Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Draconius GO
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old October 14th, 2013 (4:39 PM).
AntiRellik1's Avatar
AntiRellik1 AntiRellik1 is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2013
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 36
    Hello everyone. Mew3 Inc. is back. Well... kinda.
    Okay, let's begin with the tutorial. I'm not sure if anyone has posted a tutorial like this before, I didn't find anything so here goes.

    Things you will need:

    -Your MIDI
    -Cakewalk Pro Audio 9 (Old program, works like a charm in Windows 7 64 Bit too)

    I'll explain in details later, but what we're basically going to do is open the MIDI you want to loop in Cakewalk. You will have to make 2 right clicks and you've looped the whole thing in 5 seconds. How?
    We will insert 2 markers on the MIDI, One where you want the loop to begin and one where you want it to end. We're going to insert a marker where we want the loop to begin and name it with a left [ square bracket and insert a second marker at the end of the loop. We'll name the second marker with a right ] square bracket.
    That's it. You put between square brackets [ ] what you want to loop.

    Here's the whole process:

    Spoiler:

    1. May I present you with Cakewalk Pro Audio 9. Handy midi sequencer. Anyway, where we'll be working is on the top bar which I enclosed in a red box. In my case, I want the loop to begin at bar 19.


    2. Since I'll be looping from Bar 19 til the end of the MIDI, I'll right click on top of bar 19 and I'll click on "Insert Marker", Like so:


    3. Where it says "name" we will type in a left square bracket. So we type in " [ " and click "ok.
    NOTE: It's possible Cakewalk won't let you type in the square brackets in the "name" textbox so what you'll have to do is type them in Notepad and then simply copy and paste in Cakewalk


    We've now successfully set the beginning of our loop.
    You will have a flag icon with a square bracket. The marker is completely moveable. You can drag it around anywhere you want within the MIDI.



    4. Now we must mark the end of the loop. In my case, it's at the end. So, I went to the end of the MIDI which is at bar 53 and I'll do the same process again. Right click and Insert Marker.


    Same process like I said, except this time we'll type in a right square bracket. We type in " ] " and we hit "ok".


    5. Once you've inserted both markers, all you have to do is save your MIDI and insert it. Works PERFECTLY when the MIDI is inserted with Sappy.
    You don't have to do anything else. You assemble the song in Sappy, play it and BANG. It just loops perfectly.
    Now grab a tissue and wipe the sweat off your forehead. That was one hell of a job. So hard. lol.

    Side note: If you're looking for a Sappy that actually works in Win7 64 Bit, get Sappy 2006 mod 17.1 - works like a charm. It's in french though, but who cares... you can open an english version of Sappy that crashes just to take a peak at what the menus say.



    Side note: If you're looking for a Sappy that actually works in Win7 64 Bit, get Sappy 2006 mod 17.1 - works like a charm. It's in french though, but who cares... you can open an english version of Sappy that crashes just to take a peak at what the menus say.

    I recommend Magnius Guide to Pokemon Music Hacking. Another thing I recommend is that each time you're going to export tracks within Sappy, use $T. Another important thing I'll also recommend is always insert your new song somewhere with a lot of free space. You lower your chances of screwing up your ROM that way. If you're new song is light you can probably insert it over the original... but you can unknowingly override one or two extra bytes and I can guarantee you in a 90% that you'll have problems with your ROM at some point. (You wouldnt want to realize you had screwed up your ROM when you inserted a track MONTHS ago, just when you're nearly completing the hack, DO YOU? xD xD). I'm exaggerating a bit, but it is true that you can screw up things badly, making the ROM crash the second music starts playing. And Sappy? Forget it, it'll crash upon playing any random track.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old November 8th, 2013 (9:46 PM).
    Incineroar's Avatar
    Incineroar Incineroar is online now
    the spirit of the fighter
    • Moderator
    • Platinum Tier
    • Developer
     
    Join Date: May 2009
    Location: Iki Town
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Brave
    Posts: 13,589
    I posted the original of this here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=292547

    I used Anvil Studio for this, but I can add links to other programs that can insert markers for the loop points.
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old November 8th, 2013 (9:54 PM).
    Sniper's Avatar
    Sniper Sniper is offline
    ふゆかい
       
      Join Date: Nov 2013
      Location: Philippines
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 1,453
      Oh. But as Team Fail says, His thread were easier.
      But still, It might help others. Good job.
      __________________


      Reply With Quote
        #4    
      Old November 9th, 2013 (3:27 AM).
      ipatix's Avatar
      ipatix ipatix is offline
      Sound Expert
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Location: Germany
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 146
        I somehow always had trouble with Anvilstudio because (for me) it always inserted the markers at the second track rather than the first (metadata) track, which Anvilstudio automatically adds for some reason.

        Also can recommend SynthFont for doing that, although only version 2.0 supports inserting those events (2.0 costs money).
        __________________
        Visit my YouTube channel (music hacking and other stuff): http://www.youtube.com/user/theipatix
        Reply With Quote
          #5    
        Old November 9th, 2013 (3:27 AM).
        AntiRellik1's Avatar
        AntiRellik1 AntiRellik1 is offline
           
          Join Date: Sep 2013
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 36
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
          I posted the original of this here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=292547

          I used Anvil Studio for this, but I can add links to other programs that can insert markers for the loop points.
          Sorry about that, didn't realize there was a thread for this (I even used advanced search).
          I thought people were still using text editors to loop. lol
          Reply With Quote
            #6    
          Old November 9th, 2013 (3:29 AM).
          Sniper's Avatar
          Sniper Sniper is offline
          ふゆかい
             
            Join Date: Nov 2013
            Location: Philippines
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 1,453
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by AntiRellik1 View Post
            Sorry about that, didn't realize there was a thread for this (I even used advanced search).
            I thought people were still using text editors to loop. lol
            I've been there, a very old method of looping.
            But good thing tutorials like this came popping out and making it easier.
            __________________


            Reply With Quote
              #7    
            Old November 18th, 2013 (7:41 AM).
            Incineroar's Avatar
            Incineroar Incineroar is online now
            the spirit of the fighter
            • Moderator
            • Platinum Tier
            • Developer
             
            Join Date: May 2009
            Location: Iki Town
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Brave
            Posts: 13,589
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Sagittarius View Post
            I've been there, a very old method of looping.
            But good thing tutorials like this came popping out and making it easier. ^^
            Yeah, the editing of s files was awful. I don't ever want to go there again.
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #8    
            Old December 20th, 2013 (12:35 PM).
            Varion Bluefire's Avatar
            Varion Bluefire Varion Bluefire is offline
            A.K.A The Glitch
               
              Join Date: Apr 2013
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Naughty
              Posts: 663
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
              Yeah, the editing of s files was awful. I don't ever want to go there again.
              I agree.
              If it wasn't for this bookmarking method, I'd be a terrible Music Inserter, since I couldn't make heads nor tails out os s editing.
              __________________

              Just strollin' to my next destination...
              Reply With Quote
                #9    
              Old December 21st, 2013 (3:36 AM).
              ipatix's Avatar
              ipatix ipatix is offline
              Sound Expert
                 
                Join Date: May 2008
                Location: Germany
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 146
                Does anybody know if there is some place where to download or buy those old versions of Cakewalk? I had endless trouble doing the looping in Anvilstudio so I'm looking for (possibly free) software to do this for people who don't have SynthFont

                The other solution would be if someone could teach me how to do this with Anvilstudio. I personally wasn't even able to insert the [] markers on the "real" first track (Anvilstudio hides that) and even on the others I couldn't insert these precisely (they always were off by a few ticks -.-).
                __________________
                Visit my YouTube channel (music hacking and other stuff): http://www.youtube.com/user/theipatix
                Reply With Quote
                  #10    
                Old December 21st, 2013 (1:04 PM).
                Wobbu's Avatar
                Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                Drag a needle on the good today
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2012
                  Location: Stardew Valley
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Relaxed
                  Posts: 2,797
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by ipatix View Post
                  The other solution would be if someone could teach me how to do this with Anvilstudio. I personally wasn't even able to insert the [] markers on the "real" first track (Anvilstudio hides that) and even on the others I couldn't insert these precisely (they always were off by a few ticks -.-).
                  On Anvil Studio's toolbar, click View -> Event List. To the right of the rewind, play, stop, and record buttons you'll see a drop down box that will display what track you're currently viewing. Select that box and choose . This will take you to the "real" first track that I think you're referring to. Insert the [] cues and if they don't show up, click somewhere on the white screen and scroll with your mouse wheel.
                  __________________

                  My Favorite Song
                  Reply With Quote
                    #11    
                  Old December 22nd, 2013 (2:12 AM).
                  ipatix's Avatar
                  ipatix ipatix is offline
                  Sound Expert
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Location: Germany
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 146
                    But how can I place these exactly to the end/start of the bars?
                    They are won't place accurate and are always off by a few ticks.
                    __________________
                    Visit my YouTube channel (music hacking and other stuff): http://www.youtube.com/user/theipatix
                    Reply With Quote
                      #12    
                    Old December 22nd, 2013 (2:27 AM).
                    Wobbu's Avatar
                    Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                    Drag a needle on the good today
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2012
                      Location: Stardew Valley
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 2,797
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ipatix View Post
                      But how can I place these exactly to the end/start of the bars?
                      They are won't place accurate and are always off by a few ticks.
                      While viewing the cues from the event list, double click them and change the 'Time of event' parameter to the proper number.
                      __________________

                      My Favorite Song
                      Reply With Quote
                        #13    
                      Old December 22nd, 2013 (6:29 PM).
                      Varion Bluefire's Avatar
                      Varion Bluefire Varion Bluefire is offline
                      A.K.A The Glitch
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2013
                        Age: 23
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Naughty
                        Posts: 663
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by ipatix View Post
                        Does anybody know if there is some place where to download or buy those old versions of Cakewalk? I had endless trouble doing the looping in Anvilstudio so I'm looking for (possibly free) software to do this for people who don't have SynthFont

                        The other solution would be if someone could teach me how to do this with Anvilstudio. I personally wasn't even able to insert the [] markers on the "real" first track (Anvilstudio hides that) and even on the others I couldn't insert these precisely (they always were off by a few ticks -.-).
                        All you do is click "New Cue" at the end of the song, or where you want the song to end, and just types ']'
                        and then where you want the song to re-loop make a "New Cue" and type "[" and the loops is complete.
                        Insert to Sappy, and see if the loop is good enough, if not, rinse and repeat.

                        Easy a Pie.
                        __________________

                        Just strollin' to my next destination...
                        Reply With Quote
                          #14    
                        Old December 23rd, 2013 (8:31 AM).
                        Chaos_Darkrai's Avatar
                        Chaos_Darkrai Chaos_Darkrai is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 284
                          I was wondering if it could also play the loop over and over again to test it? Great tutorial, BTW!
                          __________________
                          ░░░░░███████ ]▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                          ▂▄▅█████████▅▄▃▂
                          Il███████████████████].
                          ◥⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙◤..

                          If you're looking for a good time, or just want to chat, come over to Weloxux and I's channel at:
                          http://mibbit.com/?server=irc.mibbit.net&channel=%23Dragons_Den

                          Reply With Quote
                            #15    
                          Old December 23rd, 2013 (10:26 AM).
                          ipatix's Avatar
                          ipatix ipatix is offline
                          Sound Expert
                             
                            Join Date: May 2008
                            Location: Germany
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 146
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by The Glitch View Post
                            All you do is click "New Cue" at the end of the song, or where you want the song to end, and just types ']'
                            and then where you want the song to re-loop make a "New Cue" and type "[" and the loops is complete.
                            Insert to Sappy, and see if the loop is good enough, if not, rinse and repeat.

                            Easy a Pie.
                            Well, I personally don't use Anvil Studio. I was just asking for a friend how to do this with AS.
                            __________________
                            Visit my YouTube channel (music hacking and other stuff): http://www.youtube.com/user/theipatix
                            Reply With Quote
                            Reply

                            Quick Reply

                            Join the conversation!

                            Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                            Create a PokéCommunity Account

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:53 PM.