Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #201    
Old November 28th, 2009 (4:38 AM).
Fortevn's Avatar
Fortevn Fortevn is offline
Yandere
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 4

    Hi there, I'm a new member here. This is a good tut but somehow I got problems:

    I tried to create a new bank with maps (new region), then I inserted a map I made before in.
    - After I closed AM (saved, of course) and re open it, the map I inserted was gone. Only a big green field remains.

    I tried to insert new tileset from another rom (Like, a hacked rom that has bamboo, so I ripped it off with all 12 palettes)
    - After I closed AM (saved, of course) and re open it, the palettes are messed up. I did these:
    1. Load the tileset.
    2. Load all the palettes. (Saved each time)
    3. Load the blocks.

    But still, the palettes weren't saved at all. Not all 12 palettes, but only palettes 8,9,10 - The parts that I need.

    Please answer, I'm sorry if these questions were replied (I didn't find an in this topic tho) if they were, please give me the link to the answers.
    Thanks

    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #202    
    Old November 28th, 2009 (6:41 AM).
    Pokepal17's Avatar
    Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
    More cowbell~
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Steeltown
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,511

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Fortevn View Post
    Hi there, I'm a new member here. This is a good tut but somehow I got problems:

    I tried to create a new bank with maps (new region), then I inserted a map I made before in.
    - After I closed AM (saved, of course) and re open it, the map I inserted was gone. Only a big green field remains.

    I tried to insert new tileset from another rom (Like, a hacked rom that has bamboo, so I ripped it off with all 12 palettes)
    - After I closed AM (saved, of course) and re open it, the palettes are messed up. I did these:
    1. Load the tileset.
    2. Load all the palettes. (Saved each time)
    3. Load the blocks.

    But still, the palettes weren't saved at all. Not all 12 palettes, but only palettes 8,9,10 - The parts that I need.

    Please answer, I'm sorry if these questions were replied (I didn't find an in this topic tho) if they were, please give me the link to the answers.
    Thanks

    Click, right palette changes to rom so make the palette changes permanent, before you leave the current map, or else the changes won't be saved to the rom. :3

    __________________

    Pokémon Stardrop

    Reply With Quote
      #203    
    Old November 28th, 2009 (7:26 AM).
    Fortevn's Avatar
    Fortevn Fortevn is offline
    Yandere
       
      Join Date: Nov 2009
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 4

      This? (attachment)
      No didn't help, I tried clicking it 72364382490 times already.

      Was there a tut for creating brand new maps?

      Attached Images
      File Type: gif untitled.GIF‎ (71.3 KB, 33 views) (Save to Dropbox)
      __________________

      Reply With Quote
        #204    
      Old November 28th, 2009 (2:47 PM).
      helloNL helloNL is offline
         
        Join Date: Oct 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 37

        is there a way to get a map to the bottom of the map like the map 3 in fire red so you can delete it?

        Reply With Quote
          #205    
        Old November 28th, 2009 (10:44 PM).
        dronep dronep is offline
           
          Join Date: Nov 2009
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 4

          i use advance map 1.92 with a firered rom how do u add pokemon

          Reply With Quote
            #206    
          Old November 29th, 2009 (1:36 AM).
          helloNL helloNL is offline
             
            Join Date: Oct 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 37

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by dronep View Post
            i use advance map 1.92 with a firered rom how do u add pokemon

            they are already in
            but if you wanna add other ones you will need to have unlz gba
            and then somewhere around 700 you can find balbasaur and then you can change it but search a tutorial

            Reply With Quote
              #207    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (6:59 AM).
            Pokepal17's Avatar
            Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
            More cowbell~
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Oct 2008
            Location: Steeltown
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 1,511

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by helloNL View Post
            is there a way to get a map to the bottom of the map like the map 3 in fire red so you can delete it?

            Don't try deleting maps, it's kinda pointless because what if you have to reinsert them again? And also, it could potentially screw up your rom.

            __________________

            Pokémon Stardrop

            Reply With Quote
              #208    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (7:13 AM).
            Jemzx's Avatar
            Jemzx Jemzx is offline
            Guardian Trainer
               
              Join Date: Nov 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 44

              Hi, I'm having problems with changing Prof. Oak's talk when he stops m (at the beggining, the wild pokemon in grass issue...) When I change the text (Hey, stop, wild pokemon live in grass...) Well I put it in certain order, and it disorders again later that I save the scritp...

              Well, it has to be scripted in a specific way, or should I add flags or something else...?

              By the way, what I'm doing is changing Prof. Oak for Gary Oak xD

              Reply With Quote
                #209    
              Old November 29th, 2009 (7:31 AM).
              helloNL helloNL is offline
                 
                Join Date: Oct 2009
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 37

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
                Don't try deleting maps, it's kinda pointless because what if you have to reinsert them again? And also, it could potentially screw up your rom.

                i just wanna get rid of the maps i dont need
                i want to make new space for scripts and so

                is it also possible to delete all maps and banks

                Reply With Quote
                  #210    
                Old November 29th, 2009 (7:53 AM).
                Pokepal17's Avatar
                Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                More cowbell~
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Oct 2008
                Location: Steeltown
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 1,511

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by helloNL View Post
                i just wanna get rid of the maps i dont need
                i want to make new space for scripts and so

                is it also possible to delete all maps and banks

                Well, there's enough space in the rom to make Fire Red all over again, so I doubt you'll need to. And instead of deleting them, you could resize them to 1x1.

                __________________

                Pokémon Stardrop

                Reply With Quote
                  #211    
                Old November 29th, 2009 (8:00 AM).
                poripori poripori is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 11

                  i hope that im better in mapping now

                  Reply With Quote
                    #212    
                  Old December 4th, 2009 (1:38 AM).
                  infernape of shadows's Avatar
                  infernape of shadows infernape of shadows is offline
                  Pokemon Master Perfectionist
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2009
                    Location: Melbourne, Australia
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Naughty
                    Posts: 2

                    Awesome, I've always wanted to hack. 4 only 45 dooll-eerrrrs

                    __________________

                    Infernape of Shadows

                    Knowledge is Power,
                    Wisdom is Authority,
                    and
                    Understanding is Leadership.

                    Reply With Quote
                      #213    
                    Old December 5th, 2009 (1:19 AM).
                    ·_.U's Avatar
                    ·_.U ·_.U is offline
                    ~Spanish hacker/Wise·Max·Larvi
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2009
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 11

                      o___O I did not know the role of Person Id and now thanks to the tutorial I am clarify =)
                      Thank you very much.
                      I'll have fewer scripts level in my hack now xD

                      __________________

                      Siento no entender porque siento lo que siento,
                      Siento entender-lo y no poder decir te quiero.
                      Siento tener-te siempre en mi pensamiento,
                      Siento que puedo perder-te y solo de pensar-lo muero ♫
                      Sorry for my bad inglish xD

                      Reply With Quote
                        #214    
                      Old December 10th, 2009 (12:19 PM).
                      amoliski's Avatar
                      amoliski amoliski is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                        Location: Williamsport PA
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 44

                        How do you change the behavior of some tiles, like, for computers. it says, "better not touch it," how do you change what is said. In the block editor, it says behavior byte: 82. Where do I find the script it corresponds to?

                        Reply With Quote
                          #215    
                        Old December 10th, 2009 (9:45 PM).
                        dronep dronep is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 4

                          how do u add like a whole new world map

                          Reply With Quote
                            #216    
                          Old December 15th, 2009 (2:48 AM).
                          Aipo's Avatar
                          Aipo Aipo is offline
                          Catch that Aipom!!!
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2009
                            Location: Somewhere near Brussels in Belgium
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 23

                            great tutorial, you really helped me! thx!

                            __________________

                            http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic170618_1.gif

                            Reply With Quote
                              #217    
                            Old December 15th, 2009 (9:32 PM).
                            minchan's Avatar
                            minchan minchan is offline
                            Mudkip Worshipper
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2008
                              Location: mudkip land
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Female
                              Posts: 714

                              I've been using Advance Map for a while now, but I don't really do much hacking, so I'm fairly new at it. This tutorial helped me out a lot!

                              Before this, I only knew how to change tiles, move events, edit walking and wall movement permissions, and add Pokemon. So thanks for making this tutorial!

                              __________________

                              Reply With Quote
                                #218    
                              Old December 20th, 2009 (11:40 PM).
                              Younegai Younegai is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2009
                                Posts: 9

                                Hey, I'm a new person here!

                                I've got a couple questions/problems though.

                                Since I just jumped into AdvanceMap right from the get go, I had no idea of most of its features. I had the intent of creating brand new maps, not edits, and as a result I had selected the "Create Map" button, and proceeded from there. I've made a couple decent maps with the help of the Block Editor feature or whatever it's called.

                                Anyways, getting back on point...

                                - Should these new maps I've created be put in a special folder or something like the "Header" and those three folders that show up on the left side of Advance Map with the already existing maps in order for me to test the game?
                                - And if so, how do I do that?
                                - Also I'm making this game in coordination with other people, and is there a way to export/import the edits I've made to the tilesets so that the others working on the hack can have them too?

                                Sorry for asking so much, but thanks to anyone willing to answer! And I'm sure I'll be back with more questions later...

                                *Oh and this is a Fire Red ROM by the way, if it helps or not.

                                Reply With Quote
                                  #219    
                                Old December 23rd, 2009 (9:29 PM).
                                sasuke32412 sasuke32412 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2009
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 1

                                  HEY LINK12552!! i need some answers lol if you u can help me out that would be great. Incase you don't remember my screenname i go to school with you that should give me away right there haha

                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #220    
                                  Old December 25th, 2009 (4:25 PM).
                                  Younegai Younegai is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2009
                                    Posts: 9

                                    Okay, disregard my last post, I've figured everything out.

                                    I just have a simple question... if a map's border were too narrow, could one just shift the map over a couple of "X coordinates" in order to have more room on the left side?

                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #221    
                                    Old December 26th, 2009 (6:47 AM).
                                    link12552's Avatar
                                    link12552 link12552 is offline
                                    to measure how far we wonder
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2007
                                      Location: The blue one
                                      Age: 21
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Calm
                                      Posts: 203

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Younegai View Post
                                      Okay, disregard my last post, I've figured everything out.

                                      I just have a simple question... if a map's border were too narrow, could one just shift the map over a couple of "X coordinates" in order to have more room on the left side?

                                      From what I'm reading, I take it that the left side of your map is not in correspondence with the border or that you don't want the player to see the border.

                                      If this is the case I would recommend changing the size of the map's width in the header tab by how many ever you see fit and then moving everything on the map to the right.

                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #222    
                                      Old December 27th, 2009 (12:24 AM). Edited December 30th, 2009 by Younegai.
                                      Younegai Younegai is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2009
                                        Posts: 9

                                        Yes, I have to do that. I was just wondering if it was possible to do that someway instead of doing it manually through right-click and whatnot.

                                        And I just hit a roadblock that is more important than anything else right now... I'm connecting two different routes horizontally, but for some reason, they won't connect. I've tried multiple offset numbers and I can't seem to figure it out. According to all my other maps that have worked, they should have no offset, but they're still not working...

                                        When I load the ROM into virtual boy to play it, I notice that some tiles are not affected by the weather alterations I've used in the map. For example, I've used one of the fog/mist weather types and some of the tiles are not affected and they just stand out completely, and the weird thing is is that those tiles were ones that I edited but rather ones already in the ROM.

                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #223    
                                        Old December 30th, 2009 (9:21 PM).
                                        altariaking's Avatar
                                        altariaking altariaking is offline
                                        Needs NO VMs...
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2009
                                          Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
                                          Age: 42
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Naive
                                          Posts: 1,098

                                          thanks, this was a helpful tutorial!

                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #224    
                                          Old January 1st, 2010 (2:13 PM).
                                          ChaosNinjat's Avatar
                                          ChaosNinjat ChaosNinjat is offline
                                          Dragon Ranger
                                             
                                            Join Date: Dec 2009
                                            Location: Teh Pub
                                            Age: 24
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Adamant
                                            Posts: 23

                                            Hey, this a great tutorial, it's really helped me, but is there way to create and add you're own custom made tiles to the game?

                                            __________________

                                            3DS friend code: 4699 - 5917 - 7953
                                            Need a spriter? As long as I'm credited, I'm happy to help with what ever you need, just give me a PM
                                            My Hacks:

                                            Hacks I support:

                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #225    
                                            Old January 2nd, 2010 (7:04 PM).
                                            TeamRocketApollo's Avatar
                                            TeamRocketApollo TeamRocketApollo is offline
                                            Beginning Trainer
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jun 2008
                                              Location: New Bark Town, Johto
                                              Age: 24
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Calm
                                              Posts: 72

                                              I was wondering, is there away to use Advanced Map for Pokemon Platinum? If there isn't, what do I use to make maps using platinum tiles?

                                              __________________

                                              Hacks I support




                                              Reply With Quote
                                              Reply
                                              Quick Reply

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:04 PM.