ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #7551    
Old December 25th, 2008 (1:06 AM).
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
Pokemon Electrum
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: Richmond, California
    Age: 25
    Gender:
    Nature: Lax
    Posts: 149
    Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
    fanfare 0x13E is the sound/jingle of the givepokemon, and giveitem.
    fanfare 0x100 is the healing sound.

    There are more, I think. I will check them later.
    ok thanks, those are the important ones, but i'd still like to know the others. just in case i need them. =D
    __________________
    This signature has been disabled.
    Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #7552    
    Old December 25th, 2008 (8:46 AM).
    Pokepal17's Avatar
    Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
    More cowbell~
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Steeltown
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,511
    Sorry if this question has been posted before, but I don't have time.

    What's wrong with my APE?

    I am currently in part of a hack and I'm doing the title screen. I edited the Charizard to a Swellow. I changed the Charizard palettes to Swellow's palettes but, when I load up the ROM in VBA, there is no change in the palettes. My only other alternative is hex editing but that will take too long, despite being easier. Please help me. Thanks in advance.
    __________________
    Pokémon Stardrop
      #7553    
    Old December 25th, 2008 (5:54 PM).
    BananasGoMoo's Avatar
    BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
    Pokemon Electrum
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Richmond, California
      Age: 25
      Gender:
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 149
      Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
      whats the offset for the script where birch releases the pokemon in the intro in ruby?
      __________________
      This signature has been disabled.
      Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
      Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

      You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

      Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
        #7554    
      Old December 25th, 2008 (7:18 PM). Edited December 25th, 2008 by Opalinesque.
      Opalinesque Opalinesque is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2008
        Gender:
        Posts: 6
        Repeating my previous question, and adding in a new one! New one: Is there any way to find the offset of a tile in unLZ by using VBA's Map View or Tile View? Barring that, does anyone know the offset of the Pokemon in the opening screen in the Japanese version of FR? It's nowhere near the 2011 listed for the US version (I went around a hundred less and more just to check).

        Second question: you know how trainers and the like have walk animations in the overworld, and Pokemon don't (they just kind of... slide)? Is there any way to give Pokemon walk animations? Looking in Overworld Editor, there are 8 different possitions for each sprite (facing up, facing down, facing left, frame 1 of a walking down animation, frame 2 of a walking down animation, etc); however, all the walking animations are "linked" (for lack of a better word) to the "facing this direction" frame (if you change one, the other one changes too).

        Anyway, if it is possible to change that, would that fall under scripting? Would I have to try to figure that out myself, or is there a program that can help me do that? I'm more of a spriter than anything else, so if it does require scripting, I'd appreciate it if you used small words XD Thank you!

        Edit: Found Charizard! In my Japanese dump, it's at 152. Still would like to know if you can find offsets with VBA, though.
          #7555    
        Old December 25th, 2008 (8:48 PM).
        BananasGoMoo's Avatar
        BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
        Pokemon Electrum
           
          Join Date: Dec 2008
          Location: Richmond, California
          Age: 25
          Gender:
          Nature: Lax
          Posts: 149
          Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
          oh and i forgot to ask whats the flag for gender? not checkgender, but the actual flag. i wanna see if i can make a change gender script lol.
          __________________
          This signature has been disabled.
          Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
          Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

          You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

          Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
            #7556    
          Old December 25th, 2008 (10:51 PM).
          Bigdog Bigdog is offline
             
            Join Date: Oct 2008
            Gender:
            Posts: 275
            I have been thinking of getting an EZ flash cart from this site:

            http://www.realhotstuff.com/expansion-pack-size-p-212.html

            How well do they perform? And are they worth the price?
              #7557    
            Old December 25th, 2008 (11:00 PM).
            BananasGoMoo's Avatar
            BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
            Pokemon Electrum
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: Richmond, California
              Age: 25
              Gender:
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 149
              Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Bigdog View Post
              I have been thinking of getting an EZ flash cart from this site:

              http://www.realhotstuff.com/expansion-pack-size-p-212.html

              How well do they perform? And are they worth the price?

              Well, if their product is anything like their grammar and spelling, I wouldn't buy it. xD

              But it's Japanese, so i dunno....
              __________________
              This signature has been disabled.
              Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
              Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

              You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

              Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                #7558    
              Old December 26th, 2008 (2:08 AM).
              destinedjagold's Avatar
              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
              Oh Hai Thar~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Location: Philippines
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 8,507
              I wish to ask this question to save time in my hands...

              Hi everyone... Can anyone redirect me to a tutorial or anything that shows me all Pokémon's cry offsets in a Ruby ROM...?
              If there isn't, then in a Ruby ROM, what are the cry offsets of Kyogre, Sharpedo, Duskull, Dusclops, Tropius and Armaldo...?

              I can find those through trial and error, but it takes a lot of my time, so if anyone knows and is willing to share it, a big thanks.

              Thank you in advance.
              __________________


              FC: 0061-1111-6462
              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                #7559    
              Old December 26th, 2008 (2:33 AM).
              Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
               
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2008
                Posts: 979
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
                whats the offset for the script where birch releases the pokemon in the intro in ruby?
                Offset? Well, I presume you want to change what birch releases, right? There a tool called IntroEd. You can find it here: Click

                Hope that helps.
                  #7560    
                Old December 26th, 2008 (5:31 AM).
                Amachi's Avatar
                Amachi Amachi is offline
                (。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2006
                  Location: Australia
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 5,877
                  So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

                  As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

                  But it still doesn't work.
                  __________________
                  CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
                  Paired with Juicy.
                    #7561    
                  Old December 26th, 2008 (6:12 AM).
                  HackMew's Avatar
                  HackMew HackMew is offline
                  Mewtwo Strikes Back
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2006
                  Posts: 1,314
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                  So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

                  As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

                  But it still doesn't work.
                  It may not be your problem, but did you uncheck the Auto Abort chechbox, perhaps?
                  __________________
                    #7562    
                  Old December 26th, 2008 (6:14 AM).
                  Amachi's Avatar
                  Amachi Amachi is offline
                  (。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                    Location: Australia
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 5,877
                    No, it was checked, though there is a tutorial out there that instructs people to uncheck it o_o;
                    __________________
                    CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
                    Paired with Juicy.
                      #7563    
                    Old December 26th, 2008 (6:18 AM).
                    HackMew's Avatar
                    HackMew HackMew is offline
                    Mewtwo Strikes Back
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2006
                    Posts: 1,314
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                    No, it was checked, though there is a tutorial out there that instructs people to uncheck it o_o;
                    Yeah, I know. But you should never uncheck it, indeed. Was the image you instert too big? Did you repoint it? What did you edit exactly, except the Pokémon image? Also, did you try inserting only the picture on a clean ROM to see if you get the same problem.
                    __________________
                      #7564    
                    Old December 26th, 2008 (6:22 AM).
                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                    Oh Hai Thar~
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: May 2007
                    Location: Philippines
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Careful
                    Posts: 8,507
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                    So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

                    As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

                    But it still doesn't work.
                    I have a tutorial on how to insert new pokemon...
                    but oh well... before I go to sleep...

                    check these...
                    1. make sure the image is in 64x64 in size...
                    2. the image is saved in PNG format...
                    3. the palletes/colours should be 16 only...

                    if you insert it into your ROM and Unlz-GBA says that it's too big, search for free offsets and...
                    Spoiler:


                    use FSF or a hex editor to search for free offsets...
                    __________________


                    FC: 0061-1111-6462
                    TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                      #7565    
                    Old December 26th, 2008 (6:26 AM). Edited December 26th, 2008 by Amachi.
                    Amachi's Avatar
                    Amachi Amachi is offline
                    (。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Location: Australia
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 5,877
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                      Yeah, I know. But you should never uncheck it, indeed. Was the image you instert too big? Did you repoint it? What did you edit exactly, except the Pokémon image? Also, did you try inserting only the picture on a clean ROM to see if you get the same problem.
                      It's 64x64 pixels. Yeah, repointed to blank space.

                      You know, it could be how I did it. I don't want to overwrite any other sprites so when I load my ROM in unLZ, I just click "import", choose my image, then press "write to ROM", input my offsets, check "export image", "export palette" and "auto abort" and press OK.

                      Afterwards I use Pokemon Editor Pro and edit the data on one of the empty slots accordingly.

                      Well it's 1.30 AM. I'll try on a clean ROM later, roffle.

                      Yeah destinedjagold, I followed your tutorial the first time and it didn't work. Am I supposed to check all the boxes? I was told not to check "Automatically fix pointers".
                      __________________
                      CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
                      Paired with Juicy.
                        #7566    
                      Old December 26th, 2008 (6:50 AM).
                      HackMew's Avatar
                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Posts: 1,314
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
                      It's 64x64 pixels. Yeah, repointed to blank space.

                      You know, it could be how I did it. I don't want to overwrite any other sprites so when I load my ROM in unLZ, I just click "import", choose my image, then press "write to ROM", input my offsets, check "export image", "export palette" and "auto abort" and press OK.

                      Afterwards I use Pokemon Editor Pro and edit the data on one of the empty slots accordingly.

                      Well it's 1.30 AM. I'll try on a clean ROM later, roffle.

                      Yeah destinedjagold, I followed your tutorial the first time and it didn't work. Am I supposed to check all the boxes? I was told not to check "Automatically fix pointers".
                      Yes, you should check "Automatically fix pointers" unless you change the pointer yourself. Also, where was the new image imported exactly? The offset, I mean.
                      __________________
                        #7567    
                      Old December 26th, 2008 (11:48 AM).
                      FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
                      FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
                      The Glitch From Johto
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                        Location: Florida
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 26
                        I've really been killing myself about my hack. I'm getting nowhere with it because i dont know how to make events. Can someone tell me how to make events like your rival coming up and talking to you or a story?
                        __________________



                        All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
                          #7568    
                        Old December 26th, 2008 (1:16 PM).
                        HackMew's Avatar
                        HackMew HackMew is offline
                        Mewtwo Strikes Back
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2006
                        Posts: 1,314
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
                        I've really been killing myself about my hack. I'm getting nowhere with it because i dont know how to make events. Can someone tell me how to make events like your rival coming up and talking to you or a story?
                        That's called "scripting". Hence you need a script editor. I would suggest XSE, which has a built-in guide as well.
                        __________________
                          #7569    
                        Old December 26th, 2008 (1:41 PM).
                        FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
                        FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
                        The Glitch From Johto
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2008
                          Location: Florida
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 26
                          thank you! do you know how i am supposed to make a script to make the events happen?
                          __________________



                          All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
                            #7570    
                          Old December 26th, 2008 (1:48 PM).
                          HackMew's Avatar
                          HackMew HackMew is offline
                          Mewtwo Strikes Back
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2006
                          Posts: 1,314
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
                          thank you! do you know how i am supposed to make a script to make the events happen?
                          I strongly suggest you to read the guide that comes with XSE. It contains all the info you need to start/make a hack, basically. Of course decompiling existings script - or "events", if you wish to call them so - will help. But trying yourself is just the best advice I can give you. In case you're totally lost and you tried really anything, then you may want to ask in the Script Help thread.
                          __________________
                            #7571    
                          Old December 26th, 2008 (1:50 PM).
                          FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
                          FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
                          The Glitch From Johto
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2008
                            Location: Florida
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 26
                            thank you. XSE is really confusing for me. Though its a very good program. Well thanks and ill try and see what i can do
                            __________________



                            All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
                              #7572    
                            Old December 26th, 2008 (1:51 PM).
                            HackMew's Avatar
                            HackMew HackMew is offline
                            Mewtwo Strikes Back
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2006
                            Posts: 1,314
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
                            thank you. XSE is really confusing for me. Though its a very good program. Well thanks and ill try and see what i can do
                            You're welcome. You just need to get used to it. I'm sure it won't take much ;)
                            __________________
                              #7573    
                            Old December 26th, 2008 (2:38 PM).
                            FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
                            FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
                            The Glitch From Johto
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2008
                              Location: Florida
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 26
                              im sorry but this is way to confusing. what do i type for events and than where do i put it? I read the entire guide and didnt understand. I hope im not bothering you. Your the only one that knows about this. I mean you did create the program. So do you think you can help me?
                              __________________



                              All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
                                #7574    
                              Old December 26th, 2008 (3:01 PM).
                              BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                              BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                              Pokemon Electrum
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Location: Richmond, California
                                Age: 25
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Lax
                                Posts: 149
                                Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
                                Offset? Well, I presume you want to change what birch releases, right? There a tool called IntroEd. You can find it here: Click

                                Hope that helps.
                                yea but it won't change the sound, so i thought there would be a script of the full intro so i can change the sound for it.
                                __________________
                                This signature has been disabled.
                                Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                                Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                  #7575    
                                Old December 26th, 2008 (7:29 PM).
                                zazazazazazaza zazazazazazaza is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                                  Posts: 12
                                  This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

                                  On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

                                  Quote:
                                  Invalid Command : pokemon
                                  (This is in PokeScript)

                                  This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

                                  Quote:
                                  Invalid Command : d:\vba\pokemon
                                  (I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

                                  I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?
                                  Closed Thread
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:31 AM.