 240x16, anything above the bottom layer kind shakes, i circled the spots on this screen you might need to paste it in paint and zoom in to see them

                          __________________

                          Check out my DeviantArt account for info on my new project! Pokemon Tellurium.
                          My DeviantArt
                            #313    
                          Old October 3rd, 2007 (1:02 PM).
                          New2Ya's Avatar
                          New2Ya New2Ya is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2005
                            Gender:
                            Posts: 92
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Minorthreat0987 View Post
                            Poccil I just noticed when you are in the smaller 240x16, anything above the bottom layer kind shakes, i circled the spots on this screen you might need to paste it in paint and zoom in to see them

                            Yeah I noticed that too...

                            One last question (I promise! xD), how do I turn off the weather again? I started a storm with
                            Quote:
                            $game_screen.weather(2,9.0,20)
                            but I dont know how to turn it off... O_o

                            I figured it would be $game_screen.weather(0,9.0,20) but then my game freezes.
                            __________________


                            CodeProject 001
                              #314    
                            Old October 3rd, 2007 (1:29 PM).
                            poccil poccil is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2007
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 386
                              That's an artifact of the redefined Tilemap class. Unfortunately, that problem is unavoidable.

                              To return to normal weather, use:

                              Code:
                               $game_screen.weather(0,0,20)
                              __________________
                              Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                                #315    
                              Old October 3rd, 2007 (2:14 PM).
                              Minorthreat0987 Minorthreat0987 is offline
                              Pokemon Tellurium
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2005
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 461
                                oh, man that sucks really bad, its so un eye appealing. =[, you couldnt switch back to one of the older tilemap classes?
                                __________________

                                Check out my DeviantArt account for info on my new project! Pokemon Tellurium.
                                My DeviantArt
                                  #316    
                                Old October 3rd, 2007 (2:20 PM).
                                |Maximus|'s Avatar
                                |Maximus| |Maximus| is offline
                                I'm back~
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                                  Age: 21
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 842
                                  Does anyone have a Cbs or starter kit for RM2K3 PLEASE!
                                    #317    
                                  Old October 3rd, 2007 (3:56 PM).
                                  Ryruyin's Avatar
                                  Ryruyin Ryruyin is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                                    Gender:
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 18
                                    Axibar, you're much better off using RMXP.
                                    __________________
                                    Poccil is thy God
                                    RMXP Starter Kit
                                      #318    
                                    Old October 3rd, 2007 (4:48 PM).
                                    poccil poccil is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2007
                                      Gender:
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 386
                                      In any case, I've been trying to improve my Tilemap class to remove this tile problem, and I've made some progress in doing so. Though I'm not sure whether the following alone will work, since the progress involves other places in the code, it may help to add these methods to my Tilemap class (in the script section WindowAndTilemap):

                                      Code:
                                      def ox=(val)
                                         val=(val*$ResizeFactor).floor
                                         val=(val/$ResizeFactor).floor
                                         @ox=val.floor
                                      end
                                      def oy=(val)
                                         val=(val*$ResizeFactor).floor
                                         val=(val/$ResizeFactor).floor
                                         @oy=val.floor
                                      end
                                      __________________
                                      Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                                        #319    
                                      Old October 3rd, 2007 (10:51 PM).
                                      Aqua Mudkip's Avatar
                                      Aqua Mudkip Aqua Mudkip is offline
                                      LOL I'm okay!
                                         
                                        Join Date: Apr 2007
                                        Location: In Hoenn, Rustboro City
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 157
                                        Poccil I have this BIG prob. I get this strange error:

                                        RPGCache:49:in `load_bitmap'
                                        RPGCache:96:in `tileset'
                                        Spriteset_Map:24:in`_animationSprite_initialize'
                                        AnimationSprite:41:in `initialize'
                                        Scene_Map:21:in `new'
                                        Scene_Map:21:in `createSpritesets'
                                        Scene_Map:20:in `each'
                                        Scene_Map:20:in `createSpritesets'
                                        Scene_Map:57:in `main'
                                        Main:41

                                        This exception was logged in errorlog.txt
                                        __________________
                                        Aqua Mudkip prospers us with delightful toaster!
                                        Pokemon Tourmaline Under Construction. Since 2006.

                                        JOIN OPERATION HEAD PIGEONS...
                                        TO BRING BACK INVADER ZIM!
                                          #320    
                                        Old October 4th, 2007 (12:45 AM).
                                        New2Ya's Avatar
                                        New2Ya New2Ya is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Oct 2005
                                          Gender:
                                          Posts: 92
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Aqua Mudkip View Post
                                          Poccil I have this BIG prob. I get this strange error:

                                          RPGCache:49:in `load_bitmap'
                                          RPGCache:96:in `tileset'
                                          Spriteset_Map:24:in`_animationSprite_initialize'
                                          AnimationSprite:41:in `initialize'
                                          Scene_Map:21:in `new'
                                          Scene_Map:21:in `createSpritesets'
                                          Scene_Mapin `each'
                                          Scene_Mapin `createSpritesets'
                                          Scene_Map:57:in `main'
                                          Main:41

                                          This exception was logged in errorlog.txt
                                          Well, that could be anything. What changes did you make on the project? I'm afraid no one can help you with this error log, because you get that message anytime you remove/edit something unproperly.
                                          __________________


                                          CodeProject 001
                                            #321    
                                          Old October 4th, 2007 (2:05 AM).
                                          Aqua Mudkip's Avatar
                                          Aqua Mudkip Aqua Mudkip is offline
                                          LOL I'm okay!
                                             
                                            Join Date: Apr 2007
                                            Location: In Hoenn, Rustboro City
                                            Gender:
                                            Nature: Jolly
                                            Posts: 157
                                            I did'nt do anything with it. I DLed the update of Poccils Kit abd when I tried the game, that popped out.
                                            __________________
                                            Aqua Mudkip prospers us with delightful toaster!
                                            Pokemon Tourmaline Under Construction. Since 2006.

                                            JOIN OPERATION HEAD PIGEONS...
                                            TO BRING BACK INVADER ZIM!
                                              #322    
                                            Old October 4th, 2007 (4:16 AM).
                                            Pokê Fan Pokê Fan is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Sep 2007
                                              Posts: 6
                                              hello why can i a new pokemon paste i will Turtwig of Diamond and Pearl paste???

                                              I will in my game all pokemon and all pokemon of Diamond and Pearl.



                                              hope can me help!
                                                #323    
                                              Old October 4th, 2007 (5:22 AM).
                                              poccil poccil is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Jan 2007
                                                Gender:
                                                Nature: Adamant
                                                Posts: 386
                                                Aqua Mudkip:

                                                The error message occurred most likely because a bitmap file failed to be found. To find out which one, replace line 49 of the script section RPGCache with:

                                                Code:
                                                          begin
                                                            @cache[path] = Bitmap.new(path)
                                                          rescue
                                                            raise "Failed to load bitmap: #{path}"
                                                          end
                                                __________________
                                                Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                                                  #324    
                                                Old October 4th, 2007 (12:34 PM).
                                                New2Ya's Avatar
                                                New2Ya New2Ya is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Oct 2005
                                                  Gender:
                                                  Posts: 92
                                                  Say, how can I assign a "revive" place? When you lose a Pokémon battle (trainer/wild), you get transported and full-healed to [FILL IN]?
                                                  __________________


                                                  CodeProject 001
                                                    #325    
                                                  Old October 4th, 2007 (12:43 PM).
                                                  poccil poccil is offline
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Jan 2007
                                                    Gender:
                                                    Nature: Adamant
                                                    Posts: 386
                                                    Quote:
                                                    Originally Posted by New2Ya View Post
                                                    Say, how can I assign a "revive" place? When you lose a Pokémon battle (trainer/wild), you get transported and full-healed to [FILL IN]?
                                                    The file metadata.txt supports a global setting named "Home" (in section [000]), that specifies the place where the player goes when he or she loses a battle and no Pokemon Center was entered. Details are below:
                                                    Quote:
                                                    Home: The point that the player is placed in when all Pokemon have fainted
                                                    and no Pokemon Center was entered. This setting consists of four numbers,
                                                    separated by commas, that indicate the map ID, the X and Y coordinates, and
                                                    the direction to make the player face (2=down; 4=left; 6=right; 8=up; 0=retain
                                                    facing). The map identified by this setting should have an event page with the
                                                    "autorun" trigger and a conditional switch "Starting Over" (normally
                                                    numbered 5, but can be changed by editing the STARTING_OVER_SWITCH
                                                    constant in the script section PokemonField). The event page, when run,
                                                    should heal all Pokemon in the player's party (For an example, see the
                                                    event for the Pokemon Center's receptionist). This setting is required.
                                                    In addition, there is a function named Kernel.pbSetPokemonCenter that sets the starting-over point to wherever the player currently is. It is defined as follows:

                                                    Code:
                                                    def Kernel.pbSetPokemonCenter
                                                     $PokemonGlobal.pokecenterMapId=$game_map.map_id
                                                     $PokemonGlobal.pokecenterX=$game_player.x
                                                     $PokemonGlobal.pokecenterY=$game_player.y
                                                     $PokemonGlobal.pokecenterDirection=$game_player.direction
                                                    end
                                                    I hope this helps.
                                                    __________________
                                                    Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                                                    Closed Thread
                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:11 AM.