The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #2576    
Old October 17th, 2007 (10:41 PM).
Light_Lugia's Avatar
Light_Lugia Light_Lugia is offline
Soul of the Sea
     
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Age: 21
    Gender:
    Posts: 45
    Okay, I'm having a real big problem. When I try to over a Pokemon (eg. Treecko), the Pokemon I'm replacing it with goes differently coloured. Why is this happening?
    __________________


    Let your soul run free, my kitty friend. You body is not here, but your soul is...




    Relevant Advertising!

      #2577    
    Old October 17th, 2007 (11:09 PM).
    destinedjagold's Avatar
    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
    Oh Hai Thar~
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: May 2007
    Location: Philippines
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Careful
    Posts: 8,507
    the new image you replace to Treecko uses the palletes which are only available to a certain PKMN.

    likewise, different pkmn images have different palletes.., therefore if treecko has no yellow, you cannot have yellow to use for the new image you plan to replace.

    my question... what's the flag of the Running shoes in PKMN Ruby ROM..?
    __________________


    FC: 0061-1111-6462
    TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

      #2578    
    Old October 17th, 2007 (11:28 PM).
    thethethethe thethethethe is offline
       
      Join Date: Jun 2007
      Location: Melbourne, Australia
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 1,104
      I think it's setflag 0x860... but I'm not 100% sure.
      __________________
      Gone.
        #2579    
      Old October 17th, 2007 (11:53 PM). Edited October 18th, 2007 by destinedjagold.
      destinedjagold's Avatar
      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
      Oh Hai Thar~
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: May 2007
      Location: Philippines
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Careful
      Posts: 8,507
      oh, okay thethethethe. I'll try it out, but I have to mke a back-up file first.

      thanks again.


      - edited -

      btw.., i just remembered. In the hacking tutorials, there it states that in using flags, it is safe to use 200-300 and 800-(i forgot)... but as thethethethe posted, flag # 860 is used! So does that mean it is unsafe to use the flags 800-(as I said, I forgot)..?
      __________________


      FC: 0061-1111-6462
      TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

        #2580    
      Old October 18th, 2007 (1:40 AM).
      Light_Lugia's Avatar
      Light_Lugia Light_Lugia is offline
      Soul of the Sea
         
        Join Date: Oct 2007
        Age: 21
        Gender:
        Posts: 45
        Ok, thanks. Oh, I have another question (lol). How do I change Pokemon's names, types and stuff? I have dexter, but it doesn't change type. Also, how do I change the dex info? (lol I sound like a n00b)
        __________________


        Let your soul run free, my kitty friend. You body is not here, but your soul is...



          #2581    
        Old October 18th, 2007 (1:54 AM).
        destinedjagold's Avatar
        destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
        Oh Hai Thar~
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: May 2007
        Location: Philippines
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Careful
        Posts: 8,507
        Nah. Don't be like that. I too started like that.

        Anyways, goto scizz.com to download a hacking tool called NEA that stands for Name Editor Advnce to change the pkmn names. Thanks for thethethethe, now I know.

        Changing the types, use an Amplifier. goto wah and download it there. There's a button there to translate the site to english.

        dex info.., no idea. Eheheh...
        __________________


        FC: 0061-1111-6462
        TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

          #2582    
        Old October 18th, 2007 (1:54 AM).
        light_trainer921's Avatar
        light_trainer921 light_trainer921 is offline
        Flamethrower Helper
           
          Join Date: Nov 2006
          Location: Treasure Town at the human world
          Age: 21
          Gender:
          Nature: Timid
          Posts: 137
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Light_Lugia View Post
          Ok, thanks. Oh, I have another question (lol). How do I change Pokemon's names, types and stuff? I have dexter, but it doesn't change type. Also, how do I change the dex info? (lol I sound like a n00b)
          You can change types by using Pokémon Amplifier(but it's Spanish) and you can change pokémon names by using Pokétronic(I think..).
            #2583    
          Old October 18th, 2007 (1:54 AM).
          ♠εx's Avatar
          ♠εx ♠εx is offline
          Working on my hack, busy also.
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Gender:
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 299
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Light_Lugia View Post
            Ok, thanks. Oh, I have another question (lol). How do I change Pokemon's names, types and stuff? I have dexter, but it doesn't change type. Also, how do I change the dex info? (lol I sound like a n00b)
            To change Pokemon's names, use PokeTronic.
            Types I think Amplifier, or maybe PokeTronic.
            Moves should be editted with Amplifier.
            The dex information should be changed with dexter.. I think.
            And finally, cries can be changed with PokeTronic, but you need their values.
            __________________
            Made A New Account - Crashink

            Yes, this does mean Icy Blue will be locked down, but only for a short time while I fix my bugs.

            - Crashink.
              #2584    
            Old October 18th, 2007 (2:00 AM).
            destinedjagold's Avatar
            destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
            Oh Hai Thar~
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Location: Philippines
            Age: 26
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Careful
            Posts: 8,507
            poketronic can change the names, but it will add some spaces to make the name contain 11 characters...
            __________________


            FC: 0061-1111-6462
            TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

              #2585    
            Old October 18th, 2007 (11:34 AM).
            Pieman's Avatar
            Pieman Pieman is offline
            Crystal Advance Maker
               
              Join Date: Oct 2007
              Age: 24
              Gender:
              Nature: Gentle
              Posts: 35
              Send a message via AIM to Pieman
              Just curious, why does my background appear purple in VBA when the border block is set to black in the map?
                #2586    
              Old October 18th, 2007 (1:02 PM).
              BlackDragonite's Avatar
              BlackDragonite BlackDragonite is offline
              Austrian Pokémon Expert
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2007
                Location: Austria
                Age: 25
                Gender:
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 191
                I´m very, very, VERY sorry, but I have a question, and I think it has been asked more than one tíme (YES, I´ve used search and looked into the Toolressource):
                Is there a program to change the Pokémon Sprites (NOT Overworld) in Red/Blue?
                __________________


                Wanna adopt one too? Just come to my adoption-thread!!! (It got closed, so if you want one PM me)



                Click here to feed me a Rare Candy!
                  #2587    
                Old October 18th, 2007 (1:22 PM).
                spenceroone3's Avatar
                spenceroone3 spenceroone3 is offline
                <he eats lots of burgers.
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                  Location: In your closet
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Hasty
                  Posts: 215
                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to spenceroone3
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Blazichu View Post
                  Umm...its cry is its number in hex which is [97]
                  Okay, thanks, but does anyone know where the hex's offset is so I can change it???
                  __________________
                  <wtf? A lugi-oh?
                  <What the hell did you do to my Arceus?
                    #2588    
                  Old October 18th, 2007 (1:57 PM).
                  Light_Lugia's Avatar
                  Light_Lugia Light_Lugia is offline
                  Soul of the Sea
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2007
                    Age: 21
                    Gender:
                    Posts: 45
                    Thanks everyone for the help... I'll just go get the programs now...
                    __________________


                    Let your soul run free, my kitty friend. You body is not here, but your soul is...



                      #2589    
                    Old October 18th, 2007 (2:01 PM).
                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                    Oh Hai Thar~
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: May 2007
                    Location: Philippines
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Careful
                    Posts: 8,507
                    @ Pieman...

                    you have probably used the wrong tile. I had the same problem once. try to experiment with the other black-colored tiles.
                    __________________


                    FC: 0061-1111-6462
                    TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                      #2590    
                    Old October 18th, 2007 (2:17 PM).
                    Pieman's Avatar
                    Pieman Pieman is offline
                    Crystal Advance Maker
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2007
                      Age: 24
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 35
                      Send a message via AIM to Pieman
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
                      @ Pieman...

                      you have probably used the wrong tile. I had the same problem once. try to experiment with the other black-colored tiles.
                      I have tried other tiles. Can you tell me which one you used?
                        #2591    
                      Old October 18th, 2007 (2:24 PM).
                      destinedjagold's Avatar
                      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                      Oh Hai Thar~
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: May 2007
                      Location: Philippines
                      Age: 26
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 8,507
                      I forgot.., for it has been four months now since I last had that problem. I am currently mapping towns and routes and cities, so I ahven't touched anything in the inside as of now... Sorry if I couldn't help. But ya know, purple isn't half bad... I saw a hack (not in PC) with new buildings and the backround were all purple... the border, I mean...
                      __________________


                      FC: 0061-1111-6462
                      TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                        #2592    
                      Old October 18th, 2007 (2:29 PM).
                      Pieman's Avatar
                      Pieman Pieman is offline
                      Crystal Advance Maker
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2007
                        Age: 24
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 35
                        Send a message via AIM to Pieman
                        Well, it's unacceptable for me. I want the most realism and professionalism I can get in my hacks. Plus, it's just plain inconsistent with all the black bordered insides, at the least.
                          #2593    
                        Old October 18th, 2007 (2:41 PM).
                        destinedjagold's Avatar
                        destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                        Oh Hai Thar~
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Location: Philippines
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 8,507
                        hmm... so you're a perfectionist. nice.

                        anyways, why not use the old rooms instead? just edit their warp scripts and it should be a-okay!
                        __________________


                        FC: 0061-1111-6462
                        TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                          #2594    
                        Old October 18th, 2007 (3:05 PM).
                        Pieman's Avatar
                        Pieman Pieman is offline
                        Crystal Advance Maker
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2007
                          Age: 24
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Gentle
                          Posts: 35
                          Send a message via AIM to Pieman
                          Well, I made the map inside (1,3) which the top floor of your rival's house in littleroot town, but I tried to kill the events by making a new map, and the border block was some weird part of a building.
                            #2595    
                          Old October 19th, 2007 (12:52 AM).
                          thethethethe thethethethe is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2007
                            Location: Melbourne, Australia
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 1,104
                            I've got a question. Is it possible to 'repoint' the battle animation of an attack to let's say, 'Fly'. If it is possible, could you explain how to do this. Thanks in advance.
                            __________________
                            Gone.
                              #2596    
                            Old October 19th, 2007 (2:33 AM).
                            Pieman's Avatar
                            Pieman Pieman is offline
                            Crystal Advance Maker
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2007
                              Age: 24
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Gentle
                              Posts: 35
                              Send a message via AIM to Pieman
                              wah (dot) studiopokemon (dot) com/endex.php?go=herramientas/herramientas.php

                              Search for A-Tack. That might do what you're looking for.
                                #2597    
                              Old October 19th, 2007 (2:51 AM).
                              thethethethe thethethethe is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2007
                                Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 1,104
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Pieman View Post
                                wah (dot) studiopokemon (dot) com/endex.php?go=herramientas/herramientas.php

                                Search for A-Tack. That might do what you're looking for.
                                Are you talking to me? Thanks, but A-Tack won't help me, neither will amplifier. I don't think you're understanding what I'm asking for. I doubt it's that simple. I'm pretty sure that the only way to do this is with a hex-editor, but I'm not sure where to look or what to change.

                                Oh and you're problem it would help if I could see a screenshot.
                                __________________
                                Gone.
                                  #2598    
                                Old October 19th, 2007 (3:29 AM).
                                Blazichu's Avatar
                                Blazichu Blazichu is offline
                                Bahhhh?
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2006
                                  Location: The ground?
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 1,388
                                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by spenceroone3
                                  Okay, thanks, but does anyone know where the hex's offset is so I can change it???
                                  Do a trial and error search, by searching for 97 throughout the rom, it shouldn't take too long xD

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by thethethethe
                                  I've got a question. Is it possible to 'repoint' the battle animation of an attack to let's say, 'Fly'. If it is possible, could you explain how to do this. Thanks in advance.
                                  Have you found the current pointers or do you have an offset for where the name(text) is?
                                  __________________

                                  ←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
                                    #2599    
                                  Old October 19th, 2007 (3:44 AM).
                                  thethethethe thethethethe is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                                    Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 1,104
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Blazichu View Post
                                    Have you found the current pointers or do you have an offset for where the name(text) is?
                                    I've found the text, but there is nothing that looks like it can relate to the animation anywhere near them. They're just surround by other text. I have been searching around those areas but I can't find anything to do with the battle animations, it looks like it's all text.
                                    __________________
                                    Gone.
                                      #2600    
                                    Old October 19th, 2007 (4:07 AM).
                                    HackMew's Avatar
                                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                                    Posts: 1,314
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by thethethethe View Post
                                    I've found the text, but there is nothing that looks like it can relate to the animation anywhere near them. They're just surround by other text. I have been searching around those areas but I can't find anything to do with the battle animations, it looks like it's all text.
                                    Yes, the text won't help since the battle animation doesn't have to be near to the related text.
                                    As far as I know, all battle animations are based on some LZ77 compressed images.
                                    Therefore to repoint let's say, "Cut" to "Fly" you would have to search for those images on unLZ and once found the correct pointers to swap them. Unluckily the animations aren't just based on the images, I guess.
                                    So there should be some extra data for the animation somewhere in the ROM that should be repointed as well.
                                    Please remember that what I said is just based on my suppositions and I'm not 100% sure, obviously.
                                    I hope it helps somehow.
                                    __________________
                                    Closed Thread
                                    Quick Reply

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:45 AM.