Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old July 3rd, 2008 (7:39 AM). Edited April 15th, 2010 by Spherical Ice.
Heart's Soul's Avatar
Heart's Soul Heart's Soul is offline
Hey, look, I was gone.
     
    Join Date: Nov 2007
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 2,536
    How to Hack Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team

    Okay, to clear this up, there is only two tools used to hack Mystery Dungeon at the current moment, which is the Son Sebbe's ultimate tool and WordPad, which you already should have.

    SCRIPTING

    Scripting- the toughest part of the hacker's job. Go to WordPad and open up the rom there. Please notethat WordPad temporarily freezes, so ignore that. Then you just find something uing Ctrl+F, for example, I look up "crawl out" and this is part of what I get-
    Spoiler:
    baby~2c Pokйmon suddenly attacked me!???? He~27s too young to crawl out

    And if you change crawl out to hit a lot, you should get hit a lo, meaning you did it incorrectly. If you change crawl out to fight out, then it'll take up the correct space and should show up correctly. If not, change it back and let the game work from there. You must have used EXACTLY the same number of characters as the game usually uses, no question. It restricts you from overusing it. After that, the game may freeze as a white screen, meaning you messed up. It's pretty unstable, so keep a backup copy!!!

    MAPPING

    Mapping- Well, mapping is impossible, but using a few things you can fix that. Some tools from EliteMap have the ability to hack into MD roms.
    __________________
    I've been on this forum for about 10 years now. You guys wanna see a rare badge? I got some rare badges.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old July 4th, 2008 (1:57 AM). Edited July 5th, 2008 by hi sir tomato my password is syvniti.
    hi sir tomato my password is syvniti's Avatar
    hi sir tomato my password is syvniti hi sir tomato my password is syvniti is offline
    gggggggggggggggggg
       
      Join Date: Jan 2007
      Location: My user name _ asciii_ +&h1!" lulz
      Posts: 581
      Let me split this up... I kind of unagree...

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by YankeeX View Post
      WordPad
      What about the hex editor...? I only used them...


      Quote:
      Originally Posted by YankeeX View Post
      Scripting- the toughest part of the hacker's job.
      Scripting is curenty the most easy part...


      Quote:
      Originally Posted by YankeeX View Post
      Go to WordPad and open up the rom there. Please notethat WordPad temporarily freezes, so ignore that.
      Well, thats because youre not supose to use wordpad... Its not able to handle sush big things as a rom... And with the defualt settnings, it will load all stuff there dont got a symbol as "." and then rewrite them as 29...

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by YankeeX View Post
      baby~2c Pokйmon suddenly attacked me!???? He~27s too young to crawl out
      And if you change crawl out to hit a lot, you should get hit a lo, meaning you did it incorrectly. If you change crawl out to fight out, then it'll take up the correct space and should show up correctly. If not, change it back and let the game work from there. You must have used EXACTLY the same number of characters as the game usually uses, no question. It restricts you from overusing it. After that, the game may freeze as a white screen, meaning you messed up. It's pretty unstable, so keep a backup copy!!!
      Its damn not unstabel... its you...
      But then you could just more the ending part a bit- Its even wrong what you said... And this is not really scripting, its only the text... Dude i really belived you could do a tiny bit but this... Using note pad and do text edits...
      __________________
      THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old July 4th, 2008 (2:18 AM).
      D-Trogh's Avatar
      D-Trogh D-Trogh is offline
      Dead
         
        Join Date: Jul 2005
        Location: Belgium
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 439
        [Talking to YankeeX here..]
        For your information.. this isn't scripting at all, just text editing.
        And.. the text shows up in NotePad/WordPad, just because PMD uses the normal ASCII table, just like Son Sebe said.
        __________________
        [NTME | WPEDS | HTPE | SGPE | TGPE | PDEDS]
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old July 29th, 2008 (8:39 AM).
        GBChacker GBChacker is offline
           
          Join Date: Mar 2008
          Posts: 18
          Why don't you just find the routine that loads the text and rewrite it? Just use vba to trace it. Mapping is possible, the game just uses a routine to randomly generate the mystery dungons, but not the friend areas, main town, or legendary battle places.
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old July 29th, 2008 (8:42 AM).
          cooley's Avatar
          cooley cooley is offline
          ///Keepin' it simple
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Feb 2007
          Location: United States
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Impish
          Posts: 1,150
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by GBChacker View Post
          Why don't you just find the routine that loads the text and rewrite it? Just use vba to trace it. Mapping is possible, the game just uses a routine to randomly generate the mystery dungons, but not the friend areas, main town, or legendary battle places.
          Yeah, what he said
          There wasn't any need for this, you probably got all hyped up cause you figured how to edit a string a text xD
          __________________

          Reply With Quote
            #6    
          Old July 29th, 2008 (10:23 AM).
          hi sir tomato my password is syvniti's Avatar
          hi sir tomato my password is syvniti hi sir tomato my password is syvniti is offline
          gggggggggggggggggg
             
            Join Date: Jan 2007
            Location: My user name _ asciii_ +&h1!" lulz
            Posts: 581
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by GBChacker View Post
            Why don't you just find the routine that loads the text and rewrite it? Just use vba to trace it. Mapping is possible, the game just uses a routine to randomly generate the mystery dungons, but not the friend areas, main town, or legendary battle places.
            Have you been doing this? And if true could you tell me what decide which text there should be loaded? The D0 text get loaded evey time i try, but the D1 must be there for some reason, I been thinking if they just made it the same, and then the D1 is for the blue version?
            __________________
            THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            Reply With Quote
              #7    
            Old July 29th, 2008 (2:01 PM).
            GBChacker GBChacker is offline
               
              Join Date: Mar 2008
              Posts: 18
              I'm having a hard time understanding your english, for the D0 and D1 are you talking about the hex bytes in the message? I can't say how that affects the loading yet, but the offset will be useless to you unless you actually know asm. There isn't just one offset , I've been tracing the text and its routines and there seems to be one for loading it from the rom.
              Reply With Quote
                #8    
              Old July 29th, 2008 (4:52 PM).
              aggrononer612 aggrononer612 is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2008
                Gender:
                Posts: 13
                Cant wait till I play this hacked verison
                Reply With Quote
                  #9    
                Old July 30th, 2008 (12:21 AM).
                thethethethe thethethethe is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2007
                  Location: Melbourne, Australia
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1,104
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by GBChacker View Post
                  I'm having a hard time understanding your english, for the D0 and D1 are you talking about the hex bytes in the message? I can't say how that affects the loading yet, but the offset will be useless to you unless you actually know asm. There isn't just one offset , I've been tracing the text and its routines and there seems to be one for loading it from the rom.
                  He's talking about the scripting engine. Not the actual routine that loads text.
                  __________________
                  Gone.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #10    
                  Old December 17th, 2012 (7:50 PM). Edited December 17th, 2012 by Rambagos.
                  Rambagos's Avatar
                  Rambagos Rambagos is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                    Location: Indonesia
                    Age: 20
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Modest
                    Posts: 113
                    Hi. Can you help me? How to change logo PMD from title screen?
                    i.imgur.com/9IVxR.png
                    Reply With Quote
                    Reply

                    Quick Reply

                    Join the conversation!

                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                    Sponsored Links
                    Thread Tools

                    Posting Rules
                    You may not post new threads
                    You may not post replies
                    You may not post attachments
                    You may not edit your posts

                    BB code is On
                    Smilies are On
                    [IMG] code is On
                    HTML code is Off

                    Forum Jump


                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:11 AM.