ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #5651    
Old July 16th, 2008 (4:13 AM).
bjorn130's Avatar
bjorn130 bjorn130 is offline
Epic Quest Creator
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Location: Bruges, belgium
    Age: 25
    Gender:
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 53
    hi

    here's my problem. this was taken ingame:



    and this is wat i made in advance map:

    __________________

    Relevant Advertising!

      #5652    
    Old July 16th, 2008 (4:20 AM).
    thethethethe thethethethe is offline
       
      Join Date: Jun 2007
      Location: Melbourne, Australia
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 1,104
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by bjorn130 View Post
      hi

      here's my problem. this was taken ingame:



      and this is wat i made in advance map:

      It's called a border. Look at Advancemap, and at the map. You should see it in the bar on the right. Make it filled with black tiles.
      __________________
      Gone.
        #5653    
      Old July 16th, 2008 (4:43 AM).
      destinedjagold's Avatar
      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
      Oh Hai Thar~
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: May 2007
      Location: Philippines
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Careful
      Posts: 8,507
      thethethethe's right.
      the border block in A-Map should be appearing exactly like this.
      __________________


      FC: 0061-1111-6462
      TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

        #5654    
      Old July 16th, 2008 (6:44 AM).
      ℜªℳ's Avatar
      ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
      RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
         
        Join Date: Nov 2007
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 214
        Is it possible to import and export maps of the same measurements from one Firered to another accounting that both have the same tilesets and are for the same area?
        __________________
        Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

        Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
          #5655    
        Old July 16th, 2008 (9:30 AM).
        code4242's Avatar
        code4242 code4242 is offline
        Can You Crack The Code?
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Gender:
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 17
          this may not be too simple but how can i make an event battle, with advance map preferably. you know, like Zapdos or Mewtwo. oh yea, it's for fire red.
          __________________
            #5656    
          Old July 16th, 2008 (11:18 AM).
          psyduck6199's Avatar
          psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2007
            Gender:
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 57
            i tired putting turtwig in but when i replace bulbasaur with turtwig the image gets messed up.
            is there anyway to fix it? also when i tried to put another image it said "image not indexed". what does that mean? when i tried putting in chimchar for charmander it worked.
              #5657    
            Old July 16th, 2008 (1:31 PM).
            ℜªℳ's Avatar
            ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
            RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
               
              Join Date: Nov 2007
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 214
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by psyduck6199 View Post
              i tired putting turtwig in but when i replace bulbasaur with turtwig the image gets messed up.
              is there anyway to fix it? also when i tried to put another image it said "image not indexed". what does that mean? when i tried putting in chimchar for charmander it worked.
              Not indexed would mean that the image was preferably too big. 64x64 is the normal size and all the pokemon must have 16 color pallette limits which mean you can't use more than 16 colors on a pokemon and it has to have black and white as 2 of the sixteen. There's always the part where you could've repointed something wrong.
              __________________
              Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

              Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
                #5658    
              Old July 16th, 2008 (3:32 PM).
              destinedjagold's Avatar
              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
              Oh Hai Thar~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Location: Philippines
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 8,507
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by psyduck6199 View Post
              i tired putting turtwig in but when i replace bulbasaur with turtwig the image gets messed up.
              is there anyway to fix it? also when i tried to put another image it said "image not indexed". what does that mean? when i tried putting in chimchar for charmander it worked.
              Refer to RedYoshi's Indexing Sprites Tutorial.
              Also, I think my tutorial's helpful for your sprites' questions as well...


              Quote:
              Originally Posted by code4242 View Post
              this may not be too simple but how can i make an event battle, with advance map preferably. you know, like Zapdos or Mewtwo. oh yea, it's for fire red.
              script it.
              refer to thethethethe's scripting tutorial...
              __________________


              FC: 0061-1111-6462
              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                #5659    
              Old July 16th, 2008 (3:52 PM).
              pthrules pthrules is offline
              duncanrcook is now pthrules!!!
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2008
                Gender:
                Posts: 6
                ok more questions about pokemon red

                how to edit scripts in hex?
                also, would the gold scripting document be relevant at all to pokemon red?
                is there a known way to edit music in a hex editor (offsets??)?
                how to decompress and edit pokemon/trainer battle sprites?

                and
                what is asm,
                what can I do with asm to pokemon red,
                and a document relevant to doing asm in z80? (pretty sure that's gameboy)
                  #5660    
                Old July 16th, 2008 (3:53 PM).
                code4242's Avatar
                code4242 code4242 is offline
                Can You Crack The Code?
                   
                  Join Date: May 2008
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Relaxed
                  Posts: 17
                  I need something to script with. my pokescript isn't working.
                  __________________
                    #5661    
                  Old July 16th, 2008 (3:54 PM).
                  destinedjagold's Avatar
                  destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                  Oh Hai Thar~
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: May 2007
                  Location: Philippines
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Careful
                  Posts: 8,507
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by code4242 View Post
                  I need something to script with. my pokescript isn't working.
                  then your best bet would be using XSE...
                  see in the toolbox section.
                  __________________


                  FC: 0061-1111-6462
                  TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                    #5662    
                  Old July 16th, 2008 (4:01 PM). Edited July 16th, 2008 by code4242.
                  code4242's Avatar
                  code4242 code4242 is offline
                  Can You Crack The Code?
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 17
                    kk thanks! i needed this alot!

                    ho do i get the offset for my script i made in XSE?
                    __________________
                      #5663    
                    Old July 16th, 2008 (5:25 PM).
                    IIMarckus's Avatar
                    IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
                    J946@5488AA97464
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2007
                      Gender:
                      Posts: 402
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pthrules View Post
                      how to edit scripts in hex?
                      RBY don't have a scripting engine. Events have to be modified in ASM.
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pthrules View Post
                      also, would the gold scripting document be relevant at all to pokemon red?
                      No.
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pthrules View Post
                      is there a known way to edit music in a hex editor (offsets??)?
                      I know some people have done it, but finding offsets is a lot of trouble I've never gone through. Datacrystal lists some music as being at 8000-BFFF, 20000-2148B, 217E8-23F52, and 7C000-80000.
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pthrules View Post
                      how to decompress and edit pokemon/trainer battle sprites?
                      Decompressing has been done; I've attached the C source code to a program that decompresses to bitmaps. Editing and reinserting is currently not possible, though if you can understand German reasonably well you could possibly work with the compression doc.
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pthrules View Post
                      and
                      what is asm,
                      what can I do with asm to pokemon red,
                      and a document relevant to doing asm in z80? (pretty sure that's gameboy)
                      ASM abbreviates "assembly," the mnemonics for the Game Boy's binary CPU instructions (i.e. uber-low-level programming). Different people learn ASM in different ways -- I did it by finding a lone ASM string and disassembling it by hand, but other people might be better served by the resources at Wichita State (though that's more geared towards homebrew).
                      Attached Files
                      File Type: txt rbgfx.txt‎ (11.6 KB, 7 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                        #5664    
                      Old July 16th, 2008 (6:12 PM). Edited July 16th, 2008 by pthrules.
                      pthrules pthrules is offline
                      duncanrcook is now pthrules!!!
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2008
                        Gender:
                        Posts: 6
                        thank you!!!!
                        actually I do know about a year's worth of german haha (I took a class)

                        in asm, can you edit stuff like the prof. Oak script where he walks over to you?
                        (in other words, can you edit movements?) and how?

                        oh yea, do you have a compiled version of the decompressor? I'm on a mac (with virtual pc of course) and I dont think I could compile it.
                          #5665    
                        Old July 16th, 2008 (6:29 PM).
                        RedOneH28's Avatar
                        RedOneH28 RedOneH28 is offline
                        RED
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2008
                          Location: New York
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Lax
                          Posts: 9
                          Where should i start?

                          There seems to be so many options but is there a general pokemon hacking tutorial i can read. Seems a bit overwhelming just jumping into it. Mappping, scripting, etc..
                          __________________
                          Just Red.

                          Just call me Red One.
                          -->FRIEND CODE: 5370 6526 8058<--

                            #5666    
                          Old July 16th, 2008 (6:55 PM).
                          psyduck6199's Avatar
                          psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2007
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 57
                            thanks destinedjagold for the tutorials and thanks 現実として巨大なもの for telling me what happened with my sprites.:D
                              #5667    
                            Old July 16th, 2008 (7:16 PM).
                            Ryousha's Avatar
                            Ryousha Ryousha is offline
                            Pokespe Scanlator
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2007
                              Location: Somewhere
                              Age: 21
                              Nature: Naive
                              Posts: 956
                              Hey, um what is the number for sneasel in XSE?

                              (I know it's not its dex number, can anyone help me.)
                                #5668    
                              Old July 16th, 2008 (7:21 PM).
                              Tyrantrum's Avatar
                              Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
                              ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2007
                              Location: New Jersey
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Lonely
                              Posts: 5,811
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Ryousha View Post
                              Hey, um what is the number for sneasel in XSE?

                              (I know it's not its dex number, can anyone help me.)
                              Did u try its National Dex number?
                              __________________




                              (x) Tumblr
                              (y) Twitter
                              Previously Eeveon
                                #5669    
                              Old July 16th, 2008 (8:00 PM).
                              Darthatron's Avatar
                              Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                              巨大なトロール。
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2006
                              Location: Melbourne, Australia
                              Age: 25
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 1,152
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Ryousha View Post
                              Hey, um what is the number for sneasel in XSE?

                              (I know it's not its dex number, can anyone help me.)
                              It's "215" or "0xD7" or "&HD7", they will all work. Or you could always #include the stdpoke.rbh file. Like so...

                              Code:
                              #Dynamic 0x800000
                              #Include stdpoke.rbh
                              
                              #ORG @Main
                              GivePokemon PKMN_SNEASEL 20 0 0 0 0
                              End
                              Which would give a level 20 Sneasel to the player.
                              __________________
                              あなた は しきしゃ です
                              わたし は ばか です
                                #5670    
                              Old July 16th, 2008 (8:07 PM).
                              Ryousha's Avatar
                              Ryousha Ryousha is offline
                              Pokespe Scanlator
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2007
                                Location: Somewhere
                                Age: 21
                                Nature: Naive
                                Posts: 956
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                                It's "215" or "0xD7" or "&HD7", they will all work. Or you could always #include the stdpoke.rbh file. Like so...

                                Code:
                                #Dynamic 0x800000
                                #Include stdpoke.rbh
                                
                                #ORG @Main
                                GivePokemon PKMN_SNEASEL 20 0 0 0 0
                                End
                                Which would give a level 20 Sneasel to the player.
                                Just putting a pokeball in the middle of the road? lawl, that's not the best plan but it works for me
                                  #5671    
                                Old July 16th, 2008 (8:19 PM).
                                Tyrantrum's Avatar
                                Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
                                ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
                                • Crystal Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2007
                                Location: New Jersey
                                Age: 23
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Lonely
                                Posts: 5,811
                                Um, I tried palette editing, but it didn't work.
                                I asked cooley and he told me this:

                                Quote:
                                Well than, you didn't search for the palette. Click on the "load by searching" once you have the palette in the top row. Once it's found, click "Load by offset" then click on the copy button(if you can't find it, mouseover every Icon in the Top Row) the Replace should come up now.

                                Now you import/Edit the palette in the bottom Row and then click replace.
                                I tried that and the palettes were still the same.
                                What did I do wrong?
                                Also, it was for Fire Red.
                                __________________




                                (x) Tumblr
                                (y) Twitter
                                Previously Eeveon
                                  #5672    
                                Old July 16th, 2008 (8:25 PM).
                                hbkrajeev's Avatar
                                hbkrajeev hbkrajeev is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2008
                                  Location: india
                                  Gender:
                                  Posts: 6
                                  well can anyone tell how to put a pokemon like say articuno appear at pewter city..
                                  i mean at some place where it wasn't present already!
                                  and then script for battling with it..
                                  (i wish to ask how to insert new legendary pokemon battle in game???)
                                  thanx in advance
                                    #5673    
                                  Old July 17th, 2008 (12:05 AM).
                                  Hiidoran's Avatar
                                  Hiidoran Hiidoran is offline
                                  ohey
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Oct 2005
                                  Location: Indiana
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 6,245
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by hbkrajeev View Post
                                  well can anyone tell how to put a pokemon like say articuno appear at pewter city..
                                  i mean at some place where it wasn't present already!
                                  and then script for battling with it..
                                  (i wish to ask how to insert new legendary pokemon battle in game???)
                                  thanx in advance
                                  Well, you could go into the seafoam islands map and copy Articuno's script... then give it to a sprite in Pewter City. You can, of course, change that said sprite in Pewter City to the Arcticuno sprite. Changing Arcticuno's level and stats at the time of encounter would be a different story.
                                  Good luck.
                                    #5674    
                                  Old July 17th, 2008 (12:06 AM).
                                  destinedjagold's Avatar
                                  destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                  Oh Hai Thar~
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2007
                                  Location: Philippines
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 8,507
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by hbkrajeev View Post
                                  well can anyone tell how to put a pokemon like say articuno appear at pewter city..
                                  i mean at some place where it wasn't present already!
                                  and then script for battling with it..
                                  (i wish to ask how to insert new legendary pokemon battle in game???)
                                  thanx in advance
                                  you need to learn how to script.
                                  script it.
                                  refer to thethethethe's scripting tutorial...
                                  __________________


                                  FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                  TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                    #5675    
                                  Old July 17th, 2008 (6:44 AM).
                                  code4242's Avatar
                                  code4242 code4242 is offline
                                  Can You Crack The Code?
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2008
                                    Gender:
                                    Nature: Relaxed
                                    Posts: 17
                                    does anyone know where I can get an english trainer editor. one that lets you change the trainer's name and/or pokemon.
                                    __________________
                                    Closed Thread
                                    Quick Reply

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:49 AM.