Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old January 16th, 2011 (4:40 AM).
Shenron's Avatar
Moderator DSC
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 8,941
I was thinking we could maybe get something cool going with this. My thoughts are to maybe move the textbox into the middle of the screen and use a fadescreen for cutscenes. But that's not just it, it'd also be cool if we could find a way for the textbox to disappear and just have the text on top of the fadescreen, y'know?
__________________
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #27    
Old January 16th, 2011 (5:06 AM).
looper's Avatar
German Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 53
Send a message via Skype™ to looper
Do you mean like when you dont have any pokémon left?

I guess there is an routine for that, I'll look....

Does anyone know, how to replace Yes/No/Multiple Choice Boxes?
__________________
I'm not a god. But Chuck Norris isn't, too.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old January 16th, 2011 (11:53 AM). Edited January 16th, 2011 by TheDarkShark.
Metal Headed Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by looper View Post
Do you mean like when you dont have any pokémon left?

I guess there is an routine for that, I'll look....

Does anyone know, how to replace Yes/No/Multiple Choice Boxes?
yup. The Yes/No-Boxes can be changed with a Text Hack, IDK what else you could mean about it. For the multichoice boxes: There's a header - I think there's a tutorial about its lay-out. I'll add link later.

EDIT: Here it is: pokecommunity.com/ showthread.php?t=165939
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old January 16th, 2011 (3:40 PM).
Shenron's Avatar
Moderator DSC
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 8,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by looper View Post
Do you mean like when you dont have any pokémon left?

I guess there is an routine for that, I'll look....

Does anyone know, how to replace Yes/No/Multiple Choice Boxes?
Here's one I made: http://thepokemonboard.com/showthread.php?386-Basic-Hex-Editing-Lesson-1
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old January 16th, 2011 (5:51 PM).
Lost Heart's Avatar
Moderator PokéCommunity Daily Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ohio
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 3,612
Wow, I love the discovery of the offset and stuff, I plan on using this! Thanks! :D
__________________
mod github pair
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old January 18th, 2011 (6:01 AM). Edited January 18th, 2011 by altariaking.
altariaking's Avatar
Needs NO VMs...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
Age: 42
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,098
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manipulation View Post
I was thinking we could maybe get something cool going with this. My thoughts are to maybe move the textbox into the middle of the screen and use a fadescreen for cutscenes. But that's not just it, it'd also be cool if we could find a way for the textbox to disappear and just have the text on top of the fadescreen, y'know?
This is pretty much what I was thinking. It happens when the player is whited out and has to go to the PC/back home, so I don't see why it shouldn't work.
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old January 18th, 2011 (7:14 AM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manipulation View Post
I was thinking we could maybe get something cool going with this. My thoughts are to maybe move the textbox into the middle of the screen and use a fadescreen for cutscenes. But that's not just it, it'd also be cool if we could find a way for the textbox to disappear and just have the text on top of the fadescreen, y'know?
I've hacked the textbox graphics once, so maybe it could check a variable, and if it's set, it will load a blank textbox graphic, and make it disappear. I'll have to find out where it's loaded again, which won't take long.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old January 18th, 2011 (8:40 AM).
Derlo's Avatar
Working on Essence of light...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 127
Send a message via Skype™ to Derlo
Even if you can delete the graphics from the textbox, it will be necessary to use a font that does not have a white background. because even without the textbox is still a white background where the letters appear.

see:
__________________



Pokémon
Essence of Light

Comming Soon...
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old January 18th, 2011 (8:58 AM).
Shenron's Avatar
Moderator DSC
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 8,941
We weren't talking about deleting the textbox we're talking about having it 'disappear' for small moments in the game.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old January 18th, 2011 (4:46 PM).
Derlo's Avatar
Working on Essence of light...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 127
Send a message via Skype™ to Derlo
Sorry, it was only one way to show what I meant.
I haked the routine of the textbox to load any graphic I want, when I tried to just do the letters appear (not carrying any graph) which appeared in the image.

But seeing as well, I think the problem with this option in itself, is not the background of the letters. But the routine that carries the letters. That should carry them along to the background where they are written.
Because even increasing the textbox (vertically) these "lines" also increases.

If I get something I'll post here.

And sorry for the horrible english ...
google's fault.
__________________



Pokémon
Essence of Light

Comming Soon...
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old January 18th, 2011 (7:53 PM).
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 94
You could try taking a look at what goes on in the scripting command for emerald(emerald-only), "hidebox2" or the ruby/sapphire only "hidebox" command.
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old January 19th, 2011 (1:06 PM).
Shenron's Avatar
Moderator DSC
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 8,941
I saw a video of ShinyQuagsire's on Youtube which I believe he's going to post here soon and he's done it ;).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old January 19th, 2011 (1:16 PM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manipulation View Post
I saw a video of ShinyQuagsire's on Youtube which I believe he's going to post here soon and he's done it .
Right as I uploaded it. XD

To insert the hack, compile this code:

Spoiler:

@Place pointer to this routine at 0x150450
@Place the bytes '08 47' at 0x15044A
@Change the textbox offset and the variable offset to what you want.

.align 2
.thumb

main:
cmp r0, #0x0 @This is the normal textbox number.
bne normal @If signpost, leave value alone.
push {r0-r2}
ldr r0, var
bl call_var_load
cmp r0, #0x0
beq normalandpop
pop {r0-r2}
ldr r0, blackpal
b end
normalandpop:
pop {r0-r2}
normal:
ldr r1, normalpal
add r0, r0, r1
b end
end:
ldr r1, return
bx r1

call_var_load:
ldr r1, var_load
bx r1

.align 2

var_load: .word 0x0806E569
var: .word 0x00004052 @Change at will
normalpal: .word 0x08471DEC
blackpal: .word 0x08XXXXXX @Has to end in 0, 2, 4, 8, or C
return: .word 0x0815044D


or use the compiled version:
Code:
00 28 09 D1 07 B4 09 48 00 F0 0B F8 00 28 02 D0 07 BC 08 48 03 E0 07 BC 05 49 40 18 FF E7 06 49 08 47 01 49 08 47 C0 46 69 E5 06 08 XX XX 00 00 EC 1D 47 08 YY YY YY 08 4D 04 15 08
Replace the XX's with the fipped version of the variable, ex: 4052 = 52 40, and the YY's with a pointer to your black pallet.

The black pallet is up to you, but this is the one I use:
Code:
2E 53 00 00 FF 7F F7 5A FF 7F 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Just paste that in a hex editor in an offset ending in 0, 2, 4, 8, or C.

In case you didn't see the header in the routine, place pointer to this routine at 0x150450 place the bytes '08 47' at 0x15044A.


If you have any problems, just ask and I'll try to fix them.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old January 20th, 2011 (6:49 AM).
looper's Avatar
German Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 53
Send a message via Skype™ to looper
okay..... I meant with the Choice boxes not the texts but the position
__________________
I'm not a god. But Chuck Norris isn't, too.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old January 20th, 2011 (7:35 AM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by looper View Post
okay..... I meant with the Choice boxes not the texts but the position
This can be done via script:
Code:
multichoice [xx] [yy] [zz] [aa]
xx: X co-ordinate
yy: Y co-ordinate
zz: Multi ID. Refer to Multi List
aa: Determines if B can cancel. 0x0 means B can cancel.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old January 22nd, 2011 (7:00 AM).
Diegoisawesome's Avatar
Oh god the bees
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: :noitacoL
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
If you have any problems, just ask and I'll try to fix them.
That looks cool and all, but wouldn't it just be easier to recreate or use the three-line textbox used when you fainted?
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old January 22nd, 2011 (7:02 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Age: 18
Posts: 4,880
Absolutely not, this way unlocks so many more possibilities and the ability to make your own scenarios for blacking out while still maintaning the original that still occurs automatically when you lose a trainer battle. :D I'm definitely interested in this.
__________________
WISHIWASHI
pkmn gaiatwitter
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old January 22nd, 2011 (7:14 AM).
Diegoisawesome's Avatar
Oh god the bees
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: :noitacoL
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
Absolutely not, this way unlocks so many more possibilities and the ability to make your own scenarios for blacking out while still maintaning the original that still occurs automatically when you lose a trainer battle. :D I'm definitely interested in this.
I didn't mean the original one, I meant making one that used the same code, but also having different text and different things happen after it, obviously.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:46 AM.