Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #126    
Old January 30th, 2012 (6:35 PM).
mmack6391 mmack6391 is offline
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 1
    So, I know i need to edit tilesets and such to change the look, but, where do I need to add/change a tileset to make the windows and lamps light up? Sorry if I sound like a noob, this is a bit confusing.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #127    
    Old January 30th, 2012 (11:29 PM).
    lachash's Avatar
    lachash lachash is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2012
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 6
      I'm trying to insert both day & night aswell as seasons into a currently unedited firered ROM. Upon starting I cannot move from bugged up pallet town tiles. Does anyone have a tutorial or something? (Yeah, I know it's sad to ask for tut of a tool.)
      Reply With Quote
        #128    
      Old April 21st, 2012 (6:28 PM).
      Pokehacker1's Avatar
      Pokehacker1 Pokehacker1 is offline
      a kid with a knack for mapping
         
        Join Date: Apr 2012
        Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
        Age: 16
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 51
        When I use it, it does not change. It's always night for some reason.
        Other then that, it's fine. But it freezes when I install it, so I have to erase it.
        Then it's always night.
        Reply With Quote
          #129    
        Old April 21st, 2012 (8:16 PM).
        aar2697 aar2697 is offline
           
          Join Date: Jun 2010
          Age: 20
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 37
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Pokehacker1 View Post
          When I use it, it does not change. It's always night for some reason.
          Other then that, it's fine. But it freezes when I install it, so I have to erase it.
          Then it's always night.
          That's because you need to enable the Real Time Clock on your emulator. To do that in Visual Boy Advance, go to Options > Emulator > Real Time Clock (if you click it, it will check off).
          Reply With Quote
            #130    
          Old April 22nd, 2012 (7:11 PM).
          DarkFlameSquirrel's Avatar
          DarkFlameSquirrel DarkFlameSquirrel is offline
          Music Freak
             
            Join Date: Apr 2012
            Location: Texas, USA
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 7
            All I want to do is add Day, Night, and Seasons to my unedited Pokemon Emerald rom. When I load it with DNS, it gives me an insert RTC option. Doesn't it already have RTC or am I missing something here? If there's a tutorial somewhere for this, I would heavily appreciate it if someone linked it.
            Reply With Quote
              #131    
            Old April 23rd, 2012 (7:23 AM).
            prime-dialga's Avatar
            prime-dialga prime-dialga is offline
            pure darkness
               
              Join Date: Dec 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 28
              Pokemon Emerald has already a RTC but my system is based on interdpths RTC, so you must install this RTC too with the tool.
              Reply With Quote
                #132    
              Old May 1st, 2012 (3:50 PM).
              Pokehacker1's Avatar
              Pokehacker1 Pokehacker1 is offline
              a kid with a knack for mapping
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2012
                Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
                Age: 16
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 51
                Thanks! sorry it took so long for me to respond... I'm obviously new, so I've been looking around. a bit
                Reply With Quote
                  #133    
                Old May 1st, 2012 (4:07 PM).
                droomph's Avatar
                droomph droomph is offline
                weeb
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2011
                Location: nowhere spectacular
                Age: 20
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Impish
                Posts: 4,291
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
                Pokemon Emerald has already a RTC but my system is based on interdpths RTC, so you must install this RTC too with the tool.
                If it's a given that you have to install interdpth's RTC why not automatically find some free space and install it? It's not a big deal, but it'll help with making the process easier.
                __________________
                did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                o i forgot 5
                uraqt


                Reply With Quote
                  #134    
                Old May 2nd, 2012 (8:52 AM).
                prime-dialga's Avatar
                prime-dialga prime-dialga is offline
                pure darkness
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 28
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by droomph View Post
                  If it's a given that you have to install interdpth's RTC why not automatically find some free space and install it? It's not a big deal, but it'll help with making the process easier.
                  ok, i can write a function which finds some free space in your ROM, but it also needs free space in the RAM-Area and to find this is much harder. So it's easier for me to let you place the RTC where you want.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #135    
                  Old May 2nd, 2012 (11:13 AM).
                  droomph's Avatar
                  droomph droomph is offline
                  weeb
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2011
                  Location: nowhere spectacular
                  Age: 20
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Impish
                  Posts: 4,291
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
                  ok, i can write a function which finds some free space in your ROM, but it also needs free space in the RAM-Area and to find this is much harder. So it's easier for me to let you place the RTC where you want.
                  Oh, I think I remember that.

                  Well, ROM placement is enough if you still want to do it. I can look for the RAM myself if it's too hard for a function. But I think you already have a default right? Oh well it's okay.
                  __________________
                  did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                  o i forgot 5
                  uraqt


                  Reply With Quote
                    #136    
                  Old May 22nd, 2012 (1:05 PM).
                  pokemonmasteraaron's Avatar
                  pokemonmasteraaron pokemonmasteraaron is offline
                  The blind Pokémon Master!
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2011
                    Location: In the forest of an undiscovered region
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 314
                    This is a cool tool.
                    Will installing the rtc allow me to play the roms of EZ flash iv?
                    __________________
                    Game developer.
                    Not nearly as active on here as I used to be.
                    Still like meeting and talking to pokemon fanatics like myself.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #137    
                    Old May 29th, 2012 (8:57 PM).
                    Renegade's Avatar
                    Renegade Renegade is offline
                    Time for real life...
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2011
                      Location: United States
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 998
                      Wow... This is really cool! Haven't ever seen it before! Nice Work.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #138    
                      Old June 11th, 2012 (10:10 PM). Edited June 16th, 2012 by DrFuji.
                      amcolash's Avatar
                      amcolash amcolash is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 27
                        Really cool tool. I do not have the time or patience to add in seasons - and no one playing my new mod will play it all year long.. I do however really like the day and night system. Thanks much!

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
                        For anyone who is using BPRE, these routines will use the RTC's status byte to get what time of day it is, and evolve Eevee accordingly.

                        For Espeon:
                        Code:
                        .text
                        .align 2
                        .thumb
                        .thumb_func
                        .global espeonevocheck
                        main:
                         ldr r1, time
                         ldrb r1, [r1, #0x0]
                         cmp r1, #0x4
                         bge no
                         cmp r1, #0x1
                         blt no
                         ldr r1, happinesscheck
                         bx r1
                        no: ldr r0, exit
                         bx r0
                        .align
                        time: .word 0x0203C000
                        happinesscheck: .word 0x08043001
                        exit: .word 0x08043111
                        Assemble and insert that routine anywhere in the ROM, then change the pointer at 0x42FC8 to point to the new routine, NOT PLUS ONE. The game uses mov pc, r0 to jump to the routine, meaning we do NOT need to add 1 for THUMB mode.

                        For Umbreon:
                        Code:
                        .text
                        .align 2
                        .thumb
                        .thumb_func
                        .global umbreonevocheck
                        main:
                         ldr r1, time
                         ldrb r1, [r1, #0x0]
                         cmp r1, #0x4
                         bge yes
                         cmp r1, #0x1
                         blt yes
                         ldr r0, exit
                         bx r0
                        yes: ldr r1, happinesscheck
                         bx r1
                        .align
                        time: .word 0x0203C000
                        happinesscheck: .word 0x08043001
                        exit: .word 0x08043111
                        Assemble and insert that routine anywhere in the ROM, then change the pointer at 0x42FCC to point to the new routine, NOT PLUS ONE.

                        When assembled, along side the RTC, this will allow Eevee to evolve into Espeon and Umbreon in the proper way in BPRE. Anyone who wants to convert these routines for another version, feel free to do so. Just remember to credit me for the original routines.

                        For people who don't know how to assemble the routines, I attached the binaries to this post, allowing you to insert them from the binary directly. I offer no help on inserting these routines. You should read HackMew's ASM tutorials for a good beginner's insight into inserting ASM.
                        Well thank you very much for this Jambo!!!!! I just implemented it into my game and it works flawlessly. I also learned a bit about ASM in the process too so thank you so much for this. I had no idea it took till level 75 to evolve an eevee though - too much training, thanks rare candies :)
                        Reply With Quote
                          #139    
                        Old June 28th, 2012 (7:44 AM).
                        timezone34 timezone34 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2011
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 1
                          Can I use this to patch Light Platinum? I have played for a long time, and it has never became night time in my game.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #140    
                          Old June 29th, 2012 (7:06 AM).
                          prime-dialga's Avatar
                          prime-dialga prime-dialga is offline
                          pure darkness
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 28
                            Maybe you haven't activated the RTC in your Emulator...

                            Anyway you can use this tool to patch it, if the hackers alow it.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #141    
                            Old July 1st, 2012 (4:39 PM).
                            derishi derishi is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 2
                              I don't know how to change season! Please give me a tutorial!
                              Sorry for my English!
                              Reply With Quote
                                #142    
                              Old July 1st, 2012 (6:20 PM). Edited July 1st, 2012 by Darkrai Lv.1000.
                              Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
                              Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
                              Has a tendency to figure things out
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2007
                                Location: On an island with Hakaze
                                Age: 23
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 684
                                Is there a tutorial for how to insert it?
                                All I did was click insert RTC, then insert DAN, but is that it?

                                EDIT: nvm, i believe i figured out how to use it myself, as i tend to do a lot. xD
                                __________________
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #143    
                                Old August 10th, 2012 (3:23 AM).
                                Ultra - Retro Reviver!'s Avatar
                                Ultra - Retro Reviver! Ultra - Retro Reviver! is offline
                                Ultra - Retro Reviver
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2012
                                  Location: 'STRAYA!
                                  Age: 19
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Timid
                                  Posts: 154
                                  Can somebody please tell me how to function this? I can't get Day, Night or Seasons to work.

                                  Can somebody please PM me or reply to this post how to do it?
                                  Thanks.
                                  __________________
                                  Ultra - Retro Reviver | The Retro Game Enthusiast

                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #144    
                                  Old November 27th, 2012 (9:22 AM).
                                  pabioxxx pabioxxx is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2010
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 32
                                    #dynamic 0x800000

                                    #org @start
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x0
                                    if 0x1 goto @sunday
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x1
                                    if 0x1 goto @monday
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x2
                                    if 0x1 goto @tuesday
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x3
                                    if 0x1 goto @wednesday
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x4
                                    if 0x1 goto @thursday
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x5
                                    if 0x1 goto @friday
                                    comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x6
                                    if 0x1 goto @saturday

                                    #org @sunday
                                    msgbox @1 0x2
                                    release
                                    end
                                    ... etc

                                    Can someone tell me what is wrong in this script? And i would like to know how to check time, it's possible to check it without asm call, I mean use similary script like this above? !
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #145    
                                    Old December 4th, 2012 (9:05 AM).
                                    LugiaMZ's Avatar
                                    LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 74
                                      Can someone tell me why this check day script is not working for me?
                                      For Example:
                                      #dynamic 0x800000
                                      #org @dif
                                      lock
                                      faceplayer
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x0
                                      if 0x1 goto @sunday
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x1
                                      if 0x1 goto @monday
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x2
                                      if 0x1 goto @tuesday
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x3
                                      if 0x1 goto @wednesday
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x4
                                      if 0x1 goto @thursday
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x5
                                      if 0x1 goto @friday
                                      comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x6
                                      if 0x1 goto @saturday
                                      release
                                      end
                                      #org @sunday
                                      msgbox @sun 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @monday
                                      msgbox @mon 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @tuesday
                                      msgbox @tues 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @wednesday
                                      msgbox @wed 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @thursday
                                      msgbox @thurs 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @friday
                                      msgbox @fri 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @saturday
                                      msgbox @sat 0x6
                                      end
                                      #org @sun
                                      = Today is Sunday.
                                      #org @mon
                                      = Today is Monday.
                                      #org @tues
                                      = Today is Tuesday.
                                      #org @wed
                                      = Today is Wednesday.
                                      #org @thurs
                                      = Today is Thursday.
                                      #org @fri
                                      = Today is Friday.
                                      #org @sat
                                      = Today is Saturday.

                                      Answer me please... ><

                                      PS: Sorry for my bad english... Thanks.
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #146    
                                      Old December 6th, 2012 (1:16 PM).
                                      KitsuneLugia96's Avatar
                                      KitsuneLugia96 KitsuneLugia96 is offline
                                      Trainer Silver
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2012
                                        Location: Ecruteak City, Johto
                                        Age: 21
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 28
                                        Hello, I am having problems with the program. I used it before on my Pokemon Emerald Hack, and worked great, but that was months ago, now I am using a Fire Red Rom and the program is too big for my screen. I tried changing my screen to a higher resolution, but it still will not fit. I'm not sure what to do.
                                        __________________

                                        POKEMON SILVER SHADOWS
                                        Pokemon Hack Series - Silver's Journeys
                                        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zADnU40NuYw&feature=plcp
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #147    
                                        Old December 7th, 2012 (8:12 AM).
                                        prime-dialga's Avatar
                                        prime-dialga prime-dialga is offline
                                        pure darkness
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2009
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 28
                                          @pabioxxx & LugiaMZ
                                          you have to use an emulator which has a RTC (real time clock). But unfortunately some emulators which have a RTC doesn't write the "day of week"-byte.

                                          @KitsuneLugia96
                                          700 - 800 px in the height should be enough. Also you can make your taskbar to autohide itself to get some more pixels of space.
                                          But if you can see the "Insert DAN"-button everything should be fine. There aren't any options under the button
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #148    
                                          Old December 9th, 2012 (7:39 AM).
                                          pabioxxx pabioxxx is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2010
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 32
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
                                            @pabioxxx & LugiaMZ
                                            you have to use an emulator which has a RTC (real time clock). But unfortunately some emulators which have a RTC doesn't write the "day of week"-byte.
                                            I'm using VBA and RTC is on... Maybe you should make an addition to program, something like tutorial which can show us how to make time scripts, etc?
                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #149    
                                            Old December 9th, 2012 (9:36 AM). Edited December 9th, 2012 by LugiaMZ.
                                            LugiaMZ's Avatar
                                            LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Dec 2011
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 74
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
                                              @pabioxxx & LugiaMZ
                                              you have to use an emulator which has a RTC (real time clock). But unfortunately some emulators which have a RTC doesn't write the "day of week"-byte.
                                              I using VBA and checked Real Time Clock. My problem only when I talk to the person where I put the script, he/she say "Today is Wednesday" at the text box. Actually the real day is Monday. And when I talk to the person at Tuesday, then he/she say "Today is Thursday". I checked my PC date, It's correctly. I tried to check day and night, too. But it's prefectly working... I think is my script problem, if you tried before to check "day of week" and it work, please give me that script. Other question, it's possible to make a script to check month/years? Thanks.

                                              P.S. Sorry for my bad english.
                                              Reply With Quote
                                                #150    
                                              Old December 11th, 2012 (10:51 AM).
                                              pabioxxx pabioxxx is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Aug 2010
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 32
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by pabioxxx View Post
                                                #dynamic 0x800000

                                                #org @start
                                                comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x0
                                                if 0x1 goto @sunday
                                                ...
                                                !
                                                I'm not sure it's good adress for day of the week status byte, so where it is stored?
                                                Reply With Quote
                                                Reply

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:34 AM.