Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old September 7th, 2013 (10:41 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
(☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tavok View Post
Is there any way to make this work in Pokemon Ruby? Or does this work? I am editing that, and I could really use the extra flags :/ Thanks in advance
Change the offsets in the code and branch and you should be good for Ruby.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

Support me at my site!
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #52    
Old September 7th, 2013 (10:54 AM).
Tavok's Avatar
Tavok Tavok is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2013
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 8
    Emm... can I ask how to do that? Because I have no idea... sorry for any inconvenience :/
    Reply With Quote
      #53    
    Old September 7th, 2013 (10:55 AM).
    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Earth
    Age: 18
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 2,477
    Just change the offsets in the ASM routine to the offsets of Ruby's save blocks and such.
    __________________
    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

    Support me at my site!
    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
    Reply With Quote
      #54    
    Old September 7th, 2013 (11:30 AM).
    Tavok's Avatar
    Tavok Tavok is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2013
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 8
      Emmm... Could you be a little more specific? I am new to hacking, and, I really have no idea of how to do that... Do I need to know how to use ASM? I am just starting to see how it works, and it seems kinda complicated, even more since I have zero programming knowledge...
      Reply With Quote
        #55    
      Old September 7th, 2013 (11:35 AM).
      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Earth
      Age: 18
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 2,477
      Well you do need ASM knowledge, and you may need to change up these routines based on ruby's... But you do need to know the offsets both in the RAM and ROM to port it.
      __________________
      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

      Support me at my site!
      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
      Reply With Quote
        #56    
      Old July 3rd, 2014 (12:58 AM).
      Phenom2122's Avatar
      Phenom2122 Phenom2122 is offline
         
        Join Date: Jun 2014
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 45
        I hope that it is alright to bring up a fairly old post here. I am wanting to try and port this to Emerald even if I have to do it via trial and error. A simple comparison of bytes with the data from that Fire Red offset does not really do the trick in this case.
        All I would like to know, I hope someone can help me here, for testing purposes, would I successfully get a break in VBA's debugger if I set either 'bpw 0203C000 1' or even better 'bpr @offsetofroutine 1' and then set a flag?
        How can I know if I have found the right offset or not from testing? I tested my first try without a break, before I proceed I would just like to know if I will even get a break at all.
        Reply With Quote
          #57    
        Old August 9th, 2014 (10:20 AM).
        teamrocketjessie's Avatar
        teamrocketjessie teamrocketjessie is offline
           
          Join Date: Jan 2010
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 31
          What is the asm code to force certain names for the main chars? Say I wanted to make Jessie and James the main chars what code would I use to set those default names?
          Reply With Quote
            #58    
          Old September 9th, 2014 (9:09 AM).
          Derlo's Avatar
          Derlo Derlo is offline
          Working on Essence of light...
             
            Join Date: Aug 2007
            Posts: 131
            someone has a new link to "This patch" in the first post?
            __________________



            Pokémon
            Essence of Light

            Comming Soon...
            Reply With Quote
              #59    
            Old May 5th, 2016 (10:16 PM).
            0's Avatar
            0 0 is offline
            Totally free
            • Platinum Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2016
            Location: Freedom
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Serious
            Posts: 552
            Jambo51 or anyone else with the patch, can you please post it. I have literally been searching all day, and cannot find it anywhere. Thanks, and sorry if this is reviving a dead post!
            Reply With Quote
              #60    
            Old May 6th, 2016 (3:20 AM).
            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Location: Earth
            Age: 18
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 2,477
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Nonibros View Post
            Jambo51 or anyone else with the patch, can you please post it. I have literally been searching all day, and cannot find it anywhere. Thanks, and sorry if this is reviving a dead post!
            https://my.owndrive.com/index.php/s/o66Y1Tc4bgrZRvD
            __________________
            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

            Support me at my site!
            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
            Reply With Quote
              #61    
            Old May 6th, 2016 (5:27 AM).
            0's Avatar
            0 0 is offline
            Totally free
            • Platinum Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2016
            Location: Freedom
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Serious
            Posts: 552
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by GoGoJJTech View Post
            Thanks alot!
            Reply With Quote
              #62    
            Old May 25th, 2016 (4:48 PM).
            FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
            FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
            What is out there?
               
              Join Date: Jun 2012
              Location: United States
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 769
              I noticed that only some or plenty of the 0x900 - 0x1800 flags (random ones) works. The ones that do not work are seemingly "set" already. Also some of the flags that seemingly seem to be functional becomes unfunctional after a while. This problem has been plaguing my hack for the longest, which forced me to eventually cancel my most recent release. It is by far the oddest conflict I've ever experienced while hacking. The reasoning for cancelling, was due to flags that once worked (when I tested it already, eventually stopped working at later time for whatever reason, thus having a completely broken game with its events out of context).
              __________________

              Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
              Always periodically make backup saves!
              Reply With Quote
                #63    
              Old May 25th, 2016 (5:37 PM).
              azurile13 azurile13 is offline
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2015
                Posts: 421
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                I noticed that only some or plenty of the 0x900 - 0x1800 flags (random ones) works. The ones that do not work are seemingly "set" already. Also some of the flags that seemingly seem to be functional becomes unfunctional after a while. This problem has been plaguing my hack for the longest, which forced me to eventually cancel my most recent release. It is by far the oddest conflict I've ever experienced while hacking. The reasoning for cancelling, was due to flags that once worked (when I tested it already, eventually stopped working at later time for whatever reason, thus having a completely broken game with its events out of context).
                I haven't used this, so I can't be sure it is perfect. But a quick scan of the routine shows that it is using 0x0203C000 to store the new flags. This should be fine by itself, but a lot of people use that area of RAM for their custom routines. This is why you need to read any routines you insert and keep track of which areas are RAM are being dedicated to what specific purpose. A flag will not be randomly be set. More likely, you're using 0x0203C000 for some other purpose without realizing it.
                Reply With Quote
                  #64    
                Old May 25th, 2016 (10:07 PM).
                chrunch chrunch is offline
                • Gold Tier
                 
                Join Date: Oct 2009
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 1,349
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                I noticed that only some or plenty of the 0x900 - 0x1800 flags (random ones) works. The ones that do not work are seemingly "set" already. Also some of the flags that seemingly seem to be functional becomes unfunctional after a while. This problem has been plaguing my hack for the longest, which forced me to eventually cancel my most recent release. It is by far the oddest conflict I've ever experienced while hacking. The reasoning for cancelling, was due to flags that once worked (when I tested it already, eventually stopped working at later time for whatever reason, thus having a completely broken game with its events out of context).
                To add on to what azurile said make sure the LR help menu is disabled, otherwise if people use it it'll mess up your flags
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #65    
                Old May 27th, 2016 (7:45 AM). Edited May 27th, 2016 by FrozenInfernoZX.
                FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                What is out there?
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                  Location: United States
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 769
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by azurile13 View Post
                  I haven't used this, so I can't be sure it is perfect. But a quick scan of the routine shows that it is using 0x0203C000 to store the new flags. This should be fine by itself, but a lot of people use that area of RAM for their custom routines. This is why you need to read any routines you insert and keep track of which areas are RAM are being dedicated to what specific purpose. A flag will not be randomly be set. More likely, you're using 0x0203C000 for some other purpose without realizing it.
                  That makes sense, very true. I never thought about it like that. Would it be fine for me to change the RAM address to a new one?
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by chrunch View Post
                  To add on to what azurile said make sure the LR help menu is disabled, otherwise if people use it it'll mess up your flags
                  I think mine is disabled already, I think I remembered having a problem like that in the past where my events would get reset after taking a step.
                  --------------------
                  EDIT 1 - I think I solved it.
                  Instead of using 0x0203C000, I used 0x0203D000. Then all the flags worked properly as intended. However if I were to save and re-enter the game, all the flags reset upon taking a step. So then I figured that the RAM addresses utilized by the Save Expansion are already occupied, thus, I changed those offsets into free ones, which are after the
                  0x0203D000 range. So I just changed the C's to D's. But something is not too right though... I'm so lost.
                  __________________

                  Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                  Always periodically make backup saves!
                  Reply With Quote
                    #66    
                  Old May 27th, 2016 (1:20 PM).
                  azurile13 azurile13 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2015
                    Posts: 421
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                    That makes sense, very true. I never thought about it like that. Would it be fine for me to change the RAM address to a new one?

                    I think mine is disabled already, I think I remembered having a problem like that in the past where my events would get reset after taking a step.
                    --------------------
                    EDIT 1 - I think I solved it.
                    Instead of using 0x0203C000, I used 0x0203D000. Then all the flags worked properly as intended. However if I were to save and re-enter the game, all the flags reset upon taking a step. So then I figured that the RAM addresses utilized by the Save Expansion are already occupied, thus, I changed those offsets into free ones, which are after the
                    0x0203D000 range. So I just changed the C's to D's. But something is not too right though... I'm so lost.
                    I don't think JPAN's saveblock hack goes beyond 0x0203D000. I want to say it is a little under x1000. Obviously it would be best if you knew which areas of RAM you were using, but I guess that isn't an immediate option. Until you can figure it out, try putting it closer to the end of the save area. Like 0x0203CC00 or something.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #67    
                    Old June 1st, 2016 (9:53 AM). Edited June 1st, 2016 by FrozenInfernoZX.
                    FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                    FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                    What is out there?
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                      Location: United States
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 769
                      Do I have to change the RAM addresses in the save block hack too? I've been changing the RAM address of the flag extension and it still somewhat doesn't work like it should.
                      --------------------
                      EDIT 1 - I did some more self-editing to the code and I think I finally got it to work now. I'll report back more information later this week as I test it.
                      __________________

                      Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                      Always periodically make backup saves!
                      Reply With Quote
                        #68    
                      Old November 27th, 2016 (11:06 PM).
                      -Piccolo-'s Avatar
                      -Piccolo- -Piccolo- is offline
                         
                        Join Date: May 2016
                        Location: Sweden
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 53
                        Does this work with MrDollSteak's rombase?
                        __________________
                        Reply With Quote
                        Reply

                        Quick Reply

                        Join the conversation!

                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                        Sponsored Links
                        Thread Tools

                        Posting Rules
                        You may not post new threads
                        You may not post replies
                        You may not post attachments
                        You may not edit your posts

                        BB code is On
                        Smilies are On
                        [IMG] code is On
                        HTML code is Off

                        Forum Jump


                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:45 AM.