Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

The Lab From the computer lab to the chemistry lab, or even the observatory, here's where we nerd out over all things science and technology!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1701    
Old February 15th, 2014 (8:13 PM).
Nick Nick is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 18
Posts: 5,220
Speaking of high-end computers, I've been gathering the parts for a custom desktop that I'm building myself. It's gonna have an Intel quad-core processor @ 3.2GHz, 2 x 4 GB DDR3 RAM, a 120GB SSD, BD-ROM Drive/Floppy drive (for nostalgia), a built-in wireless receiver + Ethernet NIC, and is going to be loaded with USB3 ports.

Relevant Advertising!

  #1702    
Old February 16th, 2014 (12:46 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by ®ock§mashGod View Post
Speaking of high-end computers, I've been gathering the parts for a custom desktop that I'm building myself. It's gonna have an Intel quad-core processor @ 3.2GHz, 2 x 4 GB DDR3 RAM, a 120GB SSD, BD-ROM Drive/Floppy drive (for nostalgia), a built-in wireless receiver + Ethernet NIC, and is going to be loaded with USB3 ports.
I would also strongly advise that you add in a spinning drive in addition to the SSD you have in your potential setup.
__________________
Froofiest batwyvern ever
Of course you can't handle Boomburst, can you?

  #1703    
Old February 16th, 2014 (12:11 PM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
I'm still pondering if I should get an SSD and install Windows on that but keep my other files. hmm..

On another note, it's time for me to get a new laptop. Like now. I don't really care if the next Windows OS comes out this year (which is really doubtful), but my current laptop is now at a state where when it starts up, the BiOS shows a "bad battery" message, and replacing the battery is like $100. No joke.
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1704    
Old February 16th, 2014 (12:27 PM).
Aeroblast's Avatar
Aeroblast Aeroblast is offline
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: My mom's basement. (not really)
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,088
How old is your laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ®ock§mashGod View Post
Speaking of high-end computers, I've been gathering the parts for a custom desktop that I'm building myself. It's gonna have an Intel quad-core processor @ 3.2GHz, 2 x 4 GB DDR3 RAM, a 120GB SSD, BD-ROM Drive/Floppy drive (for nostalgia), a built-in wireless receiver + Ethernet NIC, and is going to be loaded with USB3 ports.
How did you get that kind of money? job?
  #1705    
Old February 16th, 2014 (12:37 PM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by 루기아 View Post
How old is your laptop?
The laptop is going on five years old.. it was my Christmas gift back in 2009, when Windows 7 was still a fairly brand new operating system.
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1706    
Old February 16th, 2014 (1:40 PM).
Nick Nick is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 18
Posts: 5,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
I'm still pondering if I should get an SSD and install Windows on that but keep my other files. hmm..
I'd advise getting a small SSD that's just big enough for your OS and games, and then getting a 3TB HDD on USB3 to put all of your media onto. That's what I'm doing ;P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiggy View Post
I would also strongly advise that you add in a spinning drive in addition to the SSD you have in your potential setup.
^, except 1.5TB until the 4TB becomes as cheap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 루기아 View Post
How did you get that kind of money? job?
Heheheheheheheheh… I have connections with folk. That's really all you need to know.
  #1707    
Old February 16th, 2014 (4:47 PM).
Seki Seki is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,963
If you intend on playing the latest games, you got to put in a graphics card, or 2 if you have the budget to do so.
  #1708    
Old February 16th, 2014 (5:37 PM).
Nick Nick is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 18
Posts: 5,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seki-kun. View Post
If you intend on playing the latest games, you got to put in a graphics card, or 2 if you have the budget to do so.
Ah, the item I forgot. I had in mind whatever the latest pretty is in ATI Radeon.

I will say that I've about had it with my CPU/GPU combo on my notebook. Dual-core AMD @ 1.4 GHz and a low-line ATI/AMD GPU, anyone?
  #1709    
Old February 16th, 2014 (6:04 PM).
Aeroblast's Avatar
Aeroblast Aeroblast is offline
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: My mom's basement. (not really)
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
The laptop is going on five years old.. it was my Christmas gift back in 2009, when Windows 7 was still a fairly brand new operating system.
Get a new one then.

Meanwhile, my family back in Korea finally threw out our 12 year old desktop, which still worked with Windows Me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ®ock§mashGod View Post
Heheheheheheheheh… I have connections with folk. That's really all you need to know.
Hmm... what could it be... I get it.
  #1710    
Old February 16th, 2014 (8:24 PM).
Nick Nick is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 18
Posts: 5,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by 루기아 View Post
Meanwhile, my family back in Korea finally threw out our 12 year old desktop, which still worked with Windows Me.
I honestly thought Korea was more in-tune with the times than that. I don't even see those things in thrift shops anymore!
  #1711    
Old February 16th, 2014 (9:37 PM).
Aeroblast's Avatar
Aeroblast Aeroblast is offline
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: My mom's basement. (not really)
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by ®ock§mashGod View Post
I honestly thought Korea was more in-tune with the times than that. I don't even see those things in thrift shops anymore!
Well, my family isn't the representation of entirety of south Korea... even then we rarely used it for good reason (my father and sister both have laptops)
  #1712    
Old February 17th, 2014 (4:14 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,816
Three blue screens in a row, with one of them being MEMORY_MANAGEMENT?

Time to check the RAM modules.
__________________
Froofiest batwyvern ever
Of course you can't handle Boomburst, can you?

  #1713    
Old February 17th, 2014 (6:40 AM).
Incineroar's Avatar
Incineroar Incineroar is online now
the spirit of the fighter
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Iki Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 12,919
I once had my computer's RAM chips pop out on their own accord. I had to open the computer up and reseat them. How they managed to do that I'm clueless, but I'm wanting to believe it was because it was warm in the computer and when it cooled off, the chips moved out of place.
__________________
Incineroar
the labpmalt
pair 1pair 2twitter

on reduced activity
  #1714    
Old February 17th, 2014 (7:23 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,816
It's interesting that Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool says that there are memory problems when I was still in campus, and froze the computer, but none of that shows up when I'm home.

Further investigation is probably needed.
__________________
Froofiest batwyvern ever
Of course you can't handle Boomburst, can you?

  #1715    
Old February 17th, 2014 (8:28 AM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
Hmm, hopefully it isn't your RAM slot going bad :/

That reminds me, in my server machine, there's a bad RAM slot.. or at least you can't use both of them simultaneously. I discovered this while it was my main desktop back from 2008-2012, and I tried putting two 1GB sticks of DDR2 RAM into it, but it was only reading one of them. I had to put a 2GB stick of RAM for it to be maxed out. Wonder what happened there.
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1716    
Old February 17th, 2014 (8:37 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
Hmm, hopefully it isn't your RAM slot going bad :/
I'm thinking of running the Windows Memory Diagnostics Tool's extended test overnight until I wake up tomorrow. (It'd be the perfect stress test for both CPU and memory, but it takes forever to run. I've already run standard tests on the memory, which failed on campus, but ran successfully at home.)

I do hope so, or I'd probably end up with only a Surface (again) while I plan on getting a new laptop. Preferably preconfigured at shipping time, and also I'd think that it might be a good time for me to join the true SSD party.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
That reminds me, in my server machine, there's a bad RAM slot.. or at least you can't use both of them simultaneously. I discovered this while it was my main desktop back from 2008-2012, and I tried putting two 1GB sticks of DDR2 RAM into it, but it was only reading one of them. I had to put a 2GB stick of RAM for it to be maxed out. Wonder what happened there.
Some hardware are more fickle than others when it comes to memory slots and what's in it. Check your motherboard documentation.
__________________
Froofiest batwyvern ever
Of course you can't handle Boomburst, can you?

  #1717    
Old February 17th, 2014 (9:38 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 19,579
If the clock speeds don't match, some boards will be fickle. Also, if one stick is an unsupported clock speed, the board just won't see it. I've encountered this quite a bit in OEM desktops (the desktops that come already assembled from HP, Dell, Gateway, and others of that ilk).
__________________
Avatar is Jun from one of the K-On! manga. Check back later for signature.
  #1718    
Old February 17th, 2014 (1:54 PM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
The sticks were both identical models when I tried them, believe it or not. So iunno :/
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1719    
Old February 17th, 2014 (2:11 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 19,579
Perfect excuse to just set fire to the motherboard and go get a new one. :P

Did both sticks work individually? The slot could have been bad to begin with as well. Just kinda wanna satiate my curiosity on this.
__________________
Avatar is Jun from one of the K-On! manga. Check back later for signature.
  #1720    
Old February 17th, 2014 (2:28 PM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
Both sticks worked, and either slot or the other worked. It just didn't want to accept them both simultaneously.
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1721    
Old February 17th, 2014 (4:54 PM).
Raine's Avatar
Raine Raine is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 3,715
Eh, didn't think this was worth making a whole thread for so I hope you don't mind me barging in for a second >.<

I wanted people's opinion on something. Currently I'm using a MacBook Pro 13" and realized that considering my academic program requires me to be in front of the computer nearly 24/7, the screen has become a slight problem. Being the Apple product fan I am, I'm wondering whether I should get an iMac or just the Thunderbolt Display monitor. Either way, I'm going to have to figure out where to put the thing XD

Was originally thinking of just building a custom gaming PC, but I decided against it D:
__________________
And who knows: starting a new journey may not be so hard, or maybe it has already begun
There are many worlds, and they share the same sky - one sky, one destiny


— レイン —
  #1722    
Old February 18th, 2014 (4:24 AM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanille Sky View Post
Eh, didn't think this was worth making a whole thread for so I hope you don't mind me barging in for a second >.<

I wanted people's opinion on something. Currently I'm using a MacBook Pro 13" and realized that considering my academic program requires me to be in front of the computer nearly 24/7, the screen has become a slight problem. Being the Apple product fan I am, I'm wondering whether I should get an iMac or just the Thunderbolt Display monitor. Either way, I'm going to have to figure out where to put the thing XD

Was originally thinking of just building a custom gaming PC, but I decided against it D:
It'd honestly be up to you, really. If you have an Apple TV, you should be able to mirror your display to that over the network. However, it just really entirely depends as well what you're doing because the specs between your MacBook Pro and a new iMac are going to be different.

So it seems that even with the new GDR3 update to my phone, there's still no way to actually "stop" music.. it's either pause or play, and then reset it to get it to truly stop. Hopefully Microsoft can think of a way to "stop" music.
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1723    
Old February 18th, 2014 (4:39 AM).
Nick Nick is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 18
Posts: 5,220
Damn, your server only has two memory slots, and you only put 2 gigs in it? You know 8 GB RAM cards exist, right?

Methinks you should just go and buy a new motherboard. How old is it (seeing that 2008-2012 doesn't really tell us much)?
  #1724    
Old February 18th, 2014 (5:06 AM).
Christmas's Avatar
Christmas Christmas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 17,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by ®ock§mashGod View Post
Damn, your server only has two memory slots, and you only put 2 gigs in it? You know 8 GB RAM cards exist, right?
Not in this machine you can't

The machine may be older though, since I acquired it in a refurbished state back in September 2008.
__________________
Happy Holidays
science website twitter
  #1725    
Old February 18th, 2014 (7:40 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 19,579
Those specs and that refurbished date probably put the machine as a machine from 2005/2006, if I had to venture a guess without looking up the model. Before it ended up in your hands it was probably leased out to a business.
__________________
Avatar is Jun from one of the K-On! manga. Check back later for signature.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:41 PM.