ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #26851    
Old October 9th, 2013 (5:32 AM). Edited October 9th, 2013 by exidia.
exidia exidia is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2013
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 27
    My new OW sprite wouldnt even show up when using an ID over 153 so I used another.
    The sprite is 32x48px.
    The sprite draws as 16x32 :/
    Also the palette is all of...


    A-Map:


    Palette 16 is a custom palette I added. To do so I repointed the palette table so its now here:



    And palette 16's pointer:
    Quote:
    10 A6 71 08 16 11 00 00
    0x71A610

    Relevant Advertising!

      #26852    
    Old October 9th, 2013 (11:03 AM).
    karatekid552's Avatar
    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
    What happens if I push it?....
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 1,766
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by exidia View Post
      My new OW sprite wouldnt even show up when using an ID over 153 so I used another.
      The sprite is 32x48px.
      The sprite draws as 16x32 :/
      Also the palette is all of...


      A-Map:


      Palette 16 is a custom palette I added. To do so I repointed the palette table so its now here:



      And palette 16's pointer:


      0x71A610
      First, it is not possible to have an OW of the specified dimmensions. The GBA itself just won't do it. So, you need to either be 32x32, 64x64, 16x32, or 16x16.

      Second, did you deal with the limiter bytes that bar off your number of palettes?
      __________________

      Paired with Simba
        #26853    
      Old October 9th, 2013 (2:11 PM).
      Misledangel's Avatar
      Misledangel Misledangel is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2013
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 39
        how can you skip rival intro ??
          #26854    
        Old October 9th, 2013 (8:41 PM).
        exidia exidia is offline
           
          Join Date: Sep 2013
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 27
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
          First, it is not possible to have an OW of the specified dimmensions. The GBA itself just won't do it. So, you need to either be 32x32, 64x64, 16x32, or 16x16.

          Second, did you deal with the limiter bytes that bar off your number of palettes?
          wheres the limiter bytes that bar off my number of palettes?
            #26855    
          Old October 10th, 2013 (2:24 AM).
          Espeonage Espeonage is offline
          Ninja Espeon
             
            Join Date: Jul 2010
            Location: Places
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quirky
            Posts: 19
            What is the most organic and natural was for a novice hacker to begin the implementation of their plans after pre-production?

            Is it wise to just start building over maps to create the world and worry about scripts and events later or to fully sketch out each map as you go starting from the start of the game as it were?

            Just for some context, I have all of my pre-production done. The story isn't fleshed out but I have a complete plan of the world map and have put climates to map areas etc, etc. I just feel that the first map is so daunting and don't know what kind of approach to take to strip the old game bare in AdvanceMap and start building. (No custom tilesets for this hack.)
              #26856    
            Old October 10th, 2013 (5:11 AM).
            exidia exidia is offline
               
              Join Date: Sep 2013
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 27
              Where is the encountering of Entei, Suicune and Raikou handled? I need to make it so I can meet all 3 instead of 1 off them depending on your starter
                #26857    
              Old October 10th, 2013 (5:21 AM).
              PokéMew's Avatar
              PokéMew PokéMew is offline
              Pokémon Fuchsia
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Sep 2013
              Location: Refresh
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 490
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by exidia View Post
              Where is the encountering of Entei, Suicune and Raikou handled? I need to make it so I can meet all 3 instead of 1 off them depending on your starter
              If you are talking about FireRed, you catch entei suicune and raikou after you beat the elite 4 once and get the national dex. Entei if you pick bulbasaur, suicune if you pick charmander, and raikou if you pick squirtle.
                #26858    
              Old October 10th, 2013 (5:31 AM).
              exidia exidia is offline
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2013
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 27
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by PokéMew151 View Post
                If you are talking about FireRed, you catch entei suicune and raikou after you beat the elite 4 once and get the national dex. Entei if you pick bulbasaur, suicune if you pick charmander, and raikou if you pick squirtle.
                I know that, I wanna make it so I can get them all 3 no matter what starter
                  #26859    
                Old October 10th, 2013 (5:39 AM).
                PokéMew's Avatar
                PokéMew PokéMew is offline
                Pokémon Fuchsia
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2013
                Location: Refresh
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 490
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by exidia View Post
                I know that, I wanna make it so I can get them all 3 no matter what starter
                Sorry, I'm not sure... My guess would be to find the script that releases them and make it all three
                  #26860    
                Old October 10th, 2013 (5:52 AM).
                exidia exidia is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2013
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 27
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by PokéMew151 View Post
                  Sorry, I'm not sure... My guess would be to find the script that releases them and make it all three
                  I don't know where thats located though :/
                    #26861    
                  Old October 10th, 2013 (6:44 AM).
                  Misledangel's Avatar
                  Misledangel Misledangel is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 39
                    does no one know how to skip rival intro ? :/
                      #26862    
                    Old October 10th, 2013 (7:51 AM).
                    Le pug's Avatar
                    Le pug Le pug is offline
                    Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2013
                    Location: Le bed
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bold
                    Posts: 784
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Misledangel View Post
                    does no one know how to skip rival intro ? :/

                    build a ruby hack lol. pretty much all you can do
                    __________________







                    /// Pokémon: Discovery
                    /// Pokémon: Fat Kid
                    /// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
                    /// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
                    /// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
                    /// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
                    /// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
                      #26863    
                    Old October 10th, 2013 (8:26 AM).
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
                      build a ruby hack lol. pretty much all you can do
                      Not true. Anything can be done, and that choice has been removed before. You just need some asm help.
                      __________________

                      Paired with Simba
                        #26864    
                      Old October 10th, 2013 (8:45 AM).
                      Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                      Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                      Bug reporter
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2011
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 334
                        Why when i enter in a new map i dont' see the name of the map on?
                        P.S: The game starts at route 101 and not in the truck

                        Please answer, i'm desperate.
                        __________________
                        Hacks I support:

                        And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                          #26865    
                        Old October 10th, 2013 (9:22 AM).
                        Teh Blazer's Avatar
                        Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                        Divider of Zero
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2009
                          Location: 'MERICA
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 772
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                          Why when i enter in a new map i dont' see the name of the map on?
                          P.S: The game starts at route 101 and not in the truck

                          Please answer, i'm desperate.
                          On the map that you enter, in advancemap did you make sure in the header section is says "show name when entered" or something like that?
                          __________________
                          Being a hero is overrated anyways
                            #26866    
                          Old October 10th, 2013 (9:26 AM).
                          Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                          Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                          Bug reporter
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 334
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
                            On the map that you enter, in advancemap did you make sure in the header section is says "show name when entered" or something like that?
                            Yes, but it still doesn't show ...
                            __________________
                            Hacks I support:

                            And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                              #26867    
                            Old October 10th, 2013 (9:27 AM).
                            Teh Blazer's Avatar
                            Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                            Divider of Zero
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2009
                              Location: 'MERICA
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 772
                              Could you post some screenshots?
                              __________________
                              Being a hero is overrated anyways
                                #26868    
                              Old October 10th, 2013 (10:06 AM).
                              daniilS's Avatar
                              daniilS daniilS is offline
                              busy trying to do stuff not done yet
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2013
                                Age: 18
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 409
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                                Yes, but it still doesn't show ...
                                Two possibilities I can think of:

                                1. The map you came from has the same name. Change one of them.
                                2. You step on a script tile as soon as you enter the map. If the name shows and directly disappears, then this is the problem, and you should change the scripts to map scripts.
                                __________________
                                  #26869    
                                Old October 10th, 2013 (10:20 AM).
                                Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                                Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                                Bug reporter
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2011
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Gentle
                                  Posts: 334
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
                                  Two possibilities I can think of:

                                  1. The map you came from has the same name. Change one of them.
                                  2. You step on a script tile as soon as you enter the map. If the name shows and directly disappears, then this is the problem, and you should change the scripts to map scripts.
                                  I didn't understand the second point, anyway i've made a video of my problem
                                  youtu.be/VBlTd7Y9Bbk
                                  __________________
                                  Hacks I support:

                                  And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                                    #26870    
                                  Old October 10th, 2013 (10:37 AM).
                                  daniilS's Avatar
                                  daniilS daniilS is offline
                                  busy trying to do stuff not done yet
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2013
                                    Age: 18
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 409
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                                    I didn't understand the second point, anyway i've made a video of my problem
                                    youtu.be/VBlTd7Y9Bbk
                                    Maybe change it to show village names?
                                    __________________
                                      #26871    
                                    Old October 10th, 2013 (10:50 AM).
                                    Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                                    Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                                    Bug reporter
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Gentle
                                      Posts: 334
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
                                      Maybe change it to show village names?
                                      Even in this case same result
                                      __________________
                                      Hacks I support:

                                      And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                                        #26872    
                                      Old October 10th, 2013 (1:10 PM). Edited October 10th, 2013 by Misledangel.
                                      Misledangel's Avatar
                                      Misledangel Misledangel is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Sep 2013
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Quiet
                                        Posts: 39
                                        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=191500

                                        where can i get the video he posted under make a level script inactive until a certain event happens

                                        and second problem

                                        #dynamic 0x800000

                                        #org @start
                                        msgbox @1 0x6
                                        closeonkeypress
                                        applymovement 0xFF @move
                                        release
                                        end

                                        #org @1
                                        = Red's Mom:[Player]\nIts locked upstairs.

                                        #org @move
                                        #raw 0x12
                                        #raw 0x10



                                        whats wrong with the script ? halts the game :/
                                        basically i just want to make the player move left once then down when i step on a tile
                                          #26873    
                                        Old October 10th, 2013 (3:21 PM).
                                        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                        • Gold Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Location: Earth
                                        Age: 18
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 2,477
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Misledangel View Post
                                        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=191500

                                        where can i get the video he posted under make a level script inactive until a certain event happens

                                        and second problem

                                        #dynamic 0x800000

                                        #org @start
                                        msgbox @1 0x6
                                        closeonkeypress
                                        applymovement 0xFF @move
                                        release
                                        end

                                        #org @1
                                        = Red's Mom:[Player]\nIts locked upstairs.

                                        #org @move
                                        #raw 0x12
                                        #raw 0x10



                                        whats wrong with the script ? halts the game :/
                                        basically i just want to make the player move left once then down when i step on a tile
                                        #org @move
                                        #raw 0x12
                                        #raw 0x10
                                        #raw 0xFE
                                        __________________
                                        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                        Support me at my site!
                                        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                          #26874    
                                        Old October 10th, 2013 (3:28 PM).
                                        Misledangel's Avatar
                                        Misledangel Misledangel is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2013
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quiet
                                          Posts: 39
                                          Just tried that still the same
                                            #26875    
                                          Old October 10th, 2013 (3:29 PM).
                                          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                          • Gold Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                                          Location: Earth
                                          Age: 18
                                          Gender: Female
                                          Nature: Jolly
                                          Posts: 2,477
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Misledangel View Post
                                          Just tried that still the same
                                          You forgot to repoint probably right after adding 0xfe
                                          __________________
                                          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                          Support me at my site!
                                          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:35 AM.