ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25351    
Old June 1st, 2013 (8:34 PM).
Trev's Avatar
Trev Trev is offline
starting my comeback tour
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Location: anywhere as long as I have dogs
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Sassy
    Posts: 1,192
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
    Hey guys, I've been having some problems with advance map for fire red. Lately when I click on maps it says report out of memory and freezes. What does that mean exactly? Does anyone know?
    What version of Advance Map are you using?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #25352    
    Old June 1st, 2013 (8:52 PM).
    kearnseyboy6's Avatar
    kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
    Aussie's Toughest Mudder
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Posts: 300
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by kablam View Post
      My question is does there exist a type of script that would replace one map with another. For example, if a natural disaster were to happen to a certain town or an invasion or something else of that sort, would it be possible to have a flag or something control map replacement? Also if that were possible, does anyone know if there are any tutorials/guides that include that or if there are any existing scripts in games that do a similar thing that I could decompile to look at.
      Yes... I think.

      Have the two maps made (separately and inserted somewhere) . Now go to the map you want to change after an event, navigate to the header tab, and press ctrl+H. Now you can see the map data.

      Look at the map offset. Mine is 71C04C. Now look at the map footer. There are all these bytes and in the middle of the string is your offset in reverse hex. 4C C0 71 08. That's the pointer for your map.... Now if you replaced this with your new maps pointer in reverse hex, ideally this should work.

      The command to set bytes in a script is 'writebytetooffset'. I haven't dealt with it yet but I assume it works. You will need to write 3 new bytes.

      Also if it isn't a town or something with connections, a script can warp to separate maps with variables and flags set.
        #25353    
      Old June 2nd, 2013 (1:23 AM).
      Jambo51's Avatar
      Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
      Glory To Arstotzka
         
        Join Date: Jun 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 732
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
        New Questions!

        1) Is it possible to make a giveitem event but not have it show a message?
        Just use "additem". This is exactly what that scripting command is for!

        Code:
        additem ITEM_ID NUMBER_OF_ITEMS
        Simples! Also, FYI, giveitem is like msgbox in scripting. It's not actually a command, but a combination of commands which achieves the given effect.
        __________________
        Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
          #25354    
        Old June 2nd, 2013 (4:59 AM).
        karatekid552's Avatar
        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
        What happens if I push it?....
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 1,766
          Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
          Yes... I think.

          Have the two maps made (separately and inserted somewhere) . Now go to the map you want to change after an event, navigate to the header tab, and press ctrl+H. Now you can see the map data.

          Look at the map offset. Mine is 71C04C. Now look at the map footer. There are all these bytes and in the middle of the string is your offset in reverse hex. 4C C0 71 08. That's the pointer for your map.... Now if you replaced this with your new maps pointer in reverse hex, ideally this should work.

          The command to set bytes in a script is 'writebytetooffset'. I haven't dealt with it yet but I assume it works. You will need to write 3 new bytes.

          Also if it isn't a town or something with connections, a script can warp to separate maps with variables and flags set.
          You can't do this because writebytetooffset only works on the RAM. What you are editing is the ROM (read only memeory- Read Only.) You can do this however with a massive setmaptile script if both of the sets of tiles are on the same map.
          __________________

          Paired with Simba
            #25355    
          Old June 2nd, 2013 (5:15 AM).
          kearnseyboy6's Avatar
          kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
          Aussie's Toughest Mudder
             
            Join Date: Dec 2008
            Posts: 300
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
            You can't do this because writebytetooffset only works on the RAM. What you are editing is the ROM (read only memeory- Read Only.) You can do this however with a massive setmaptile script if both of the sets of tiles are on the same map.
            Dam, I really thought I was on to something... So are there any way commands to touch Read Only Memory? If not I guess that's why its read only ...
              #25356    
            Old June 2nd, 2013 (8:38 AM). Edited June 2nd, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Location: Earth
            Age: 18
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 2,477
            No, the rom is only READ so you can't write to unless you are hacking, hello
            __________________
            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

            Support me at my site!
            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
              #25357    
            Old June 2nd, 2013 (8:43 AM).
            kablam kablam is offline
               
              Join Date: May 2013
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 21
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
              You can't do this because writebytetooffset only works on the RAM. What you are editing is the ROM (read only memeory- Read Only.) You can do this however with a massive setmaptile script if both of the sets of tiles are on the same map.
              Set map tile script doesn't affect the people/events on the map, however, correct?
                #25358    
              Old June 2nd, 2013 (8:52 AM).
              GoGoJJTech's Avatar
              GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
              (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Nov 2012
              Location: Earth
              Age: 18
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 2,477
              Correct, so you can use movesprite, hidesprite, showsprite, applymovement whatever.
              __________________
              I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
              The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
              Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

              Support me at my site!
              Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                #25359    
              Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:02 AM).
              pokehacker69 pokehacker69 is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2013
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 1
                I am making a hack, and when I try picking up item balls (any, like the ones in Viridian Forest) it makes the sound of picking up the item, but no message comes up and I do not recieve an item. The poke ball stays there as if nothing happened.
                  #25360    
                Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:04 AM).
                GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                • Gold Tier
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Location: Earth
                Age: 18
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Jolly
                Posts: 2,477
                You need to set a flag so the event doesn't happen twice. Then in advance map in person id put the flag number so the game hides the pokeball. And voila! The pokeball disappears.
                __________________
                I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                Support me at my site!
                Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                  #25361    
                Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:13 AM).
                SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                   
                  Join Date: May 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 154
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by PJBottomz View Post
                  What version of Advance Map are you using?
                  I believe it's 1.95. Is there a newer one out that may be less buggy?
                    #25362    
                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:18 AM).
                  GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                  GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                  (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Earth
                  Age: 18
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 2,477
                  No.1.95 is the newest. Check the version of your ROM. It only supports version 1.0 of FR and LG.
                  __________________
                  I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                  The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                  Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                  Support me at my site!
                  Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                    #25363    
                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:29 AM).
                  Vicktor Black's Avatar
                  Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
                  Blaziken
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                    Location: Someplace
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 48
                    Does anyone know how to change the graphics of the weather in the Overworld, Like changing rain into hail?
                    __________________

                    Always keep an open mind!
                      #25364    
                    Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:35 AM).
                    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                    Location: Earth
                    Age: 18
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 2,477
                    Go into VBA and look for the image in the oam viewer tool.
                    It says an offset like 0x07000000
                    in the memory viewer go there. Search for those bytes in a hex editor and if theres a match, theres your image. Then in NSE go to the offset of it in your rom and you can bookmark it. If you dont find it in a hex editor, then its LZ-77 compressed, and you need unlz gba.
                    __________________
                    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                    Support me at my site!
                    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                      #25365    
                    Old June 2nd, 2013 (9:55 AM).
                    Vicktor Black's Avatar
                    Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
                    Blaziken
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2012
                      Location: Someplace
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 48
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                      you need unlz gba.
                      Where would I find the weather in unlz thats all I need And I will be set and thanks for the Info?
                      __________________

                      Always keep an open mind!
                        #25366    
                      Old June 2nd, 2013 (10:04 AM). Edited June 2nd, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
                      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Earth
                      Age: 18
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 2,477
                      Well it would be hard since its a small image so try searching withthe grayscale option so it's easier to find.

                      Ok, how would I make a song play from the songtable in ASM?

                      Are animated sprites like in BW possible? That could be the next community project.
                      __________________
                      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                      Support me at my site!
                      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                        #25367    
                      Old June 2nd, 2013 (12:07 PM).
                      SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                      SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: May 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 154
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                        No.1.95 is the newest. Check the version of your ROM. It only supports version 1.0 of FR and LG.
                        well i use the JPAN hack engine of FR, does that have any effect on the mapping process? because ive constantly had problems with advanced map while hacking which has made me have to start over. like this time around all ive done is block edit and map edit, and it still messes up somehow.
                          #25368    
                        Old June 2nd, 2013 (12:18 PM).
                        karatekid552's Avatar
                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                        What happens if I push it?....
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 1,766
                          Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
                          well i use the JPAN hack engine of FR, does that have any effect on the mapping process? because ive constantly had problems with advanced map while hacking which has made me have to start over. like this time around all ive done is block edit and map edit, and it still messes up somehow.
                          That is because 1.95 is buggy as hell. It was a pre-release unfinished beta version.
                          __________________

                          Paired with Simba
                            #25369    
                          Old June 2nd, 2013 (1:50 PM).
                          SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                          SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 154
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                            That is because 1.95 is buggy as hell. It was a pre-release unfinished beta version.
                            is there anything less buggy? :/
                              #25370    
                            Old June 2nd, 2013 (1:58 PM).
                            nekotina's Avatar
                            nekotina nekotina is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2012
                              Gender: Female
                              Posts: 26
                              Hello, I have a problem installing advance map/pokescript

                              I didn't have any problem getting to compile scripts on my old laptop, but my new one (Windows 7) won't allow me to compile scripts, I know my main problem is that when I install Advance map, it won't allow me to chose a file save destination, it simply asks me which language I would like, and opens Advance map without letting me put it with pokewitch :/

                              Would anyone be able to help with this?
                              Thank you.
                                #25371    
                              Old June 2nd, 2013 (2:21 PM).
                              GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                              GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                              (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                              • Gold Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                              Location: Earth
                              Age: 18
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Jolly
                              Posts: 2,477
                              Go to settings then choose script editor.
                              But you should really use XSE.
                              __________________
                              I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                              The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                              Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                              Support me at my site!
                              Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                #25372    
                              Old June 2nd, 2013 (2:58 PM).
                              jiminy_jam's Avatar
                              jiminy_jam jiminy_jam is offline
                              Stuck inside a Net Ball
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2013
                                Location: Sydney
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 15
                                Hi all, I'm new (to this site and to hacking/scripting).
                                I've made a basic msgbox script, using a YouTube tutorial, and also diegoisawesome's tutorial. I've followed everything to the absolute letter.

                                When I put the offset into Advance Map (v1.95), save the rom and test it, it doesn't work.
                                All that happens is the npc looks at the player.

                                I've looked everywhere for a solution. Any help would be great.
                                  #25373    
                                Old June 2nd, 2013 (3:01 PM).
                                nekotina's Avatar
                                nekotina nekotina is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2012
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Posts: 26
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                                  Go to settings then choose script editor.
                                  But you should really use XSE.
                                  I did that but it still doesn't want to let me compile, :/ also, when I try to open a game on Advance map, it tells me Access denied.
                                    #25374    
                                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (3:05 PM).
                                  GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                  GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                  (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                  • Gold Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Earth
                                  Age: 18
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 2,477
                                  You probably don't have administrative rights.

                                  @jumminy jam
                                  use xse from gamer2020's toolbox then do it. It's the newest version
                                  __________________
                                  I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                  The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                  Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                  Support me at my site!
                                  Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                    #25375    
                                  Old June 2nd, 2013 (3:15 PM).
                                  jiminy_jam's Avatar
                                  jiminy_jam jiminy_jam is offline
                                  Stuck inside a Net Ball
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2013
                                    Location: Sydney
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 15
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                                    You probably don't have administrative rights.

                                    @jumminy jam
                                    use xse from gamer2020's toolbox then do it. It's the newest version
                                    Is that versiin 1.1.1, or higher?
                                    Ive only got 1.0.0, so that may be the problem. Ha.
                                    Closed Thread
                                    Quick Reply

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:46 PM.