Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #2426    
Old June 27th, 2008 (8:14 AM).
yaoimutt yaoimutt is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Nature: Impish
    Posts: 249
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
    I want an item to display a variable when you use it..
    Example:
    you get a password, i.e 3040 (it's different every time)
    and you get the item "password card" I want the item to display 3040 when you use it..
    Like the coincase displays the coins you have when you use it..
    I have the item ready and also the variable for the password..
    please help :)
    PoKéMaKeR
    i agree, infact, how would you make an item show a common event?
    __________________

    Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
    Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

    Geat thread here

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2427    
    Old June 27th, 2008 (8:49 AM).
    imtheomega's Avatar
    imtheomega imtheomega is offline
       
      Join Date: Apr 2007
      Location: Belgium
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 145
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
      I want an item to display a variable when you use it..
      Example:
      you get a password, i.e 3040 (it's different every time)
      and you get the item "password card" I want the item to display 3040 when you use it..
      Like the coincase displays the coins you have when you use it..
      I have the item ready and also the variable for the password..
      please help
      PoKéMaKeR

      In PokemonItems, at the line 210, there is "def pbUseItemFromBag(item)".
      U will see a lot of lines like
      Code:
         when PBItems::COINCASE
         Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Coins: {1}",$PokemonGlobal.coins))
         return 1 # Continue
      Add the lines :
      Code:
        when PBItems::PASSWORDCARD
         Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Password: {1}",$game_variables[numberofyourvariable]))
         return 1
      It should work.

      Edit : I've not tested it, so say me if it doesn't work.
      __________________
      Creator of the french game Pokemon True Story

      Website : here
      Some tips to customize Pokemon Essentials : here
        #2428    
      Old June 27th, 2008 (8:59 AM).
      PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
      PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
      Pokemon Rancher creator!
         
        Join Date: Apr 2008
        Location: The Netherlands :)
        Gender:
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 293
        No that doesn't work I get: "can't use that Item here"?!?!?
        What to do, what to do..?

        Edit: I changed the Item a bit and now it works :D:D:D
        And I got another question..!
        How to change the picture of your hero..
        Like it changed clothes..?
        __________________
        (Click for the thread)



        Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

          #2429    
        Old June 27th, 2008 (9:16 AM).
        imtheomega's Avatar
        imtheomega imtheomega is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2007
          Location: Belgium
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 145
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
          No that doesn't work I get: "can't use that Item here"?!?!?
          What to do, what to do..?

          Edit: I changed the Item a bit and now it works :D:D:D
          And I got another question..!
          How to change the picture of your hero..
          Like it changed clothes..?
          Well, I've done it on my game. I just use the pbChangePlayer thing. I've put Ash in pyjamas as PlayerA in the Metadata.txt file and the normal Ash as PlayerB. U can do the same thing with a man and a girl if u use PlayerC and PlayerD. And if u really want to have more clothes, u can do a PlayerE,... but u will have to add it in the scripts (look for MetadataPlayer in PokemonMap, the line MetadataPlayerA=2 for example).
          __________________
          Creator of the french game Pokemon True Story

          Website : here
          Some tips to customize Pokemon Essentials : here
            #2430    
          Old June 27th, 2008 (9:18 AM). Edited June 27th, 2008 by PoKéMaKeR.
          PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
          PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
          Pokemon Rancher creator!
             
            Join Date: Apr 2008
            Location: The Netherlands :)
            Gender:
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 293
            ok thanks..!
            I'll try if it works
            Edit: Oh that's great this is also working !!!:D
            __________________
            (Click for the thread)



            Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

              #2431    
            Old June 28th, 2008 (10:04 AM).
            ali madan ali madan is offline
               
              Join Date: Oct 2007
              Gender:
              Posts: 60
              hi poccil,I have a question. If I have 2 trainers have the same type and name the first trainer information is applied on the 2nd trainer. For example I have team magma grunt 1 , and team magma grunt 2. When the battle of the 2nd trainer starts the Pokemons and informations are the first's trainer. Got it?

              here what did I write:

              TEAM_ROCKET_M
              GRUNT,1
              3
              EKANS,7
              KOFFING,8
              WEEDLE,8
              #-------------------
              TEAM_ROCKET_M
              GRUNT,2
              2
              POOCHYENA,6
              ARON,7
              __________________
              Sorry if I'm rude sometimes!
                #2432    
              Old June 28th, 2008 (11:48 AM).
              imtheomega's Avatar
              imtheomega imtheomega is offline
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2007
                Location: Belgium
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 145
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by ali madan View Post
                hi poccil,I have a question. If I have 2 trainers have the same type and name the first trainer information is applied on the 2nd trainer. For example I have team magma grunt 1 , and team magma grunt 2. When the battle of the 2nd trainer starts the Pokemons and informations are the first's trainer. Got it?

                here what did I write:

                TEAM_ROCKET_M
                GRUNT,1
                3
                EKANS,7
                KOFFING,8
                WEEDLE,8
                #-------------------
                TEAM_ROCKET_M
                GRUNT,2
                2
                POOCHYENA,6
                ARON,7
                When u have two or more trainer sharing the same type and name, u must use a number to identify them.
                That's done in the starterkit :
                Spoiler:

                #-------------------
                CAMPER
                Andrew
                1
                GEODUDE,16
                #-------------------
                CAMPER
                Andrew,1
                2
                GEODUDE,18
                GEODUDE,20
                #-------------------
                CAMPER
                Andrew,2
                3
                GEODUDE,21
                GRAVELER,24
                LAIRON,25
                #-------------------
                CAMPER
                Andrew,3
                3
                GRAVELER,29
                GRAVELER,31
                LAIRON,35
                #-------------------
                CAMPER
                Andrew,4
                3
                GRAVELER,38
                GOLEM,40
                AGGRON,43
                #-------------------


                That's the number avec the name. For the battle, u must use a condition with a script like pbTrainerBattle(PBTrainers::CAMPER,"Andrew",_I("A very good battle, indeed."),false,2).
                The last number in this script is the ID number of the trainer. So it will be this one wich will battle u :

                #-------------------
                CAMPER
                Andrew,2
                3
                GEODUDE,21
                GRAVELER,24
                LAIRON,25


                I hope I were clear enough.
                __________________
                Creator of the french game Pokemon True Story

                Website : here
                Some tips to customize Pokemon Essentials : here
                  #2433    
                Old June 28th, 2008 (6:37 PM).
                crzyone9584 crzyone9584 is offline
                Pokemon: The Beginning Founder
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2008
                  Location: Lakewood, Colorado
                  Age: 29
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Lonely
                  Posts: 167
                  does anyone know how and where to edit it where you can capture other trainers pokemon? and know how to make it so that the trainer your fighting can capture yours to.?
                  __________________
                  Killing to Live, Living to Kill.

                  Pokemon: The Beginning

                  Click link above. It's the home of My Game!
                    #2434    
                  Old June 28th, 2008 (9:12 PM).
                  Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                  Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                  His Plane Was Built To Crash
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2008
                    Location: Maine
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 8
                    Has anyone gotten the online trade servers to work properly? I've been toying with them all night, but haven't really gotten anywhere. Just error messages and crashed programs.

                    I can post exact error messages and whatnot if needed, but basically I was able to get the server up until I tried to register/login, and up came the error. Since then, anytime I run the main.rb, it runs through a few lines and crashes.
                      #2435    
                    Old June 29th, 2008 (12:37 AM).
                    Pok'eMaster Pok'eMaster is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2008
                      Gender:
                      Posts: 10
                      I cant figure out how to get the shiny pokemon thing to work properly.
                      Were do i put the
                      Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
                      pokemon=e[0]
                      if $game_switches[50]
                      pokemon.makeShiny
                      end
                      }

                      thing i couldnt figure out were i am so sorry to bother but i really want
                      to know how XD

                      Thanks in advance Pok'eMater XD PLZZZ
                        #2436    
                      Old June 29th, 2008 (12:59 AM).
                      ali madan ali madan is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2007
                        Gender:
                        Posts: 60
                        hi, thanks but every time change the number from 1 to 0 after the debug it just return to 0 again. And the ice after I changed it's terrain tag into 12 still doesn't work! Please guys help me, these things are driving me crazy!
                        __________________
                        Sorry if I'm rude sometimes!
                          #2437    
                        Old June 29th, 2008 (7:06 PM).
                        sonic smash down's Avatar
                        sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                        strive for the best
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2008
                          Location: Louisiana
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 521
                          hey yall i ran into a huge problem today thats probally simple to answer, wats the code the checks if you have a certian item? (using it as a condition)
                          __________________
                          Gary was here,
                          Ash is a loser!
                            #2438    
                          Old June 29th, 2008 (7:36 PM).
                          Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                          Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                          His Plane Was Built To Crash
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2008
                            Location: Maine
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 8
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by sonic smash down View Post
                            hey yall i ran into a huge problem today thats probally simple to answer, wats the code the checks if you have a certian item? (using it as a condition)
                            Checking for Items

                            The PokemonBag class has a function, pbQuantity, that you can use to check for the existence or amount of an item in the Bag. Here's how to use it:

                            Conditional branch for checking for the existence of an item:

                            $PokemonBag.pbQuantity(PBItems::POTION)>0

                            Script example: Printing the number of items

                            itemname=PBItems.getName(PBItems::POTION)
                            itemqty=$PokemonBag.pbQuantity(PBItems::POTION)
                            print("#{itemqty}x #{itemname}")
                              #2439    
                            Old June 29th, 2008 (8:01 PM).
                            sonic smash down's Avatar
                            sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                            strive for the best
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2008
                              Location: Louisiana
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 521
                              thankz man this should really help wit it. it took me hours to try and think of it and look in the essentials kit
                              __________________
                              Gary was here,
                              Ash is a loser!
                                #2440    
                              Old July 1st, 2008 (10:13 AM).
                              Crazyninjaguy's Avatar
                              Crazyninjaguy Crazyninjaguy is offline
                              I'm back.
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2008
                                Location: England
                                Age: 25
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 663
                                poccil thanks for the kit but i cant play the game ive game ive made =/
                                It says script 'pokemonload' nomethoderror occurred. undefined method `+' for nil:NilClass
                                i've tried to sort this for a whole day but nothing works....is there any way to fix this or do i have to just give up? thnx in advance =]
                                  #2441    
                                Old July 1st, 2008 (12:58 PM).
                                PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
                                PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
                                Pokemon Rancher creator!
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2008
                                  Location: The Netherlands :)
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 293
                                  what did you change..
                                  Can you show the exact error?
                                  Then it's easier to help..
                                  __________________
                                  (Click for the thread)



                                  Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

                                    #2442    
                                  Old July 1st, 2008 (6:42 PM).
                                  sonic smash down's Avatar
                                  sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                                  strive for the best
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2008
                                    Location: Louisiana
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Relaxed
                                    Posts: 521
                                    hey i had another error in the event but i think i have everything set up right wit it, first off i just want to know if this script is right.
                                    Kernel.pbItemBall(:BItems::LUNARCYSTAL)
                                    if it is, is this item code right?
                                    503,LUNARCYSTAL,LUNAR CYSTAL,5,0,"This crystal is said to possess the spirit of the moon.",0,0
                                    this has really been confusing me for the last few days.
                                    __________________
                                    Gary was here,
                                    Ash is a loser!
                                      #2443    
                                    Old July 1st, 2008 (6:50 PM).
                                    JollyRoger25's Avatar
                                    JollyRoger25 JollyRoger25 is offline
                                    Dark Type Master
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2008
                                      Location: Springfield, Ohio, U.S.
                                      Age: 29
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Jolly
                                      Posts: 672
                                      Hey, I downlaoded the Starter kit, and I was wondering if the starter kit was a launch kit used for expansion, or a example kit, to show you what a game looks like???
                                      __________________
                                      Ultimate Monotype Challenge:
                                      K-8/8 J-8/8 H-8/8 S-1/8 U-0/8 K-0/8
                                      Dark Party:
                                        #2444    
                                      Old July 1st, 2008 (8:36 PM). Edited July 1st, 2008 by Dr. Manhattan.
                                      Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                                      Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                                      His Plane Was Built To Crash
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                                        Location: Maine
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Quirky
                                        Posts: 8
                                        Well... I guess I'm not quite sure what you mean. It has all the script contained in it, and obviously it can be edited, so I guess it would be a "launch" kit.

                                        Just start making a new game like you would any other, within the prexisting game, and all the code will still be there. If that helps.

                                        Sonic Smash Down, if you're still having trouble with that item, it may have been improperly implemented. Try reading over the Implementing New Items section of the Notes file.
                                        __________________
                                          #2445    
                                        Old July 2nd, 2008 (1:00 AM).
                                        Crazyninjaguy's Avatar
                                        Crazyninjaguy Crazyninjaguy is offline
                                        I'm back.
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2008
                                          Location: England
                                          Age: 25
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 663
                                          well i didnt change anything in the scripts so the line of code says
                                          Dest = ENV['SystemRoot'] + '//Fonts//'
                                          but the slashes are the other way round but i cant type them cos im on ds =p
                                            #2446    
                                          Old July 2nd, 2008 (8:09 AM).
                                          sonic smash down's Avatar
                                          sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                                          strive for the best
                                             
                                            Join Date: Feb 2008
                                            Location: Louisiana
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Relaxed
                                            Posts: 521
                                            gotcha man ill see if thats wats wrong tonight. thankz *crosses fingers and hope thats wats wrong*
                                            __________________
                                            Gary was here,
                                            Ash is a loser!
                                              #2447    
                                            Old July 2nd, 2008 (11:07 AM).
                                            PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
                                            PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
                                            Pokemon Rancher creator!
                                               
                                              Join Date: Apr 2008
                                              Location: The Netherlands :)
                                              Gender:
                                              Nature: Relaxed
                                              Posts: 293
                                              Can someone make me a script for a fast ball (the same as the fastball you obtain in G/S/C from kurt after you gave him a WHT Apricorn)
                                              Thanks in advance
                                              PoKéMaKeR
                                              __________________
                                              (Click for the thread)



                                              Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

                                                #2448    
                                              Old July 2nd, 2008 (11:24 AM).
                                              Crazyninjaguy's Avatar
                                              Crazyninjaguy Crazyninjaguy is offline
                                              I'm back.
                                                 
                                                Join Date: May 2008
                                                Location: England
                                                Age: 25
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 663
                                                can anyone help with my problem i posted before?
                                                Im using rpg maker xp - postality knights edition if that helps....i'll be extremely grateful if anyone can help because i cant actually play my game because of the error =/
                                                  #2449    
                                                Old July 2nd, 2008 (11:33 AM).
                                                Lorem Ipsum's Avatar
                                                Lorem Ipsum Lorem Ipsum is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Oct 2007
                                                  Gender:
                                                  Posts: 312
                                                  This is rather an important question.

                                                  How would you make your rival battle you with the opposite starter to your Pokémon? The problem I am having is in that I have set the events up depending on switches, yet the game is not processing the switches, and just executing the first page itself.
                                                  __________________
                                                  [CENTER]
                                                  Pokémon Acanthite: Coming Soon
                                                    #2450    
                                                  Old July 2nd, 2008 (11:49 AM).
                                                  Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                                                  Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                                                  His Plane Was Built To Crash
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Jun 2008
                                                    Location: Maine
                                                    Gender:
                                                    Nature: Quirky
                                                    Posts: 8
                                                    Lorem, I could try to help you with that, but I assure you that there's an easier way than what I did, and someone else would have to tell you. In short, I set it up so that if the player picks, say, Squirtle, a switch will trigger causing the rival to walk over and get Bulbasaur. It's a long process that hogs Switches and is takes a while to get it down.

                                                    However, if you're having trouble getting event pages that work on Swtiches to run, make sure that the conditions for the switches are being fufilled by checking them in the Debug menu, and that you've properly checked the Switch boxes on the events.
                                                    __________________
                                                    Closed Thread

                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Join the conversation!

                                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:25 PM.