Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #2426    
Old June 27th, 2008 (7:10 AM). Edited June 27th, 2008 by yaoimutt.
yaoimutt yaoimutt is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Nature: Impish
    Posts: 249
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by imtheomega View Post
    Well, u have not taken my point. I know that it can be solved by putting a bitmap and I dont see why u had to look in the forum to know it XD.

    The matter is to be able to set the bitmap in the editor itself, to put a function wich ask to choose the bitmap if there is none and then to load it. The starterkit must work independently of the knowledge in scripts of the person who use it.

    And dont be offended by the way I speak, I always speak like that and that's not why I think the person I'm speaking to is a child ;).
    Poccil fixed the problems with it, as stated above by him.

    When you call someone a child, it really does take away from the "don't be offended by the way i speak" thing.
    __________________

    Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
    Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

    Geat thread here

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2427    
    Old June 27th, 2008 (7:35 AM).
    PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
    PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
    Pokemon Rancher creator!
       
      Join Date: Apr 2008
      Location: The Netherlands :)
      Gender:
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 293
      I want an item to display a variable when you use it..
      Example:
      you get a password, i.e 3040 (it's different every time)
      and you get the item "password card" I want the item to display 3040 when you use it..
      Like the coincase displays the coins you have when you use it..
      I have the item ready and also the variable for the password..
      please help
      PoKéMaKeR
      __________________
      (Click for the thread)



      Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

        #2428    
      Old June 27th, 2008 (8:14 AM).
      yaoimutt yaoimutt is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2007
        Nature: Impish
        Posts: 249
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
        I want an item to display a variable when you use it..
        Example:
        you get a password, i.e 3040 (it's different every time)
        and you get the item "password card" I want the item to display 3040 when you use it..
        Like the coincase displays the coins you have when you use it..
        I have the item ready and also the variable for the password..
        please help :)
        PoKéMaKeR
        i agree, infact, how would you make an item show a common event?
        __________________

        Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
        Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

        Geat thread here
          #2429    
        Old June 27th, 2008 (8:49 AM).
        imtheomega's Avatar
        imtheomega imtheomega is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2007
          Location: Belgium
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 145
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
          I want an item to display a variable when you use it..
          Example:
          you get a password, i.e 3040 (it's different every time)
          and you get the item "password card" I want the item to display 3040 when you use it..
          Like the coincase displays the coins you have when you use it..
          I have the item ready and also the variable for the password..
          please help
          PoKéMaKeR

          In PokemonItems, at the line 210, there is "def pbUseItemFromBag(item)".
          U will see a lot of lines like
          Code:
             when PBItems::COINCASE
             Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Coins: {1}",$PokemonGlobal.coins))
             return 1 # Continue
          Add the lines :
          Code:
            when PBItems::PASSWORDCARD
             Kernel.pbMessage(_INTL("Password: {1}",$game_variables[numberofyourvariable]))
             return 1
          It should work.

          Edit : I've not tested it, so say me if it doesn't work.
          __________________
          Creator of the french game Pokemon True Story

          Website : here
          Some tips to customize Pokemon Essentials : here
            #2430    
          Old June 27th, 2008 (8:59 AM).
          PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
          PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
          Pokemon Rancher creator!
             
            Join Date: Apr 2008
            Location: The Netherlands :)
            Gender:
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 293
            No that doesn't work I get: "can't use that Item here"?!?!?
            What to do, what to do..?

            Edit: I changed the Item a bit and now it works :D:D:D
            And I got another question..!
            How to change the picture of your hero..
            Like it changed clothes..?
            __________________
            (Click for the thread)



            Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

              #2431    
            Old June 27th, 2008 (9:16 AM).
            imtheomega's Avatar
            imtheomega imtheomega is offline
               
              Join Date: Apr 2007
              Location: Belgium
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 145
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by PoKéMaKeR View Post
              No that doesn't work I get: "can't use that Item here"?!?!?
              What to do, what to do..?

              Edit: I changed the Item a bit and now it works :D:D:D
              And I got another question..!
              How to change the picture of your hero..
              Like it changed clothes..?
              Well, I've done it on my game. I just use the pbChangePlayer thing. I've put Ash in pyjamas as PlayerA in the Metadata.txt file and the normal Ash as PlayerB. U can do the same thing with a man and a girl if u use PlayerC and PlayerD. And if u really want to have more clothes, u can do a PlayerE,... but u will have to add it in the scripts (look for MetadataPlayer in PokemonMap, the line MetadataPlayerA=2 for example).
              __________________
              Creator of the french game Pokemon True Story

              Website : here
              Some tips to customize Pokemon Essentials : here
                #2432    
              Old June 27th, 2008 (9:18 AM). Edited June 27th, 2008 by PoKéMaKeR.
              PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
              PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
              Pokemon Rancher creator!
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2008
                Location: The Netherlands :)
                Gender:
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 293
                ok thanks..!
                I'll try if it works
                Edit: Oh that's great this is also working !!!:D
                __________________
                (Click for the thread)



                Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

                  #2433    
                Old June 28th, 2008 (10:04 AM).
                ali madan ali madan is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2007
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 60
                  hi poccil,I have a question. If I have 2 trainers have the same type and name the first trainer information is applied on the 2nd trainer. For example I have team magma grunt 1 , and team magma grunt 2. When the battle of the 2nd trainer starts the Pokemons and informations are the first's trainer. Got it?

                  here what did I write:

                  TEAM_ROCKET_M
                  GRUNT,1
                  3
                  EKANS,7
                  KOFFING,8
                  WEEDLE,8
                  #-------------------
                  TEAM_ROCKET_M
                  GRUNT,2
                  2
                  POOCHYENA,6
                  ARON,7
                  __________________
                  Sorry if I'm rude sometimes!
                    #2434    
                  Old June 28th, 2008 (11:48 AM).
                  imtheomega's Avatar
                  imtheomega imtheomega is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2007
                    Location: Belgium
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 145
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by ali madan View Post
                    hi poccil,I have a question. If I have 2 trainers have the same type and name the first trainer information is applied on the 2nd trainer. For example I have team magma grunt 1 , and team magma grunt 2. When the battle of the 2nd trainer starts the Pokemons and informations are the first's trainer. Got it?

                    here what did I write:

                    TEAM_ROCKET_M
                    GRUNT,1
                    3
                    EKANS,7
                    KOFFING,8
                    WEEDLE,8
                    #-------------------
                    TEAM_ROCKET_M
                    GRUNT,2
                    2
                    POOCHYENA,6
                    ARON,7
                    When u have two or more trainer sharing the same type and name, u must use a number to identify them.
                    That's done in the starterkit :
                    Spoiler:

                    #-------------------
                    CAMPER
                    Andrew
                    1
                    GEODUDE,16
                    #-------------------
                    CAMPER
                    Andrew,1
                    2
                    GEODUDE,18
                    GEODUDE,20
                    #-------------------
                    CAMPER
                    Andrew,2
                    3
                    GEODUDE,21
                    GRAVELER,24
                    LAIRON,25
                    #-------------------
                    CAMPER
                    Andrew,3
                    3
                    GRAVELER,29
                    GRAVELER,31
                    LAIRON,35
                    #-------------------
                    CAMPER
                    Andrew,4
                    3
                    GRAVELER,38
                    GOLEM,40
                    AGGRON,43
                    #-------------------


                    That's the number avec the name. For the battle, u must use a condition with a script like pbTrainerBattle(PBTrainers::CAMPER,"Andrew",_I("A very good battle, indeed."),false,2).
                    The last number in this script is the ID number of the trainer. So it will be this one wich will battle u :

                    #-------------------
                    CAMPER
                    Andrew,2
                    3
                    GEODUDE,21
                    GRAVELER,24
                    LAIRON,25


                    I hope I were clear enough.
                    __________________
                    Creator of the french game Pokemon True Story

                    Website : here
                    Some tips to customize Pokemon Essentials : here
                      #2435    
                    Old June 28th, 2008 (6:37 PM).
                    crzyone9584 crzyone9584 is offline
                    Pokemon: The Beginning Founder
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2008
                      Location: Lakewood, Colorado
                      Age: 29
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Lonely
                      Posts: 167
                      does anyone know how and where to edit it where you can capture other trainers pokemon? and know how to make it so that the trainer your fighting can capture yours to.?
                      __________________
                      Killing to Live, Living to Kill.

                      Pokemon: The Beginning

                      Click link above. It's the home of My Game!
                        #2436    
                      Old June 28th, 2008 (9:12 PM).
                      Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                      Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                      His Plane Was Built To Crash
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                        Location: Maine
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 8
                        Has anyone gotten the online trade servers to work properly? I've been toying with them all night, but haven't really gotten anywhere. Just error messages and crashed programs.

                        I can post exact error messages and whatnot if needed, but basically I was able to get the server up until I tried to register/login, and up came the error. Since then, anytime I run the main.rb, it runs through a few lines and crashes.
                          #2437    
                        Old June 29th, 2008 (12:37 AM).
                        Pok'eMaster Pok'eMaster is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2008
                          Gender:
                          Posts: 10
                          I cant figure out how to get the shiny pokemon thing to work properly.
                          Were do i put the
                          Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
                          pokemon=e[0]
                          if $game_switches[50]
                          pokemon.makeShiny
                          end
                          }

                          thing i couldnt figure out were i am so sorry to bother but i really want
                          to know how XD

                          Thanks in advance Pok'eMater XD PLZZZ
                            #2438    
                          Old June 29th, 2008 (12:59 AM).
                          ali madan ali madan is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2007
                            Gender:
                            Posts: 60
                            hi, thanks but every time change the number from 1 to 0 after the debug it just return to 0 again. And the ice after I changed it's terrain tag into 12 still doesn't work! Please guys help me, these things are driving me crazy!
                            __________________
                            Sorry if I'm rude sometimes!
                              #2439    
                            Old June 29th, 2008 (8:25 AM).
                            Trace Trace is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2006
                              Posts: 358
                              Is there a way to add a Pokèmon, but not activate the nicknaming sequence?
                                #2440    
                              Old June 29th, 2008 (7:06 PM).
                              sonic smash down's Avatar
                              sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                              strive for the best
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2008
                                Location: Louisiana
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 521
                                hey yall i ran into a huge problem today thats probally simple to answer, wats the code the checks if you have a certian item? (using it as a condition)
                                __________________
                                Gary was here,
                                Ash is a loser!
                                  #2441    
                                Old June 29th, 2008 (7:36 PM).
                                Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                                Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                                His Plane Was Built To Crash
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2008
                                  Location: Maine
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 8
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by sonic smash down View Post
                                  hey yall i ran into a huge problem today thats probally simple to answer, wats the code the checks if you have a certian item? (using it as a condition)
                                  Checking for Items

                                  The PokemonBag class has a function, pbQuantity, that you can use to check for the existence or amount of an item in the Bag. Here's how to use it:

                                  Conditional branch for checking for the existence of an item:

                                  $PokemonBag.pbQuantity(PBItems::POTION)>0

                                  Script example: Printing the number of items

                                  itemname=PBItems.getName(PBItems::POTION)
                                  itemqty=$PokemonBag.pbQuantity(PBItems::POTION)
                                  print("#{itemqty}x #{itemname}")
                                    #2442    
                                  Old June 29th, 2008 (8:01 PM).
                                  sonic smash down's Avatar
                                  sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                                  strive for the best
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2008
                                    Location: Louisiana
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Relaxed
                                    Posts: 521
                                    thankz man this should really help wit it. it took me hours to try and think of it and look in the essentials kit
                                    __________________
                                    Gary was here,
                                    Ash is a loser!
                                      #2443    
                                    Old July 1st, 2008 (10:13 AM).
                                    Crazyninjaguy's Avatar
                                    Crazyninjaguy Crazyninjaguy is offline
                                    I'm back.
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2008
                                      Location: England
                                      Age: 25
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 663
                                      poccil thanks for the kit but i cant play the game ive game ive made =/
                                      It says script 'pokemonload' nomethoderror occurred. undefined method `+' for nil:NilClass
                                      i've tried to sort this for a whole day but nothing works....is there any way to fix this or do i have to just give up? thnx in advance =]
                                        #2444    
                                      Old July 1st, 2008 (12:58 PM).
                                      PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
                                      PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
                                      Pokemon Rancher creator!
                                         
                                        Join Date: Apr 2008
                                        Location: The Netherlands :)
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Relaxed
                                        Posts: 293
                                        what did you change..
                                        Can you show the exact error?
                                        Then it's easier to help..
                                        __________________
                                        (Click for the thread)



                                        Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

                                          #2445    
                                        Old July 1st, 2008 (6:42 PM).
                                        sonic smash down's Avatar
                                        sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                                        strive for the best
                                           
                                          Join Date: Feb 2008
                                          Location: Louisiana
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 521
                                          hey i had another error in the event but i think i have everything set up right wit it, first off i just want to know if this script is right.
                                          Kernel.pbItemBall(:BItems::LUNARCYSTAL)
                                          if it is, is this item code right?
                                          503,LUNARCYSTAL,LUNAR CYSTAL,5,0,"This crystal is said to possess the spirit of the moon.",0,0
                                          this has really been confusing me for the last few days.
                                          __________________
                                          Gary was here,
                                          Ash is a loser!
                                            #2446    
                                          Old July 1st, 2008 (6:50 PM).
                                          JollyRoger25's Avatar
                                          JollyRoger25 JollyRoger25 is offline
                                          Dark Type Master
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jun 2008
                                            Location: Springfield, Ohio, U.S.
                                            Age: 28
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Jolly
                                            Posts: 672
                                            Hey, I downlaoded the Starter kit, and I was wondering if the starter kit was a launch kit used for expansion, or a example kit, to show you what a game looks like???
                                            __________________
                                            Ultimate Monotype Challenge:
                                            K-8/8 J-8/8 H-8/8 S-1/8 U-0/8 K-0/8
                                            Dark Party:
                                              #2447    
                                            Old July 1st, 2008 (8:36 PM). Edited July 1st, 2008 by Dr. Manhattan.
                                            Dr. Manhattan's Avatar
                                            Dr. Manhattan Dr. Manhattan is offline
                                            His Plane Was Built To Crash
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jun 2008
                                              Location: Maine
                                              Gender:
                                              Nature: Quirky
                                              Posts: 8
                                              Well... I guess I'm not quite sure what you mean. It has all the script contained in it, and obviously it can be edited, so I guess it would be a "launch" kit.

                                              Just start making a new game like you would any other, within the prexisting game, and all the code will still be there. If that helps.

                                              Sonic Smash Down, if you're still having trouble with that item, it may have been improperly implemented. Try reading over the Implementing New Items section of the Notes file.
                                              __________________
                                                #2448    
                                              Old July 2nd, 2008 (1:00 AM).
                                              Crazyninjaguy's Avatar
                                              Crazyninjaguy Crazyninjaguy is offline
                                              I'm back.
                                                 
                                                Join Date: May 2008
                                                Location: England
                                                Age: 25
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 663
                                                well i didnt change anything in the scripts so the line of code says
                                                Dest = ENV['SystemRoot'] + '//Fonts//'
                                                but the slashes are the other way round but i cant type them cos im on ds =p
                                                  #2449    
                                                Old July 2nd, 2008 (8:09 AM).
                                                sonic smash down's Avatar
                                                sonic smash down sonic smash down is offline
                                                strive for the best
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Feb 2008
                                                  Location: Louisiana
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                                  Posts: 521
                                                  gotcha man ill see if thats wats wrong tonight. thankz *crosses fingers and hope thats wats wrong*
                                                  __________________
                                                  Gary was here,
                                                  Ash is a loser!
                                                    #2450    
                                                  Old July 2nd, 2008 (11:07 AM).
                                                  PoKéMaKeR's Avatar
                                                  PoKéMaKeR PoKéMaKeR is offline
                                                  Pokemon Rancher creator!
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Apr 2008
                                                    Location: The Netherlands :)
                                                    Gender:
                                                    Nature: Relaxed
                                                    Posts: 293
                                                    Can someone make me a script for a fast ball (the same as the fastball you obtain in G/S/C from kurt after you gave him a WHT Apricorn)
                                                    Thanks in advance
                                                    PoKéMaKeR
                                                    __________________
                                                    (Click for the thread)



                                                    Last update on the Rancher thread: February 26th 2009

                                                    Closed Thread
                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:28 PM.