ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #8376    
Old February 25th, 2009 (1:11 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 8,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pink Parka Girl View Post
I have a quick question that hopefully someone can help me with:

My hack is set in the United States, and I'd really like the prices of items, prize money, etc to reflect the American dollar rather than the Japanese yen (for example, Pokeballs costing 2 dollars rather than 200 dollars). Now, changing the prices of items is easy enough, but my question concerns how to change the amout of money Trainers give out when you defeat them. Is there any way to change or edit this amount so that, say, your average Bug Catcher will give you only 2 dollars and, say, a Lady will reward you with a cool 20 bucks?
use HackMew's new tool called Advance Trainer.
It can be found in the Toolbox section.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


Relevant Advertising!

  #8377    
Old February 25th, 2009 (1:54 PM).
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17 Sonikku17 is offline
Wanderer
     
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Age: 25
    Nature: Impish
    Posts: 18
    I hope someone can help me out here.

    As far as I can tell, I haven't done anything out of the ordinary (I don't use advance text or anything like that), but out of nowhere, for some reason, when the game displays an apostrophe or a quotation mark in a message box, a weird little "phantom" comma appears under it. Anyone know how to fix or get rid of this?
      #8378    
    Old February 25th, 2009 (1:55 PM).
    evilottojr evilottojr is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2009
      Location: sure... why not?
      Gender:
      Posts: 22
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by IIMarckus View Post
      It would be easier to understand the problem if you could tell us exactly what changes you have made to your ROM.
      I hadn't done much (some text, sprite, and attack editing) but due to that fact I just started it over. I was only like 4 hours work anyway. So problem solved
        #8379    
      Old February 25th, 2009 (2:30 PM).
      0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
      0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
      Im comin' home...
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: Superjail Penitentiary
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Gentle
      Posts: 1,816
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


      use HackMew's new tool called Advance Trainer.
      It can be found in the Toolbox section.

      Well, you are going to have to edit the PokeYen Symbol in the game.

      It can be found somewhere in the rom using Tile Molester or TLP. or another tile editing program... but you'll have to find that yourself...

      Go in, find the $ symbol, and then copy it, then just paste it over the PokeYen sign.
      PokeYen is a term used by HackMew to call the P shaped money symbol in pokemon games, I call it that too since it makes sense...
      __________________
      >Boot Jailbot
      >Pass *****
      .
      .
      Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
      Greetings Warden
      of Superjail Penitentiary
      Awaiting user input...

      >Display User_Info
      ╠══User Info══╣
      Username:
      0m3GA ARS3NAL
      Age: 18
      Sex: Male ♂
      Race: Caucasian
      Quote:
      "What is this
      I don't even..."

      M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
      ╠══End of File══╣
      Awaiting user input...

      >
        #8380    
      Old February 25th, 2009 (3:39 PM).
      chazethechat chazethechat is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2008
        Posts: 37
        How do I put an MP3 I want in Ruby?
        __________________

        Name: Entei
        Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
          #8381    
        Old February 25th, 2009 (3:54 PM).
        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
        Im comin' home...
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2008
        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
        Age: 25
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Gentle
        Posts: 1,816
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by chazethechat View Post
        How do I put an MP3 I want in Ruby?
        Unfortunately, you cant put any MP3's in Pokemon games... all pokemon games use MIDI songs, converted into .s files, in order to play them...
        __________________
        >Boot Jailbot
        >Pass *****
        .
        .
        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
        Greetings Warden
        of Superjail Penitentiary
        Awaiting user input...

        >Display User_Info
        ╠══User Info══╣
        Username:
        0m3GA ARS3NAL
        Age: 18
        Sex: Male ♂
        Race: Caucasian
        Quote:
        "What is this
        I don't even..."

        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
        ╠══End of File══╣
        Awaiting user input...

        >
          #8382    
        Old February 25th, 2009 (4:03 PM).
        chazethechat chazethechat is offline
           
          Join Date: Sep 2008
          Posts: 37
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
          Unfortunately, you cant put any MP3's in Pokemon games... all pokemon games use MIDI songs, converted into .s files, in order to play them...
          Is there anyway to convert?
          __________________

          Name: Entei
          Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
            #8383    
          Old February 25th, 2009 (4:15 PM).
          0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
          0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
          Im comin' home...
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Superjail Penitentiary
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Gentle
          Posts: 1,816
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by chazethechat View Post
          Is there anyway to convert?
          Well, it wouldn't matter, even if you could convert the song, because the song uses the incorrect instrument groups...
          You might want to look in the Documents And Tutorials section for a music editing tutorial...
          __________________
          >Boot Jailbot
          >Pass *****
          .
          .
          Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
          Greetings Warden
          of Superjail Penitentiary
          Awaiting user input...

          >Display User_Info
          ╠══User Info══╣
          Username:
          0m3GA ARS3NAL
          Age: 18
          Sex: Male ♂
          Race: Caucasian
          Quote:
          "What is this
          I don't even..."

          M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
          ╠══End of File══╣
          Awaiting user input...

          >
            #8384    
          Old February 25th, 2009 (4:42 PM).
          Celebi_fan's Avatar
          Celebi_fan Celebi_fan is offline
             
            Join Date: May 2008
            Posts: 5
            I searched the entire forums, and didn't find a single answer: How can I, or what tool do I use to, extend a GBA ROM? Whenever I go to insert a sprite with UNZLgba, it says that is is too big. So I replace the image offset with 00800000. Of course, I cannot use that again. (I tried, and whenever i got to the part where the image would be, the game freezes) I used HackMew's Free Space Finder, bu it doe the same thing. Is there a way, or a program, to extend the dataspace of a gba rom? (I am trying to Hack Pokemon LG)
            __________________
            I GOTZ NOH SIGNURTURE
              #8385    
            Old February 25th, 2009 (5:08 PM).
            Gamer2020's Avatar
            Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
            Accept no Imitations!
               
              Join Date: Jun 2008
              Location: Distant Land
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 910
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Celebi_fan View Post
              I searched the entire forums, and didn't find a single answer: How can I, or what tool do I use to, extend a GBA ROM? Whenever I go to insert a sprite with UNZLgba, it says that is is too big. So I replace the image offset with 00800000. Of course, I cannot use that again. (I tried, and whenever i got to the part where the image would be, the game freezes) I used HackMew's Free Space Finder, bu it doe the same thing. Is there a way, or a program, to extend the dataspace of a gba rom? (I am trying to Hack Pokemon LG)
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Gamer2020 View Post
              Yeah you can add more free space to a rom thus expanding it. You can use a hex editor or xse to do it.
              as for the rest idk how to explain it so maybe someone else can...
              __________________

                #8386    
              Old February 25th, 2009 (5:17 PM). Edited March 2nd, 2009 by Destrozone.
              Destrozone's Avatar
              Destrozone Destrozone is offline
              Finally Flyin' Solo
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2008
                Location: Narnia Hills, California.
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 290
                Extremely complicated question (I think):
                How can I expand the amount of icon palettes in Pokemon Fire Red? I want to make it so that each pokemon has its own little palette so that I can truly change the icons. If I cannot do this, can someone please point me towards another way to take an actual rom (NOT Poccils essentials) and change the icon without the aid of Icon ed?

                Heres a picture:

                Instead of editing it, I'm now asking if there is a way to expand the amount of palettes from the 3 that come in game, to more like 150.

                P.S. Please answer this I really need to know so that my hack may progress!

                ~Des
                __________________
                I have Returned!
                  #8387    
                Old February 25th, 2009 (8:54 PM).
                IIMarckus's Avatar
                IIMarckus IIMarckus is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2007
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 402
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
                  My way to know how many bytes the script needs is if you save it either as an rbc file or just a plain txt file.
                  You can view it's properties and you can see the size.
                  That would be the size of the file, yes? How is that useful when what you really want is the size in bytes of the compiled script? Or am I misinterpreting something?
                  __________________
                  iimarck.us / hax.iimarck.us

                  If you want me, please contact me by email. [email protected]

                  If you want to hack Pokémon RBY or GSC, read, read, and read some more. This has tons of valuable information.

                  Pokémon Red disassembly project

                  Rules that should be rethought: 25charlimit, bumping.
                  Bad posts are bad posts, regardless of how many words are in them or how old the thread is.
                  Good posts are good posts, regardless of how old the thread is—and brevity is underrated.
                    #8388    
                  Old February 26th, 2009 (3:20 AM).
                  HackMew's Avatar
                  HackMew HackMew is offline
                  Mewtwo Strikes Back
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2006
                  Posts: 1,314
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by ~Watermelon View Post
                  This is probably a noob-ish question, but how do you know how many bytes does a script need?
                  Quite simple. Take a look at its log: you'll see the amount of bytes needed by each command enclosed in brackets. Besides, why would you need to know the number of bytes?


                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Pink Parka Girl View Post
                  My hack is set in the United States, and I'd really like the prices of items, prize money, etc to reflect the American dollar rather than the Japanese yen (for example, Pokeballs costing 2 dollars rather than 200 "yen"). Now, changing the prices of items is easy enough, but my question concerns how to change the amout of money Trainers give out when you defeat them. Is there any way to change or edit this amount so that, say, your average Bug Catcher will give you only 2 dollars and, say, a Lady will reward you with a cool 20 bucks?

                  Edit to add: Is it also possible to alter the amount of money you start the game with? (This is a Ruby hack, for reference :) )
                  Yes, there is. You can use A-Trainer beta (which is a little buggy while displaying the total amount of money, fixed already anyway). You can't change the amount directly, though. This is the formula I was able to reverse:

                  Code:
                  MoneyAmount = MaxPkmnLvl * ClassRate * 4
                  MaxPkmnLvl is the highest level of the Pokémon the trainer has. ClassRate is a value it depends on the class.

                  And yes, you can alter the amount of money you get at the very beginning. Just wait till I release one of my new tool.


                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Celebi_fan View Post
                  I searched the entire forums, and didn't find a single answer: How can I, or what tool do I use to, extend a GBA ROM? Whenever I go to insert a sprite with UNZLgba, it says that is is too big. So I replace the image offset with 00800000. Of course, I cannot use that again. (I tried, and whenever i got to the part where the image would be, the game freezes) I used HackMew's Free Space Finder, bu it doe the same thing. Is there a way, or a program, to extend the dataspace of a gba rom? (I am trying to Hack Pokemon LG)
                  You misunderstood the point of expanding the ROM. In your case you just need to find some free space, that's it. There are quite a lot of tutorials around there, so please take a look.
                  __________________
                    #8389    
                  Old February 26th, 2009 (3:54 PM). Edited February 26th, 2009 by NTA.
                  NTA's Avatar
                  NTA NTA is offline
                  Where?
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 265
                    How can i change the number of save staes in VBA(10) to more?

                    also what would it mean if the intro graphics on a diamond rom like this
                    __________________

                      #8390    
                    Old February 26th, 2009 (4:19 PM).
                    chazethechat chazethechat is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2008
                      Posts: 37
                      OK, now I have some MIDIs, but when I try to upload them, it says "Error 1002, Syntax Error. Help!
                      __________________

                      Name: Entei
                      Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
                        #8391    
                      Old February 26th, 2009 (5:18 PM).
                      ~Teh Panda~'s Avatar
                      ~Teh Panda~ ~Teh Panda~ is offline
                      Sea of Dreams - Redux
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2007
                      Posts: 906
                      Not sure if this is simple but I am looking for the flag db in the hex so I could make another assigned one similar to the pokedex one so it adds a new button to the options menu. Thanks for any help ^.^
                      __________________




                      Mystic still in work to let you know...
                        #8392    
                      Old February 27th, 2009 (2:21 AM).
                      Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                      Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                      The Faltine
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                        Location: Slovenia
                        Age: 21
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 3,578
                        Is there a way to take control of another OW and it's not a glitch?
                        __________________
                          #8393    
                        Old February 27th, 2009 (2:51 PM).
                        psyduck6199's Avatar
                        psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2007
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 57
                          i tried to replace bulbasaur with turtwing and it worked except that when i inserted the sprite the black borders from turtwig dissapeared...any suggestions?
                            #8394    
                          Old February 27th, 2009 (3:27 PM).
                          Destrozone's Avatar
                          Destrozone Destrozone is offline
                          Finally Flyin' Solo
                             
                            Join Date: Apr 2008
                            Location: Narnia Hills, California.
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 290
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by psyduck6199 View Post
                            i tried to replace bulbasaur with turtwing and it worked except that when i inserted the sprite the black borders from turtwig dissapeared...any suggestions?
                            This requires palette editing. Use the black from bulbasaur for the black in turtwig, and that should fix the problem. The black in D/P/P is different, so it is technically a non-existent color.
                            __________________
                            I have Returned!
                              #8395    
                            Old February 27th, 2009 (3:50 PM).
                            psyduck6199's Avatar
                            psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2007
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 57
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Destrozone View Post
                              This requires palette editing. Use the black from bulbasaur for the black in turtwig, and that should fix the problem. The black in D/P/P is different, so it is technically a non-existent color.
                              i edited the pallete with a-pallete to the turtwig's colors so it shouldn't happen right?
                                #8396    
                              Old February 27th, 2009 (3:57 PM).
                              Raziel Raziel is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2007
                                Gender:
                                Posts: 12
                                I'm using AdvanceMap 1.92 and I've given the player a basement bedroom instead of an upstairs one, just for kicks.

                                The upstairs (living room) warp works perfectly. Standing on the warp spot and walking left (down the stairs) sends you to the next map (4.1, which is downstairs)

                                The warp downstairs warps you back (to 4.0) but for some reason, it only works if you again walk left? I need it to work when I walk right, but I can't see any way to change what it does. I deleted it and made a new warp, same problem.

                                I really have no idea what I did. I didn't change the warp at all (except moving its location) so I don't see why it messed up.
                                  #8397    
                                Old February 27th, 2009 (5:25 PM).
                                Tharghana's Avatar
                                Tharghana Tharghana is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2007
                                  Location: Canada
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 8
                                  Im still kind of new to Rom Hacking, I need some help here. Im hacking Pokemon FireRed and theres some stuff I need to know.

                                  Sorry if these have been asked before.

                                  1) Is there a way to edit the Pokemon Types, I dont mean types of Pokemon, I want to know if I can edit the Types themselves.

                                  2) How do I change the Wild Encounter/Trainer Battle music for a map?

                                  3) I need a script editor, Ive looked for one?

                                  4) Can I add Text and events, i.e Make Groudon battle event in FireRed, if I can, how?

                                  5) Can I make it so you your player starts with the National Dex, or is given the National dex instead of the Kanto Dex?
                                    #8398    
                                  Old February 27th, 2009 (6:21 PM).
                                  Robert Conley's Avatar
                                  Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
                                  GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
                                     
                                    Join Date: Oct 2008
                                    Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Docile
                                    Posts: 330
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Tharghana View Post
                                    Im still kind of new to Rom Hacking, I need some help here. Im hacking Pokemon FireRed and theres some stuff I need to know.

                                    Sorry if these have been asked before.

                                    1) Is there a way to edit the Pokemon Types, I dont mean types of Pokemon, I want to know if I can edit the Types themselves.

                                    2) How do I change the Wild Encounter/Trainer Battle music for a map?

                                    3) I need a script editor, Ive looked for one?

                                    4) Can I add Text and events, i.e Make Groudon battle event in FireRed, if I can, how?

                                    5) Can I make it so you your player starts with the National Dex, or is given the National dex instead of the Kanto Dex?
                                    for editing the types use YAPE:
                                    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=135173 <-YAPE

                                    script editor use XSE:
                                    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=85025 <-HackMews Tools Factory

                                    cant really help you with the other stuff. I am a noob aswell.

                                    My question now: What offset do I put into Shiny Hack Maker to make the shiny pokemon appear?
                                    __________________
                                      #8399    
                                    Old February 27th, 2009 (6:28 PM).
                                    Tharghana's Avatar
                                    Tharghana Tharghana is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2007
                                      Location: Canada
                                      Gender:
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 8
                                      YAPE edits the Types of Pokemon, Not the Types themselves, I want to change what types are weak to what.
                                        #8400    
                                      Old February 27th, 2009 (6:32 PM).
                                      poisonhitman poisonhitman is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Feb 2009
                                        Gender:
                                        Posts: 7
                                        in making pokemon games how do you add events eg. someones in your path and after you do they they move or someone come and kidnapps someone plz help me.
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:36 PM.