Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old November 23rd, 2009 (2:11 PM).
Chevalier's Avatar
Chevalier Chevalier is offline
Réveiller
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Location: USA
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 22
    Actually I need some help:
    On unLZ GBA, when writing sprite to ROM everything works fine, but the moment I try to load RAW to ROM it says Compressed Size is: 154. Which is too big. Aborting.

    I don't understand why this happened seeing that my Sprite Pixels are 72x80, multiples of 8 and easily not too big.

    I'd appreciate any help!
    __________________
    Dat New New Is Here



    Check The Thread
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #77    
    Old November 23rd, 2009 (2:14 PM).
    Pokepal17's Avatar
    Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
    More cowbell~
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Steeltown
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,517
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Chevalier View Post
    Actually I need some help:
    On unLZ GBA, when writing sprite to ROM everything works fine, but the moment I try to load RAW to ROM it says Compressed Size is: 154. Which is too big. Aborting.

    I don't understand why this happened seeing that my Sprite Pixels are 72x80, multiples of 8 and easily not too big.

    I'd appreciate any help!
    No, that's the size of the compression size. Just repoint to an offset full of free space.
    __________________
    Pokémon Stardrop
    Reply With Quote
      #78    
    Old November 23rd, 2009 (4:12 PM).
    Chevalier's Avatar
    Chevalier Chevalier is offline
    Réveiller
       
      Join Date: Nov 2009
      Location: USA
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 22
      I apologize I'm relatively new to this, how do I do that?
      __________________
      Dat New New Is Here



      Check The Thread
      Reply With Quote
        #79    
      Old November 26th, 2009 (3:22 PM).
      IAMYourReason IAMYourReason is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Posts: 3
        Hmm, I don't see why you should have to replace the GAMEFREAK logo with the BG, the BG already exists, so we should be able to just overwrite that and then edit the GameFreak/Press Start text seperately.

        Anyone know the offset of the Normal FR Background?

        @Chevalier: I'm pretty sure that was explained, you have to use FSF and search for the amount of bytes that UNLz gives you when it says that the image is too big, its called repointing.
        Reply With Quote
          #80    
        Old November 26th, 2009 (4:27 PM).
        Pokepal17's Avatar
        Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
        More cowbell~
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Oct 2008
        Location: Steeltown
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 1,517
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by IAMYourReason View Post
        Hmm, I don't see why you should have to replace the GAMEFREAK logo with the BG, the BG already exists, so we should be able to just overwrite that and then edit the GameFreak/Press Start text seperately.

        Anyone know the offset of the Normal FR Background?

        @Chevalier: I'm pretty sure that was explained, you have to use FSF and search for the amount of bytes that UNLz gives you when it says that the image is too big, its called repointing.
        The BG is part of the press start logo. -___________-
        __________________
        Pokémon Stardrop
        Reply With Quote
          #81    
        Old November 26th, 2009 (6:19 PM).
        IAMYourReason IAMYourReason is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2009
          Posts: 3
          Yeah I just found that out, and that the flames are separate in the offset 141(for me) and also that you can put the pokemon, the press start logo, and the gamefreak logo all on the same layer, and then have different palette map values on the press start, pokemon, etc.

          That is what I did. Result:
          WELL, I cant post images, but I would show you if I could. (Had to make a new account, to avoid... someone.)

          It is kind of a bummer that those blocks are messed up.
          Reply With Quote
            #82    
          Old November 29th, 2009 (4:07 AM).
          Ancient J W's Avatar
          Ancient J W Ancient J W is offline
             
            Join Date: Nov 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 24
            Helped alot with my WIP Hack but anyone know a good logo editing to tutorial?
            It looks abit weird when it says Pokemon FireRed on the screen.
            __________________


            Click my Pokemon PLEASE!
            Reply With Quote
              #83    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (4:57 AM).
            Zeffy's Avatar
            Zeffy Zeffy is offline
            blink and you're dead
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Apr 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 6,440
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Ancient J W View Post
            Helped alot with my WIP Hack but anyone know a good logo editing to tutorial?
            It looks abit weird when it says Pokemon FireRed on the screen.
            You might really want to refer to this:
            http://www.pkmnhackersonline.com/index.php?page=articles&op=readArticle&title=FR+Title+Screen+%28Text%29+Editing
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #84    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (8:23 AM).
            Ancient J W's Avatar
            Ancient J W Ancient J W is offline
               
              Join Date: Nov 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 24
              I see where your coming from but it looks terrible in that tut. I'll us the other PHO Logo tut.
              __________________


              Click my Pokemon PLEASE!
              Reply With Quote
                #85    
              Old December 5th, 2009 (12:03 AM).
              -MéWtH2-'s Avatar
              -MéWtH2- -MéWtH2- is offline
              MEWTH2 kicks butt . . .
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2009
                Location: NEW BARK TOWN
                Age: 21
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Mild
                Posts: 10
                Finally! Of all the BG editing tutorials that I have read, this one is the best! Oh, and that glitchy tile thing, I've gotten rid of it!

                You're the best!
                Thanks!

                __________________
                SKY HIGH
                Oh, the clear blue sky. It seems like an endless path. Reaching up Sky high . . .

                Reply With Quote
                  #86    
                Old December 17th, 2009 (11:32 AM).
                Giga Universe's Avatar
                Giga Universe Giga Universe is offline
                Working on a tool.
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2007
                Location: South Africa
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 121
                Great Tutorial!
                I know the reason why those glitchy blocks are there. I'm pretty sure they appear from having duplicate tiles in the Tileset. To fix this error, download a Tool called Sphere (Its a game maker) install it and Go File -> Import -> Image to Tile set and It will generate a Tile set AND a tilemap for you. Screenshot the tileset and save it (index it aswell). NTME has a function to impoirt the Sphere TIlemaps (.rmp extension). This will allow you to create a perfect title screen!
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #87    
                Old January 1st, 2010 (3:50 PM).
                DreadWaffle's Avatar
                DreadWaffle DreadWaffle is offline
                LOVE AND PEACE!
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2009
                  Location: Underground
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 165
                  so i am making my screen,
                  and i am needing to know how to get my picture this

                  to 4 bit depth? it says it is 8 right now
                  __________________
                  "I am known as Valentinez Alkalinella Xifax Sicidabohertz Gombigobilla Blue Stradivari Talentrent Pierre Andri Charton-Haymoss Ivanovici Baldeus George Doitzel Kaiser III. Don't hesitate to call."
                  Reply With Quote
                    #88    
                  Old January 1st, 2010 (8:20 PM).
                  pspdude's Avatar
                  pspdude pspdude is offline
                  :o super shinx?
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                    Location: Toronto
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 95


                    thats what my Titlescreen looks like right now but can someone help me with the bottom of the bg? >.< the colours are all screwed up D:!!! (someone plz tell me how to fix this ;D)
                    __________________
                    This signature has been disabled.
                    Exceeds signature height limit
                    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #89    
                    Old January 3rd, 2010 (9:54 AM).
                    strpkz strpkz is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 1
                      Hey. Nice tutorial and all, but when i get to the importing the sprite (im using a ho oh btw) and i get an error. [ERROR: Image is not Indexed] Reply asap if you can. Tanks.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #90    
                      Old January 3rd, 2010 (9:55 AM).
                      CrazyJoey's Avatar
                      CrazyJoey CrazyJoey is offline
                      Designer&NewbHacker
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2010
                        Location: Gouda, The Netherlands.
                        Age: 19
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 5
                        I really thanks you for this, but I got one question.
                        With the background, if I import it, it says : ''Error : Image not indexed''.
                        Im a beginning hacker, so how to index the image?

                        Regards,
                        Joey.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #91    
                        Old January 3rd, 2010 (11:56 AM).
                        pspdude's Avatar
                        pspdude pspdude is offline
                        :o super shinx?
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2008
                          Location: Toronto
                          Age: 23
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 95
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by CrazyJoey View Post
                          I really thanks you for this, but I got one question.
                          With the background, if I import it, it says : ''Error : Image not indexed''.
                          Im a beginning hacker, so how to index the image?

                          Regards,
                          Joey.
                          go in irfan view and click image>decrease color depth>16 colors (4BPP)
                          save your image and boom its indexed
                          __________________
                          This signature has been disabled.
                          Exceeds signature height limit
                          Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                          You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                          Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #92    
                          Old January 11th, 2010 (12:29 PM).
                          Pichu little's Avatar
                          Pichu little Pichu little is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2010
                            Location: New Bark
                            Age: 27
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Lonely
                            Posts: 7
                            i can do this on fire red but what about leaf green? i did everything I got the pic i wanted up on the screen looks good...but the color... it's not the same as charizard on the APE thingy... I need the one for veanasaur does any one know it..? please? =
                            __________________
                            Pichu!~
                            Reply With Quote
                              #93    
                            Old January 11th, 2010 (6:19 PM).
                            Omega Zero's Avatar
                            Omega Zero Omega Zero is offline
                            Is back...
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2009
                            Location: I'm always living aren't I?
                            Age: 19
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 445
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Pichu little View Post
                            i can do this on fire red but what about leaf green? i did everything I got the pic i wanted up on the screen looks good...but the color... it's not the same as charizard on the APE thingy... I need the one for veanasaur does any one know it..? please? =<
                            Well you could ask for the venusaur ape offset in simple questions it might get answered there 8D
                            __________________
                            Reply With Quote
                              #94    
                            Old January 16th, 2010 (10:37 PM).
                            NightDancer's Avatar
                            NightDancer NightDancer is offline
                            Finaly A pokemon NOT nice!
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2009
                              Location: USA USA!
                              Age: 27
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Impish
                              Posts: 2
                              Wow i actually did it o.o
                              __________________


                              Hacks i support.
                              Spoiler:








                              Spoiler:

                              ITS A TRAP!

                              Or Is IT?
                              Reply With Quote
                                #95    
                              Old February 1st, 2010 (10:57 AM).
                              SkyStar's Avatar
                              SkyStar SkyStar is offline
                              is a Sith Lord
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2009
                                Location: In a different universe
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 43
                                Mine isn't working
                                heres a pic
                                Spoiler:
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #96    
                                Old March 5th, 2010 (5:26 AM).
                                Kwajah's Avatar
                                Kwajah Kwajah is offline
                                i'm close to the edge
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2010
                                  Location: Rotterdam [NL]
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 12
                                  My APE says that error code 13 thing. But when I print screen and paste it in paint that pallet doesnt show like you said :s
                                  Help please?
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #97    
                                  Old March 6th, 2010 (3:45 PM). Edited March 7th, 2010 by Aureol.
                                  Aureol's Avatar
                                  Aureol Aureol is offline
                                  Kanto/Electric-Type Enthusiast
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                                  Location: Utah, USA
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 420
                                  I've been having a lot of problems, but most of my questions have already been solved just through reading this topic and thinking a little, so thanks both for the SUPERB tutorial and those that take the time to answer questions.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Kwajah View Post
                                  My APE says that error code 13 thing. But when I print screen and paste it in paint that pallet doesnt show like you said :s
                                  Help please?
                                  Instead of messing with that, do the following (well, worked for me anyways):

                                  -Run APE until it gets to the Error 13 thingy. DO NOT QUIT/PRESS OK.
                                  -Open a new text document.
                                  -Jot down each of the 16 values in the bottom palette. Mine were
                                  E003 7956 2F2D BF7F AD35 B418 1F6B A514
                                  9F56 FD41 5A2D FF7F 1348 0D58 1A20 0B4C
                                  -Then just run APE again, reload the original palette (but not your own), and instead type each of the values in the proper boxes at the bottom half. Then proceed as normal.

                                  Hope that works



                                  On a personal issue, I've gotten everything down except my sprite has a couple glitchy spots on it. What's up with that? I already removed the rom, but if I try it again I'll post a picture.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #98    
                                  Old March 6th, 2010 (11:29 PM). Edited March 7th, 2010 by Maco.
                                  Maco's Avatar
                                  Maco Maco is offline
                                  learning the ropes...
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                                    Location: Sydney, Australia
                                    Age: 27
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 72
                                    After replacing the palette (and it definitely looks replaced in APE), the colours are still the messed-up original colours.
                                    Edit: My bad I didn't select palette 15 in the drop down menu
                                    __________________
                                    Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #99    
                                    Old March 7th, 2010 (2:31 PM).
                                    Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
                                    Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
                                    I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2009
                                      Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
                                      Age: 19
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Jolly
                                      Posts: 700
                                      Quote:
                                      They cannot be set at F because you will have blinking stuff all over the place. So, just set it up like this:
                                      You know, I bet that the F is used to flash the "Press Start" text, and replaces it with the transparency that was indexed. I'll take a look at the actual tilemap when I get the chance.
                                      __________________



                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #100    
                                      Old March 7th, 2010 (6:50 PM).
                                      Midori's Avatar
                                      Midori Midori is offline
                                      Deep Sea Tentacruel
                                         
                                        Join Date: Feb 2010
                                        Age: 27
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Adamant
                                        Posts: 30
                                        I need help editing the title in the titlescreen. I made an attempt to duplicate process used for 16 color stuff, and it didn't work. It wound up like this:
                                        Attached Images
                                        File Type: png titlescreen.PNG‎ (12.3 KB, 78 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                                        Reply With Quote
                                        Reply

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:40 AM.