Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old January 30th, 2009 (4:12 PM).
Star-Lord's Avatar
Star-Lord Star-Lord is offline
faith.
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 671
Thank you very much. This tutorial is helping me alot.
__________________
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #77    
Old January 30th, 2009 (8:51 PM).
Supernova933 Supernova933 is offline
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Posts: 1
    I have a problem, when I try to warp maps, it just goes to a random map, and when I go back to the map I was working on, it says there is no events, for this map, but I saved, I want to make a warp to the inside of the heroes house, on Fire Red, so I made a new map, and this keeps happening. Can somebody help me?
    Reply With Quote
      #78    
    Old February 1st, 2009 (2:45 PM).
    Full Metal's Avatar
    Full Metal Full Metal is offline
    C(++) Developer.
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: In my mind.
    Age: 21
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Timid
    Posts: 806
    how might one have a sprite hidden come out and hide to never be shown again?(I use pksv and xse)
    __________________

    ★ full metal.

    I like to push it,
    and push it,
    until my luck is over.
    Reply With Quote
      #79    
    Old February 1st, 2009 (5:41 PM).
    bendystraw bendystraw is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2009
      Gender:
      Posts: 1
      I'm a little confused about making warps between maps with Advance map.
      I figured that there would be warps between each and every map. For example, in the Pallet Town map, I thought that there would be warps that you would step on at the top of Pallet Town to take you to route 1, and vice versa.
      But when I look at the events, there is nothing there! Is there a way to, say, change the 'exit' of Pallet town to be, for instance, on the right side of the map instead of the top? If I am going to make a hack with all different maps, I need a way to change the map entrances. Do they even use warps? I don't see how moving from city to route is handled by the game, or whether it's possible to change it.
      Reply With Quote
        #80    
      Old February 1st, 2009 (6:09 PM).
      Full Metal's Avatar
      Full Metal Full Metal is offline
      C(++) Developer.
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: In my mind.
      Age: 21
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 806
      look at the connection viewer which is the icon with 4 arrows pointing in your compass directions (N,E,S,W)
      __________________

      ★ full metal.

      I like to push it,
      and push it,
      until my luck is over.
      Reply With Quote
        #81    
      Old February 2nd, 2009 (2:13 PM). Edited February 2nd, 2009 by Sunsetguy.
      Sunsetguy Sunsetguy is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2009
        Posts: 3
        Okay, How do I get Fly Events to work... I tried to add one but it won't let me
        Reply With Quote
          #82    
        Old February 2nd, 2009 (4:58 PM).
        Full Metal's Avatar
        Full Metal Full Metal is offline
        C(++) Developer.
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2008
        Location: In my mind.
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 806
        i don't think you can in advance-map. U can edit them using a program included with poke-tronic though...I don't really know if that is applicable to creating new ones though....
        __________________

        ★ full metal.

        I like to push it,
        and push it,
        until my luck is over.
        Reply With Quote
          #83    
        Old February 2nd, 2009 (5:34 PM).
        Robert Conley's Avatar
        Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
        GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
           
          Join Date: Oct 2008
          Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Docile
          Posts: 330
          Great tut but the delete map spoiler doesn't seem to work. Why is that?
          Reply With Quote
            #84    
          Old February 3rd, 2009 (12:40 PM). Edited February 4th, 2009 by mew999.
          mew999 mew999 is offline
             
            Join Date: Jun 2007
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 14
            Hey when i make a new map and connect it to another i can go in to the connected map but i cant get back to the other it blocks me what do i ahve to do?
            Reply With Quote
              #85    
            Old February 3rd, 2009 (4:03 PM).
            monobi's Avatar
            monobi monobi is offline
            Pokémon Pixel Trainer
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Location: Cambridge, England
              Gender:
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 105
              Wow, great tutorial! Very in depth!
              Added to bookmarks so i can come back, am passing it onto a few who might find it useful o;

              Any tips for map design in general? What makes a good map..?

              Thanks a lot!
              Reply With Quote
                #86    
              Old February 4th, 2009 (2:23 PM).
              Sunsetguy Sunsetguy is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Posts: 3
                when doing Warps what is the Unknown used for?
                Reply With Quote
                  #87    
                Old February 6th, 2009 (12:35 AM).
                12345's Avatar
                12345 12345 is offline
                Sky
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 410
                  When I insert new map, the name of new of is "litteroot town" ? (Ruby)
                  How do change name a new map?
                  Reply With Quote
                    #88    
                  Old February 7th, 2009 (5:27 PM).
                  link12552's Avatar
                  link12552 link12552 is offline
                  to measure how far we wonder
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2007
                    Location: The blue one
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 203
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Sunsetguy View Post
                    when doing Warps what is the Unknown used for?

                    Warp unknown 3 is for the on player step event

                    If you leave the unknown at 0 sometimes the warp may not work as desired.


                    Currently Working on:
                    ___________________________________

                    Nameless hack

                    "What makes a map good" < Don't know if I'll finnish this one
                    Reply With Quote
                      #89    
                    Old February 7th, 2009 (8:18 PM).
                    Mourgrim's Avatar
                    Mourgrim Mourgrim is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2008
                      Age: 25
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Rash
                      Posts: 19
                      Does this make sense? Some of my warps don't seem to work. An example: You know the hole you use for caves that you walk into enter the cave? Well, I can't come back out. The "Goto" works perfectly on Advanced Map, but when I walk on the warp, it doesn't work. Anyone know what's going on or has had similar problems?
                      Reply With Quote
                        #90    
                      Old February 14th, 2009 (11:57 PM).
                      Seadiga's Avatar
                      Seadiga Seadiga is offline
                      Art is a bang, hm!
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Quiet
                        Posts: 351
                        I'm tring to get The door of my house in FireRed to go to a place where you catch Lugia in a differant map.But every time I try it doesn't work.Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?
                        __________________

                        Why can't you be happy,Like Twrappy the
                        Trapinch!
                        Diamond FC
                        Platinum FC
                        HeartGold FC
                        Dragonites are Awesome, don't you agree?

                        Rival: Vorteld the Hounchkrow
                        Reply With Quote
                          #91    
                        Old February 15th, 2009 (4:05 PM).
                        link12552's Avatar
                        link12552 link12552 is offline
                        to measure how far we wonder
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2007
                          Location: The blue one
                          Age: 21
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 203
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by LugiaQueen2 View Post
                          I'm tring to get The door of my house in FireRed to go to a place where you catch Lugia in a differant map.But every time I try it doesn't work.Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Mourgrim View Post
                          Does this make sense? Some of my warps don't seem to work. An example: You know the hole you use for caves that you walk into enter the cave? Well, I can't come back out. The "Goto" works perfectly on Advanced Map, but when I walk on the warp, it doesn't work. Anyone know what's going on or has had similar problems?
                          Make sure that in the tile ,with the warp on it, that its behavior is set to warp. Change the unknows for the warp to 3 and if you're doing a lower caves exit set the warp behavior to an arrow and a warp. This should fix both of your problems.
                          _______________________________

                          Respond if this is succesful and if it's not ttry to give me more details
                          Reply With Quote
                            #92    
                          Old February 17th, 2009 (4:06 PM).
                          Mewtwo760's Avatar
                          Mewtwo760 Mewtwo760 is offline
                          Gamer/Hacker
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Location: Somewhere
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 25
                            I know I'm a little late, i just found this but it's great! If someone can just help me with creating warps and editing scripts... It would be perfect!
                            __________________

                            Name: Mewtwo
                            Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage



                            Reply With Quote
                              #93    
                            Old February 21st, 2009 (11:50 AM).
                            rescuecp's Avatar
                            rescuecp rescuecp is offline
                            Redhead :P
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: New York State, US
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 34
                              How do I make new names for maps without erasing old ones
                              __________________
                              My Skype Name is: Mystogan.Scarlet15

                              Thanks
                              Reply With Quote
                                #94    
                              Old February 23rd, 2009 (5:01 AM).
                              pyscho_red's Avatar
                              pyscho_red pyscho_red is offline
                              will give it another shot !
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2008
                                Location: bunbury
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Docile
                                Posts: 15
                                hey, nice tutorial it explained and helped me quite a bit but the only problem i'm having is that when i load my tile sets the tile that i put in is all different and messed up colours
                                any tips ? thanks
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #95    
                                Old February 24th, 2009 (1:18 PM). Edited February 24th, 2009 by pyro903.
                                pyro903's Avatar
                                pyro903 pyro903 is offline
                                ╠═P═Z═Y═R═0 ╣
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                                  Location: jupiter's third moon
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Quiet
                                  Posts: 27
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
                                  Make sure that in the tile ,with the warp on it, that its behavior is set to warp. Change the unknows for the warp to 3 and if you're doing a lower caves exit set the warp behavior to an arrow and a warp. This should fix both of your problems.
                                  _______________________________

                                  Respond if this is succesful and if it's not ttry to give me more details

                                  how do i set the behavoiur?
                                  __________________
                                  be my wii freind!

                                  ============================================
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #96    
                                  Old February 25th, 2009 (12:08 PM).
                                  quillmagma's Avatar
                                  quillmagma quillmagma is offline
                                  powercrazed trainer
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                                    Location: in a cartboard box on the sun
                                    Age: 22
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bashful
                                    Posts: 37
                                    if i do that it replaces pallet town or littleroot town
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #97    
                                    Old February 26th, 2009 (8:17 AM).
                                    BlitŻ's Avatar
                                    BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
                                    guahh my dog is so cute
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                                    Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
                                    Age: 22
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 472
                                    This was really helpful.

                                    But my question is how to connect a town to a route with using warps.
                                    Is there some sorta script command or something?
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #98    
                                    Old February 27th, 2009 (2:39 PM).
                                    link12552's Avatar
                                    link12552 link12552 is offline
                                    to measure how far we wonder
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2007
                                      Location: The blue one
                                      Age: 21
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Calm
                                      Posts: 203
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by jebees View Post
                                      This was really helpful.

                                      But my question is how to connect a town to a route with using warps.
                                      Is there some sorta script command or something?
                                      You have to use a map conection on both the route and the town



                                      You must have connections on both the town and the route or else the game won't work the connection properly. Also make sure the both of the maps alighn
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #99    
                                      Old February 28th, 2009 (3:40 AM).
                                      Agamo's Avatar
                                      Agamo Agamo is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                                        Location: Adelaide
                                        Age: 21
                                        Gender:
                                        Posts: 35
                                        I've got a question how do you change where a person walks like professor oak when he's taking you to the lab I think you said how to do this but I didn't understand
                                        __________________
                                        ...
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #100    
                                        Old February 28th, 2009 (12:50 PM).
                                        link12552's Avatar
                                        link12552 link12552 is offline
                                        to measure how far we wonder
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2007
                                          Location: The blue one
                                          Age: 21
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Calm
                                          Posts: 203
                                          c
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Agamo View Post
                                          I've got a question how do you change where a person walks like professor oak when he's taking you to the lab I think you said how to do this but I didn't understand
                                          You have to edit the script and change the movements.

                                          This is best done in XSE...

                                          I can't really help ,but when you open the script to change the movements make sure you change the players to.
                                          Reply With Quote
                                          Reply
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:00 AM.