Pokémon Trading Card Game The forum for the Pokémon TCG and Pokemon TCG Online. Post your deck to get rated, rate other decks, ask questions, talk about strategy, etc.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 1st, 2012 (4:49 PM).
pmarckoue's Avatar
pmarckoue pmarckoue is offline
CAN IT BE!?
    TCGO:
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Location: Winter Park, FL
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Timid
    Posts: 219
    Can a Max Potion be used on a pokemon with no energies? I was under the impression that doing something similar is not legal.

    Max Potion: "Heal all damage from 1 of your Pokémon. Then, discard all Energy attached to that Pokémon."
    __________________
    (º¬º)
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old September 1st, 2012 (10:45 PM).
    donavannj's Avatar
    donavannj donavannj is offline
    • Moderator
    • Crystal Tier
    TCGO: donavannj
     
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
    Age: 27
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 21,203
    As far as I'm aware, you can.

    And after a check of the compendium on PokeGym, it is confirmed that you indeed can use it on a Pokemon with damage on it but no energy. You cannot, however, use it on a Pokemon with energy on it but no damage counters.
    __________________
    idol trash and game nerd
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old September 2nd, 2012 (6:56 AM).
    pmarckoue's Avatar
    pmarckoue pmarckoue is offline
    CAN IT BE!?
      TCGO:
       
      Join Date: Dec 2010
      Location: Winter Park, FL
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 219
      Oh ok. I was kind of comparing it to attacks that pretty much say the same thing. Like if Zoroark used Reshis Blue Flare, but Zoroark didn't have any fire energies on it, so it can't do that attack. Or is that alright to do too?
      __________________
      (º¬º)
      Reply With Quote
        #4    
      Old September 2nd, 2012 (8:22 AM).
      Pharetra's Avatar
      Pharetra Pharetra is offline
      zzzz
        TCGO:
         
        Join Date: Jun 2011
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 455
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by pmarckoue View Post
        Oh ok. I was kind of comparing it to attacks that pretty much say the same thing. Like if Zoroark used Reshis Blue Flare, but Zoroark didn't have any fire energies on it, so it can't do that attack. Or is that alright to do too?
        I've seen people using Blue Flare via Foul Play while the Zoroark didn't have two Fire Energy attached on tournaments. Before copying Blue Flare without two Fire Energy attached, double check it please, as I'm not sure.
        Reply With Quote
          #5    
        Old September 3rd, 2012 (3:41 AM).
        Overlord Drakow's Avatar
        Overlord Drakow Overlord Drakow is offline
        -CONQUERER
          TCGO:
           
          Join Date: Oct 2007
          Location: Down Under
          Nature: Hasty
          Posts: 3,655
          I am pretty sure Zoroark can indeed copy Reshiram's attack without having to discard energy.
          __________________
          "Power through ambition." - Overlord Drakow
          The Painist
          Reply With Quote
            #6    
          Old September 3rd, 2012 (8:15 AM).
          pmarckoue's Avatar
          pmarckoue pmarckoue is offline
          CAN IT BE!?
            TCGO:
             
            Join Date: Dec 2010
            Location: Winter Park, FL
            Age: 26
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Timid
            Posts: 219
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Drakow View Post
            I am pretty sure Zoroark can indeed copy Reshiram's attack without having to discard energy.
            Really? I was told by my league leader that you had to discard in order for the attack to take affect.
            __________________
            (º¬º)
            Reply With Quote
              #7    
            Old September 3rd, 2012 (10:25 AM).
            donavannj's Avatar
            donavannj donavannj is offline
            • Moderator
            • Crystal Tier
            TCGO: donavannj
             
            Join Date: Mar 2005
            Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
            Age: 27
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 21,203
            Your league leader is wrong in this instance. The attack does not say "in order to use this attack" when mentioning the discard cost. Here's the ruling from the compendium over at PokeGym:

            Q. If Zoroark uses "Foul Play" to copy Reshiram's "Blue Flare" attack, what happens if I don't have have any Fire Energy attached to Zoroark?
            A. The damage amount is done regardless of whether Zororark has any Fire Energy attached to it or not, but if you have one or two Fire Energy attached to Zoroark you must discard them. (Black & White FAQ; Apr 28, 2011 PUI Rules Team)
            __________________
            idol trash and game nerd
            Reply With Quote
              #8    
            Old September 3rd, 2012 (1:39 PM).
            pmarckoue's Avatar
            pmarckoue pmarckoue is offline
            CAN IT BE!?
              TCGO:
               
              Join Date: Dec 2010
              Location: Winter Park, FL
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 219
              Aww man, I would've won a LOT of tournaments then. I also have another question, which has to do with the 4 card rule. With Blend energy GFPD and WLFM, can you have 4 of each, or still would have to have just 4 all together? And with those types of cards, also like Prism Energy, would you have to discard those with an attack like "Blue Flare"?
              __________________
              (º¬º)
              Reply With Quote
                #9    
              Old September 4th, 2012 (6:33 AM).
              Tanaki's Avatar
              Tanaki Tanaki is offline
              ←Lazy ADHD Trainer
                TCGO:
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2009
                Location: Corombasu, Ohayo!
                Age: 26
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 264
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by pmarckoue View Post
                With Blend energy GFPD and WLFM, can you have 4 of each, or still would have to have just 4 all together? And with those types of cards, also like Prism Energy, would you have to discard those with an attack like "Blue Flare"?
                Both Blend Energy are different cards, so you can run 4 of each.

                And if an attack like Blue Flare or any attack like it calls for you to discard X type of energy, and a special energy meets that requirement then it counts.

                If the attack specifically requests basic energy, then it has to be basic.
                __________________

                White: 0433-0461-0045
                Soulsilver: 1334-9895-4497
                Reply With Quote
                  #10    
                Old September 4th, 2012 (7:28 AM).
                pmarckoue's Avatar
                pmarckoue pmarckoue is offline
                CAN IT BE!?
                  TCGO:
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2010
                  Location: Winter Park, FL
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 219
                  So, based on the rule with "Zoroark using Blue Flare without discarding," does that mean you can run two DCE on Tornadus (EP) and do Hurricane without discarding?
                  __________________
                  (º¬º)
                  Reply With Quote
                    #11    
                  Old September 4th, 2012 (9:12 AM).
                  donavannj's Avatar
                  donavannj donavannj is offline
                  • Moderator
                  • Crystal Tier
                  TCGO: donavannj
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2005
                  Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
                  Age: 27
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 21,203
                  From the compendium:

                  Hurricane (Tornadus - Emerging Powers; Tornadus - Emerging Powers; Crobat - Unleashed; Others)

                  Q. If I have no Benched Pokemon and attack with Tornadus' "Hurricane", do I have to discard an energy?
                  A. No. If you have no Benched Pokemon there is no place to move an energy card, so you would not do that part of the attack. (BW:Emerging Powers FAQ; Sep 1, 2011 PUI Rules Team)

                  Q. If I have only Special Energies attached (no Basic Energy) and use Tornadus' "Hurricane" attack, do I have to discard an energy or what?
                  A. If you don't have any Basic Energy cards attached to Tornadus, you simply ignore that part of the Hurricane attack. (Nov 3, 2011 PUI Rules Team)

                  Since it's an effect of the attack, you don't have to do it if you can't.
                  __________________
                  idol trash and game nerd
                  Reply With Quote
                    #12    
                  Old September 4th, 2012 (10:17 AM).
                  Tanaki's Avatar
                  Tanaki Tanaki is offline
                  ←Lazy ADHD Trainer
                    TCGO:
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2009
                    Location: Corombasu, Ohayo!
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 264
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by pmarckoue View Post
                    So, based on the rule with "Zoroark using Blue Flare without discarding," does that mean you can run two DCE on Tornadus (EP) and do Hurricane without discarding?
                    Tornadus doesn't discard energy. It would just sit there with 2 DCE's attached to it since Hurricane specifically states it moves Basic energy to a benched pokemon, which is non-optional since it does not state "you may" in the text. But obviously if you have no bench none of that card's attacks have any additional effect.

                    When it comes to Zororak it's important to note that the attack cost of the opposing pokemon is irrelevant, but the effects associated with the attack are always taken into account.

                    In the attacking process, the attack cost of the attacking pokemon takes priority over effects of the attack. Without meeting the cost of the attack on the card the attack cannot be used in the first place.

                    Reshiram Needs RRC to use Blue Flare, so you have to provide 2 fire and 1 of any other energy. Then the effect of Blue Flare activates and it says to discard 2 fire. Reshiram has 2 on it, so the energies are discarded and the effect resolves.

                    With Zoroark, Foul Play reads "Choose 1 of the defending pokemon's attacks and use it as this attack." It lacks the text on cards like Mew that read "(You still need the necessary Energy to use each attack.)"

                    So Zoroark's attack process says it needs CC to use Foul Play to use Blue Flare, so you can provide any 2 energy. Then Blue Flare says to discard 2 fire energy, and if any of the energies are fire(basic/rainbow/blend, whatever), they are discarded. If not, there isn't text saying the attack won't work if the energies are not discarded. So the energy discarding process only happens if it is applicable, then the effect resolves.

                    I really hope I explained that well.
                    __________________

                    White: 0433-0461-0045
                    Soulsilver: 1334-9895-4497
                    Reply With Quote
                    Reply

                    Quick Reply

                    Join the conversation!

                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                    Sponsored Links
                    Thread Tools

                    Posting Rules
                    You may not post new threads
                    You may not post replies
                    You may not post attachments
                    You may not edit your posts

                    BB code is On
                    Smilies are On
                    [IMG] code is On
                    HTML code is Off

                    Forum Jump


                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:32 AM.