ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #7926    
Old January 19th, 2009 (3:49 PM).
ibs2k ibs2k is offline
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Gender:
    Posts: 1
    Before I begin this message, I want to say I've used the search function, and looked through threads/forums for at least 2 hours with no avail so please don't just reply with "OMG JOO NOOOB THE ANSWER IS ALREADY DONE". I'm wondering how DS games (Specifically Platinum) text is edited. I've found crappy engrish patches (not that I claim to be able to do any better, I don't even know how to) but I would really rather look at some Moonspeak to English tables myself and try to do my own translation. I do realize the game will be out soon, so please don't respond with "just wait", I've gotten plenty of that on other sites too. Pokecommunity seems like an extremely compitent forum at any questions having to do with pokemon ROMs, I've just never been able to get an answer to this on this site, or google, along with other forum sites. I'm not sure if this is possible, I don't know if it uses actual text, or just pictures (which would be difficult to change, I know). Any information would be great, and appreciated. Thanks in advance -IBS2k

    Relevant Advertising!

      #7927    
    Old January 19th, 2009 (7:53 PM).
    Liquid Shadow's Avatar
    Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
    xD
       
      Join Date: Mar 2008
      Gender:
      Posts: 223
      Is there such thing as high grass in pokemon FireRed? Like the one in Ruby and stuff?
      __________________

      4 truths of life
      1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
      2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
      3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
      4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
        #7928    
      Old January 19th, 2009 (8:16 PM).
      TB Pro's Avatar
      TB Pro TB Pro is offline
      Old-timer
         
        Join Date: Nov 2004
        Location: Midwestern USA
        Age: 22
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 2,739
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by NeoNemesis View Post
        Is there such thing as high grass in pokemon FireRed? Like the one in Ruby and stuff?
        Yeah, the animation still lies there. You'd have to insert the base tile for it to work correctly.
        __________________
        --I'm a creepin'..
          #7929    
        Old January 19th, 2009 (9:45 PM).
        ~Teh Panda~'s Avatar
        ~Teh Panda~ ~Teh Panda~ is offline
        Sea of Dreams - Redux
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Aug 2007
        Posts: 906
        I set a healing place in the forest at a healing stone but when I die it sends me to a pokecenter what am I doing wrong?
        __________________




        Mystic still in work to let you know...
          #7930    
        Old January 19th, 2009 (10:23 PM).
        Thrace's Avatar
        Thrace Thrace is offline
        @tion
        • Gold Tier
         
        Join Date: Jun 2007
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 1,048
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by TehTehTehTeh View Post
        I set a healing place in the forest at a healing stone but when I die it sends me to a pokecenter what am I doing wrong?
        How did you set the forest to a healing place? Healing places are different from flying positions. You'd have to find an unused PC and repoint the map data and then remap the forest. You need to repoint the map data because all the PCs use the same map data.
        __________________
          #7931    
        Old January 20th, 2009 (4:25 AM).
        Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
        Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
        The Faltine
           
          Join Date: Mar 2008
          Location: Slovenia
          Age: 21
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 3,572
          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Tropical Sunlight View Post
          I have a warp. It warps you to a cave, then the screen turns black. WHAT did I do wrong?
          Reposting...
          Nobody knows?
          __________________
            #7932    
          Old January 20th, 2009 (7:58 AM). Edited January 20th, 2009 by Jerros.
          Jerros's Avatar
          Jerros Jerros is offline
          TloS FTW!!!
             
            Join Date: Feb 2008
            Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
            Age: 25
            Gender:
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 72
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Tropical Sunlight View Post
            Reposting...
            Nobody knows?
            Is the warp number correctly?
            Dit you create the 2nd map, placed the warps, then made the map smaller?
            That can fk a map up...

            Also, try re-inserting the map.



            I've got a question myself: How does the respawning work?
            When I lose a fight in the very beginning, I get send to warp0 bank0 map0, instead of to the flying position of the map...
            It's the first map, so it doesnt have a Pokécenter.
            And I'm talking about losing before the first town.
            After reaching the first town, everything works fine in my hack.

            But how does the respawning work in general?


            And is there a way/tool to really edit the funcions of items?
            Like, can I make a Focus Sash or that kind of stuff in Emerald?

            Lastly, Can someone give me the unLZ numbers for the Badges in Emerald?
            I know there is a topic here about that, but they only give the number of the Battle Frontier Symbols (2525), not the regular Badges...
            __________________
              #7933    
            Old January 20th, 2009 (8:05 AM).
            Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
            Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
            The Faltine
               
              Join Date: Mar 2008
              Location: Slovenia
              Age: 21
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 3,572
              Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Jerros View Post
              Is the warp number correctly?
              Dit you create the 2nd map, placed the warps, then made the map smaller?
              That can fk a map up...

              Also, try re-inserting the map.
              1. Sure it is
              2. What do you mean by 2nd map?

              As for your problem, I wouldn't know.
              __________________
                #7934    
              Old January 20th, 2009 (8:15 AM).
              Jerros's Avatar
              Jerros Jerros is offline
              TloS FTW!!!
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2008
                Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
                Age: 25
                Gender:
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 72
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Tropical Sunlight View Post
                1. Sure it is
                2. What do you mean by 2nd map?

                As for your problem, I wouldn't know.

                With the 2nd map I mean the cave.
                Did you make it smaller at some point?
                And did re-inserting work?
                Or try re-inserting at another location (remember to change the warp).

                Also, you can't be in the map you're editting.
                Try saving inside a house neaby.

                Also, if you create your own warps, remember that "0x10" isnt the same as "10".
                __________________
                  #7935    
                Old January 20th, 2009 (12:29 PM).
                Andryandrew Andryandrew is offline
                Italian Asm Hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2007
                  Age: 23
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 117
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Jerros View Post
                  Is the warp number correctly?
                  Dit you create the 2nd map, placed the warps, then made the map smaller?
                  That can fk a map up...

                  Also, try re-inserting the map.



                  I've got a question myself: How does the respawning work?
                  When I lose a fight in the very beginning, I get send to warp0 bank0 map0, instead of to the flying position of the map...
                  It's the first map, so it doesnt have a Pokécenter.
                  And I'm talking about losing before the first town.
                  After reaching the first town, everything works fine in my hack.

                  But how does the respawning work in general?


                  And is there a way/tool to really edit the funcions of items?
                  Like, can I make a Focus Sash or that kind of stuff in Emerald?

                  Lastly, Can someone give me the unLZ numbers for the Badges in Emerald?
                  I know there is a topic here about that, but they only give the number of the Battle Frontier Symbols (2525), not the regular Badges...
                  1- you have to use command "sethealingplace" i think
                  2-No, it isn't possible to modify behaviour of items... but maybe It'll be a tool some day...
                  3- I don't know, but you can do a research with Unlz... It can't take more time than 10 minutes, does it?
                  __________________

                  Sorry for my bad English... I'm Italian
                  Anybody that is a GBA ASM hacker is cool!
                  I'm a GBA ASM hacker --> I'm cool :D

                  Made Day-Night Routine! You can find the thread HERE
                    #7936    
                  Old January 20th, 2009 (1:46 PM).
                  Thrace's Avatar
                  Thrace Thrace is offline
                  @tion
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2007
                  Age: 26
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 1,048
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Tropical Sunlight View Post
                  Reposting...
                  Nobody knows?
                  Is there a sprite in the cave whose movement type is set to Hidden or Look Down?
                  __________________
                    #7937    
                  Old January 20th, 2009 (4:02 PM).
                  hot_kage's Avatar
                  hot_kage hot_kage is offline
                  I am like a rose cute and calm
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2008
                    Location: Long Beach , California
                    Age: 24
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Naughty
                    Posts: 35
                    does anyone know how to make a boat script with XSE?
                      #7938    
                    Old January 20th, 2009 (4:16 PM).
                    Dasrein's Avatar
                    Dasrein Dasrein is offline
                    Pocket Developer
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                      Location: Florida
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 4
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by iPro. View Post
                      Alright, that's cool. You just be hatin' on me, that's a'ight. For your scripting problem, you may want to try XSE, it has a really easy compile function, that is built into the program itself. It also has a lot of extras, making it, IMO, a better scripting program than Pokescript. As for your other problem, there's nothing you can do but read tuts. Anybody here will tell you that. Don't go around insulting people that are trying to help you. Have a nice day
                      Ok, thank you. It just doesn't seem like people care sometimes, you know.
                        #7939    
                      Old January 20th, 2009 (4:40 PM).
                      Gamer2020's Avatar
                      Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
                      Accept no Imitations!
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                        Location: Distant Land
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 901
                        Ok I searched but for some reason didn't find the answer to my question. I'm very tired so here goes.

                        What are the free flags in pokemon ruby us?
                        __________________

                          #7940    
                        Old January 20th, 2009 (8:06 PM).
                        12345's Avatar
                        12345 12345 is offline
                        Sky
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2007
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 410
                          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to 12345
                          Flags you ned: 200-300, 600-700, 1000-1100...

                          And my question:
                          How do I change the door animation in RUby?
                            #7941    
                          Old January 20th, 2009 (9:28 PM). Edited January 20th, 2009 by colcolstyles.
                          colcolstyles's Avatar
                          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                          Yours truly
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: May 2008
                          Location: The Bay Area
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lonely
                          Posts: 1,584
                          Wow.
                          8,000 posts in one thread.
                          That's a lot

                          I suppose I have to ask a simple question...
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by NeoNemesis View Post
                          Is there such thing as high grass in pokemon FireRed? Like the one in Ruby and stuff?
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by iPro. View Post
                          Yeah, the animation still lies there. You'd have to insert the base tile for it to work correctly.
                          So how would you go about creating the tall(er) grass? I highly doubt that simply inserting the base tile into a free spot in my block palette would work.
                          __________________

                          Brother of Vrai
                            #7942    
                          Old January 20th, 2009 (10:56 PM).
                          Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                          Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                          The Faltine
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2008
                            Location: Slovenia
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 3,572
                            Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Thrace View Post
                            Is there a sprite in the cave whose movement type is set to Hidden or Look Down?
                            Maybe... I'll check! Thanks, Thrace!
                            __________________
                              #7943    
                            Old January 20th, 2009 (11:49 PM).
                            Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                            Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                            Sitting by the back window
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2008
                              Location: Best City OCE
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 5,945
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                              So how would you go about creating the tall(er) grass? I highly doubt that simply inserting the base tile into a free spot in my block palette would work.
                              I'm pretty sure the FR/LG one uses the same animation as the Ruby one, so just copy and paste that one into your block palette. xD
                              __________________
                              Brony represent.
                                #7944    
                              Old January 21st, 2009 (12:32 AM).
                              GFS GFS is offline
                              Banned
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2009
                                Age: 22
                                Gender:
                                Posts: 38
                                Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to GFS
                                I believe that you insert a tile and then put the block data onto High Grass animation
                                Or something like that...
                                  #7945    
                                Old January 21st, 2009 (12:51 AM).
                                Thrace's Avatar
                                Thrace Thrace is offline
                                @tion
                                • Gold Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2007
                                Age: 26
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 1,048
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by hot_kage View Post
                                does anyone know how to make a boat script with XSE?
                                Look at the tips and tricks section of this post.

                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by 12345 View Post
                                Flags you ned: 200-300, 600-700, 1000-1100...

                                And my question:
                                How do I change the door animation in RUby?
                                You need to find its location in the ROM and edit it using a program such as TileEd or TLP. Its a little too long an explanation to go into right now but if you can find thethethethe's grass animation tutorial its pretty much the same method.
                                __________________
                                  #7946    
                                Old January 21st, 2009 (3:13 AM).
                                TB Pro's Avatar
                                TB Pro TB Pro is offline
                                Old-timer
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2004
                                  Location: Midwestern USA
                                  Age: 22
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 2,739
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                                  Wow.
                                  8,000 posts in one thread.
                                  That's a lot

                                  I suppose I have to ask a simple question...


                                  So how would you go about creating the tall(er) grass? I highly doubt that simply inserting the base tile into a free spot in my block palette would work.
                                  Yah, it would. Of course you'd have to set the behaviour byte to 03 00(High Grass Animation).
                                  __________________
                                  --I'm a creepin'..
                                    #7947    
                                  Old January 21st, 2009 (6:02 AM).
                                  Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                                  Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                                  The Faltine
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                                    Location: Slovenia
                                    Age: 21
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 3,572
                                    Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
                                    Do you know what was wrong?
                                    I shouldn't resize the map; when I de-sized it, it worked!
                                    Thanks for your help anyway.
                                    __________________
                                      #7948    
                                    Old January 21st, 2009 (6:58 AM).
                                    Mortar's Avatar
                                    Mortar Mortar is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2007
                                      Location: Europe
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 136
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Mortar View Post
                                      Whenever I battle someone and the Poké Balls appear, I get this error:


                                      Instead of leaving a black trail, they leave a trail like this.
                                      Does anyone know how I can fix this?
                                      Isn't there anyone that can help me with this?
                                        #7949    
                                      Old January 21st, 2009 (7:10 AM).
                                      Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                                      Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                                      The Faltine
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                                        Location: Slovenia
                                        Age: 21
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 3,572
                                        Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Mortar View Post
                                        Isn't there anyone that can help me with this?
                                        Only sometimes? Remove the Pokeball effect; simple.
                                        Did you do something is UnLZ.GBA that did this? I know you like to insert new Pokemon, so...
                                        __________________
                                          #7950    
                                        Old January 21st, 2009 (12:45 PM).
                                        Cy-Chan's Avatar
                                        Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
                                        GSC Hacker
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2005
                                          Location: UK, England.
                                          Age: 26
                                          Gender:
                                          Nature: Timid
                                          Posts: 152
                                          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
                                          Any good hex editors with .tbl support? I normally use 010 Editor, but it lacks tremendously in that area...
                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:14 PM.