ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #5451    
Old June 23rd, 2008 (6:53 AM).
ℜªℳ's Avatar
ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
     
    Join Date: Nov 2007
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 214
    Hacking gold with gold map 1.6 beta. Does anyone know where I can find the names/titles/description of all the warp numbers (like where warp 1 would lead to)? Also where can I get the title/name/description for all the events on goldmap (item 95 found, player chose cyndaquil, 42, etc.)? Are they on a table or a .txt or .ini? Where can I find them. Also, how do I change the color of the pallette and is importing .bmp or .png possible on TLP?
    __________________
    Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

    Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps

    Relevant Advertising!

      #5452    
    Old June 23rd, 2008 (7:00 AM).
    code4242's Avatar
    code4242 code4242 is offline
    Can You Crack The Code?
       
      Join Date: May 2008
      Gender:
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 17
      no the tool bar is japanese so i can't do anything
        #5453    
      Old June 23rd, 2008 (7:31 AM).
      ℜªℳ's Avatar
      ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
      RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
         
        Join Date: Nov 2007
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 214
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by code4242 View Post
        no the tool bar is japanese so i can't do anything
        Unchk any choices you put under where it says japanese and look all the to your right side with the black font. As you scroll through it you'll see the texts and you can edit them there.

        EDIT: wait what tool do you use? Translhextion is what I recommend for gsc hackers.
        __________________
        Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

        Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
          #5454    
        Old June 23rd, 2008 (7:50 AM).
        code4242's Avatar
        code4242 code4242 is offline
        Can You Crack The Code?
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Gender:
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 17
          yea i used translhextion
            #5455    
          Old June 23rd, 2008 (8:13 AM).
          BigSteve's Avatar
          BigSteve BigSteve is offline
          Pokemon Bright Gold
             
            Join Date: Feb 2008
            Location: North Lincolnshire, UK
            Age: 25
            Gender:
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 490
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by 現実として巨大なもの View Post
            Hacking gold with gold map 1.6 beta. Does anyone know where I can find the names/titles/description of all the warp numbers (like where warp 1 would lead to)? Also where can I get the title/name/description for all the events on goldmap (item 95 found, player chose cyndaquil, 42, etc.)? Are they on a table or a .txt or .ini? Where can I find them. Also, how do I change the color of the pallette and is importing .bmp or .png possible on TLP?

            How to Script In Gold Version! - The PokéCommunity Forums
            Scripting Compendium Gold/Silver

            BMP can be imported into TLP,
            those 2 links contain the numbers
            and, warps refer to map and bank numbers, warp 1 , 2 ,3 etc are unique to a map
            for example
            you would set a warp point on one map to warp number X on map Y bank Z
              #5456    
            Old June 23rd, 2008 (8:46 AM).
            ℜªℳ's Avatar
            ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
            RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
               
              Join Date: Nov 2007
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 214
              Thanks. This helped a lot. I've also picked repeated warp problems with the info. Also the thread linking is a great help. Thnx a bunch.
              __________________
              Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

              Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
                #5457    
              Old June 23rd, 2008 (2:48 PM).
              X-aveon's Avatar
              X-aveon X-aveon is offline
              IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2008
                Gender:
                Nature: Naive
                Posts: 232
                could somebody plz answer my question on page 218?
                __________________


                I want that apple......
                  #5458    
                Old June 23rd, 2008 (5:14 PM).
                Vrai's Avatar
                Vrai Vrai is offline
                can you feel my heart?
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2008
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 2,893
                So I was attempting to edit FireRed with A-map. I put in a few scripts, and tried to test run it. All was going well, until the game suddenly reset. I tried to run it again, and the game reset once more, in the exact same spot. I remapped the area to go around that spot, and then, when I tested it, it reset on the same horizontal line. Does anyone have any idea why this would happen?
                  #5459    
                Old June 23rd, 2008 (10:10 PM).
                Christos's Avatar
                Christos Christos is offline
                • Moderator
                • Battle Server Staff
                • Platinum Tier
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2006
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Serious
                Posts: 6,391
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Vrai Espoir View Post
                So I was attempting to edit FireRed with A-map. I put in a few scripts, and tried to test run it. All was going well, until the game suddenly reset. I tried to run it again, and the game reset once more, in the exact same spot. I remapped the area to go around that spot, and then, when I tested it, it reset on the same horizontal line. Does anyone have any idea why this would happen?
                In the map the game resets once you enter, check if there are any person events that are "Hidden"(first "Hidden" in the movement type list, if you use another "Hidden" type it won't reset). This is what causes the game to reset.
                __________________

                A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                  #5460    
                Old June 24th, 2008 (2:28 AM).
                Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                Sitting by the back window
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                  Location: Best City OCE
                  Age: 21
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 5,945
                  I searched but did not find so...
                  How do you make the ROM bigger?
                  Can you delete all the scripts in the game?

                  And a completely random one...
                  What happens if you turn everything in a ROM (using Hex Editing) into empty space (FFFF)
                  __________________
                  Brony represent.
                    #5461    
                  Old June 24th, 2008 (3:04 AM).
                  BigSteve's Avatar
                  BigSteve BigSteve is offline
                  Pokemon Bright Gold
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2008
                    Location: North Lincolnshire, UK
                    Age: 25
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 490
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by dark lakitu View Post
                    I searched but did not find so...
                    How do you make the ROM bigger?
                    Can you delete all the scripts in the game?

                    And a completely random one...
                    What happens if you turn everything in a ROM (using Hex Editing) into empty space (FFFF)
                    I cant answer most of that, but if you made everything into empty space the rom wouldnt exist
                    there wouldnt be any data in it - data for everything is included in the rom when it's open in a hex editor
                    so there wouldnt just be no map headers, there would be no maps, and there would be no sprites to go in the maps
                    and when you tried opening it in vba you'd just get a cannot be opened error or a fatal error

                    Not that I've done that, it's just kinda obvious
                      #5462    
                    Old June 24th, 2008 (3:21 AM).
                    Thrace's Avatar
                    Thrace Thrace is offline
                    @tion
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 1,048
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by FriendsRoxYourSox View Post
                    well then where do i put the speed text? and whenever i use lunar ips, because my rom died....:(,(to recover it), it always says: Youre modified file has changes at or beyond the 16 MB mark. The Ips format is unable to address those offsets. The generated patch file will only contain changes below that point. plz help.
                    Eek, sounds pretty bad. To fix your original problem all you needed to do was to search for the offset of the text in A-text in a clean rom, then go to that offset copy a reasonable amount of hex (say 10 lines just to be safe) and then go to the offset in your hacked rom and replace the amount of lines you copied. I think what you must have done for Lunar IPS to say that is that you inserted bytes instead of replacing them.

                    I don't know if you can fix it and I don't think you should waste any more time trying too either. Just start again. Copy over the maps and scripts and you'll be up to where you were in no time.

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by dark lakitu View Post
                    I searched but did not find so...
                    How do you make the ROM bigger?
                    Can you delete all the scripts in the game?

                    And a completely random one...
                    What happens if you turn everything in a ROM (using Hex Editing) into empty space (FFFF)
                    The GBA rom files have pointers that are represented by 3 bytes that is why the rom files finish at approximately FFFFFF (FF is the largest byte in hex) so when it is increased, the pointers are now insufficient to point to all the data in the rom. I haven't actually researched this in-depth and what I've told is mostly common sense. I'm sure it is possible somehow, I remember reading that VBA is able to play roms of any size so the emulation will not be a problem. I also remember that Crystal Shards was going to have a rom expansion. Try searching for it on google. That probably should have been the first thing you did.

                    Yes you can delete all the scripts but if its quite dangerous as you risk deleting stuff that are needed for the game engine.

                    Nothing, you will not be able to do anything with it. It will be an empty file.
                    __________________
                      #5463    
                    Old June 24th, 2008 (11:04 AM).
                    mattknux391 mattknux391 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2007
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 4
                      How do i edit the growth rates of a pokemon in a rom cuz it kinda becomes a hassle to raise all of these pokemon that take up all the experience and training in the wild takes forever as well so i wanted to change the growth rates of gyarados aerodactyl snorlax and pikachu cuz they are the worst to raise but kinda become a payoff so if anyones got an idea or a certainty...
                      __________________
                      Yellow remaker
                        #5464    
                      Old June 24th, 2008 (1:31 PM).
                      Jeff22 Jeff22 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2007
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 1
                        Has anyone had the problem where the effects of various attacks become messed up? For example, when you use Dig in battle, each turn it says "[POKEMON] dug a hole!" without it actually resurfacing to attack. Also, attacks like Stun Spore and Sleep Powder don't cause any status conditions, while the effects of other attacks are also not what they're supposed to be. I can't change it with A-Tack or AEP; if anyone knows how I could reset the attack data through Hex or something else, it would be greatly appreciated.

                        Also, I commonly encounter a problem where if you open the Pokemon menu in close proximity to an NPC and return, you are in control of that NPC's sprite instead of your own.
                          #5465    
                        Old June 24th, 2008 (2:27 PM).
                        cooley's Avatar
                        cooley cooley is offline
                        ///Keepin' it simple
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2007
                        Location: United States
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Impish
                        Posts: 1,147
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Jeff22 View Post
                        Has anyone had the problem where the effects of various attacks become messed up? For example, when you use Dig in battle, each turn it says "[POKEMON] dug a hole!" without it actually resurfacing to attack. Also, attacks like Stun Spore and Sleep Powder don't cause any status conditions, while the effects of other attacks are also not what they're supposed to be. I can't change it with A-Tack or AEP; if anyone knows how I could reset the attack data through Hex or something else, it would be greatly appreciated.

                        Also, I commonly encounter a problem where if you open the Pokemon menu in close proximity to an NPC and return, you are in control of that NPC's sprite instead of your own.
                        Well for the first question, I have no idea. 0_0
                        Then for the second one, that means that the sprite is set to "look down", to fix it, change it to No movement, since it is the same thing.
                        __________________

                          #5466    
                        Old June 24th, 2008 (4:31 PM).
                        Diggeh's Avatar
                        Diggeh Diggeh is offline
                        A horoscope of ambitions.
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2007
                          Location: Somewhere.
                          Age: 26
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 194
                          Does anybody know where I could find D/P Pokemon cries? If not, what should I use to rip them?

                          Also, does anyone have the D/P Music files? The link in ROM Hacking Resources doesn't open for me. :\
                          __________________
                            #5467    
                          Old June 24th, 2008 (4:35 PM).
                          destinedjagold's Avatar
                          destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                          Oh Hai Thar~
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: May 2007
                          Location: Philippines
                          Age: 26
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Careful
                          Posts: 8,507
                          here's a link towards DP cries... :\
                          __________________


                          FC: 0061-1111-6462
                          TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                            #5468    
                          Old June 24th, 2008 (8:26 PM).
                          Thrace's Avatar
                          Thrace Thrace is offline
                          @tion
                          • Gold Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2007
                          Age: 26
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 1,048
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by mattknux391 View Post
                          How do i edit the growth rates of a pokemon in a rom cuz it kinda becomes a hassle to raise all of these pokemon that take up all the experience and training in the wild takes forever as well so i wanted to change the growth rates of gyarados aerodactyl snorlax and pikachu cuz they are the worst to raise but kinda become a payoff so if anyones got an idea or a certainty...
                          Use a program called YAPE, it has that feature.
                          __________________
                            #5469    
                          Old June 24th, 2008 (11:28 PM).
                          thethethethe thethethethe is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2007
                            Location: Melbourne, Australia
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 1,104
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Jeff22 View Post
                            Has anyone had the problem where the effects of various attacks become messed up? For example, when you use Dig in battle, each turn it says "[POKEMON] dug a hole!" without it actually resurfacing to attack. Also, attacks like Stun Spore and Sleep Powder don't cause any status conditions, while the effects of other attacks are also not what they're supposed to be. I can't change it with A-Tack or AEP; if anyone knows how I could reset the attack data through Hex or something else, it would be greatly appreciated.
                            You won't be able to 'reset' it with hex, but you could overwrite it with what it should be.
                            Here's the easiest way I can think of to fix up the attacks. Download a hex editor that supports a copy and paste function. If you can't find one, look for either Hexeccute or Hex Workshop.
                            Now in an unhacked fire red rom, go to 0x250C04, and highlight everything from 0x250C04 - 0x251CA8, and copy it.
                            Now open up your hacked rom, and go to 0x250C04, and paste all the data and save. That should hopefully fix it.
                            If that doesn't work, you wouldn't be able to fix it so easily.
                            __________________
                            Gone.
                              #5470    
                            Old June 25th, 2008 (1:10 AM).
                            Eletj's Avatar
                            Eletj Eletj is offline
                            Once Eletj, Always Eletj
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2007
                              Location: Palmerston North
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Rash
                              Posts: 365
                              I just spent ages working on a map in A-map, and all of a sudden all the tiles changed!? Is there anyway to fix this?
                              __________________

                              I do not need a microphone... My voice is ******* POWERFUL!
                              Spoiler:
                              We missed you~ - UmbreonGirl
                              Badass Survivor - Diegoyayi
                              Princess of Plot - GhostPrincess
                                #5471    
                              Old June 25th, 2008 (1:29 AM).
                              destinedjagold's Avatar
                              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                              Oh Hai Thar~
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: May 2007
                              Location: Philippines
                              Age: 26
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Careful
                              Posts: 8,507
                              er, you can change the set of tiles in A-Map's Header View... :\
                              there, you can see 'Tileset 1' and Tileset 2'...
                              __________________


                              FC: 0061-1111-6462
                              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                #5472    
                              Old June 25th, 2008 (1:35 AM).
                              mattknux391 mattknux391 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2007
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 4
                                Use a program called YAPE, it has that feature.

                                when i try openning it i get an error message about 0xc0000135 wut does that mean?
                                __________________
                                Yellow remaker
                                  #5473    
                                Old June 25th, 2008 (1:42 AM).
                                Thrace's Avatar
                                Thrace Thrace is offline
                                @tion
                                • Gold Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2007
                                Age: 26
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 1,048
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by mattknux391 View Post
                                Use a program called YAPE, it has that feature.

                                when i try openning it i get an error message about 0xc0000135 wut does that mean?
                                Is this when you open the rom or the program? If its the program you need to download the .NET framework I think take a look at his thread it should say what you need. If its when you open the rom then there is a problem with your rom.
                                __________________
                                  #5474    
                                Old June 25th, 2008 (2:16 AM).
                                Amonitas's Avatar
                                Amonitas Amonitas is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2008
                                  Gender:
                                  Posts: 31
                                  I heard you get national dex in R/S when trading between FR/LG, but there is another way, with scripts maybe?
                                    #5475    
                                  Old June 25th, 2008 (2:19 AM).
                                  mattknux391 mattknux391 is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 4
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by dshayabusa View Post
                                    Is this when you open the rom or the program? If its the program you need to download the .NET framework I think take a look at his thread it should say what you need. If its when you open the rom then there is a problem with your rom.

                                    would the .NET framework happen to be like windows service pack 3 maybe?
                                    \
                                    and yea its when i try to open the program
                                    __________________
                                    Yellow remaker
                                    Closed Thread
                                    Quick Reply

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:55 PM.