ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #6526    
Old March 2nd, 2012 (2:56 PM).
TarnWilliamson TarnWilliamson is offline
     
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Posts: 6
    Hey everyone, i have a small problem. I am using a script with a flag in it. All is ok until i leave a house and the re-enter, the flag is cleared. And i have to activate the script to set the flag again. How can i make it so when the flag is set, it is set permanently (unless i use another script with a clearflag in it). Thanks.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #6527    
    Old March 2nd, 2012 (3:00 PM).
    Echidna's Avatar
    Echidna Echidna is offline
    i don't care what's in your hair
    • Platinum Tier
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: Illinois
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Brave
    Posts: 2,082
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by TarnWilliamson View Post
    Hey everyone, i have a small problem. I am using a script with a flag in it. All is ok until i leave a house and the re-enter, the flag is cleared. And i have to activate the script to set the flag again. How can i make it so when the flag is set, it is set permanently (unless i use another script with a clearflag in it). Thanks.
    When you set a flag, it is, by default permanently set. I think the problem is that you're using a flag that is either map specific, or one that the game is already using. So I think your problem should be solved if you use a flag above 1000.
    __________________
    but my taste in music is your face
      #6528    
    Old March 2nd, 2012 (3:12 PM).
    TarnWilliamson TarnWilliamson is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2012
      Posts: 6
      Thank you so much, you were right, i tried using a flag above 1000 and it worked Thanks again
        #6529    
      Old March 3rd, 2012 (3:05 PM).
      Hacks0rus's Avatar
      Hacks0rus Hacks0rus is offline
      Monster Raving Looney
         
        Join Date: Jul 2011
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 24
        Hello all, Having a bit of trouble getting item scripts to work. These are items that the player will find in the pokeballs across the map like in the normal games.

        However, I cannot seem to get the item to disappear after finding it.
        my script (using advance map and xse):

        #dynamic 0x(offset)
        #org @start

        giveitem 0x4 0x1 0x1
        end

        This is what I saw in a scripting tutorial. I also tried setflag on the person ID, but the item came back when I left and re-entered the route. Any help would be much appreciated.
          #6530    
        Old March 3rd, 2012 (10:45 PM).
        goldenyellowcrystal's Avatar
        goldenyellowcrystal goldenyellowcrystal is offline
        A Black Crystal of Mystery
           
          Join Date: Aug 2011
          Location: Aspertia City, Unova
          Age: 19
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 35
          How come when I compile my script in xse it doesnt work but I hear the clicking sound when i play it? (I dont know how to spoiler the script)
          Pokemon Fire Red BPRE

          #dynamic 0x800000

          #org @start
          lock
          faceplayer
          msgbox @hello 0x6
          release
          end

          #org @hello
          = Hello there.
          __________________
          Black 2 FC: 5201 0498 7362 (Yellow)
          Black FC: 1077 8979 1077 (Yellow)
            #6531    
          Old March 3rd, 2012 (11:07 PM).
          DrFuji's Avatar
          DrFuji DrFuji is offline
          Heiki Hecchara‌‌
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Sep 2009
          Location: Downia-upside
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 1,328
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by goldenyellowcrystal View Post
          How come when I compile my script in xse it doesnt work but I hear the clicking sound when i play it? (I dont know how to spoiler the script)
          Pokemon Fire Red BPRE

          #dynamic 0x800000

          #org @start
          lock
          faceplayer
          msgbox @hello 0x6
          release
          end

          #org @hello
          = Hello there.
          Your script is correctly written so that leads me to believe that it is your version of XSE that is the problem. You most likely have version 1.0.0 (which is notoriously buggy) when you need 1.1.1. Here is a link to download the newer XSE.

          As for spoilering text use [spoiler] and [/spoiler] before and after the stuff you want to hide.
          __________________
            #6532    
          Old March 4th, 2012 (3:15 AM).
          Spherical Ice's Avatar
          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2007
          Location: Bristol, UK
          Age: 19
          Posts: 5,235
          Is there some form of level script code that would make it so that when I warp to a map it starts at a black screen? Using fadescreen leaves a second gap where you can see everything and kinda ruins the effect.
          __________________

          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
            #6533    
          Old March 4th, 2012 (3:55 AM).
          Mana's Avatar
          Mana Mana is offline
          • Platinum Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2009
          Location: UK
          Gender: Female
          Posts: 10,027
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
          Is there some form of level script code that would make it so that when I warp to a map it starts at a black screen? Using fadescreen leaves a second gap where you can see everything and kinda ruins the effect.
          I suppose you could use the fadescreen on the script that warps you there originally? No idea if that actually works or if it's what you mean :3
            #6534    
          Old March 4th, 2012 (3:58 AM). Edited March 4th, 2012 by Spherical Ice.
          Spherical Ice's Avatar
          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2007
          Location: Bristol, UK
          Age: 19
          Posts: 5,235
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by SwiftSign View Post
          I suppose you could use the fadescreen on the script that warps you there originally? No idea if that actually works or if it's what you mean :3
          That doesn't work but I'm just putting the script that would happen on Map B happen on Map A and then warp over. Only problem is the fadescreen cancels for a second before it warps so it's just as bad >:

          e Well I just cheated and moved the camera while the fadescreen was up to a part of the map that was black and just left it there. It's a cheat but it works I guess.
          __________________

          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
            #6535    
          Old March 4th, 2012 (5:49 PM).
          aradatm aradatm is offline
             
            Join Date: Feb 2012
            Gender: Female
            Posts: 4
            I've been using JPAN's FireRed Hack Rom for a week now and I've looked into the Sethealingplace command and I feel I've gotten it right but I guess I put it as the wrong level script or maybe I didn't actually get it right? I'm trying to duplicate the 'warping back to mom when you lose' so here's what I did:

            #dynamic 0x80000
            #org @main
            sethealingplace 0x1
            setvar 0x405A 0x0004 (that's how it is for bank4, map0, right?)
            setvar 0x405B 0x0008 (x-coordinate)
            setvar 0x405C 0x0005 (y-coordinate)
            end

            I put that script in script no (0), script type (on entering map/not on menu close (3))

            Then I have:

            #dynamic 0x80000
            #org @main
            special 0x182
            end

            on script no (1), script type (on entering map/on map close (5))

            I'm not sure what I did wrong.
              #6536    
            Old March 5th, 2012 (3:23 AM).
            Mana's Avatar
            Mana Mana is offline
            • Platinum Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2009
            Location: UK
            Gender: Female
            Posts: 10,027
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
            That doesn't work but I'm just putting the script that would happen on Map B happen on Map A and then warp over. Only problem is the fadescreen cancels for a second before it warps so it's just as bad >:

            e Well I just cheated and moved the camera while the fadescreen was up to a part of the map that was black and just left it there. It's a cheat but it works I guess.
            Aha that works, also using a tiny completely black map can be useful as then you can warp after the script (and it could be recycled).
              #6537    
            Old March 5th, 2012 (4:02 AM).
            DrFuji's Avatar
            DrFuji DrFuji is offline
            Heiki Hecchara‌‌
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Location: Downia-upside
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 1,328
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by aradatm View Post
            I've been using JPAN's FireRed Hack Rom for a week now and I've looked into the Sethealingplace command and I feel I've gotten it right but I guess I put it as the wrong level script or maybe I didn't actually get it right? I'm trying to duplicate the 'warping back to mom when you lose' so here's what I did:

            #dynamic 0x80000
            #org @main
            sethealingplace 0x1
            setvar 0x405A 0x0004 (that's how it is for bank4, map0, right?)
            setvar 0x405B 0x0008 (x-coordinate)
            setvar 0x405C 0x0005 (y-coordinate)
            end

            I put that script in script no (0), script type (on entering map/not on menu close (3))

            Then I have:

            #dynamic 0x80000
            #org @main
            special 0x182
            end

            on script no (1), script type (on entering map/on map close (5))

            I'm not sure what I did wrong.
            Yeah, that's how JPAN's hacked sethealingplace command works and you've set it out correctly so I'm not sure what could be going wrong. What exactly happens when you've whited out in your hack? Does the game crash? Are you warped to a different map? Does it display the wrong text etc?

            I'm also not sure why you're using special 0x182 - Is it really necessary?

            Also, you should add an extra '0' onto the end of your #define commands ;)
            __________________
              #6538    
            Old March 5th, 2012 (4:37 PM).
            Locust_Arts Locust_Arts is offline
            Your Rival
               
              Join Date: Mar 2012
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 1
              I am using the following code to attempt to hack Pokemon Emerald. It's a script to give the player a TOGEPI egg. My editor is PKSV-UI.
              Spoiler:
              #dyn 0x740000
              '-----------------------------------
              #org @start
              lock
              checkflag 0x200
              if 0x1 jump @given
              setflag FR_POKEMON
              countpokemon
              compare LASTRESULT 6
              if == jump @noroom
              giveegg TOGEPI
              setflag 0x200
              message @get-msg
              release
              end

              #org @noroom
              msgbox @noroom-msg
              callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
              release
              end

              #org @given
              msgbox @given-msg
              callstd MSG_NORMAL
              release
              end

              #org @noroom-msg
              = You don't have enough room in your party.

              #org @get-msg
              = You got a \v\h02!

              #org @given-msg
              = I hope you can take better care of that EGG than I can[.]

              If anyone could help me find out what exactly is wrong with this code because it doesn't let me compile it into the game D= that would be AWESOME and I'd love you forever (a long time) =D
                #6539    
              Old March 5th, 2012 (7:29 PM).
              Rumille's Avatar
              Rumille Rumille is offline
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 72
                So, what's the deal with the Script Offset in Advance Map? I'm trying to create new signs, I get the event placed, but I can't seem to figure out how the script is corresponding with the Script Offset function. I now randomly change one or two symbols in the code (0x168CD4 becomes 0x168CD3 for example), but that can't be the right way, can it?

                For example, in the bedroom you start in, you have this:
                Quote:
                '-----------------------
                #org 0x168CD2
                msgbox 0x818D50B '"[player] played with the NES.\p[.]O..."
                callstd 0x3
                end


                '---------
                ' Strings
                '---------
                #org 0x18D50B
                = [player] played with the NES.\p[.]Okay!\nIt's time to go!
                Now, I have created a new room with another NES and I want it to say something else instead of 'played with the NES', for example '[player] kicked the computer's butt with Mario Kart'. To get that script to work on the second NES, I have to put in a code in the script offset, which in this case should be $168CD2, but that code is already used in the first bedroom. How does this work? Is there a trick to get a new code very easy?
                  #6540    
                Old March 5th, 2012 (7:35 PM). Edited March 5th, 2012 by droomph.
                droomph's Avatar
                droomph droomph is offline
                weeb
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2011
                Location: nowhere spectacular
                Age: 20
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Impish
                Posts: 4,291
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                So, what's the deal with the Script Offset in Advance Map? I'm trying to create new signs, I get the event placed, but I can't seem to figure out how the script is corresponding with the Script Offset function. I now randomly change one or two symbols in the code (0x168CD4 becomes 0x168CD3 for example), but that can't be the right way, can it?

                For example, in the bedroom you start in, you have this:


                Now, I have created a new room with another NES and I want it to say something else instead of 'played with the NES', for example '[player] kicked the computer's butt with Mario Kart'. To get that script to work on the second NES, I have to put in a code in the script offset, which in this case should be $168CD2, but that code is already used in the first bedroom. How does this work? Is there a trick to get a new code very easy?
                Create a new script with XSE or PKSV or whatever, and then paste the offset that it compiles to into the second Script offset box.

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Locust_Arts View Post
                I am using the following code to attempt to hack Pokemon Emerald. It's a script to give the player a TOGEPI egg. My editor is PKSV-UI.
                Spoiler:
                #dyn 0x740000
                '-----------------------------------
                #org @start
                lock
                checkflag 0x200
                if 0x1 jump @given
                setflag FR_POKEMON
                countpokemon
                compare LASTRESULT 6
                if == jump @noroom
                giveegg TOGEPI
                setflag 0x200
                message @get-msg
                release
                end

                #org @noroom
                msgbox @noroom-msg
                callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
                release
                end

                #org @given
                msgbox @given-msg
                callstd MSG_NORMAL
                release
                end

                #org @noroom-msg
                = You don't have enough room in your party.

                #org @get-msg
                = You got a \v\h02!

                #org @given-msg
                = I hope you can take better care of that EGG than I can[.]

                If anyone could help me find out what exactly is wrong with this code because it doesn't let me compile it into the game D= that would be AWESOME and I'd love you forever (a long time) =D
                It should be #dynamic, not #dyn.
                __________________
                did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                o i forgot 5
                uraqt


                  #6541    
                Old March 5th, 2012 (7:54 PM).
                itman itman is offline
                Back to ROM hacking. :D
                   
                  Join Date: May 2007
                  Age: 23
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 100
                  Is there a command in XSE to "checkpokemon" in your party? Like, if you have a Blastoise, go to this, while if you have a Charizard, go to this...
                    #6542    
                  Old March 5th, 2012 (8:56 PM).
                  aradatm aradatm is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2012
                    Gender: Female
                    Posts: 4
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                    Yeah, that's how JPAN's hacked sethealingplace command works and you've set it out correctly so I'm not sure what could be going wrong. What exactly happens when you've whited out in your hack? Does the game crash? Are you warped to a different map? Does it display the wrong text etc?

                    I'm also not sure why you're using special 0x182 - Is it really necessary?

                    Also, you should add an extra '0' onto the end of your #define commands
                    I'm warped to the first map under heading 0, one of those battle union rooms. I figured out that I had to first use the 'setvar 0x4056' and I tried it but the map completely ignored my level script for some reason. I guess something went wrong with the rom somewhere because I tested the level script in a fresh rom and it worked fine. It might have something to do with me changing the starting point map because when I tried to open the program again using that rom, it gave me a 'runtime error' which didn't happen in the past. I don't know why. I guess I'll just have to start over on a clean rom. Oh well. Thanks for replying anyway.
                      #6543    
                    Old March 6th, 2012 (4:48 AM).
                    Rumille's Avatar
                    Rumille Rumille is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 72
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by droomph View Post
                      Create a new script with XSE or PKSV or whatever, and then paste the offset that it compiles to into the second Script offset box.
                      Well, yes, I get that, but how do I decide what the 6-symbol offset is? I mean, I have to make one in the script, don't I?

                      Quote:
                      #org 0x168CD2
                      How do I decide which 6 symbols to use here?
                        #6544    
                      Old March 6th, 2012 (1:12 PM).
                      DrFuji's Avatar
                      DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                      Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                      Location: Downia-upside
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 1,328
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                      Well, yes, I get that, but how do I decide what the 6-symbol offset is? I mean, I have to make one in the script, don't I?


                      How do I decide which 6 symbols to use here?
                      Use a dynamic offset when writing your script - That is why at the top of one you almost always see the command #dynamic 0x800000'. It will automatically search for free space starting at that point in the ROM and then insert your script when it finds an opening. When you compile the script you'll be given several offsets, choose the first one that is presented as it will correlated to the start of your script if you've written it in a coherent manner. Copy it and place it in the event's script box.
                      __________________
                        #6545    
                      Old March 6th, 2012 (1:38 PM).
                      Rumille's Avatar
                      Rumille Rumille is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 72
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                        Use a dynamic offset when writing your script - That is why at the top of one you almost always see the command #dynamic 0x800000'. It will automatically search for free space starting at that point in the ROM and then insert your script when it finds an opening. When you compile the script you'll be given several offsets, choose the first one that is presented as it will correlated to the start of your script if you've written it in a coherent manner. Copy it and place it in the event's script box.
                        This actually makes so much sense. Thanks!
                          #6546    
                        Old March 7th, 2012 (2:09 PM).
                        Hacks0rus's Avatar
                        Hacks0rus Hacks0rus is offline
                        Monster Raving Looney
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2011
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Timid
                          Posts: 24
                          Hello, I was wondering if any could help me out here.
                          Im setting up some level scripts in Pallet, in the downstairs of your house when you are leaving.
                          I get the script to work all fine and stop after it has activated, but the script starts whenever I enter the map, not on the tile that I want it to activate and have set the script on (at the exit).
                          How do I get the script to activate when I stand on it?
                            #6547    
                          Old March 8th, 2012 (9:41 AM).
                          Rumille's Avatar
                          Rumille Rumille is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 72
                            Is it possible to change the standard script for things like bookcases, cabinets, dressers and stuff like that?

                            So you won't get stuff like 'It's a nicely made dresser. It will hold a lot of stuff.'
                              #6548    
                            Old March 8th, 2012 (9:49 AM).
                            Spherical Ice's Avatar
                            Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2007
                            Location: Bristol, UK
                            Age: 19
                            Posts: 5,235
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                            Is it possible to change the standard script for things like bookcases, cabinets, dressers and stuff like that?

                            So you won't get stuff like 'It's a nicely made dresser. It will hold a lot of stuff.'
                            In Advance Map, go to the Block Editor and select the tile you want to change (a TV, bookshelf, whatever), and edit the number in the first box that's titled "Behavior Byte" and change it to $00. So using the example of the Bookshelf tile, you'd replace the $89 part to $00. Hope this helps ;)

                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Hacks0rus View Post
                            Hello, I was wondering if any could help me out here.
                            Im setting up some level scripts in Pallet, in the downstairs of your house when you are leaving.
                            I get the script to work all fine and stop after it has activated, but the script starts whenever I enter the map, not on the tile that I want it to activate and have set the script on (at the exit).
                            How do I get the script to activate when I stand on it?
                            Level scripts are activated upon entry to the map they are assigned to providing the variable they need is not set. Scripts on the Green S tiles are Trigger Events and are activated when the player steps on them. I think you may have gotten a bit confused there :D
                            __________________

                            A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                            Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                              #6549    
                            Old March 8th, 2012 (10:05 AM).
                            Rumille's Avatar
                            Rumille Rumille is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 72
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                              In Advance Map, go to the Block Editor and select the tile you want to change (a TV, bookshelf, whatever), and edit the number in the first box that's titled "Behavior Byte" and change it to $00. So using the example of the Bookshelf tile, you'd replace the $89 part to $00. Hope this helps
                              Well, yes, that's a way, but then you have to add signs to get a new message. I was wondering if it was possible to change the core of that script, you know that if a sprite has $89, you will get the message you have defined personally.
                                #6550    
                              Old March 8th, 2012 (10:18 AM).
                              Spherical Ice's Avatar
                              Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2007
                              Location: Bristol, UK
                              Age: 19
                              Posts: 5,235
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                              Well, yes, that's a way, but then you have to add signs to get a new message. I was wondering if it was possible to change the core of that script, you know that if a sprite has $89, you will get the message you have defined personally.
                              Well, you could always text edit the script, or use JPAN's patch that allows you to make custom Behaviour Bytes.
                              __________________

                              A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                              Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                              Closed Thread

                              Quick Reply

                              Join the conversation!

                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                              Create a PokéCommunity Account

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:16 AM.