ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25651    
Old June 20th, 2013 (12:18 PM).
MasterWarlord's Avatar
MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
     
    Join Date: May 2010
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 17
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
    Possibly that effect is broken? Go to a move that you know has a hit + burn effect (Ember? Flamethrower?) and try those effects. There may be more than one hit + burn effect.
    Gave the same Pokemon Ember and my move for testing purposes already. Ember burns, my move doesn't.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
    Did you remember to set the effect chance to something greater than 0? If you don't do this, it will never happen.

    I doubt you skipped over something that obvious, but since no-one else has asked you something that obvious, I figured I should maybe challenge that preconception!
    Yeah. I was thinking there was something like this. A-Tack (Or perhaps my version of A-Tack) has no such option for this. Was this added in another version?

    Or do I have to script to select the chance?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #25652    
    Old June 20th, 2013 (1:14 PM).
    karatekid552's Avatar
    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
    What happens if I push it?....
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 1,766
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by MasterWarlord View Post
      Gave the same Pokemon Ember and my move for testing purposes already. Ember burns, my move doesn't.



      Yeah. I was thinking there was something like this. A-Tack (Or perhaps my version of A-Tack) has no such option for this. Was this added in another version?

      Or do I have to script to select the chance?

      There is another program called Move Editor which also works well. Another option is the move editor in PGE by Gamer2020.
      __________________

      Paired with Simba
        #25653    
      Old June 20th, 2013 (5:58 PM). Edited June 20th, 2013 by MasterWarlord.
      MasterWarlord's Avatar
      MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2010
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 17
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        There is another program called Move Editor which also works well. Another option is the move editor in PGE by Gamer2020.
        Yeah, just needed these better programs. Thanks for the recommendations.
          #25654    
        Old June 21st, 2013 (6:20 AM).
        YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
           
          Join Date: Oct 2010
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 48
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Midnight Bear View Post
          I'm fairly certain the zeroes are there as part of the Move ID, not as a buffer. The games read moves as half-words (2 bytes), so even though Mega Punch is 05, it is really 0005 (though remember that, because it's in Little Endian, you have to reverse the order to 05 00).

          So, if you wanted to put in something like Cosmic Power (0x142), you would separate the bytes into 01 42, reverse them to make 42 01 and put that into the Move Tutor table.
          Thank you very much, that worked perfectly.

          Just out of curiosity, has anyone looked into altering the AI for battles to either expand it to higher levels, or to just make trainers harder in general?
            #25655    
          Old June 21st, 2013 (7:45 AM).
          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Earth
          Age: 18
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 2,477
          In A-Trainer next to the pokemon there's an AI Value box, putting it up for each pokemon will make it look like the trainer is good, but it's individual pokemon.
          __________________
          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

          Support me at my site!
          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
            #25656    
          Old June 21st, 2013 (11:15 AM).
          karatekid552's Avatar
          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
          What happens if I push it?....
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Bold
            Posts: 1,766
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
            In A-Trainer next to the pokemon there's an AI Value box, putting it up for each pokemon will make it look like the trainer is good, but it's individual pokemon.
            Isn't there also an AI value for the trainer itself?
            __________________

            Paired with Simba
              #25657    
            Old June 21st, 2013 (11:36 AM).
            Jambo51's Avatar
            Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
            Glory To Arstotzka
               
              Join Date: Jun 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quiet
              Posts: 732
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
              In A-Trainer next to the pokemon there's an AI Value box, putting it up for each pokemon will make it look like the trainer is good, but it's individual pokemon.
              Actually, the value you refer to is the IVs of the Pokémon in question, not the AI (it's mislabelled in A-Trainer).

              The "Unknown" value on the first page is the actual AI value. The minimum AI strength is 0 and the maximum is 7.
              __________________
              Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                #25658    
              Old June 21st, 2013 (11:53 AM).
              pokefreake's Avatar
              pokefreake pokefreake is offline
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 69
                In advance trainer when I open up the rom I get an error. It says "Subscript out or range. [email protected]" Any suggestions?
                  #25659    
                Old June 21st, 2013 (12:00 PM).
                karatekid552's Avatar
                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                What happens if I push it?....
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 1,766
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
                  In advance trainer when I open up the rom I get an error. It says "Subscript out or range. [email protected]" Any suggestions?
                  This was asked a while ago, but I can't remember the answer. Judging by the error itself, I would say it is having trouble decompressing the 8th tile of one of the trainer/pokemon images (which are compressed via Lz77).
                  __________________

                  Paired with Simba
                    #25660    
                  Old June 21st, 2013 (2:01 PM).
                  YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 48
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                    In A-Trainer next to the pokemon there's an AI Value box, putting it up for each pokemon will make it look like the trainer is good, but it's individual pokemon.
                    Right, but I believe there is also an AI value for the trainer, and I was talking about actually hacking the game to increase this AI level even more so that trainers are as close to human-level competitive battling as possible.
                      #25661    
                    Old June 21st, 2013 (2:03 PM).
                    pokefreake's Avatar
                    pokefreake pokefreake is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 69
                      Is that a problem with the rom?
                      Also I seen in a video that there was a program called pet that does the same thing as A-Trainer. I looked it up and I couldn't find it. Does anyone know where the download link is?
                        #25662    
                      Old June 21st, 2013 (3:03 PM).
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
                        Is that a problem with the rom?
                        Also I seen in a video that there was a program called pet that does the same thing as A-Trainer. I looked it up and I couldn't find it. Does anyone know where the download link is?
                        PET is super, super old and super buggy. It requires you to dump your game images first into a folder it is so old. (It came with Elite Map I belive...) I have a copy if you really want it, but stick to A-Trainer or wait for Jambo51 to release his trainer editor which he is currently developing and just released a beta for on RHO Social. He developed his own to work with the 649 patch because A-Trainer doesn't have an ini file which would be required for his hack.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #25663    
                        Old June 21st, 2013 (5:06 PM).
                        Sagiri's Avatar
                        Sagiri Sagiri is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2007
                          Age: 23
                          Posts: 732
                          I don't really do much (or, really, any) mapping, so I apologize if this is obvious.

                          Okay, there are some maps - I'll call them "linked maps", because I don't know of the real term (or if one even exists) - that share all of their map tiles, but with different map banks, events, people and warps. Some examples are Pokemon Centers and regular houses. I know they do this because any changes made to the map of one show up in the others.

                          How do these so-called linked maps work? Is there any way to delink them? Or to link together new maps?
                            #25664    
                          Old June 22nd, 2013 (4:34 AM).
                          Spherical Ice's Avatar
                          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                          • Moderator
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Location: Bristol, UK
                          Age: 19
                          Posts: 5,185
                          They all share map footers. You can see the map footers in the Professional view (ctrl+h) of the header tab in advance map.
                          __________________

                          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                            #25665    
                          Old June 22nd, 2013 (5:21 AM).
                          LocksmithArmy's Avatar
                          LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
                          Mew!
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2013
                            Age: 28
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 415
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Midnight Bear View Post
                            I don't really do much (or, really, any) mapping, so I apologize if this is obvious.

                            Okay, there are some maps - I'll call them "linked maps", because I don't know of the real term (or if one even exists) - that share all of their map tiles, but with different map banks, events, people and warps. Some examples are Pokemon Centers and regular houses. I know they do this because any changes made to the map of one show up in the others.

                            How do these so-called linked maps work? Is there any way to delink them? Or to link together new maps?
                            the pokecenter is just a map that has been made several times... you can alter each one if you like

                            same with the regular house maps... its just been made exactly the same repeatedly... they are not the same or "linked" in any way, they just were made to look the same.

                            you can change the pokecenters tileset to match a cave if you want... make the varidian pokecenter have a surfable lake in the middle... it wont hurt the other pokecenters...
                            __________________
                              #25666    
                            Old June 22nd, 2013 (6:21 AM).
                            Jambo51's Avatar
                            Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                            Glory To Arstotzka
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 732
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by LocksmithArmy View Post
                              the pokecenter is just a map that has been made several times... you can alter each one if you like

                              same with the regular house maps... its just been made exactly the same repeatedly... they are not the same or "linked" in any way, they just were made to look the same.

                              you can change the pokecenters tileset to match a cave if you want... make the varidian pokecenter have a surfable lake in the middle... it wont hurt the other pokecenters...
                              The Pokécentres one isn't true, at least. If you modify the map data of a Pokécentre, it's reflected in all other (linked) Pokécentres.

                              This is because they all share a single footer, which in turn means that they all share ONE set of map data.

                              By manually setting a footer equal to another footer, you can easily create these "linked" maps, and by extension, you can easily "unlink" the maps by creating a virtually identical footer which simply points to a separate set of map data (it can share everything else).
                              __________________
                              Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                                #25667    
                              Old June 22nd, 2013 (7:34 AM).
                              Sagiri's Avatar
                              Sagiri Sagiri is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2007
                                Age: 23
                                Posts: 732
                                Okay, thank you. That makes sense.

                                To be honest, I was expecting something more like a table of map banks and numbers that share a map. But this is actually even simpler to expand / edit.
                                  #25668    
                                Old June 22nd, 2013 (2:35 PM). Edited June 22nd, 2013 by XxAtlazxX.
                                XxAtlazxX's Avatar
                                XxAtlazxX XxAtlazxX is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2013
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Hasty
                                  Posts: 6
                                  Alright. I've come to a huge halt in my hacking. I've built a city from the ground up, completely deleted all other maps. Now Gogojjtech recommended to use SMCA for that was my original problem. But now the program wont work. I place the bank and map level i want to spawn but no matter what i do it just wont let me start the game after giving the rival his name. Could this program have corrupted my game ROM or am I just plain stupid?

                                  p.s.
                                  It does the same with Emerald.

                                  OK iv'e made some progress. Apparently switching the music lets me spawn!!! I am annoyed now. Well anyways its hard to know what is what in the music section for it doesn't displays the name of the song its like it's glitched or something. Now the next problem. It still wont function for my Emerald .gba.

                                  [Update]
                                  Ok so i get myself to start spawn now but now it wont even let me warp out of my house. The game freezes with the song playing in the background but the screen remains black.

                                  Alright so iv'e notice something, every time I save I must change the music on every map otherwise it freezes the game. Is there something I can do to prevent this from happening EVERY single time?
                                    #25669    
                                  Old June 22nd, 2013 (10:20 PM).
                                  molivious's Avatar
                                  molivious molivious is offline
                                  so much fail...
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2009
                                    Location: Aludna Village
                                    Age: 25
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Modest
                                    Posts: 417
                                    does A-map support 7-digits now? I mean, if i hack emerald and prevent sound corruption... i would be forced to use a 32mb rom, so that'd be quite a letdown. Not that it's a problem as A-map just supposedly makes things easier (things A-map can do may still be done through other tools), and i can also just choose to ignore the sound corruption.

                                    But still... better knowing than not.
                                    __________________
                                    You could easily teach yourself if you observe the world closely." - Elise

                                    Squish, squish, squish. Goes the bug under your foot.
                                    Squish, squish, squish. I'm telling you not to look.
                                      #25670    
                                    Old June 23rd, 2013 (12:23 AM).
                                    athenian200 athenian200 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2013
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 17
                                      I want to modify the wild Zigzagoon battle that occurs in Pokémon Emerald after you choose a Pokémon from Professor Birch's bag. I've looked at the script in XSE, and "wildbattle" is NEVER invoked. It seems like the entire scenario between checking the bag and the end of the battle is dealt with by something called "special 0x9F", and will require specific instructions to modify. I want to invoke a trainer battle with a Team Aqua grunt here instead of encountering a wild Zigzagoon.

                                      I have tried adding "trainerbattle" to the script the bag uses, but the best result I can get by that method is fighting a trainer immediately AFTER fighting the wild Zigzagoon.

                                      It seems a lot like the problem I had with "special 0xD6" and changing the Ralts into an Abra and the Pokémon Wally was given into an Absol with Taunt.

                                      I'm sure this is fairly simple to fix, and that someone has done it before... I just have not seen a solution to this problem posted anywhere.
                                        #25671    
                                      Old June 23rd, 2013 (5:49 AM).
                                      pokefreake's Avatar
                                      pokefreake pokefreake is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 69
                                        karatekid552, Do you have a link to the beta download for the trainer editor?
                                          #25672    
                                        Old June 23rd, 2013 (7:34 AM). Edited June 23rd, 2013 by karatekid552.
                                        karatekid552's Avatar
                                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                        What happens if I push it?....
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Bold
                                          Posts: 1,766
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
                                          karatekid552, Do you have a link to the beta download for the trainer editor?
                                          Not at the moment. The latest version right now is over 9 days old and I know that Jambo has done a lot more to it since then.

                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by athenian200 View Post
                                          I want to modify the wild Zigzagoon battle that occurs in Pokémon Emerald after you choose a Pokémon from Professor Birch's bag. I've looked at the script in XSE, and "wildbattle" is NEVER invoked. It seems like the entire scenario between checking the bag and the end of the battle is dealt with by something called "special 0x9F", and will require specific instructions to modify. I want to invoke a trainer battle with a Team Aqua grunt here instead of encountering a wild Zigzagoon.

                                          I have tried adding "trainerbattle" to the script the bag uses, but the best result I can get by that method is fighting a trainer immediately AFTER fighting the wild Zigzagoon.

                                          It seems a lot like the problem I had with "special 0xD6" and changing the Ralts into an Abra and the Pokémon Wally was given into an Absol with Taunt.

                                          I'm sure this is fairly simple to fix, and that someone has done it before... I just have not seen a solution to this problem posted anywhere.
                                          Without using ASM to hack to the special, you would need to completely script a new intro that does not use it. For example, you could pull a Red and have the three pokeballs lying on the ground. Or, you could do something like I did once and have it so when you press A in front of the bag, three pokeball OWs appear and (using movement commands) "bounce" out of the bag and land in the positions you want them to.
                                          __________________

                                          Paired with Simba
                                            #25673    
                                          Old June 23rd, 2013 (2:58 PM).
                                          Sceptylos's Avatar
                                          Sceptylos Sceptylos is offline
                                          Saint
                                             
                                            Join Date: May 2013
                                            Location: France
                                            Age: 20
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Calm
                                            Posts: 11
                                            Couldn't really find the answer anywhere else so, I was wondering how to change the options that the Badge Man in Cerulean City gives, I wanted to change each badge to a different Pokémon.
                                            __________________
                                              #25674    
                                            Old June 23rd, 2013 (3:30 PM).
                                            pokefreake's Avatar
                                            pokefreake pokefreake is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 69
                                              Is Advance Text really malicious? If it is how would I edit the opening in Fire Red?
                                                #25675    
                                              Old June 23rd, 2013 (5:00 PM).
                                              karatekid552's Avatar
                                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                              What happens if I push it?....
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Bold
                                                Posts: 1,766
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by pokefreake View Post
                                                Is Advance Text really malicious? If it is how would I edit the opening in Fire Red?
                                                Your anti-virus (and any virus protection for that matter) is crap when it comes to tools for rom hacking. It is not malicious.
                                                __________________

                                                Paired with Simba
                                                Closed Thread
                                                Quick Reply

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:00 AM.