ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #7551    
Old December 26th, 2008 (6:22 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 8,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
So I've attempted to insert a new pokémon sprite into FR at least 3 times now, and each time I go to do battle with my newly created monster, all I get is a black screen with the battle music continuing to play in the background.

As far as I'm aware it's indexed correctly, and I think I'm inserting it correctly as far as using ulNZ goes. I've followed a couple of tutorials (which aren't the best sad2say), and they pretty much tell me to do the same thing.

But it still doesn't work.
I have a tutorial on how to insert new pokemon...
but oh well... before I go to sleep...

check these...
1. make sure the image is in 64x64 in size...
2. the image is saved in PNG format...
3. the palletes/colours should be 16 only...

if you insert it into your ROM and Unlz-GBA says that it's too big, search for free offsets and...
Spoiler:


use FSF or a hex editor to search for free offsets...
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


Relevant Advertising!

  #7552    
Old December 26th, 2008 (6:26 AM). Edited December 26th, 2008 by Amachi.
Amachi's Avatar
Amachi Amachi is offline
(。・ω・)ノ゙ Hello, I am Amachi-chan~♪
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Location: Australia
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 5,877
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
    Yeah, I know. But you should never uncheck it, indeed. Was the image you instert too big? Did you repoint it? What did you edit exactly, except the Pokémon image? Also, did you try inserting only the picture on a clean ROM to see if you get the same problem.
    It's 64x64 pixels. Yeah, repointed to blank space.

    You know, it could be how I did it. I don't want to overwrite any other sprites so when I load my ROM in unLZ, I just click "import", choose my image, then press "write to ROM", input my offsets, check "export image", "export palette" and "auto abort" and press OK.

    Afterwards I use Pokemon Editor Pro and edit the data on one of the empty slots accordingly.

    Well it's 1.30 AM. I'll try on a clean ROM later, roffle.

    Yeah destinedjagold, I followed your tutorial the first time and it didn't work. Am I supposed to check all the boxes? I was told not to check "Automatically fix pointers".
    __________________
    CHILL OUT DUDES, I GOT THIS
    Paired with Juicy.
      #7553    
    Old December 26th, 2008 (6:50 AM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Amachi View Post
    It's 64x64 pixels. Yeah, repointed to blank space.

    You know, it could be how I did it. I don't want to overwrite any other sprites so when I load my ROM in unLZ, I just click "import", choose my image, then press "write to ROM", input my offsets, check "export image", "export palette" and "auto abort" and press OK.

    Afterwards I use Pokemon Editor Pro and edit the data on one of the empty slots accordingly.

    Well it's 1.30 AM. I'll try on a clean ROM later, roffle.

    Yeah destinedjagold, I followed your tutorial the first time and it didn't work. Am I supposed to check all the boxes? I was told not to check "Automatically fix pointers".
    Yes, you should check "Automatically fix pointers" unless you change the pointer yourself. Also, where was the new image imported exactly? The offset, I mean.
    __________________
      #7554    
    Old December 26th, 2008 (11:48 AM).
    FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
    FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
    The Glitch From Johto
       
      Join Date: Nov 2008
      Location: Florida
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 26
      I've really been killing myself about my hack. I'm getting nowhere with it because i dont know how to make events. Can someone tell me how to make events like your rival coming up and talking to you or a story?
      __________________



      All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
        #7555    
      Old December 26th, 2008 (1:16 PM).
      HackMew's Avatar
      HackMew HackMew is offline
      Mewtwo Strikes Back
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Posts: 1,314
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
      I've really been killing myself about my hack. I'm getting nowhere with it because i dont know how to make events. Can someone tell me how to make events like your rival coming up and talking to you or a story?
      That's called "scripting". Hence you need a script editor. I would suggest XSE, which has a built-in guide as well.
      __________________
        #7556    
      Old December 26th, 2008 (1:41 PM).
      FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
      FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
      The Glitch From Johto
         
        Join Date: Nov 2008
        Location: Florida
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 26
        thank you! do you know how i am supposed to make a script to make the events happen?
        __________________



        All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
          #7557    
        Old December 26th, 2008 (1:48 PM).
        HackMew's Avatar
        HackMew HackMew is offline
        Mewtwo Strikes Back
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Jun 2006
        Posts: 1,314
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
        thank you! do you know how i am supposed to make a script to make the events happen?
        I strongly suggest you to read the guide that comes with XSE. It contains all the info you need to start/make a hack, basically. Of course decompiling existings script - or "events", if you wish to call them so - will help. But trying yourself is just the best advice I can give you. In case you're totally lost and you tried really anything, then you may want to ask in the Script Help thread.
        __________________
          #7558    
        Old December 26th, 2008 (1:50 PM).
        FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
        FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
        The Glitch From Johto
           
          Join Date: Nov 2008
          Location: Florida
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 26
          thank you. XSE is really confusing for me. Though its a very good program. Well thanks and ill try and see what i can do
          __________________



          All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
            #7559    
          Old December 26th, 2008 (1:51 PM).
          HackMew's Avatar
          HackMew HackMew is offline
          Mewtwo Strikes Back
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2006
          Posts: 1,314
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
          thank you. XSE is really confusing for me. Though its a very good program. Well thanks and ill try and see what i can do
          You're welcome. You just need to get used to it. I'm sure it won't take much ;)
          __________________
            #7560    
          Old December 26th, 2008 (2:38 PM).
          FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
          FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
          The Glitch From Johto
             
            Join Date: Nov 2008
            Location: Florida
            Nature: Bold
            Posts: 26
            im sorry but this is way to confusing. what do i type for events and than where do i put it? I read the entire guide and didnt understand. I hope im not bothering you. Your the only one that knows about this. I mean you did create the program. So do you think you can help me?
            __________________



            All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
              #7561    
            Old December 26th, 2008 (3:01 PM).
            BananasGoMoo's Avatar
            BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
            Pokemon Electrum
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: Richmond, California
              Age: 26
              Gender:
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 149
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Hiche View Post
              Offset? Well, I presume you want to change what birch releases, right? There a tool called IntroEd. You can find it here: Click

              Hope that helps.
              yea but it won't change the sound, so i thought there would be a script of the full intro so i can change the sound for it.
              __________________
              This signature has been disabled.
              Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
              Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

              You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

              Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                #7562    
              Old December 26th, 2008 (7:29 PM).
              zazazazazazaza zazazazazazaza is offline
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2008
                Posts: 12
                This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

                On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

                Quote:
                Invalid Command : pokemon
                (This is in PokeScript)

                This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

                Quote:
                Invalid Command : d:\vba\pokemon
                (I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

                I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?
                  #7563    
                Old December 26th, 2008 (7:32 PM).
                BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                Pokemon Electrum
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Location: Richmond, California
                  Age: 26
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Lax
                  Posts: 149
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by zazazazazazaza View Post
                  This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

                  On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

                  (This is in PokeScript)

                  This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

                  (I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

                  I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?

                  try xse instead

                  its much less buggy

                  and ask in the script help thread (i think) next time
                  __________________
                  This signature has been disabled.
                  Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                  Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                  You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                  Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                    #7564    
                  Old December 26th, 2008 (7:42 PM).
                  0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                  0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                  Im comin' home...
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Gentle
                  Posts: 1,816
                  I have a question. In a script, if I want to change the map's footer, how do I do that? The Map footer is written kinda weird in the game.

                  If I do it in a level script, what do I write as the new map footer? Do I write the Map Footer Offset? Or does anyone have a list of all of the map footer numbers?
                  (Cause I noticed I need a "Map Footer Number" But I dont know what those numbers are... if anyone can hel, it would be GREATLY appreciated.)
                  Also are the map footer changes permanent like a setflag until it is changed back? or does it change every time you enter the map?
                  __________________
                  >Boot Jailbot
                  >Pass *****
                  .
                  .
                  Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                  Greetings Warden
                  of Superjail Penitentiary
                  Awaiting user input...

                  >Display User_Info
                  ╠══User Info══╣
                  Username:
                  0m3GA ARS3NAL
                  Age: 18
                  Sex: Male ♂
                  Race: Caucasian
                  Quote:
                  "What is this
                  I don't even..."

                  M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                  ╠══End of File══╣
                  Awaiting user input...

                  >
                    #7565    
                  Old December 26th, 2008 (10:57 PM).
                  Mehwmew's Avatar
                  Mehwmew Mehwmew is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2008
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 9
                    ..............okay i downloaded pokemon genesis file how do i use it?
                    SORRY
                      #7566    
                    Old December 26th, 2008 (10:58 PM).
                    Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                    Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                    Sitting by the back window
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2008
                      Location: Best City OCE
                      Age: 21
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 5,988
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by zazazazazazaza View Post
                      This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

                      On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

                      (This is in PokeScript)

                      This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

                      (I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

                      I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?
                      You can't open scripts in Pokescript.
                      __________________
                      Brony represent.
                        #7567    
                      Old December 26th, 2008 (11:06 PM).
                      Binary's Avatar
                      Binary Binary is offline
                      え?
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2007
                        Age: 23
                        Posts: 3,994
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
                        ..............okay i downloaded pokemon genesis file how do i use it?
                        SORRY
                        Umm..do you mean the IPS file? You need a program called LIPS. Open the file you downloaded and a window should pop up and click on an un-modified clean rom (either R/S or FR/LG).
                        __________________
                          #7568    
                        Old December 26th, 2008 (11:12 PM).
                        Mehwmew's Avatar
                        Mehwmew Mehwmew is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2008
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 9
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Binary View Post
                          Umm..do you mean the IPS file? You need a program called LIPS. Open the file you downloaded and a window should pop up and click on an un-modified clean rom (either R/S or FR/LG).
                          HEHE thanks can i stupid question....of course its on google.
                          okay and this also
                          On Advance Map
                          How do i make a new person event a trainer battle?
                          I've added the person but how do i add pokemon cause im afraid if i dont ill get a ? pokemon (they scare me)
                          *looks around wariliy*
                            #7569    
                          Old December 26th, 2008 (11:23 PM).
                          destinedjagold's Avatar
                          destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                          Oh Hai Thar~
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: May 2007
                          Location: Philippines
                          Age: 27
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Careful
                          Posts: 8,567
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
                          HEHE thanks can i stupid question....of course its on google.
                          okay and this also
                          On Advance Map
                          How do i make a new person event a trainer battle?
                          I've added the person but how do i add pokemon cause im afraid if i dont ill get a ? pokemon (they scare me)
                          *looks around wariliy*
                          you need to script a trainer battle with the trainer number to be found through the hacking program called PET.
                          then you can edit the trainer's pkmn party in many ways; PET, Trainer Edit, Amplifier Ae, hex...
                          __________________


                          FC: 0061-1111-6462
                          TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                            #7570    
                          Old December 26th, 2008 (11:30 PM).
                          Mehwmew's Avatar
                          Mehwmew Mehwmew is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2008
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 9
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post

                            you need to script a trainer battle with the trainer number to be found through the hacking program called PET.
                            then you can edit the trainer's pkmn party in many ways; PET, Trainer Edit, Amplifier Ae, hex...
                            thanks a bunch.... do you know how to make pokemon inside pokeballs on the ground...kinda like a starter only.....not?
                              #7571    
                            Old December 26th, 2008 (11:36 PM).
                            destinedjagold's Avatar
                            destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                            Oh Hai Thar~
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: May 2007
                            Location: Philippines
                            Age: 27
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 8,567
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
                            thanks a bunch.... do you know how to make pokemon inside pokeballs on the ground...kinda like a starter only.....not?
                            you need to script it as well using the givepokemon command.

                            scripting tutorials are to be found in the Documents and Tutorials section.
                            __________________


                            FC: 0061-1111-6462
                            TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                              #7572    
                            Old December 27th, 2008 (12:00 AM).
                            Binary's Avatar
                            Binary Binary is offline
                            え?
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2007
                              Age: 23
                              Posts: 3,994
                              I was just wondering how I could make the tile overlap the sprite instead of the sprite overlapping the tile..
                              __________________
                                #7573    
                              Old December 27th, 2008 (12:03 AM).
                              Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                              Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                              Sitting by the back window
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2008
                                Location: Best City OCE
                                Age: 21
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 5,988
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Binary View Post
                                I was just wondering how I could make the tile overlap the sprite instead of the sprite overlapping the tile..
                                In the Block Editor, see the "background byte" for that tile and set it to "00". "20" makes sprites be on top.
                                __________________
                                Brony represent.
                                  #7574    
                                Old December 27th, 2008 (12:19 AM). Edited December 27th, 2008 by Megiddo-san.
                                Megiddo-san's Avatar
                                Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
                                Barium - Summer '12 Return?
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2007
                                  Location: Where you least expect it
                                  Age: 25
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 1,331
                                  In the header tab of amap I have my map set to route. However, I am forbidden from using the bike. Any ideas?

                                  Edit: Fixed.
                                  __________________

                                  Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
                                    #7575    
                                  Old December 27th, 2008 (12:20 AM).
                                  destinedjagold's Avatar
                                  destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                  Oh Hai Thar~
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2007
                                  Location: Philippines
                                  Age: 27
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 8,567
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Binary View Post
                                  I was just wondering how I could make the tile overlap the sprite instead of the sprite overlapping the tile..
                                  in the tile viewer, you can see in the lower-right corner where it states there 'Covered by player' or whatever, change the number to 00...

                                  in Ruby, change it from 10 to 00...
                                  in FireRed, change it from 20 to 00...
                                  __________________


                                  FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                  TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                  Closed Thread

                                  Quick Reply

                                  Join the conversation!

                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:48 AM.