The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
Simple Questions (PLEASE USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE ASKING)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old January 14th, 2014 (8:31 AM).
pokemonT pokemonT is offline
     
    Join Date: Jan 2014
    Gender: Female
    Posts: 8
    Yes the sound works normally for other things. All of the roms are. I don't think that they have problems and they weren't before until today and yesterday.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #102    
    Old January 14th, 2014 (8:51 PM).
    chrunch chrunch is offline
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 1,348
    Does anyone know how to make a "permanent" setmaptile event? So that the map doesn't reset to the original when you exit it.
    __________________
      #103    
    Old January 14th, 2014 (9:18 PM).
    Teh Blazer's Avatar
    Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
    Divider of Zero
       
      Join Date: Feb 2009
      Location: 'MERICA
      Age: 21
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 767
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by chrunch View Post
      Does anyone know how to make a "permanent" setmaptile event? So that the map doesn't reset to the original when you exit it.
      You have to create a level script (I think it's the 05 one) that does the same setmaptile's that you already made. Like:

      Code:
      checkflag 0xblahblah 0x1
      if 0x1 call @setmaptiles
      end
      
      #org @setmaptiles
      -insert your setmaptiles here-
      return
      And then just set the flag in your script somewhere so it'll activate when you walk in.
      __________________
      Being a hero is overrated anyways
        #104    
      Old January 14th, 2014 (9:47 PM).
      Kyoko1 Kyoko1 is offline
      Banned
         
        Join Date: Jan 2014
        Posts: 63
        Hey, its [01] - Type and you forgot the "special 0x8E" in it
          #105    
        Old January 15th, 2014 (12:54 AM).
        akihiko123's Avatar
        akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2013
          Location: Philippines
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 57
          Hey~ How to make Add another Elite Four Member? And how to rebattle trainer again and again like an Elite Four?
          __________________
          Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
          I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
          I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
          So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

          So, give me what you got!

          Like my page on Facebook : LINK
            #106    
          Old January 15th, 2014 (2:00 AM).
          Kyoko1 Kyoko1 is offline
          Banned
             
            Join Date: Jan 2014
            Posts: 63
            You can either work with the Vs-seeker (which simply resets trainerflag) or
            make "cleartrainerflag [Trainer-ID]" in front of every trainerbattle script.
              #107    
            Old January 15th, 2014 (2:04 AM).
            Germaniac's Avatar
            Germaniac Germaniac is offline
            Victoria Concordia Crescit
               
              Join Date: May 2009
              Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
              Age: 18
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 565
              Is it possible to prevent PP reduction of a move?
              __________________
                #108    
              Old January 15th, 2014 (3:29 AM).
              karatekid552's Avatar
              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
              What happens if I push it?....
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bold
                Posts: 1,766
                Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Germaniac View Post
                Is it possible to prevent PP reduction of a move?
                JPAN's hack has a special for this I believe. (I feel myself posting this same message a lot....)
                __________________

                Paired with Simba
                  #109    
                Old January 15th, 2014 (7:30 AM).
                The_Show The_Show is offline
                Banned
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2012
                  Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Sassy
                  Posts: 43
                  So I have a Mac right now, but I am considering buying a Bootcamp for my computer do I can use windows and hack! My only question is, should I get Bootcamp for Windows XP or 7? Basically my question is, which one is better for hacking?
                    #110    
                  Old January 15th, 2014 (8:07 AM).
                  Spherical Ice's Avatar
                  Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                  • Moderator
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2007
                  Location: Bristol, UK
                  Age: 19
                  Posts: 5,094
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Kyoko1 View Post
                  Hey, its [01] - Type and you forgot the "special 0x8E" in it :)
                  special 0x8e isn't needed for setmaptile level scripts.

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
                  So I have a Mac right now, but I am considering buying a Bootcamp for my computer do I can use windows and hack! My only question is, should I get Bootcamp for Windows XP or 7? Basically my question is, which one is better for hacking?
                  I would argue that Windows XP is better because some of the older tools aren't compatible with Windows 7, but I really can't think of any at the moment so I think your best option is to go with Windows 7, as the most "important" or necessary tools can work on Window 7 or have better alternatives that do so.
                  __________________

                  A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                  Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                    #111    
                  Old January 15th, 2014 (8:11 AM).
                  Eminence's Avatar
                  Eminence Eminence is offline
                  Pokemon Eminence
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2013
                    Location: Australia
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 19
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
                    So I have a Mac right now, but I am considering buying a Bootcamp for my computer do I can use windows and hack! My only question is, should I get Bootcamp for Windows XP or 7? Basically my question is, which one is better for hacking?
                    I run seven, and used to run XP. I can say there are many tools which have been made on xp so they're more compatible and bug free (not saying that every tools has bugs). MS-Paint on xp is also much better to work with when you're working on tiles or editing titlescreens, however you can just download it on Seven. It comes down to personal preference. I like using seven because it looks better and offers more "things" which I don't even end up using .

                    I believe 7 is also way more expensive. You're choice!
                    __________________

                    http://nupzdeviant.deviantart.com/
                      #112    
                    Old January 15th, 2014 (8:21 AM).
                    Spherical Ice's Avatar
                    Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                    • Moderator
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                    Location: Bristol, UK
                    Age: 19
                    Posts: 5,094
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Eminence View Post
                    I run seven, and used to run XP. I can say there are many tools which have been made on xp so they're more compatible and bug free (not saying that every tools has bugs). MS-Paint on xp is also much better to work with when you're working on tiles or editing titlescreens, however you can just download it on Seven. It comes down to personal preference. I like using seven because it looks better and offers more "things" which I don't even end up using {XD}.

                    I believe 7 is also way more expensive. You're choice!
                    Regarding the paint argument, Windows 7 is still the superior option as you get Win7!Paint and then you can just download XP!Paint.
                    __________________

                    A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                    Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                      #113    
                    Old January 15th, 2014 (11:36 AM).
                    Germaniac's Avatar
                    Germaniac Germaniac is offline
                    Victoria Concordia Crescit
                       
                      Join Date: May 2009
                      Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
                      Age: 18
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 565
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                      JPAN's hack has a special for this I believe. (I feel myself posting this same message a lot....)
                      What about ruby?­­­­­­­­­
                      __________________
                        #114    
                      Old January 15th, 2014 (1:31 PM). Edited January 15th, 2014 by karatekid552.
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Germaniac View Post
                        What about ruby?­­­­­­­­­
                        You will either have to port it to Ruby, or discover how Ether works and write some ASM to mimic it. You would need to be able to decrypt Pokemon Data and then edit the PP values for the moves. Not terribly hard if you know what you are doing, but if you have never touched ASM before, it is a good goal.

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
                        So I have a Mac right now, but I am considering buying a Bootcamp for my computer do I can use windows and hack! My only question is, should I get Bootcamp for Windows XP or 7? Basically my question is, which one is better for hacking?
                        I am currently running XP dual-booted with Ubuntu and I have had 0 issues (except that one of the new tools, which I don't need but noticed, required .NET 4.5 which is unsupported on 32bit architecture) but other than that, it runs great. I have also noticed that compared with a much newer computer elsewhere in my house, it is also much faster. You can hack just fine on XP, but if you want to drop the extra money on 7, it will be newer and therefore (hopefully, if Microsoft did it right.... thinking about Windows 8 right now. *shudders* lol) better.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #115    
                        Old January 15th, 2014 (1:39 PM).
                        Germaniac's Avatar
                        Germaniac Germaniac is offline
                        Victoria Concordia Crescit
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
                          Age: 18
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 565
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                          You will either have to port it to Ruby, or discover how Ether works and write some ASM to mimic it. You would need to be able to decrypt Pokemon Data and then edit the PP values for the moves. Not terribly hard if you know what you are doing, but if you have never touched ASM before, it is a good goal.
                          Hmm, I've never touched ASM before but I've planned to learn it soon, guess now is the time, thanks
                          __________________
                            #116    
                          Old January 15th, 2014 (7:28 PM).
                          FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                          FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                          What is out there?
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2012
                            Location: United States
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 766
                            Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                            Does anybody know how to check for a specific Pokemon in your party?
                            I tried checking out the original script for in game trading, but it seems to store the Pokemon through some sort of variable.
                            Basically, I simple branch script that if the Pokemon is not in your party, it jumps to a different script.
                            I'm pretty sure there is something like this in Pokemon Ruby, but I can't remember where.
                            __________________

                            Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                            Always periodically make backup saves!
                              #117    
                            Old January 15th, 2014 (7:50 PM).
                            Kawaii Shoujo Duskull's Avatar
                            Kawaii Shoujo Duskull Kawaii Shoujo Duskull is offline
                            The Cutest Duskull
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2013
                              Location: Far too deep in my thoughts.
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Timid
                              Posts: 281
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                              Does anybody know how to check for a specific Pokemon in your party?
                              I tried checking out the original script for in game trading, but it seems to store the Pokemon through some sort of variable.
                              Basically, I simple branch script that if the Pokemon is not in your party, it jumps to a different script.
                              I'm pretty sure there is something like this in Pokemon Ruby, but I can't remember where.


                              I think there was a special for that maybe?
                              Whatever it was, I think it might have involved some setvar commands that checked for the pokemon in question. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong or fill in the missing information here please.
                                #118    
                              Old January 15th, 2014 (8:06 PM). Edited January 16th, 2014 by Aruaruu.
                              Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2011
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 199
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                Does anybody know how to check for a specific Pokemon in your party?
                                I tried checking out the original script for in game trading, but it seems to store the Pokemon through some sort of variable.
                                Basically, I simple branch script that if the Pokemon is not in your party, it jumps to a different script.
                                I'm pretty sure there is something like this in Pokemon Ruby, but I can't remember where.
                                The sealed chamber. Where you go to unlock the Regi's. It looks for relicanth and wailord, but they need to be in a certain slot.
                                  #119    
                                Old January 16th, 2014 (3:47 AM).
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                  Does anybody know how to check for a specific Pokemon in your party?
                                  I tried checking out the original script for in game trading, but it seems to store the Pokemon through some sort of variable.
                                  Basically, I simple branch script that if the Pokemon is not in your party, it jumps to a different script.
                                  I'm pretty sure there is something like this in Pokemon Ruby, but I can't remember where.
                                  Look up HackMew's remove pokemon script. In it, there is a pokemon checker. That is where I learned it.
                                  __________________

                                  Paired with Simba
                                    #120    
                                  Old January 16th, 2014 (4:01 AM).
                                  DrFuji's Avatar
                                  DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                                  Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                                  Location: Downia-upside
                                  Age: 24
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 1,326
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                  Does anybody know how to check for a specific Pokemon in your party?
                                  I tried checking out the original script for in game trading, but it seems to store the Pokemon through some sort of variable.
                                  Basically, I simple branch script that if the Pokemon is not in your party, it jumps to a different script.
                                  I'm pretty sure there is something like this in Pokemon Ruby, but I can't remember where.
                                  I'm not sure how to go about doing that in Ruby, but it is definitely possible in FR/LG. You need to use the command 'special2 0xYYYY 0x17C'. Here's an example of it being used:

                                  Code:
                                  #dynamic 0x800000
                                  
                                  #org @start
                                  setvar 0x8004 0x19 // Set the number of the Pokemon you want to check for in the variable 0x8004, in this case it is 0x19 (Pikachu)
                                  special2 0x8005 0x17C // Execute the special and returns the result to variable 0x8005
                                  compare 0x8005 0x1 // 0x1 is returned to 0x8005 if the Pokemon is in your party, otherwise it returns 0x0
                                  if 0x1 goto @HavePikachu
                                  ...
                                  If you want the specific party slot of that Pokemon then you can use the 0x147 special which works in a similar way, though you will have to use it multiple times/ make a loop if you want to check all six slots:

                                  Code:
                                  #dynamic 0x800000
                                  
                                  #org @start
                                  setvar 0x8004 0x0 // Sets 0x8004 to 0x0, the beginning of your party
                                  special2 0x8005 0x147 // Execute the special and return the result to variable 0x8005
                                  compare 0x8005 0x19 // Checking if the result returned is 0x19 (Pikachu)
                                  if 0x1 goto @PikachuIsFirst
                                  ...
                                  Just change the 0x8004 variable to a different value to check your other party slots.
                                  __________________
                                    #121    
                                  Old January 16th, 2014 (1:57 PM).
                                  FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                                  FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                                  What is out there?
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                                    Location: United States
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 766
                                    Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
                                    Thanks for the help guys!
                                    It works! I made a test script.
                                    -----

                                    __________________

                                    Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                                    Always periodically make backup saves!
                                      #122    
                                    Old January 16th, 2014 (3:42 PM).
                                    karatekid552's Avatar
                                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                    What happens if I push it?....
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 1,766
                                      Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                      Thanks for the help guys!
                                      It works! I made a test script.
                                      -----

                                      You can have it check all slots if you run a little loop. but otherwise, good work.
                                      __________________

                                      Paired with Simba
                                        #123    
                                      Old January 16th, 2014 (5:19 PM).
                                      darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2008
                                        Gender:
                                        Posts: 79
                                        Are there any patches or tools to remove all the scripts, trainers, signposts, etc. from Ruby like JPAN's Hacked Engine for Fire Red?
                                          #124    
                                        Old January 16th, 2014 (6:11 PM).
                                        karatekid552's Avatar
                                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                        What happens if I push it?....
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Bold
                                          Posts: 1,766
                                          Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by darkprince909 View Post
                                          Are there any patches or tools to remove all the scripts, trainers, signposts, etc. from Ruby like JPAN's Hacked Engine for Fire Red?
                                          Nope, but feel free to make one.
                                          __________________

                                          Paired with Simba
                                            #125    
                                          Old January 16th, 2014 (6:53 PM).
                                          darkprince909 darkprince909 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: May 2008
                                            Gender:
                                            Posts: 79
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                            Nope, but feel free to make one.
                                            If I knew how to, I wouldn't have asked for one that was already made lol. Okay, in lieu of a straightforward solution, how would I go about deleting individual scripts from the ROM? I know that I just need to replace them in a HEX editor with 00 or FF, but how do I tell how many bytes the script takes up?
                                            Closed Thread
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:15 PM.