ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #6926    
Old November 8th, 2008 (4:47 PM).
Ice Lightning's Avatar
Ice Lightning Ice Lightning is offline
Ya realy like that alien movie
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: I live in a house, duh :F
    Gender:
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 29
    I have a question, (sorry if this has already been asked but I can't find it)
    How do I make new folders for maps in Advance Map? Sorry if this is sort of a n00bish question but I'm well... I'm a n00b at this XD
    Thanks in advance!
    __________________
    Stay in touch on the forums for *Da Da DaDa DaDa Da* POKEMON GOLDEN TREASURES!

    Kyle's PokePet

    Blaze the level 999 Raikou!

    Relevant Advertising!

      #6927    
    Old November 8th, 2008 (6:04 PM).
    Dratii's Avatar
    Dratii Dratii is offline
    Working on something new...
       
      Join Date: Aug 2008
      Nature: Careful
      Posts: 194
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Ice Lightning View Post
      I have a question, (sorry if this has already been asked but I can't find it)
      How do I make new folders for maps in Advance Map? Sorry if this is sort of a n00bish question but I'm well... I'm a n00b at this XD
      Thanks in advance!
      I think you can't, you just have to use the ones already there, there is lots of them.
      __________________
      Fun


        #6928    
      Old November 8th, 2008 (6:32 PM).
      Ice Lightning's Avatar
      Ice Lightning Ice Lightning is offline
      Ya realy like that alien movie
         
        Join Date: Jun 2007
        Location: I live in a house, duh :F
        Gender:
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 29
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by dratii View Post
        I think you can't, you just have to use the ones already there, there is lots of them.

        Oh, well thanks anyway, I'll just make due with the ones I have :)
        __________________
        Stay in touch on the forums for *Da Da DaDa DaDa Da* POKEMON GOLDEN TREASURES!

        Kyle's PokePet

        Blaze the level 999 Raikou!
          #6929    
        Old November 8th, 2008 (7:12 PM).
        IIMarckus's Avatar
        IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
        [email protected]
           
          Join Date: Oct 2007
          Gender:
          Posts: 402
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by 現実として巨大なもの View Post
          Yeah that was it ()the second one, each image has a specific height and width but can you change this or say my devamps of platinum after being resized don't add up to these widths, would I have to repoint them or shrink them?
          Yes, you can change the byte. For instance, changing the byte to 0x33 would make a 3×3 tile image (24×24 pixels). Since your sprites are 64×64, that would mean changing it to 0x88.
          __________________
          iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

          If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

          If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

          Pokémon Red disassembly project

          Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
          Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
          Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
            #6930    
          Old November 8th, 2008 (7:55 PM).
          Perri Lightfoot's Avatar
          Perri Lightfoot Perri Lightfoot is offline
          Proud to hack Ruby Version!
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Mar 2008
          Location: Nevada
          Age: 31
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 176
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Thrace View Post
          Sprites can be hidden without the use of scripts by their Person ID; if it corresponds with a flag number that has been set that sprite will be hidden upon entering the map.
          Does this technique also work with Ruby hacking, or does that need something different? Because I want to hide a character on the map completely unless you've accomplished a certain task in my Ruby hack. ; Also, how do I make the sprite visible if you have accomplished that certain task? Clear the flag?

          Thanks!
            #6931    
          Old November 8th, 2008 (9:59 PM).
          Thrace's Avatar
          Thrace Thrace is offline
          @tion
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2007
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 1,048
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Pink Parka Girl View Post
          Does this technique also work with Ruby hacking, or does that need something different? Because I want to hide a character on the map completely unless you've accomplished a certain task in my Ruby hack. ^^; Also, how do I make the sprite visible if you have accomplished that certain task? Clear the flag?

          Thanks!
          Yes it can and yes simply clearing the flag will make the sprite visible upon entering the map. However if you are already on the map you need to use the command showsprite (0x55).
          __________________
            #6932    
          Old November 8th, 2008 (10:18 PM).
          ℜªℳ's Avatar
          ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
          RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
             
            Join Date: Nov 2007
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 214
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by IIMarckus View Post
            Yes, you can change the byte. For instance, changing the byte to 0x33 would make a 3×3 tile image (24×24 pixels). Since your sprites are 64×64, that would mean changing it to 0x88.
            Ah, ok. Very simple and thanx again for the much needed help. Two last questions (for now anyhow...), the pokemon sprites all move meaning they are most likely .GIFs so will any of the tools you listed previously allow me to import gifs to replace the ones there including icons and if not how can I edit the icons manually? And, how do I change palettes for things such as well, everything?
            __________________
            Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

            Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
              #6933    
            Old November 8th, 2008 (11:19 PM).
            Darthatron's Avatar
            Darthatron Darthatron is offline
            巨大なトロール。
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2006
            Location: Melbourne, Australia
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 1,152
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by 現実として巨大なもの View Post
            Ah, ok. Very simple and thanx again for the much needed help. Two last questions (for now anyhow...), the pokemon sprites all move meaning they are most likely .GIFs so will any of the tools you listed previously allow me to import gifs to replace the ones there including icons and if not how can I edit the icons manually? And, how do I change palettes for things such as well, everything?
            They aren't GIF images. They are just normal images that have 2 frames. You edit them like any other Pokemon Sprite, just edit the top half and bottom half.
            __________________
            あなた は しきしゃ です
            わたし は ばか です
              #6934    
            Old November 9th, 2008 (3:55 AM).
            Cy-Chan's Avatar
            Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
            GSC Hacker
               
              Join Date: Jan 2005
              Location: UK, England.
              Age: 26
              Gender:
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 152
              Is there anyway I can disable attack animations, or point new attacks (after Psycho Boost) to old animations?
              __________________
              Cy-Chan's Guide to Pointers for Newbies!
              Cy-Chan's Guide to Move Hacking for Newbies!
              Cy-Chan's Fire Red Sound-type Patch (for Newbies?)
              Cy-Chan's God-Awful Pixel Art
                #6935    
              Old November 9th, 2008 (8:53 AM).
              ℜªℳ's Avatar
              ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
              RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2007
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 214
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                They aren't GIF images. They are just normal images that have 2 frames. You edit them like any other Pokemon Sprite, just edit the top half and bottom half.
                Figured that out about 2 minutes after asking that question last night but thnx anyhow.

                All I need now is to find out how to edit palettes for grafix in crystal and if I can arrange something like different male and female sprites like in the DPP generation (I' not positive but I think I may be able to) or at least add more pokemon (just 7 more), can anyone help here?
                __________________
                Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

                Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
                  #6936    
                Old November 9th, 2008 (1:41 PM).
                Dark_Master's Avatar
                Dark_Master Dark_Master is offline
                Dark/Ghost Pokemon Master
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                  Location: Canada
                  Age: 22
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 76
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Sheimi-Manafi View Post
                  I did all I can and Sappy won't *beep* work for me.

                  Anyway, are there midi's with over 12 tracks that you can insert into Pokemon games (Like a Remix from SMB?)?
                  yea but i was really looking to change a pokemon's cry i saw the tutorial for Midi music insertion
                  __________________
                  I am teh Landshark. Feer meh.
                  learned to EV train in 3 days and am proud of it
                  FC: 2965 2643 2486
                  Wins: 0 Losses: 1
                    #6937    
                  Old November 10th, 2008 (12:23 AM).
                  Jerros's Avatar
                  Jerros Jerros is offline
                  TloS FTW!!!
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2008
                    Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
                    Age: 25
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 72
                    Does any1 know how exactly to remove the "truck" event, in the beginning of Emerald?
                    (You know, where the truck brakes, and the screen shakes and stuff...)
                    __________________
                      #6938    
                    Old November 10th, 2008 (5:09 AM).
                    Panda93 Panda93 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2008
                      Posts: 2
                      excuse me, I can't speak english very weel. I need only pieman's tutorial. Where can I give it? (excuse me for my errors)
                        #6939    
                      Old November 10th, 2008 (2:27 PM).
                      DemonParia's Avatar
                      DemonParia DemonParia is offline
                      Gangsterfresh Swagmaster
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 104
                        I am a complete noob at hacking, but I have a question.

                        I use AdvanceText to edit the text in the game. I use the option of inserting a new text script into the game to make a person in the game say something. I am a hex moron, and have no idea how to do it otherwise. My problem is that when I talk to a person that has the text that I put in, sometimes it will work correctly, but more often then not, instead of coming up like:

                        It's storming pretty hard outside.

                        Which is what he's supposed to say, it comes out like:

                        It's storming pretty hard outside. ÍÔ € ILUCIAN'S HOUSE

                        And the "LUCIAN'S HOUSE" is from another text script.
                        So, I'm wondering-

                        1. Why those characters and letters from another text entry come up.
                        2. How to fix it
                        3. And if there isn't a way to fix it, another way to insert and edit text.

                        Thanks.
                        -DEMON
                          #6940    
                        Old November 10th, 2008 (2:40 PM).
                        ℜªℳ's Avatar
                        ℜªℳ ℜªℳ is offline
                        RAM Corporation |\/| ][ |\/|
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 214
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by demonparia View Post
                          I am a complete noob at hacking, but I have a question.

                          I use AdvanceText to edit the text in the game. I use the option of inserting a new text script into the game to make a person in the game say something. I am a hex moron, and have no idea how to do it otherwise. My problem is that when I talk to a person that has the text that I put in, sometimes it will work correctly, but more often then not, instead of coming up like:

                          It's storming pretty hard outside.

                          Which is what he's supposed to say, it comes out like:

                          It's storming pretty hard outside. ÍÔ € ILUCIAN'S HOUSE

                          And the "LUCIAN'S HOUSE" is from another text script.
                          So, I'm wondering-

                          1. Why those characters and letters from another text entry come up.
                          2. How to fix it
                          3. And if there isn't a way to fix it, another way to insert and edit text.

                          Thanks.
                          -DEMON
                          A-Text is a very glitchy tool and therefore should be avoided and is taken up by noobs. I suggest you learn XSE or Hex or look around for a different script tool right here in PC in the tool box rather than use A-Text. I used to use it as a noob too but then I started on hex which is a bit more easy to use for me. XSE and pokescript are the only tools I know and would recommend outside of hex but XSE has fixed many errors pokescript couldn't and the languages are very much similar so XSE is your best pick.
                          __________________
                          Let's play a requiem for reality, the most beautiful melody, for reality is dead like what you used to be...

                          Still spriting behind the curtains. I've tried splicing, I've tried scratching, I've tried pixel overs, I've tried revamps and am 90%+ awesome at it. Now its time for the devamps
                            #6941    
                          Old November 10th, 2008 (3:14 PM).
                          DemonParia's Avatar
                          DemonParia DemonParia is offline
                          Gangsterfresh Swagmaster
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2008
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 104
                            I do have XSE, and I know some very basic scripting, but how exactly would I do a text script? If that's too simple for the simple questions thread I can figure it out myself.
                              #6942    
                            Old November 10th, 2008 (3:17 PM).
                            HackMew's Avatar
                            HackMew HackMew is offline
                            Mewtwo Strikes Back
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2006
                            Posts: 1,314
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by demonparia View Post
                            I do have XSE, and I know some very basic scripting, but how exactly would I do a text script? If that's too simple for the simple questions thread I can figure it out myself.
                            What about decompiling one? The game is full of working examples, after all.
                            __________________
                              #6943    
                            Old November 10th, 2008 (8:14 PM).
                            Busted 101's Avatar
                            Busted 101 Busted 101 is offline
                            Majestic but Crazed
                               
                              Join Date: May 2008
                              Location: Somewhere...
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Brave
                              Posts: 62
                              How do you edit the Menu Text on pokemon gba roms and how do you edit the text at the start of a gba pokemon game that tells you about adventure and junk?
                              __________________
                                #6944    
                              Old November 11th, 2008 (5:26 AM).
                              Kaizer-X's Avatar
                              Kaizer-X Kaizer-X is offline
                              RoM HaCkeR
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2008
                                Location: Look outside your window and you will see me there
                                Age: 26
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 389
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Busted 101 View Post
                                How do you edit the Menu Text on pokemon gba roms and how do you edit the text at the start of a gba pokemon game that tells you about adventure and junk?
                                you can edit it using a tool call a-text.
                                __________________








                                LINKS:
                                MY HACK:
                                Pokemon Twilight: Road to Dreams
                                MY TEAM:
                                Rom Tempest Crew
                                NEWLETTER:
                                Rom Hacking Newsletter
                                Credit to Rényui for theme
                                  #6945    
                                Old November 11th, 2008 (5:45 AM).
                                Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
                                 
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2008
                                  Posts: 979
                                  Can a Lighting sound be implemented in FR? Only the sound, not the whole storm.
                                    #6946    
                                  Old November 11th, 2008 (7:17 AM).
                                  Shadows's Avatar
                                  Shadows Shadows is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Location: Chicago, IL
                                    Age: 21
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 857
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
                                    Can a Lighting sound be implemented in FR? Only the sound, not the whole storm.
                                    Probably.
                                    I don't know how to explain it, but I have an idea of how to do it I just can't put into words...:cer_confused:
                                    __________________
                                      #6947    
                                    Old November 11th, 2008 (8:19 AM).
                                    Dark_Master's Avatar
                                    Dark_Master Dark_Master is offline
                                    Dark/Ghost Pokemon Master
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2008
                                      Location: Canada
                                      Age: 22
                                      Gender:
                                      Posts: 76
                                      Is there a place where you can get patches to change the players look without changeing every sprite (Preferrebly in-battle too)
                                      __________________
                                      I am teh Landshark. Feer meh.
                                      learned to EV train in 3 days and am proud of it
                                      FC: 2965 2643 2486
                                      Wins: 0 Losses: 1
                                        #6948    
                                      Old November 11th, 2008 (8:31 AM).
                                      Jerros's Avatar
                                      Jerros Jerros is offline
                                      TloS FTW!!!
                                         
                                        Join Date: Feb 2008
                                        Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
                                        Age: 25
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Quiet
                                        Posts: 72
                                        How do I enable the Pokémon and Pokédex menu in Emerald?
                                        Now, don't say setflag 0x800, 0x828 or 0x829, cuz hat doesnt work...
                                        __________________
                                          #6949    
                                        Old November 11th, 2008 (8:41 AM).
                                        Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
                                         
                                           
                                          Join Date: Apr 2008
                                          Posts: 979
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Jerros View Post
                                          How do I enable the Pokémon and Pokédex menu in Emerald?
                                          Now, don't say setflag 0x800, 0x828 or 0x829, cuz hat doesnt work...
                                          For Emerald they are:

                                          0x860 - Pokemon Menu
                                          0x861 - Pokedex Menu
                                          0x862 - Pokenav Menu
                                            #6950    
                                          Old November 11th, 2008 (10:18 AM).
                                          Busted 101's Avatar
                                          Busted 101 Busted 101 is offline
                                          Majestic but Crazed
                                             
                                            Join Date: May 2008
                                            Location: Somewhere...
                                            Gender:
                                            Nature: Brave
                                            Posts: 62
                                            How do can you translate text from a rom with advance text. Or what script editior would translate it?
                                            __________________
                                            Closed Thread
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:21 AM.