ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #7576    
Old December 26th, 2008 (7:32 PM).
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
Pokemon Electrum
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: Richmond, California
    Age: 25
    Gender:
    Nature: Lax
    Posts: 149
    Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by zazazazazazaza View Post
    This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

    On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

    (This is in PokeScript)

    This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

    (I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

    I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?

    try xse instead

    its much less buggy

    and ask in the script help thread (i think) next time
    __________________
    This signature has been disabled.
    Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #7577    
    Old December 26th, 2008 (7:42 PM).
    0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
    0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
    Im comin' home...
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Superjail Penitentiary
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 1,812
    I have a question. In a script, if I want to change the map's footer, how do I do that? The Map footer is written kinda weird in the game.

    If I do it in a level script, what do I write as the new map footer? Do I write the Map Footer Offset? Or does anyone have a list of all of the map footer numbers?
    (Cause I noticed I need a "Map Footer Number" But I dont know what those numbers are... if anyone can hel, it would be GREATLY appreciated.)
    Also are the map footer changes permanent like a setflag until it is changed back? or does it change every time you enter the map?
    __________________
    >Boot Jailbot
    >Pass *****
    .
    .
    Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
    Greetings Warden
    of Superjail Penitentiary
    Awaiting user input...

    >Display User_Info
    ╠══User Info══╣
    Username:
    0m3GA ARS3NAL
    Age: 18
    Sex: Male ♂
    Race: Caucasian
    Quote:
    "What is this
    I don't even..."

    M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
    ╠══End of File══╣
    Awaiting user input...

    >
      #7578    
    Old December 26th, 2008 (10:57 PM).
    Mehwmew's Avatar
    Mehwmew Mehwmew is offline
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Gender:
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 9
      ..............okay i downloaded pokemon genesis file how do i use it?
      SORRY
        #7579    
      Old December 26th, 2008 (10:58 PM).
      Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
      Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
      Sitting by the back window
         
        Join Date: Mar 2008
        Location: Best City OCE
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 5,945
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by zazazazazazaza View Post
        This question has been asked before but no one answered, so:

        On advance map, whoever I click--whether it's an NPC or a character that I've made and have successfully complied the script with--when I click on the "Open Script" button, it gives me this message:

        (This is in PokeScript)

        This is when I chose ":" for the prompt that asked me how offsets are separated. Since that didn't work I chose " " instead, and it gave me this message:

        (I have everything related to emulators and their supported games in that vba folder)

        I have done this before successfully on another computer, so I'm at a loss at why it isn't working on this computer. Anyone know how to solve the problem?
        You can't open scripts in Pokescript.
        __________________
        Brony represent.
          #7580    
        Old December 26th, 2008 (11:06 PM).
        Binary's Avatar
        Binary Binary is offline
        え?
           
          Join Date: Aug 2007
          Age: 22
          Posts: 3,993
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
          ..............okay i downloaded pokemon genesis file how do i use it?
          SORRY
          Umm..do you mean the IPS file? You need a program called LIPS. Open the file you downloaded and a window should pop up and click on an un-modified clean rom (either R/S or FR/LG).
          __________________
            #7581    
          Old December 26th, 2008 (11:12 PM).
          Mehwmew's Avatar
          Mehwmew Mehwmew is offline
             
            Join Date: Dec 2008
            Gender:
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 9
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Binary View Post
            Umm..do you mean the IPS file? You need a program called LIPS. Open the file you downloaded and a window should pop up and click on an un-modified clean rom (either R/S or FR/LG).
            HEHE thanks can i stupid question....of course its on google.
            okay and this also
            On Advance Map
            How do i make a new person event a trainer battle?
            I've added the person but how do i add pokemon cause im afraid if i dont ill get a ? pokemon (they scare me)
            *looks around wariliy*
              #7582    
            Old December 26th, 2008 (11:23 PM).
            destinedjagold's Avatar
            destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
            Oh Hai Thar~
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Location: Philippines
            Age: 26
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Careful
            Posts: 8,507
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
            HEHE thanks can i stupid question....of course its on google.
            okay and this also
            On Advance Map
            How do i make a new person event a trainer battle?
            I've added the person but how do i add pokemon cause im afraid if i dont ill get a ? pokemon (they scare me)
            *looks around wariliy*
            you need to script a trainer battle with the trainer number to be found through the hacking program called PET.
            then you can edit the trainer's pkmn party in many ways; PET, Trainer Edit, Amplifier Ae, hex...
            __________________


            FC: 0061-1111-6462
            TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

              #7583    
            Old December 26th, 2008 (11:30 PM).
            Mehwmew's Avatar
            Mehwmew Mehwmew is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Gender:
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 9
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post

              you need to script a trainer battle with the trainer number to be found through the hacking program called PET.
              then you can edit the trainer's pkmn party in many ways; PET, Trainer Edit, Amplifier Ae, hex...
              thanks a bunch.... do you know how to make pokemon inside pokeballs on the ground...kinda like a starter only.....not?
                #7584    
              Old December 26th, 2008 (11:36 PM).
              destinedjagold's Avatar
              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
              Oh Hai Thar~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Location: Philippines
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Careful
              Posts: 8,507
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
              thanks a bunch.... do you know how to make pokemon inside pokeballs on the ground...kinda like a starter only.....not?
              you need to script it as well using the givepokemon command.

              scripting tutorials are to be found in the Documents and Tutorials section.
              __________________


              FC: 0061-1111-6462
              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                #7585    
              Old December 27th, 2008 (12:00 AM).
              Binary's Avatar
              Binary Binary is offline
              え?
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2007
                Age: 22
                Posts: 3,993
                I was just wondering how I could make the tile overlap the sprite instead of the sprite overlapping the tile..
                __________________
                  #7586    
                Old December 27th, 2008 (12:03 AM).
                Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                Sitting by the back window
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                  Location: Best City OCE
                  Age: 21
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 5,945
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Binary View Post
                  I was just wondering how I could make the tile overlap the sprite instead of the sprite overlapping the tile..
                  In the Block Editor, see the "background byte" for that tile and set it to "00". "20" makes sprites be on top.
                  __________________
                  Brony represent.
                    #7587    
                  Old December 27th, 2008 (12:19 AM). Edited December 27th, 2008 by Megiddo-san.
                  Megiddo-san's Avatar
                  Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
                  Barium - Summer '12 Return?
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2007
                    Location: Where you least expect it
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 1,329
                    Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
                    In the header tab of amap I have my map set to route. However, I am forbidden from using the bike. Any ideas?

                    Edit: Fixed.
                    __________________

                    Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
                      #7588    
                    Old December 27th, 2008 (12:20 AM).
                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                    Oh Hai Thar~
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: May 2007
                    Location: Philippines
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Careful
                    Posts: 8,507
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Binary View Post
                    I was just wondering how I could make the tile overlap the sprite instead of the sprite overlapping the tile..
                    in the tile viewer, you can see in the lower-right corner where it states there 'Covered by player' or whatever, change the number to 00...

                    in Ruby, change it from 10 to 00...
                    in FireRed, change it from 20 to 00...
                    __________________


                    FC: 0061-1111-6462
                    TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                      #7589    
                    Old December 27th, 2008 (12:28 AM).
                    Binary's Avatar
                    Binary Binary is offline
                    え?
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2007
                      Age: 22
                      Posts: 3,993
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


                      in the tile viewer, you can see in the lower-right corner where it states there 'Covered by player' or whatever, change the number to 00...

                      in Ruby, change it from 10 to 00...
                      in FireRed, change it from 20 to 00...
                      Gracias..that was a big help. Thanks again.
                      __________________
                        #7590    
                      Old December 27th, 2008 (3:05 AM).
                      HackMew's Avatar
                      HackMew HackMew is offline
                      Mewtwo Strikes Back
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2006
                      Posts: 1,314
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by FLOOTENKERP View Post
                      im sorry but this is way to confusing. what do i type for events and than where do i put it? I read the entire guide and didnt understand. I hope im not bothering you. Your the only one that knows about this. I mean you did create the program. So do you think you can help me?
                      Reading isn't enough sadly, you need to actually try.


                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Mehwmew View Post
                      HEHE thanks can i stupid question....of course its on google.
                      okay and this also :(
                      On Advance Map
                      How do i make a new person event a trainer battle?
                      I've added the person but how do i add pokemon cause im afraid if i dont ill get a ? pokemon (they scare me)
                      *looks around wariliy*
                      What about trying A-Trainer Beta? You can find it in my Tools Factory, one of the latest posts.
                      __________________
                        #7591    
                      Old December 27th, 2008 (9:24 AM).
                      Hoshiko Aki's Avatar
                      Hoshiko Aki Hoshiko Aki is offline
                      Avatar rules
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Posts: 109
                        How can I Add Tiles in A-map?
                          #7592    
                        Old December 27th, 2008 (1:34 PM). Edited December 27th, 2008 by amassenburg.
                        amassenburg's Avatar
                        amassenburg amassenburg is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2008
                          Gender:
                          Posts: 34
                          how do you add your own songs in the game??

                          oh and how do you edit the begibing credits/intro?
                            #7593    
                          Old December 27th, 2008 (7:34 PM).
                          FLOOTENKERP's Avatar
                          FLOOTENKERP FLOOTENKERP is offline
                          The Glitch From Johto
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2008
                            Location: Florida
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 26
                            I thinking im learning a little more on scripting. I havent successfully done anything yet but i still dont know know how to give it to a certain person in the game, or convert it for that matter. can anyone tell me how to do that?
                            __________________



                            All of them are in level 100 and Ev'd to the max. Beware my non-lengendary team!
                              #7594    
                            Old December 27th, 2008 (9:40 PM).
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                            Im comin' home...
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 1,812
                            I don't really ever ask things twice, but it is necessary that I figure this out for a project I am working on...

                            It is in regard to the Map Footer. Using the XSE command setmapfooter.
                            What exactly is a map footer, how can I find it, and... really that is all I need... unless anyone wants to gimme a list of the map footers, that would be great.
                            __________________
                            >Boot Jailbot
                            >Pass *****
                            .
                            .
                            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                            Greetings Warden
                            of Superjail Penitentiary
                            Awaiting user input...

                            >Display User_Info
                            ╠══User Info══╣
                            Username:
                            0m3GA ARS3NAL
                            Age: 18
                            Sex: Male ♂
                            Race: Caucasian
                            Quote:
                            "What is this
                            I don't even..."

                            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                            ╠══End of File══╣
                            Awaiting user input...

                            >
                              #7595    
                            Old December 27th, 2008 (10:00 PM). Edited December 27th, 2008 by BananasGoMoo.
                            BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                            BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                            Pokemon Electrum
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2008
                              Location: Richmond, California
                              Age: 25
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Lax
                              Posts: 149
                              Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
                              i have a sorta problem

                              where is the offset for the "NO" text you see when you are asked a yes/no question

                              i'm using ruby

                              and looking for it in advance text

                              after going through a lot of search results, an error comes up: "error 67: too many files" and a-text closes. so i cant get to the NO i want. if anyone knows the offset in a-text, that would be helpful

                              Edit: tried using a hex editor, but i didnt understand how to find things. lol

                              EDIT2: nvm, i found it right next to yes. xD
                              __________________
                              This signature has been disabled.
                              Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                              Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                              You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                              Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                #7596    
                              Old December 27th, 2008 (11:47 PM).
                              Opalinesque Opalinesque is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Gender:
                                Posts: 6
                                Asking for the third time, because I really would like to know the answer to this.

                                You know how trainers and the like have walk animations in the overworld, and Pokemon don't (they just kind of... slide)? Is there any way to give Pokemon walk animations? Looking in Overworld Editor, there are 8 different possitions for each sprite (facing up, facing down, facing left, frame 1 of a walking down animation, frame 2 of a walking down animation, etc); however, all the walking animations are "linked" (for lack of a better word) to the "facing this direction" frame (if you change one, the other one changes too).

                                Anyway, if it is possible to change that, would that fall under scripting? Would I have to try to figure that out myself, or is there a program that can help me do that? I'm more of a spriter than anything else, so if it does require scripting, I'd appreciate it if you used small words XD Thank you!
                                  #7597    
                                Old December 28th, 2008 (12:24 AM).
                                BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                                BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                                Pokemon Electrum
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                                  Location: Richmond, California
                                  Age: 25
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Lax
                                  Posts: 149
                                  Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
                                  ya know, people dont have to reply to your question, so either just wait or ask some other time, because people get annoyed by that. (i don't, but then again idk the answer xD)
                                  __________________
                                  This signature has been disabled.
                                  Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                                  Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                  You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                  Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                    #7598    
                                  Old December 28th, 2008 (12:34 AM).
                                  Opalinesque Opalinesque is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2008
                                    Gender:
                                    Posts: 6
                                    Haha, sorry! I just couldn't tell if my posts were being lost behind the more recent posts/not being seen for some other reason or just no-one knew the answer. Now that I know it's the latter, I will happily shut up and work on the other parts of my game for a while before trying again. Thanks!
                                      #7599    
                                    Old December 28th, 2008 (12:38 AM).
                                    Ressai Ressai is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2008
                                      Posts: 10
                                      Are there any trainer editing tools other than Trainer Edit and PET since neither of them work on my computer?
                                        #7600    
                                      Old December 28th, 2008 (12:55 AM). Edited December 28th, 2008 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
                                      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                                      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                                      Im comin' home...
                                      • Silver Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                                      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Gentle
                                      Posts: 1,812
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Ressai View Post
                                      Are there any trainer editing tools other than Trainer Edit and PET since neither of them work on my computer?
                                      Try A-Trainer... I dunno what computer you are using, but A-trainer might work, click the link at the bottom of HackMew's signature, or search for A-Trainer

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Opalinesque View Post
                                      Asking for the third time, because I really would like to know the answer to this.

                                      You know how trainers and the like have walk animations in the overworld, and Pokemon don't (they just kind of... slide)? Is there any way to give Pokemon walk animations? Looking in Overworld Editor, there are 8 different possitions for each sprite (facing up, facing down, facing left, frame 1 of a walking down animation, frame 2 of a walking down animation, etc); however, all the walking animations are "linked" (for lack of a better word) to the "facing this direction" frame (if you change one, the other one changes too).

                                      Anyway, if it is possible to change that, would that fall under scripting? Would I have to try to figure that out myself, or is there a program that can help me do that? I'm more of a spriter than anything else, so if it does require scripting, I'd appreciate it if you used small words XD Thank you!
                                      You have to either add a new OW to the game, or copy the sprites to another OW, and draw in the movement animations yourself...
                                      __________________
                                      >Boot Jailbot
                                      >Pass *****
                                      .
                                      .
                                      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                                      Greetings Warden
                                      of Superjail Penitentiary
                                      Awaiting user input...

                                      >Display User_Info
                                      ╠══User Info══╣
                                      Username:
                                      0m3GA ARS3NAL
                                      Age: 18
                                      Sex: Male ♂
                                      Race: Caucasian
                                      Quote:
                                      "What is this
                                      I don't even..."

                                      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                                      ╠══End of File══╣
                                      Awaiting user input...

                                      >
                                      Closed Thread
                                      Quick Reply

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:13 AM.