ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #6226    
Old September 7th, 2008 (5:55 AM).
Ineffable~'s Avatar
Ineffable~ Ineffable~ is offline

DAT SNARKITUDE

  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Any ol' place really
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 2,742

Quote:
Originally Posted by dshayabusa View Post
It may be easier just to start again.
If I planned to start again at this point, I would have just run
away at the 1st point of trouble.

__________________

#077: Ponyta - The Fire Horse Pokémon
Fire ~ Field eggs
3'03" ~ 66.1lbs ~ 50/50

Its hooves are 10 times harder
than diamonds. It can trample
anything completely flat in moments.

Abilities: Run Away or Flash Fire or Flame Body
Moves: Growl, Flame Wheel, Stomp, Agility
Locations: Pokémon Mansion

Cry

Other names:

jp: ポニータ (Ponyta)
de: Ponita
fr: Ponyta
cn: 小火馬 (Xiǎohuǒmǎ)



Relevant Advertising!

  #6227    
Old September 7th, 2008 (8:22 AM).
crait crait is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Gender:
    Posts: 7

    Hi!
    I was wondering how would I change a Pokemon's sprite to another image. I don't want to edit the image, but instead, I want to point to another image that's in another location.
    I have the offsets I want and the pallet too, but I need the tool.
    Thanks in advance!

      #6228    
    Old September 7th, 2008 (8:25 AM).
    Lady Berlitz's Avatar
    Lady Berlitz Lady Berlitz is offline
    Cinnamon ♪
       
      Join Date: May 2007
      Location: An igloo in Canada
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 1,768

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by crait View Post
      Hi!
      I was wondering how would I change a Pokemon's sprite to another image. I don't want to edit the image, but instead, I want to point to another image that's in another location.
      I have the offsets I want and the pallet too, but I need the tool.
      Thanks in advance!
      Well, you can simply use UnLZ-GBA, but it depends on what you want to do with the sprite.
      Like, for example, scripting and using Advance Map.

      __________________
      _█████████_
      _█▄█████▄█_
      _█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
      ██_______██
      _█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
      _█████████_
      _██_____██_
        #6229    
      Old September 7th, 2008 (8:28 AM).
      crait crait is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2008
        Gender:
        Posts: 7

        I don't think I explained myself properly.
        I inserted code into the game to make my own pokemon. I've got everything right. I can even catch and level him up and teach him HM's and whatever. But, there aren't blank spaces for new pokemon sprites to go into. I don't want to replace another pokemon's sprite, I just want to point the pokemon's sprite location to a certain tile offset and pallet.

          #6230    
        Old September 7th, 2008 (8:31 AM).
        Lady Berlitz's Avatar
        Lady Berlitz Lady Berlitz is offline
        Cinnamon ♪
           
          Join Date: May 2007
          Location: An igloo in Canada
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 1,768

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by crait View Post
          I don't think I explained myself properly.
          I inserted code into the game to make my own pokemon. I've got everything right. I can even catch and level him up and teach him HM's and whatever. But, there aren't blank spaces for new pokemon sprites to go into. I don't want to replace another pokemon's sprite, I just want to point the pokemon's sprite location to a certain tile offset and pallet.
          May I ask why you need to do this?

          If I'm thinking what you are thinking, there are probably many ways to do this more simply.
          But, I'm just guessing what you are asking, as I need to know why you could possibly be doing this.

          __________________
          _█████████_
          _█▄█████▄█_
          _█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
          ██_______██
          _█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
          _█████████_
          _██_____██_
            #6231    
          Old September 7th, 2008 (8:46 AM).
          crait crait is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2008
            Gender:
            Posts: 7

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Infernal Contraption View Post
            May I ask why you need to do this?

            If I'm thinking what you are thinking, there are probably many ways to do this more simply.
            But, I'm just guessing what you are asking, as I need to know why you could possibly be doing this.

            I want to still retain the ability to trade and get all the official pokemon and be able to insert 2 new one I'm making into the game.
            I've done everything already except their pictures. I don't want to point the pokemon's data to a picture in another location.

              #6232    
            Old September 7th, 2008 (9:06 AM).
            *Poliwag*'s Avatar
            *Poliwag* *Poliwag* is offline
            PollyWaggle
               
              Join Date: Sep 2007
              Location: In a pond, Violet City
              Gender:
              Nature: Hasty
              Posts: 23

              It is possible to insert new pokemon pictures, without overwriting old ones, but i don't think its possible to catch them, only give them away in scripts- there's a useful tutorial here

                #6233    
              Old September 7th, 2008 (9:53 AM).
              Lady Berlitz's Avatar
              Lady Berlitz Lady Berlitz is offline
              Cinnamon ♪
                 
                Join Date: May 2007
                Location: An igloo in Canada
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 1,768

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by crait View Post
                I want to still retain the ability to trade and get all the official pokemon and be able to insert 2 new one I'm making into the game.
                I've done everything already except their pictures. I don't want to point the pokemon's data to a picture in another location.
                Actually, it IS possible to add a scratch Pokémon sprite, I believe there are 9-25 (forget which) free spaces in a ROM.

                __________________
                _█████████_
                _█▄█████▄█_
                _█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
                ██_______██
                _█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
                _█████████_
                _██_____██_
                  #6234    
                Old September 7th, 2008 (10:08 AM).
                Ineffable~'s Avatar
                Ineffable~ Ineffable~ is offline

                DAT SNARKITUDE

                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2008
                Location: Any ol' place really
                Age: 23
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Naive
                Posts: 2,742

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by *Poliwag* View Post
                It is possible to insert new pokemon pictures, without overwriting old ones, but i don't think its possible to catch them, only give them away in scripts- there's a useful tutorial here
                Yay that's great but does anyone have a program that edits
                sprites and works in emerald? Otherwise that tutorial is useless to me.

                __________________

                #077: Ponyta - The Fire Horse Pokémon
                Fire ~ Field eggs
                3'03" ~ 66.1lbs ~ 50/50

                Its hooves are 10 times harder
                than diamonds. It can trample
                anything completely flat in moments.

                Abilities: Run Away or Flash Fire or Flame Body
                Moves: Growl, Flame Wheel, Stomp, Agility
                Locations: Pokémon Mansion

                Cry

                Other names:

                jp: ポニータ (Ponyta)
                de: Ponita
                fr: Ponyta
                cn: 小火馬 (Xiǎohuǒmǎ)


                  #6235    
                Old September 7th, 2008 (10:50 AM).
                crait crait is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2008
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 7

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by *Poliwag* View Post
                  It is possible to insert new pokemon pictures, without overwriting old ones, but i don't think its possible to catch them, only give them away in scripts- there's a useful tutorial here
                  Wow, this is really helpful. I should have this done in like, 2 seconds. And there is a way to insert your own Pokemon into the wild.

                    #6236    
                  Old September 7th, 2008 (8:24 PM).
                  Ripper's Avatar
                  Ripper Ripper is offline
                  The Dark Knight
                     
                    Join Date: May 2007
                    Location: New Zealand
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Mild
                    Posts: 486

                    I've been having this problem for a while where the first/second person on a map always ends up at the same place always doing the same thing, like for instance the girl in Pallete Town who always ends up by the original sign. I'm sure someone out there knows how to fix this, o if you do please help. Thanks!

                    __________________
                    Credit to Dukey for this awesome signature!
                      #6237    
                    Old September 7th, 2008 (10:35 PM).
                    Thrace's Avatar
                    Thrace Thrace is offline
                    @tion
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 1,048

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Ripper View Post
                    I've been having this problem for a while where the first/second person on a map always ends up at the same place always doing the same thing, like for instance the girl in Pallete Town who always ends up by the original sign. I'm sure someone out there knows how to fix this, o if you do please help. Thanks!
                    It is usually caused by the movesprite2 command in level scripts for maps. The easiest way to fix the problem is to change the people number as movesprite2 works in the following way:
                    Code:
                    movesprite2 0x[peopleNumber] 0x[x-pos] 0x[y-pos]
                    Alternatively you could delete the level script. Level scripts usually contain some important stuff though, setworldmapflag commands for example.

                    __________________
                      #6238    
                    Old September 7th, 2008 (10:42 PM).
                    Ripper's Avatar
                    Ripper Ripper is offline
                    The Dark Knight
                       
                      Join Date: May 2007
                      Location: New Zealand
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Mild
                      Posts: 486

                      Cheers dshayabusa, you're my new best friend :D In fact, I will add you as a friend right now if you don't mind. That stupid problem has been bugging me since forever!

                      __________________
                      Credit to Dukey for this awesome signature!
                        #6239    
                      Old September 8th, 2008 (1:21 AM).
                      Gold Tom's Avatar
                      Gold Tom Gold Tom is offline
                      Krazier Than You
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2005
                        Location: A Trailer Full of Oz
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 438

                        Hey, I'm doing a Fire Red hack and I want to know if anyone knows how to take the rival out of the introduction.

                          #6240    
                        Old September 8th, 2008 (2:18 AM). Edited September 8th, 2008 by pokedude565.
                        pokedude565
                        Guest
                           
                          Posts: n/a

                          Is there anyway to start off in a new map you made in Advance Map with SMCA (Start Map Chooser Advance)?
                          Also is there a way to change the numbers after the name (in Advance Map) ?
                          And is it possible to replace an existing map (like the proper Pallet Town) with a map you made (in Advance Map)?

                          Tell me if you don't know what I mean.

                            #6241    
                          Old September 8th, 2008 (2:25 AM).
                          Thrace's Avatar
                          Thrace Thrace is offline
                          @tion
                          • Gold Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2007
                          Age: 26
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 1,048

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Gold Tom View Post
                          Hey, I'm doing a Fire Red hack and I want to know if anyone knows how to take the rival out of the introduction.
                          AFAIK that would be extremely difficult. It obviously requires some very advanced ASM, I'm sure if it could be done zel would have removed it in SG.

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by pokedude565 View Post
                          Is there anyway to start off in a new map you made in Advance Map with SMCA (Start Map Chooser Advance)?
                          Also is there a way to change the numbers after the name (in Advance Map) ?
                          And is it possible to replace an existing map (like the proper Pallet Town) with a map you made (in Advance Map)?

                          Tell me if you don't know what I mean.

                          1) Aaah yeah, thats what its for... You just need to know the map bank and number. [Map Bank].[Map Number] (ie. 3.0 is pallete town) is how it is recorded in AMap.
                          2) What numbers?
                          3) Yes. Open the map you want to replace. Go to File -> Load Map. Open the map you made in AMap. Go to File -> Insert Map. Choose the map you want to replace. No offense but that should have been obvious.

                          __________________
                            #6242    
                          Old September 8th, 2008 (2:37 AM).
                          Gold Tom's Avatar
                          Gold Tom Gold Tom is offline
                          Krazier Than You
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2005
                            Location: A Trailer Full of Oz
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 438

                            Oh, okay then. Thanks for at least answering my question!

                              #6243    
                            Old September 8th, 2008 (2:48 AM). Edited September 8th, 2008 by pokedude565.
                            pokedude565
                            Guest
                               
                              Posts: n/a

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by dshayabusa View Post
                              AFAIK that would be extremely difficult. It obviously requires some very advanced ASM, I'm sure if it could be done zel would have removed it in SG.

                              1) Aaah yeah, thats what its for... You just need to know the map bank and number. [Map Bank].[Map Number] (ie. 3.0 is pallete town) is how it is recorded in AMap.
                              2) What numbers?
                              3) Yes. Open the map you want to replace. Go to File -> Load Map. Open the map you made in AMap. Go to File -> Insert Map. Choose the map you want to replace. No offense but that should have been obvious.

                              Thanks alot! I accidently saved it to the wrong folder under "from header". Is there anyway to delete it from there?

                              EDIT: WTH! When I load the game on VisualBoyAdvance and leave the house, i end up on this glitched sea and can't move excepty from turning! What am I doing wrong? Its all glitched sea tiles. I'll be back tomorow.

                                #6244    
                              Old September 8th, 2008 (10:18 AM).
                              Raging_Lugia's Avatar
                              Raging_Lugia Raging_Lugia is offline
                              ProjectPokemon Member
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2008
                                Location: A house
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 89

                                How do I insert or edit a sprite? in pokemon diamond?

                                __________________
                                http://www.pokeclan.megalogs.net/
                                ^new pokemon Site
                                visit it its got lots of pokemon hacks,news
                                  #6245    
                                Old September 8th, 2008 (11:02 AM).
                                mrhiyuck's Avatar
                                mrhiyuck mrhiyuck is offline
                                //
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2007
                                  Posts: 29

                                  All right, I downloaded PCSV and it will compile unlike my XSE for some reason. But now I have another question...

                                  In a map I created, when you go to a certain part of it, it randomly restarts the rom. There isn't any thing near it and the blocks are the same...

                                  Also when I connect my map to an northern route, there are a few random blocks that aren't on the route but appear before you enter the route. Is there a solution to this?

                                    #6246    
                                  Old September 8th, 2008 (11:13 AM).
                                  negative's Avatar
                                  negative negative is offline
                                  Life returns. Life prevails.
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2008
                                    Location: Ptuj, Slovenia.
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Naughty
                                    Posts: 505

                                    HI! I know this is a little noobish..but..can someone tell me:
                                    1. you made a banner
                                    2.How do you make the link to the thread?

                                    __________________
                                    Pokémon Twisted Mind
                                      #6247    
                                    Old September 8th, 2008 (11:25 AM).
                                    Raging_Lugia's Avatar
                                    Raging_Lugia Raging_Lugia is offline
                                    ProjectPokemon Member
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2008
                                      Location: A house
                                      Gender:
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 89

                                      can anyone answer my question
                                      And Gambit you make it in paint i think

                                      __________________
                                      http://www.pokeclan.megalogs.net/
                                      ^new pokemon Site
                                      visit it its got lots of pokemon hacks,news
                                        #6248    
                                      Old September 8th, 2008 (11:33 AM).
                                      negative's Avatar
                                      negative negative is offline
                                      Life returns. Life prevails.
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2008
                                        Location: Ptuj, Slovenia.
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Naughty
                                        Posts: 505

                                        Yes I know how to make the banner...I just don't know how to make a link to a thread!

                                        __________________
                                        Pokémon Twisted Mind
                                          #6249    
                                        Old September 8th, 2008 (11:38 AM).
                                        Raging_Lugia's Avatar
                                        Raging_Lugia Raging_Lugia is offline
                                        ProjectPokemon Member
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2008
                                          Location: A house
                                          Gender:
                                          Nature: Adamant
                                          Posts: 89

                                          In your sig put the link in between the banner
                                          Now Answer my question SOMEONE!!!!

                                          __________________
                                          http://www.pokeclan.megalogs.net/
                                          ^new pokemon Site
                                          visit it its got lots of pokemon hacks,news
                                            #6250    
                                          Old September 8th, 2008 (11:44 AM).
                                          Thrace's Avatar
                                          Thrace Thrace is offline
                                          @tion
                                          • Gold Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2007
                                          Age: 26
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 1,048

                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by mrhiyuck View Post
                                          All right, I downloaded PCSV and it will compile unlike my XSE for some reason. But now I have another question...

                                          In a map I created, when you go to a certain part of it, it randomly restarts the rom. There isn't any thing near it and the blocks are the same...

                                          Also when I connect my map to an northern route, there are a few random blocks that aren't on the route but appear before you enter the route. Is there a solution to this?

                                          Chech if there are any people on the map with Look Down or Hidden as their movement type. The second problem is because the two maps are using different tilesets, they must be the same when walking between maps.

                                          __________________
                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:31 PM.