Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old October 16th, 2009 (4:03 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,511
Good tutorial, it's a big help for Ruby hackers (not me unforunately >.<)

Anyways, please post on the tutorial that the images must be inserted at an offset ending in 0,4,8 or C because they're LZ77 compressed and that's why some people's don't work.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #52    
Old October 16th, 2009 (5:42 AM).
Zero Karma Loss Zero Karma Loss is offline
     
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 4
    You're right about NTME. I went ahead and redrew it in 8BPP and it loads just fine at the R/S World Map settings. I should note that I'm only getting one "Ptr found at 00XXXXXX. Changed." message per insertion in unLZ.

    The map is still all over the place, but the colors are correct. For whatever reason it seems determined not to adjust to my Johto rendition and scatter itself across the original Hoenn outline instead.
    Reply With Quote
      #53    
    Old October 16th, 2009 (11:57 AM).
    007manyo's Avatar
    007manyo 007manyo is offline
    "The Name's Bond..."
       
      Join Date: Aug 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 122
      i have this pic:



      but i dont know how to turn it into a tilemap...
      help?
      __________________

      Click Mr. happy to go to my game, Questions With Holes!
      d(^-^d)
      Reply With Quote
        #54    
      Old October 17th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
      Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
      Gone
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Oct 2006
      Location: The Netherlands
      Age: 26
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 159
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
      Good tutorial, it's a big help for Ruby hackers (not me unforunately >.<)

      Anyways, please post on the tutorial that the images must be inserted at an offset ending in 0,4,8 or C because they're LZ77 compressed and that's why some people's don't work.
      I totally forgot about that! Thanks for reminding me. I'll add it right away.
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Zero Karma Loss View Post
      You're right about NTME. I went ahead and redrew it in 8BPP and it loads just fine at the R/S World Map settings. I should note that I'm only getting one "Ptr found at 00XXXXXX. Changed." message per insertion in unLZ.

      The map is still all over the place, but the colors are correct. For whatever reason it seems determined not to adjust to my Johto rendition and scatter itself across the original Hoenn outline instead.
      Hmm... Just one message, you say? Did you, by any chance not make a backup before you reinserted the tileset/tilemap? (Or did make a backup, but didn't use it, and inserted the new tileset/tilemap over the previously inserted ones?)
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by 007manyo View Post
      i have this pic:



      but i dont know how to turn it into a tilemap...
      help?
      Well, first off, I see that your image is too big to fit on the GBA screen, which is 240x160 pixels. So unless you make the map smaller, it won't be shown in VBA completely. Second, I think you mean "tileset" instead of "tilemap". And third, check here for an easy way to make a tileset and tilemap out of an image. I'll add this to the first post, too.
      Reply With Quote
        #55    
      Old October 18th, 2009 (12:25 PM). Edited October 18th, 2009 by 007manyo.
      007manyo's Avatar
      007manyo 007manyo is offline
      "The Name's Bond..."
         
        Join Date: Aug 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 122
        thanks!
        the reason its that big is because i assumed your picture on the first post would fit on a GBA screen at 264x168, that is the size you made your picture, so i made mine that big to match your size. i'll fix it soon!

        oh and by the way, i can't acess youtube due to internet filters.
        __________________

        Click Mr. happy to go to my game, Questions With Holes!
        d(^-^d)
        Reply With Quote
          #56    
        Old October 19th, 2009 (4:14 AM).
        Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
        Gone
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Oct 2006
        Location: The Netherlands
        Age: 26
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 159
        Well, the reason my map is that big, is because it has land at the bottom and right edge. If I would have made the map 240x160, and zoomed in on the map in the Pokénav, you could clearly see the sea cutting of the land. With this size, it looks like the land continues. That's the only reason. But you should never place towns and routes outside of the 240x160 border. In fact, in-game, the cursor can't even reach the outermost parts of the screen. The 8 left- and rightmost pixels are inaccessible, just like the 16 topmost, and the 24 bottom pixels. Keep that in mind when creating a map.
        Reply With Quote
          #57    
        Old October 20th, 2009 (6:39 PM).
        007manyo's Avatar
        007manyo 007manyo is offline
        "The Name's Bond..."
           
          Join Date: Aug 2009
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 122
          aah. ok.
          but i load my map just now and it goes all screwy...
          no pics, my old IE7 doesn't support the popup for inserting pics...
          anyway, i might have saved things in 4bpp (that is what i'm used to saving things in, i'm more a firered hacker than a R/S/E hacker.)instead of 8bpp.
          __________________

          Click Mr. happy to go to my game, Questions With Holes!
          d(^-^d)
          Reply With Quote
            #58    
          Old October 21st, 2009 (1:19 AM).
          Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
          Gone
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Oct 2006
          Location: The Netherlands
          Age: 26
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 159
          Yeah, that's one of the differences between FR/LG and R/S/E. That's why, when you switch to another ROM, you should make sure you know what differences there are compared to the old one. (Or at least most of 'em.)
          Reply With Quote
            #59    
          Old November 4th, 2009 (3:32 PM).
          Chaos Rush's Avatar
          Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1,297
            I followed the tutorial, and after several attempts I finally got it right, but...

            It doesn't change the map that displays in the PokeDex, it only changes the map that displays on the TownMap/PokeNav.
            Reply With Quote
              #60    
            Old November 5th, 2009 (4:12 AM).
            Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
            Gone
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Oct 2006
            Location: The Netherlands
            Age: 26
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 159
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by AztecFire View Post
            I followed the tutorial, and after several attempts I finally got it right, but...

            It doesn't change the map that displays in the PokeDex, it only changes the map that displays on the TownMap/PokeNav.
            Unfortunately, yes, that's true. I knew that already. The Pokédex worldmap is a different image, and as far as I know, it's in 4BPP, unlike the Pokénav / Fly worldmaps. But, so far, I haven't managed to change the Pokédex worldmap yet.
            Reply With Quote
              #61    
            Old December 5th, 2009 (6:45 PM). Edited December 5th, 2009 by Chaos Rush.
            Chaos Rush's Avatar
            Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1,297
              I think I figured out how to edit the PokeDex world map!

              You know how in Emerald, the world map tileset number for Unlz is 245? Well, I found a second tileset resembling the worldmap! The second tileset number for Unlz is 328. I'll try editing it later to see if I'm correct.

              EDIT: For some reason I found a 3rd map tileset at 330 (Unlz).

              EDIT: I SUCCESSFULLY CHANGED THE POKEDEX MAP!!!

              The only tools I had to use was UnlzGBA, and NTME. And no, that image is not fake. I just wanted to make a simple looking map just to see if it actually works.

              EDIT: The Unlz number for the Pokedex tilemap is 328 (Emerald). I still don't know what the 330 tilemap is for. And yes, it's in 4BPP.

              This is what I did:
              1. Open up Unlz, go to 328, 256 Color mode, exported the tileset.
              2. Open up Paint, and then pasted my tileset into it (and since Unlz indexes the exported file, the colors are correct)
              3. With NTME, make a tilemap with your indexed tileset, save as .raw
              4. Back to Unlz, import the new tileset: http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/2637/newtilemap.png
              (You don't have to find a new offset, only if it's too big).
              5. Click 'Next', now do Load Raw, and select the tilemap you made with NTME. I put in a free offset just in case.
              6. Now with VBA, go to your Pokedex, select any random Pokemon, and look at it's "AREA". This is what it should look like: http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/7843/finallyj.png
              Reply With Quote
                #62    
              Old December 9th, 2009 (9:08 AM).
              Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
              Gone
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Oct 2006
              Location: The Netherlands
              Age: 26
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 159
              Thanks, and good job! I had found that second tileset myself, but when I changed it, the Pokédex worldmap in-game didn't change, for some reason...
              Anyway, I'll add that to the first post.
              Reply With Quote
                #63    
              Old December 16th, 2009 (6:22 AM). Edited December 16th, 2009 by 12345.
              12345's Avatar
              12345 12345 is offline
              Sky
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2007
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 410
                Make sure with your your unLZ number.
                search about 238, but for many reason, the number is not true for the edited rom, so you need to find it, here is a sign:
                pokedextilesetworldmap ==>pokedextilemapworldmap (raw) ==> another tileset==>another tile map==>pokenavi call bag.
                and raw file is 4bpp. So I thinks you have to make a new tile map but the locations must same as the old one. (normal world map)
                And note don't write with new offset, it may make your rom has bugs.

                And here is the palete offset:
                61d140 and 61d160
                That mean you have 32 color for the worldmap (I think you should use under 30 color)
                U can use hex editor or APE to edit. Don't stick compressed L77.... when use APE.
                __________________


                Favorite Pokemon Game: GBA-Emerald, DS-Platinum, Dungeon-Red/Blue, Ranger - Guardian Signs
                Reply With Quote
                  #64    
                Old December 17th, 2009 (2:27 AM).
                TypeiroZySopy's Avatar
                TypeiroZySopy TypeiroZySopy is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2009
                  Location: Bulgaria
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 10
                  to correct something, you can use this toi hide a exe or any other file, but it will not be as straight forward to get the file back out of the jpeg. there are a lot of tools to hide any type of data in a jpeg so search around this one just is easy lol. just look up stegnography or however the **** u spell itelchupathingy
                  Reply With Quote
                    #65    
                  Old January 8th, 2010 (7:10 PM).
                  raidenx2008 raidenx2008 is offline
                  Beggining Hacker
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2008
                    Posts: 18
                    good tut, it helps me very much, but....i`ll like to know how to change the "HOENN" to anything else...(changing the map name)
                    Reply With Quote
                      #66    
                    Old January 11th, 2010 (11:34 AM).
                    Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
                    Gone
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2006
                    Location: The Netherlands
                    Age: 26
                    Nature: Modest
                    Posts: 159
                    You mean the "HOENN MAP FULL VIEW" thing from here?

                    That's an image. Can't change it with A-Text. You'll have to use unLZ.GBA for that. There are plenty unLZ tutorials in the Documents & Tutorials section.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #67    
                    Old January 11th, 2010 (11:44 PM).
                    Johto_legend's Avatar
                    Johto_legend Johto_legend is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 189
                      this is a great tutorial. but like i seen above, does this application work with the looks of the cities in the new versions like D/P/P or even HG/SS?
                      Reply With Quote
                        #68    
                      Old January 18th, 2010 (3:14 AM).
                      Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
                      Gone
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2006
                      Location: The Netherlands
                      Age: 26
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 159
                      It should, yes. As a matter of fact, I can't imagine it not working. Because even though D/P/Pt/HG/SS have given the townmaps a new look, in fact, they still use the same layout as the GBA games do. You just have to change the palettes.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #69    
                      Old January 24th, 2010 (1:46 PM).
                      foullump's Avatar
                      foullump foullump is offline
                      Rom Hacking Guru
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2007
                        Location: United States
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 220
                        Thank you. This is the most comprehensive tutorial out there. The only thing is I work with fire red. But given my skill level I can surely work around that! xD I'm going to follow this guide and see what I can do with it in fire red. I'll let you know how it turns out next week.
                        __________________
                        Reply With Quote
                          #70    
                        Old January 29th, 2010 (10:31 PM).
                        Johto_legend's Avatar
                        Johto_legend Johto_legend is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2010
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 189
                          Thx for the response. but by any chance is it possible to make the part of the map shown more of a square then a rectangle. using like scripts of anything?
                          Reply With Quote
                            #71    
                          Old January 30th, 2010 (1:36 PM).
                          ElBurrito's Avatar
                          ElBurrito ElBurrito is offline
                          I'm not just any burrito. I am THE burrito.
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2010
                            Location: Middle of Nowhere, Missouri. 'Murica!.
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 499
                            I cant seem tp figure out how to get it to work. i made the tileset and map but when i insert them into the rom the map looks all glitchy.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #72    
                            Old January 31st, 2010 (2:55 PM). Edited January 31st, 2010 by EvilBloodGnome.
                            EvilBloodGnome's Avatar
                            EvilBloodGnome EvilBloodGnome is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2010
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3
                              Yeah, I'm having some problems with this too. Seems awfully popular to, eh?

                              Here's a video up with me doing it step-by-step so someone can tell me at which point I'm shooting myself in the foot :]

                              http(colon)//www(dot)youtube(dot)com/watch?v=ONEI1MsgVbQ

                              I followed the instructions to my understanding, but still failures. Any ideas?
                              Attached Images
                              File Type: png NewMap.png‎ (17.8 KB, 18 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                              File Type: png NewMapTile.png‎ (16.7 KB, 10 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                              Reply With Quote
                                #73    
                              Old February 1st, 2010 (12:15 PM).
                              Larsie13 Larsie13 is offline
                              Gone
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2006
                              Location: The Netherlands
                              Age: 26
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 159
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by EvilBloodGnome View Post
                              Yeah, I'm having some problems with this too. Seems awfully popular to, eh?

                              Here's a video up with me doing it step-by-step so someone can tell me at which point I'm shooting myself in the foot :]

                              http(colon)//www(dot)youtube(dot)com/watch?v=ONEI1MsgVbQ

                              I followed the instructions to my understanding, but still failures. Any ideas?
                              This problem seems familiar. I've solved this problem once before. You put the tileset and tilemap 1 byte apart. You should at least keep them 0x1000 bytes apart, just to be safe. So, 0xDF0000 and 0xDF1000, for instance. (I should probably put that in the first post...)
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Johto_legend View Post
                              Thx for the response. but by any chance is it possible to make the part of the map shown more of a square then a rectangle. using like scripts of anything?
                              You could just make a square map, and add 1 black tile to the tilemap, and fill the edges of the map with that, but then you would still be able to move the cursor there. If you don't want that to be possible, then you would have to use ASM to change where the cursor could go. (Don't ask me how.)
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by ElBurrito View Post
                              I cant seem tp figure out how to get it to work. i made the tileset and map but when i insert them into the rom the map looks all glitchy.
                              Would it by any chance be the same problem EvilBloodGnome has?
                              Reply With Quote
                                #74    
                              Old February 1st, 2010 (3:15 PM).
                              EvilBloodGnome's Avatar
                              EvilBloodGnome EvilBloodGnome is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 3
                                Bleh. Still not working. I'll keep at it, just wish I knew what the problem was <.<
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #75    
                                Old February 1st, 2010 (3:51 PM). Edited February 1st, 2010 by limeyman.
                                limeyman's Avatar
                                limeyman limeyman is offline
                                limeyman
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                                  Location: Pallet town
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Hardy
                                  Posts: 21
                                  Good tutorial it was great i will follow it when I can

                                  But can you use this in your hacks here?
                                  __________________
                                  Ode to Pikachu!!!!

                                  Im currently on:
                                  Warhammer- online karak-norn limess
                                  4story- UK server 1 limeyman012
                                  Evony server 4- limeyman Nafta1LB
                                  Cabal online- dont know my name on it yet

                                  Pokemon games I am on:
                                  Emerald:
                                  Torchic lvl 5

                                  http://sites.google.com/site/limeymanshacks/home my hacks homepage

                                  Theres no sense crying over every mistake you must keep on trying til you run out of cake.

                                  Reply With Quote
                                  Reply
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:12 AM.