Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #226    
Old July 16th, 2011 (12:43 PM).
Shinypoliwrath's Avatar
Shinypoliwrath Shinypoliwrath is offline
RMXP Noob
     
    Join Date: Jul 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 38
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY View Post
    Uhmmm as far as i know u cant change trainer sprites through advance series:\
    for this u have to use unlz or NSE.
    Ah, well that's a shame. unlz keeps messing me about every time I try it, I'm following every guide I've read to the letter! >.<
    I'll have to try NSE

    Relevant Advertising!

      #227    
    Old July 16th, 2011 (12:46 PM).
    darklugia23 darklugia23 is offline
       
      Join Date: Jul 2011
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 8
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by demondismon View Post
      anyone have or make a sapphire ini for this i really need one?
      i too need a sapphire.ini i only have ruby and fire red and emerald but no sapphire
        #228    
      Old July 17th, 2011 (8:21 AM).
      Daylight Savings Time's Avatar
      Daylight Savings Time Daylight Savings Time is offline
      Fall back, spring ahead.
         
        Join Date: Oct 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 6
        I second ShinyPoliwrath's desire to see a Trainer sprite editor as intuitive and well-crafted as these programs.

        These have been completely invaluable to my own hacking, and saves the infinite headaches that UN-LZ can cause.

        Thank you! :D
          #229    
        Old August 11th, 2011 (5:45 PM).
        Thappyface16 Thappyface16 is offline
           
          Join Date: Aug 2011
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 1
          Can anybody help me out with this? I'm trying to put this mario sprite over wartortle. Obviously, I want to get the result that is in the "shiny" section on the top, but every time I sync the palettes, the colors get messed up and the result is the images turn black. I've tried several methods of trying to fix this, like changing the palettes, background color, different indexing with GIMP and Irfran, but I can't figure it out. Help would be much appreciated
          Attached Images
          File Type: png Untitled.png‎ (319.0 KB, 54 views) (Save to Dropbox)
            #230    
          Old August 27th, 2011 (10:56 PM).
          iMissDawn iMissDawn is offline
             
            Join Date: Aug 2011
            Gender: Female
            Posts: 1
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by fallkitten View Post
            When I'm trying to insert bulbasaur b/w sprite in game it shows like this:
            *Edited because it won't let me post URLs*



            What to do?X)
            I'm having this exact same problem. It happens with every sprite I import.

            Here's an example of what I'm importing:

            (See attachment, because it won't let me post URLs)


            No matter what I do, whenever I Write to ROM, it always shows the sprite as a jumbled mess of blocks and lines. I've tried importing in so many different ways, using multiple different ROMs, and nothing seems to work.

            I've kept the start offset to 0x0 and clicked Find Free Space. Then I clicked OK. I've also started it at 0x0, clicked free space, and wrote the offset that showed up underneath into the Start Offset section.

            I honestly have no idea what to do, because no matter what I do it always shows up with this blocky mess.

            Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks. <3


            (Also, I've followed exactly what Anbuja's_BlooDY said to do, yet it STILL does it. )
            Attached Images
            File Type: png 007.png‎ (2.6 KB, 37 views) (Save to Dropbox)
              #231    
            Old August 28th, 2011 (2:04 AM).
            Rayziken 2's Avatar
            Rayziken 2 Rayziken 2 is offline
            Beginning ROM Hacker
               
              Join Date: Jan 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 235
              I love the Icon Editor! I've made some custom icons, but I do have one problem; the icons are placed too high. I know this isn't your fault, but how many pixels down should the first one and second one be if I simply want my icons to move up and down?
              __________________

                #232    
              Old August 28th, 2011 (2:41 PM).
              jvpski3 jvpski3 is offline
              Banned
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2010
                Location: 739 Long Street, Eterna City
                Age: 26
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 177
                Nice tools, but please do some debugging, please, or else it is a virus.
                  #233    
                Old September 7th, 2011 (6:13 AM).
                unknownism unknownism is offline
                UnKnOwN oNe
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                  Location: The Bloody Black Abys
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 5
                  These tool are top notch when you get used to them, but does anyone know if it would be possible to insert larger sprites because sprites in newer games reach like 80x80 & I am not very good with resizing or recreation of a sprite... Otherwise does anyone know af a program that can shrink the sprites without to much of a glitchy outcome?
                    #234    
                  Old September 7th, 2011 (7:29 AM).
                  Missingyep Missingyep is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2010
                    Posts: 275
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by unknownism View Post
                    These tool are top notch when you get used to them, but does anyone know if it would be possible to insert larger sprites because sprites in newer games reach like 80x80 & I am not very good with resizing or recreation of a sprite...
                    Nope.

                    I recall someone asking if Poke sprites in the GBA games could be expanded past 64x64px. I also recall the answer: no. The GBA apparently can't show images larger than that size without using "tilemaps", which would be quite inconvenient to use for the Pokemon. There is also the problem of the GUI (stats screen, Pokedex, etc.) only being designed for 64x64px sprites, and needing to edit ASM in several different parts of the game engine to use the new size.

                    Even if those weren't an issue, changing the size would probably break compatibility with this program. :\

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by unknownism View Post
                    Otherwise does anyone know af a program that can shrink the sprites without to much of a glitchy outcome?
                    There's no program that'll resize them for and fix artifacts for you. My best recommendation is to simply get better at doing small pixel edits; usually when you resize, it's only lines and crosshatching that you'll need to fix anyway.

                    Tip: Windows XP's MSPaint works better than Windows 7's MSPaint. There's a way to get the former if you only have the latter, but I'm not sure how.
                      #235    
                    Old September 12th, 2011 (8:02 AM).
                    unknownism unknownism is offline
                    UnKnOwN oNe
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2010
                      Location: The Bloody Black Abys
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 5
                      [QUOTE=DavidJCobb;6839459]Nope.

                      I recall someone asking if Poke sprites in the GBA games could be expanded past 64x64px. I also recall the answer: no. The GBA apparently can't show images larger than that size without using "tilemaps", which would be quite inconvenient to use for the Pokemon. There is also the problem of the GUI (stats screen, Pokedex, etc.) only being designed for 64x64px sprites, and needing to edit ASM in several different parts of the game engine to use the new size.

                      Ok, well I certainly do thank you for informing me of the "tilemaps" because I was confused on why sprites from another GBA game were much larger. I will just have to get better with sprite making, I'm still new to hacking so I appreciate your help.
                        #236    
                      Old September 12th, 2011 (8:32 AM).
                      kringlur's Avatar
                      kringlur kringlur is offline
                      Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2011
                        Location: Uppsala, Sweden
                        Age: 25
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Hasty
                        Posts: 90
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Thappyface16 View Post
                        Can anybody help me out with this? I'm trying to put this mario sprite over wartortle. Obviously, I want to get the result that is in the "shiny" section on the top, but every time I sync the palettes, the colors get messed up and the result is the images turn black. I've tried several methods of trying to fix this, like changing the palettes, background color, different indexing with GIMP and Irfran, but I can't figure it out. Help would be much appreciated
                        Ditto. I was replacing the sprites with RBY ones though.
                        __________________
                        RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
                        Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
                          #237    
                        Old October 3rd, 2011 (3:05 AM).
                        iRossy iRossy is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2011
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Quiet
                          Posts: 80
                          Hey, whenever I add a sprite, sometimes the colors are a bit messed up, like they have a black/dark blue streak across them in some areas. Usually it's like on their eyes or on a horn or something, Anyone know how to fix this?
                          __________________
                            #238    
                          Old October 3rd, 2011 (3:20 AM).
                          Spherical Ice's Avatar
                          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                          • Moderator
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Location: Bristol, UK
                          Age: 19
                          Posts: 5,181
                          Well, horns and eyes tend to be white, so are you sure you're not making the white colour transparent?
                          As a rule of thumb, you should make the sprites' background a sort of teal colour, or a colour that isn't in the sprite (ie a green colour for a Latias sprite).
                          __________________

                          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                            #239    
                          Old October 4th, 2011 (1:08 AM).
                          iRossy iRossy is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2011
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Quiet
                            Posts: 80
                            I'm sure It's not the sprite, but I tried this and it fixed the sprites! Thank you! But will the background show up in-game?
                            __________________
                              #240    
                            Old October 10th, 2011 (5:28 PM). Edited October 10th, 2011 by Kazemisu.
                            Kazemisu Kazemisu is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2008
                              Gender:
                              Posts: 2
                              Has anyone figured out a way to get this program to work on Leaf Green? It seems like it should be simple enough, and I made a "leaf green ini" by changing the game code to BPEE, but the changes I make are not reflected in the game, and some sprites appear in mid air in the game whereas they don't in the program, and vice versa.

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by BlazingMagmar View Post
                              I have created a LeafGreen.ini for those of you who are looking for one, because sharing is caring :D
                              Attachment 60458
                              I was just glancing through the thread after making my post, and would like to absolutely thank you for being an amazing person!

                              Thanks for the .ini!
                                #241    
                              Old October 24th, 2011 (10:34 AM). Edited October 24th, 2011 by Gimic.
                              Gimic Gimic is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2010
                                Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 21
                                I have a little problem with loading Sapphire rom, in the INIs folder there's no file for it... Does anybody know, where can I find it?

                                Cannot open Ruby/Sapphire ROMs.... Wrong INIs
                                  #242    
                                Old November 12th, 2011 (10:25 AM).
                                Hackrex Hackrex is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                                  Gender:
                                  Posts: 35
                                  hi, good work. But you forget the Inis for German Roms.
                                  I hope it´s ok that I have made them.
                                  German people can find it here
                                  hxxp://board.romresources.net/board6-romhacking/board19-romhacking-tools/10088-inis-bookmarks-f%C3%BCr-feuerrot/
                                  __________________
                                  Temporarily not available
                                    #243    
                                  Old November 12th, 2011 (10:32 AM).
                                  markis markis is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Apr 2011
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 14
                                    AWSOME DUDE!!! I was searching this for ages. Thanks a lot. I'll try a bit later.
                                      #244    
                                    Old November 22nd, 2011 (9:44 PM).
                                    ShadowGrey's Avatar
                                    ShadowGrey ShadowGrey is offline
                                    Graphix Master
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2011
                                      Location: England
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 49
                                      Would be grateful for news on any new ini, specifically EU FireRed rom. Also any advice on making ini.
                                        #245    
                                      Old January 3rd, 2012 (2:24 PM). Edited January 3rd, 2012 by pipdeath.
                                      pipdeath's Avatar
                                      pipdeath pipdeath is offline
                                      My Name Is Shadow Wolf
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2009
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lax
                                        Posts: 7
                                        Why is this happening every time i try to open it
                                        Attached Images
                                        File Type: png wtf.PNG‎ (14.3 KB, 25 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                                          #246    
                                        Old February 26th, 2012 (4:26 AM).
                                        thmagi thmagi is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Feb 2012
                                          Posts: 2
                                          i cant seem to get the sprite to insert...
                                          it saves and all but when i play it, it gets all broken and glitchy looking
                                          when i open the rom up again theres only blue squares in that position...
                                          happened using a clean rom AND hacked rom been trying to solve this for hours but no success...
                                          using a 64bit windows 7 if that helps...
                                            #247    
                                          Old March 16th, 2012 (1:05 AM).
                                          rune_reaper's Avatar
                                          rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
                                          Black Rock Shootah
                                             
                                            Join Date: Dec 2010
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Quirky
                                            Posts: 10
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by pipdeath View Post
                                            Why is this happening every time i try to open it
                                            I'm having that problem too. Can anyone help?
                                            __________________
                                              #248    
                                            Old April 6th, 2012 (11:06 AM).
                                            destinydownloads's Avatar
                                            destinydownloads destinydownloads is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jan 2012
                                              Location: London
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 37
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by pipdeath View Post
                                              Why is this happening every time i try to open it
                                              I think you have to install the microsoft framework. Google it.
                                                #249    
                                              Old April 16th, 2012 (8:04 AM).
                                              Leafbarrett's Avatar
                                              Leafbarrett Leafbarrett is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Mar 2009
                                                Age: 25
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 75
                                                I'm trying to insert the moemon sprites into Emerald. However, since there's two frames in Emerald, I've run into a problem: the second frame isn't given any image.
                                                Is there any way to auto-insert all second-frame sprites? I really don't want to have to go to every one of the 439 images, open them, separate the front images for normal and shiny, then go to each pokemon in APSE and manually import each image.
                                                  #250    
                                                Old May 22nd, 2012 (5:49 PM).
                                                WillowWolf's Avatar
                                                WillowWolf WillowWolf is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: May 2012
                                                  Location: Oregon
                                                  Gender: Female
                                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                                  Posts: 16
                                                  Quote:
                                                  Originally Posted by Ran Yakumo69 View Post
                                                  If possible, could someone make an .ini for the Japanese Fire Red roms? Or if its been done, could you post a link? You would be a god if you did.
                                                  I second this notion! I finally find some good Moemon Roms and now I don't have a Jap version .ini for this awesome toolset Dx

                                                  Unless anyone has any tips on how to make them. I'm ok with learning something new.
                                                  Closed Thread
                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Sponsored Links
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:47 AM.