Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #376    
Old October 18th, 2007 (11:05 PM).
Demonic Budha's Avatar
Demonic Budha Demonic Budha is offline
semi-good RMXPer (not script)
     
    Join Date: Jun 2005
    Location: Taupo, NZ
    Age: 30
    Gender:
    Nature: Naughty
    Posts: 192
    Awsome work guys. Im not going to ask a question, as you seem to be unindated with them :D
    __________________
    }-DEMONIC BUDHA-{

    (for those of you who dont know im not the best speller in the world. )
    (also i find it funny that im like 10 years older than some of you and im asking you for help. )

    Relevant Advertising!

      #377    
    Old October 19th, 2007 (6:33 AM).
    Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
    Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2007
      Gender:
      Posts: 312
      I need to know how to create switches, like "Met the Professor", so you can meet the Professor in Route 1, and then go back to the lab and he is there, when he wasn't before.
        #378    
      Old October 19th, 2007 (8:02 AM).
      poccil poccil is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2007
        Gender:
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 386
        Switches are what allow events to conditionally appear based on the state of the game. They are normally set as events are created.

        To set switches, create an event by double-clicking on the map. There you will see a dialog box where you can edit information about the event. In the "Conditions" section, select the "Switch" checkbox and then press the "..." button next to it. You will soon see a dialog box where you can edit the switches in the game.

        The event you just selected will appear only if a switch selected in the dialog box is on. In this box, you can edit the name of any of the switches. Pokemon Essentials also supports "script-based switches", where an arbitrary script determines whether the switch is on and the switch doesn't need to be set. Script-based switches begin with "s:" and contain the script to be run after that.

        To change the number of switches, press "Change Max."

        After choosing a switch, close the dialog box.

        To set multiple conditions (switches) at once for a single event, you can create event pages for each of those conditions, and the highest event page that meets all conditions will be run for a single event. Finally, to set a switch, use the "Control Switches" event command.

        I hope this helps.
        __________________
        Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
          #379    
        Old October 19th, 2007 (8:19 AM).
        Wichu's Avatar
        Wichu Wichu is offline
        Project Amethyst
           
          Join Date: Sep 2007
          Location: North Herts, England
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Naive
          Posts: 2,051
          How can I change the attack power and accuracy? I've tried (successfully) making a new ability, but I want to know how to make attacks.
          Yes, I know it says it doesn't support adding new attacks, but surely it is possible, just like with abilities?
            #380    
          Old October 19th, 2007 (8:47 AM).
          poccil poccil is offline
             
            Join Date: Jan 2007
            Gender:
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 386
            Yes, technically it is possible to add new abilities, but due to the way abilities work, there can't be a unified approach to implementing them, since it requires advanced scripting skills, and in particular, knowing the functionality of the battle system, in order to add new abilities.

            Much of the same applies with moves, since moves have many different effects, again making a unified approach to them practically impossible. Move data can be found in "PBS/rsattacks.dat", but that's a binary file and not a text file.
            __________________
            Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
              #381    
            Old October 19th, 2007 (8:49 AM).
            Wichu's Avatar
            Wichu Wichu is offline
            Project Amethyst
               
              Join Date: Sep 2007
              Location: North Herts, England
              Age: 24
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Naive
              Posts: 2,051
              How could I open it so I can change the power/accuracy etc?
                #382    
              Old October 19th, 2007 (8:53 AM).
              poccil poccil is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2007
                Gender:
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 386
                I could try, but since it couldn't be understood by everyone, I will send a private message.
                __________________
                Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                  #383    
                Old October 19th, 2007 (9:43 AM). Edited October 19th, 2007 by Minorthreat0987.
                Minorthreat0987 Minorthreat0987 is offline
                Pokemon Tellurium
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2005
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 461
                  I don't know if it is just me but my game experinces extremely detrimental lag while on outside maps using the Essentials Kit, does anyone else have this problem or know how to fix it, i have a maximun of like 15-20 events per map(most have way less like 5-10) so i dont think its overloaded, but i dont know. please help thanks.

                  .:EDIT:.
                  Just so you'll know I have the same problem in an unedited version of the Essentials kit, but not in other game files of mine that dont use the essentials kit.
                  __________________

                  Check out my DeviantArt account for info on my new project! Pokemon Tellurium.
                  My DeviantArt
                    #384    
                  Old October 19th, 2007 (10:21 AM).
                  pokemon programer's Avatar
                  pokemon programer pokemon programer is offline
                  Head of TerraByte Software
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2005
                    Location: in a sercet room i built under my house working on programing games
                    Age: 23
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 55
                    Quote:
                    hey poccil i think your starter kit is awsome. Would it be possible that you input all the 4th generation pokemon so that people have all those to work with when they start?

                    I just got to mess around with the new version. I think it is awsome even more now with the cries. That is cool that you can upload boxes from pokemon ruby. Where is the code for the debug menu? I was thinking about trying to add some stuff to it. Keep up the awsome work.
                    I thought I would repost since it changed pages.
                    Oh poccil did you get the pm I sent you. If so please reply
                      #385    
                    Old October 19th, 2007 (10:49 AM). Edited October 19th, 2007 by phoenixprime88b5.
                    phoenixprime88b5's Avatar
                    phoenixprime88b5 phoenixprime88b5 is offline
                    From the ashes, I rise...
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2007
                      Location: Hoenn Region (Lilycove City)
                      Gender:
                      Posts: 216
                      Yeah, recieved the icons for the 4th generation pokemon from poccils site and I have the shiny fronts and back as well as the regular fonts nd backs, alll I'm doing now is entering data for them. I talked to Flameguru and he said if i add the remaining pokemon to pass the pokemon txt and graphics folder to others but I have a problem with some of the data for the pokemon, which includes the items needed to evolve certain ones, the growth rate, moves that aren't in the list that you put in the SK and some other piece of Data that's needed in the game. After getting this pokemon situation cleared I really wont have any reason to bother you Poccil, but I really just need your help with the pokemon data fro the Sinnoh pokemon, cause the data from your site that I am using, some of the data and moves aren't working in the game and I need your help with the pokemon.txt data. If you can give me that, I'll find a way to contribute the graphics of the 4th generation pokemon that other SK users have been asking you about and maybe it can relieve some workload off of you, but it's you're call Poccil.
                        #386    
                      Old October 19th, 2007 (2:10 PM). Edited October 19th, 2007 by pokemon programer.
                      pokemon programer's Avatar
                      pokemon programer pokemon programer is offline
                      Head of TerraByte Software
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2005
                        Location: in a sercet room i built under my house working on programing games
                        Age: 23
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 55
                        Sorry poccil if i answer wrong. phoenixprime88b5 the reason why some of the attacks aren't working is because the 4th generation attacks aren't programmed in the game as of yet. Which means you are trying to use data that dosen't exist. The reason that the items for eveolution aren't working is because the fact that you might not of created the items in items.txt (i think thats the name).
                          #387    
                        Old October 19th, 2007 (2:18 PM).
                        blueguy's Avatar
                        blueguy blueguy is offline
                        No capitalization required. ;D
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2005
                          Age: 26
                          Nature: Quirky
                          Posts: 744
                          What a really fantastic resource! I can't thank you enough. It's really exciting to be able to make my own game without having extensive knowledge about scripting and the like.

                          I'm a little bit confused about how I can change some of the animations in the game. The attacks have the "fire" animation, and I want to try to make specific ones. I'm not sure where I associate each attack with the animations I make. And I'd also like to animate the Poké Ball being thrown.

                          Thank you very much.
                            #388    
                          Old October 19th, 2007 (2:50 PM).
                          Flameguru's Avatar
                          Flameguru Flameguru is offline
                          Pokemon: Metallic Silver
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2005
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Rash
                            Posts: 517
                            Only Preliminary support is built in for Attack Animations. Poccil said this a few pages back. I'm pretty sure he wants us to create animations ourselves and have us send them to him.
                            __________________
                            Current Project: Pokemon Engine for Android
                              #389    
                            Old October 19th, 2007 (6:36 PM).
                            phoenixprime88b5's Avatar
                            phoenixprime88b5 phoenixprime88b5 is offline
                            From the ashes, I rise...
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2007
                              Location: Hoenn Region (Lilycove City)
                              Gender:
                              Posts: 216
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by pokemon programer View Post
                              Sorry poccil if i answer wrong. phoenixprime88b5 the reason why some of the attacks aren't working is because the 4th generation attacks aren't programmed in the game as of yet. Which means you are trying to use data that dosen't exist. The reason that the items for eveolution aren't working is because the fact that you might not of created the items in items.txt (i think thats the name).
                              I know that why the data didn't work. When I was explaining why the data wasn't working was because attacks can't be made and the items woild have to be made for the evolution part. I know Pokemon Programmer, that's why I was saying to Poccil that he would have to add the attacks and items or change the data for the pokemon. So hopefully he'll put the 4th generation pokemon in the next Starter Kit update.
                                #390    
                              Old October 19th, 2007 (6:48 PM).
                              blueguy's Avatar
                              blueguy blueguy is offline
                              No capitalization required. ;D
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2005
                                Age: 26
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 744
                                I feel pretty stupid, because for some reason I can't get a very simple thing to work. XD

                                I was wanting to do a player transfer from my starting town into a cave, and it comes up with this error when the player touches the entrance.
                                  #391    
                                Old October 19th, 2007 (6:49 PM). Edited October 19th, 2007 by pokemon programer.
                                pokemon programer's Avatar
                                pokemon programer pokemon programer is offline
                                Head of TerraByte Software
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2005
                                  Location: in a sercet room i built under my house working on programing games
                                  Age: 23
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 55
                                  Sorry I must of misunderstood what you were saying. I asked him that a couple of pages ago but got no answer.
                                  Everybody I sent poccil a pm and told him about an idea I had about possibly making a scripting language to go with it because a lot of people don't like Ruby/RGSS and with all the scipts that poccil has added it might be hard to make a compatible script. Then I thougt I would ask you all wether or not you would want that. Plus it would be a lot easier to learn. I haven't gotten a reply from him yet and would like your input on the this idea. I told him that I would develop the language if he would implment it so please put in your oppion.

                                  Blueguy that is something that happens to me. The reason it happens is because something dosen't intilize properly I seem to find it the most common error that it gives me. Make sure you don't have alot of other programs running when you are playing. It seems to cut down on it happing.
                                    #392    
                                  Old October 19th, 2007 (6:55 PM).
                                  blueguy's Avatar
                                  blueguy blueguy is offline
                                  No capitalization required. ;D
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2005
                                    Age: 26
                                    Nature: Quirky
                                    Posts: 744
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by pokemon programer View Post
                                    Blueguy that is something that happens to me. The reason it happens is because something dosen't intilize properly I seem to find it the most common error that it gives me. Make sure you don't have alot of other programs running when you are playing. It seems to cut down on it happing.
                                    I don't think that's why it's doing it. On the test map, entering and exiting the cave works fine. I'm really confused why it doesn't on my own maps.
                                      #393    
                                    Old October 19th, 2007 (7:02 PM).
                                    pokemon programer's Avatar
                                    pokemon programer pokemon programer is offline
                                    Head of TerraByte Software
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2005
                                      Location: in a sercet room i built under my house working on programing games
                                      Age: 23
                                      Gender:
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 55
                                      I don't know then I just keep trying and eventully it will work for me. If it happens close the box that says it and hit F12. If this doesn't work then I don't know.
                                        #394    
                                      Old October 19th, 2007 (8:14 PM). Edited October 19th, 2007 by Minorthreat0987.
                                      Minorthreat0987 Minorthreat0987 is offline
                                      Pokemon Tellurium
                                         
                                        Join Date: Oct 2005
                                        Nature: Adamant
                                        Posts: 461
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Minorthreat0987 View Post
                                        I don't know if it is just me but my game experinces extremely detrimental lag while on outside maps using the Essentials Kit, does anyone else have this problem or know how to fix it, i have a maximun of like 15-20 events per map(most have way less like 5-10) so i dont think its overloaded, but i dont know. please help thanks.

                                        .:EDIT:.
                                        Just so you'll know I have the same problem in an unedited version of the Essentials kit, but not in other game files of mine that dont use the essentials kit.
                                        Through some testing i notice that the lag is caused by the connecting of maps, my guess is its processing/updating all the events at once instead of the ones only on the map that the hero is located...maybe. I say this because on Indoor maps there is no lag, so I assume that its because they aren't connected to any other maps using the connections.txt file. If that is the case is there anything that can be done to fix that problem, its a life or death issue with my game...

                                        If you need my to, Poccil, I can PM you an un encrypted progress file that you can take a look at..idk tho it might just be my project file is screwed up.
                                        __________________

                                        Check out my DeviantArt account for info on my new project! Pokemon Tellurium.
                                        My DeviantArt
                                          #395    
                                        Old October 19th, 2007 (8:33 PM).
                                        NytewolfAU2k7's Avatar
                                        NytewolfAU2k7 NytewolfAU2k7 is offline
                                        Game Modder & Creator
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jul 2006
                                          Location: Perth, Australia
                                          Gender:
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 174
                                          Yea, I noticed that lag myself Minorthreat0987, I get it often as I have a fair few connecting maps in Code Biohazard (only 3 really; New Bark, Route29 and Cherrygrove) and they lag...

                                          I also have a fair few events on each map individually, namely the various NPC's who inhabit those areas...
                                          __________________
                                          Shinies: 3 (Cubone, Ratatta and Bidoof)
                                          Creator of NW's Pokémon Program Suite, An Open-Source Offline Pokémon Information tool or "Pokedex". (No longer cancelled! BETA 6 on it's way)
                                          Administrator of Nytewolf's Game Development Site, A site devoted to showcasing my games.
                                            #396    
                                          Old October 19th, 2007 (11:36 PM).
                                          poccil poccil is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jan 2007
                                            Gender:
                                            Nature: Adamant
                                            Posts: 386
                                            Minorthreat0987:

                                            Part of what I believe is causing lag is the custom Tilemap class I created. Even though I've improved its performance recently, I worry that it may not be enough yet. That's why starting with the next version, the custom class will be enabled only when the screen size is being shrunk. I may even make it a game option in the near future. But thanks for your offer on letting me investigate the problem.
                                            __________________
                                            Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                                              #397    
                                            Old October 20th, 2007 (12:30 AM).
                                            Backmaster Backmaster is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: May 2006
                                              Nature: Adamant
                                              Posts: 64
                                              @Poccil: Could you try to explain how it works just like you did it for "wichu"?

                                              Send me a PM pls.

                                              Maybe I could work at the animations files.
                                              But i need more sprites

                                              Is there anyone who can rip them from game?
                                                #398    
                                              Old October 20th, 2007 (2:25 AM).
                                              Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
                                              Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Oct 2007
                                                Gender:
                                                Posts: 312
                                                How do you get a Pokémon from say a Pokéball in a lab to the party?
                                                  #399    
                                                Old October 20th, 2007 (4:18 AM). Edited October 20th, 2007 by Minorthreat0987.
                                                Minorthreat0987 Minorthreat0987 is offline
                                                Pokemon Tellurium
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Oct 2005
                                                  Nature: Adamant
                                                  Posts: 461
                                                  Quote:
                                                  Originally Posted by poccil View Post
                                                  Minorthreat0987:

                                                  Part of what I believe is causing lag is the custom Tilemap class I created. Even though I've improved its performance recently, I worry that it may not be enough yet. That's why starting with the next version, the custom class will be enabled only when the screen size is being shrunk. I may even make it a game option in the near future. But thanks for your offer on letting me investigate the problem.
                                                  If that was the case then wouldnt the lag occur on both connected and non-connected maps. I only experience lag when I have the maps connected if I dont have them connected then there is vertually no lag. Also would the tilemap class cause the game to freeze completely, because mine has done that a few times.
                                                  __________________

                                                  Check out my DeviantArt account for info on my new project! Pokemon Tellurium.
                                                  My DeviantArt
                                                    #400    
                                                  Old October 20th, 2007 (6:58 AM).
                                                  poccil poccil is offline
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Jan 2007
                                                    Gender:
                                                    Nature: Adamant
                                                    Posts: 386
                                                    Lorem Ipsum:

                                                    See the "Adding a Pokemon" section in my documentation:

                                                    Quote:
                                                    For an easy way to add a Pokemon, call pbAddPokemon(X,Y) where X is the species number of the Pokemon, and Y is its level. You can modify that function, which is located in PokemonUtilities, to remove the messages. Adding a Pokemon may fail, so this statement should appear in a "Conditional Branch" event command.
                                                    Minorthreat0987:

                                                    As I've learned, a reason why the game can freeze is that the game has to load a very large tileset bitmap, which is the case for the sample outdoor maps. I had therefore modified the RPG::Cache class to handle this case, namely that if loading the bitmap would cause the script to hang, it tries again. (As I've learned, RGSS raises the hanging-up exception only once per run.)
                                                    __________________
                                                    Peter O, of The Ultimate Pokemon Center (Pokemon Essentials, Donate money to restore my page)
                                                    Closed Thread
                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:27 AM.