Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old May 11th, 2012 (11:42 AM).
Prof Oakley's Avatar
JourneyofPossibilities Creator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Imaginary Land
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 75
So, yea. When I pick up my pokedex it doesn't show up on the pause menu even though I have the
$Trainer.pokedex=true
script on it. Do I not have the right script or is there something else I have to put with it?

Also how do I made a 'road block' so that I can't go downstairs until after I've picked up my pokedex and, later, my town map?
__________________
Check out my other sites/profiles below, I have more hobbies than just pokemon
My official Website, my Etsy Shop (in progress), my Blog, my FB Page
My Website has cosplay, etsy shop, youtube channel, writing, game information, and more.
The blog is the place for where I update in more blog form about those topics and my personal life as well.
~~~
Others
Game Guides on Hubpages, DeviantART, Wattpad (Stories)
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old May 11th, 2012 (11:53 AM).
Derxwna Kapsyla's Avatar
[Primal Despair] Derxwna "The Badman" Kapsyla
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Margate, FL
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 379
For the Pokedex issue, What version of Essentials are you using?
As for the Road block, what I would do is have it to that, when you obtain the Pokedex, it activates or disables a switch of your naming. To create the roadblock itself, have there be an event that, when the player touched it, if said easily switch is enabled/disabled, it pushes them back.
I'm really bad at explaining, so hopefully someone can help elaborate.
__________________
Development Blog:
For more information future news and updates to any projects, the following blogs are where I post information. You can usually hit me with a message there when it comes to bug reports or feedback, or general conversation about something.
Game Projects:
In Progress:
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old May 11th, 2012 (11:57 AM).
Prof Oakley's Avatar
JourneyofPossibilities Creator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Imaginary Land
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 75
the April 23rd one, version 6 I think.
__________________
Check out my other sites/profiles below, I have more hobbies than just pokemon
My official Website, my Etsy Shop (in progress), my Blog, my FB Page
My Website has cosplay, etsy shop, youtube channel, writing, game information, and more.
The blog is the place for where I update in more blog form about those topics and my personal life as well.
~~~
Others
Game Guides on Hubpages, DeviantART, Wattpad (Stories)
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old May 13th, 2012 (9:28 AM).
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,303
$Trainer.pokedex=true should work, unless you've played around with the script itself... Search for the line of code in scripts and see if you need a switch to activate as well...

As for your other problem, easier, less messy, way, I would put a conditional branch using game switch whatever of you choice, being on, in the first bit put nothing in the second bit put "can't go down here yet" then set move route and move the play away from the exit... This is activated VIA a player touch event... In saying this, there are loads of ways you can do this, this is just one of them.
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old May 13th, 2012 (10:09 AM).
Prof Oakley's Avatar
JourneyofPossibilities Creator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Imaginary Land
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 75
it worked I just didn't have a pokedex entry yet. I'll try that for a road block, all the ways I try seem to either stop me no matter what or don't stop the player at all.
__________________
Check out my other sites/profiles below, I have more hobbies than just pokemon
My official Website, my Etsy Shop (in progress), my Blog, my FB Page
My Website has cosplay, etsy shop, youtube channel, writing, game information, and more.
The blog is the place for where I update in more blog form about those topics and my personal life as well.
~~~
Others
Game Guides on Hubpages, DeviantART, Wattpad (Stories)
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old May 13th, 2012 (4:54 PM).
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,303
The road block is one of the easiest things to do... As long as you have it as player touch and walk the player back to the same area it will be fine
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old May 13th, 2012 (5:15 PM).
Prof Oakley's Avatar
JourneyofPossibilities Creator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Imaginary Land
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 75
I don't really know what things mean yet or what they do. I'm working on it though and each question I ask gets me a teeny bit of knowledge I can share to future newbies.
__________________
Check out my other sites/profiles below, I have more hobbies than just pokemon
My official Website, my Etsy Shop (in progress), my Blog, my FB Page
My Website has cosplay, etsy shop, youtube channel, writing, game information, and more.
The blog is the place for where I update in more blog form about those topics and my personal life as well.
~~~
Others
Game Guides on Hubpages, DeviantART, Wattpad (Stories)
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old July 6th, 2012 (8:34 PM).
Forestpelt's Avatar  
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 11
I'm having this exact same problem, with the Pokedex not appearing. I'm using the newest version of Essentials, and I'm pretty sure I haven't changed anything about the Pokedex in the script..
__________________
I hope this isn't Chris' sandwich...
~Forestpelt~
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old July 7th, 2012 (2:28 AM).
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
Have you tried to receive a Pokemon?
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old July 7th, 2012 (2:34 AM). Edited July 7th, 2012 by Nickalooose.
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forestpelt View Post
I'm having this exact same problem, with the Pokedex not appearing. I'm using the newest version of Essentials, and I'm pretty sure I haven't changed anything about the Pokedex in the script..
You're pretty sure or are you sure?

Because if you have changed anything, then that's the problem...
if $Trainer.pokedex=true hasn't been used, use it.
if you're using $Trainer.pokedex==true, remove an "=".
Check spelling... That can also be a mistake, mistakes are even made by the most experienced person.

If none of the above worked, you changed something in the scripts reffering to it, probably this line:

Code:
  commands[cmdPokedex=commands.length]=_INTL("Pokédex") if $Trainer.pokedex
In def pbStartPokemonMenu, around line 114.

Try owning a Pokémon too
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:23 PM.